DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 35 USC 112a claim rejection, Applicant argues “the specification identifies a specific, named architecture recognized in the art as of the filing date and ties it to that function.”
Applicant states “for recognizing parts of three anatomy – convolution neural networks (CNNs) ‘trained on large datasets of medical images”; “for segmenting –‘U-Net architectures or region-based convolutional neural networks (R-CNNs), which delineate anatomical structures from background’”; and “for annotating – ‘labeling the identified structures using pre-trained models’”.
However, as note din the rejection, “Applicant has not set forth any particular steps on how the CNNs are trained or would be trained using large data sets. The specification does not set forth any steps regarding how U-Net architectures or R-CNNs would be particularly used to delineate anatomical structures. Applicant is claiming a black box algorithm that is described only based on its functional results rather than how the AI is particularly constructed to produce the claimed results.”
Applicant has not set forth any particular medical image data sets or modes of training using the medical image data sets to indicate what trained neural network Applicant created; Applicant has not provided any particular guidance regarding how the U-Net architecture or R-CNN is particularly adapted to delineate anatomical structures from background; and Applicant has not provided any details regarding the pre-trained models used for annotation. What models are those? How were they trained? These details are lacking from the originally field disclosure. Applicant is still claiming generic tools (CNNs, R-CNNs, etc.) without providing the requisite detail regarding how they are particularly adapted to achieve the claimed functional results. The rejection is maintained.
Regarding the 35 USC 102 rejection, Applicant argues that the Examiner’s interpretation of “surgical instrument” is too broad and that the specification confirms the “surgical instrument” is a single hand-held instrument (a 90 degree dissector, nerve hook, curved scissors, pituitary ronguer, Woodson/Penfield dissector) and that construing the surgical instrument an entire multi-instrument robotic system is not a reasonable interpretation of the claim. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, regarding the specification description, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a single hand-held instrument that is a specific tool as described in the specification) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant has defined the surgical instrument in the claim has having certain components such as a body, vision module, and a distal end that is configured to dissect, cut, or hook tissue. Romo, as relied upon in the Non-Final Rejection, likewise discloses these features and thus can reasonably be interpreted as a surgical instrument. Namely, Romo has an instrument with multiple different operational sections at the distal end that perform various functions (see FIG. 1-3). This is not the entire surgical robotic system as argued and is instead a singular protruding instrument from the entire robotic system (see Fig. 5 and element 611 in Fig. 6). The term “instrument” does not preclude different operation sections at the end of the instrument; much like a swiss-army knife would be an instrument, even if it has multiple, separate tools within the instrument; or a forceps device with ablation electrode therein and a knife blade therein is a singular instrument even if it has multiple different tools within the instrument.
Applicant further argues Romo does not have a single member whose distal end both carries a vision module and is itself an operational section that dissects, cuts, or hooks tissue. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Romo discloses “a vision module combined with the body” (note Applicant does not claim any particular type of combination) and Romo discloses distal end of body 101 has a camera 315 within the housing of an arm of the surgical instrument that is integrated with and attached to body 101 (Abstract; inside arm 121, 310, see par. [0046, 0054]; Fig. 2, 3). The connection of the camera to the body 101 qualifies as Applicant’s claimed combination. Additionally, Romo discloses a hook, scissors, etc. can be combined into the distal end of devices 101 (par. [0007, 0036, 0049]). The claim only requires “the distal end of the surgical instrument” to comprise an operational section configured to dissect, cut or hook. Again, Applicant has not claimed any particular connection to the body and only that at a distal end of the instrument, an operational section exists. Romo again meets this requirement. Lastly, Romo discloses the camera can view instruments (which could include the scissors as disclosed) on arms 123, 125 in Fig. 2 and arms 323, 333 in Fig. 3); and lighting 317 directed toward the field of view (par. [0054, 0057]). The rejection is therefore maintained.
Regarding the art of del Nido, Applicant argues “the tissue-modifying tools in del Nido…are separate instruments passed through the port channel.” However, while the cutting tool may be passed through the channel, it still qualifies as an “operational section” at the distal end of the instrument that is configured to cut. Nothing int eh claim precludes a cutting tool from being slidable within a channel/singular housing of a device, such as device 100, 300, 400 of del Nido. The cutting instrument can be slidable within the channel of the overall device and still be considered part of the “surgical instrument”. The Examiner contends Applicant has an overly narrow interpretation of what the surgical instrument can and cannot be. Del Nido discloses that the cutting tool, or any tool in the channel is viewable by the camera (par. [0031-0032]).
Regarding Claim 8, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., inductive recharging of an on-board battery) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding Bell, Applicant argues Bell does not disclose that the image sensors field of view covers the tool’s own distal tip. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bell discloses the images can also include the tools themselves (par. [0044, 0061, 0087]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As noted in MPEP §2161.01, when dealing with computer implanted functional limitations, “…original claims may lack written description when the claims define the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the specification does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved. For software, this can occur when the algorithm or steps/procedure for performing the computer function are not explained at all or are not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient). In other words, the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed.”
Regarding the step of using an AI to preform “at least one of recognizing, segmenting and annotating parts of the anatomy visible in the data received from the camera of the vision module”, Applicant’s specification simply restates this function and adds “For anatomy recognition, the AI module may utilize convolutional neural networks (CNNs) trained on large datasets of medical images. Segmentation can be achieved through techniques such as U-Net architectures or region-based convolutional neural networks (R-CNNs), which delineate anatomical structures from the background. Annotation involves labeling the identified structures using pre-trained models.” Applicant has not set forth any particular steps on how the CNNs are trained or would be trained using large data sets. The specification does not set forth any steps regarding how U-Net architectures or R-CNNs would be particularly used to delineate anatomical structures. Applicant is claiming a black box algorithm that is described only based on its functional results rather than how the AI is particularly constructed to produce the claimed results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Romo (PGPUB 2023/0113687).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 4 and 5, Romo discloses a surgical instrument 100 having a body 101 (Fig. 1); a camera 315 within the housing of an arm of the surgical instrument that is integrated with and attached to body 101 (Abstract; inside arm 121, 310, see par. [0046, 0054]; Fig. 2, 3) with a field of view that covers the vicinity of and at least a fragment of the distal end of a surgical instrument (the camera can view instruments on arms 123, 125 in Fig. 2 and arms 323, 333 in Fig. 3); and lighting 317 directed toward the field of view (par. [0054, 0057]). Additionally, Romo discloses a hook, scissors, etc. can be combined into the distal end of devices 101 (par. [0007, 0036, 0049]). The claim only requires “the distal end of the surgical instrument” to comprise an operational section configured to dissect, cut or hook. Again, Applicant has not claimed any particular connection to the body and only that at a distal end of the instrument, an operational section exists. The scissors, hook, etc. are type so instruments that are viewable by the camera as disclosed by Romo.
In regard to Claim 3, Romo discloses an EM sensor for tracking position and orientation (par. [0046]).
Regarding Claim 6, Romo discloses the imaging device can be on a circuit board that has image processing circuitry (a controller) integrated thereon. Par. [0033, 0056].
In regard to Claims 7 and 11, Romo discloses a power source for supplying power to the imaging device (par. [0070]).
With regard to Claim 9, Romo discloses the imaging device can be mounted to a circuit board which has electrical paths including A/D converters, amplifiers etc. (communication interfaces) for transmitting signals from the camera to its processor (par. [0056]).
In regard to Claim 10, Romo discloses the processor can also be in a handle of the device at a distance from the imaging device (par. [0072]).
Regarding Claim 12, Romo discloses a wireless communications interface can be in the handle at a distance from the housing (par. [0072]).
With regard to Claim 13, Romo discloses the surgical instrument can be a hook or scissors (par. [0007]).
Regarding Claims 14 and 18, Romo discloses a surgical instrument 100 having a body 101 (Fig. 1); a camera 315 within the housing of an arm of the surgical instrument that is integrated with and attached to body 101 (Abstract; inside arm 121, 310, see par. [0046, 0054]; Fig. 2, 3 with a field of view that covers the vicinity of and at least a fragment of the distal end of a surgical instrument (the camera can view instruments on arms 123, 125 in Fig. 2 and arms 323, 333 in Fig. 3); and lighting 317 directed toward the field of view (par. [0054, 0057]). Romo discloses the imaging device can be on a circuit board that has image processing circuitry (a controller) integrated thereon. Par. [0033, 0056]. The image data is then presented to a user to guide the instrument (par. [0082]).
In regard to Claims 16 and 17, Romo discloses using peri-operative image data such as CT images to create augmented layer information over the images captured from the imaging device (par. [0082]).
Claims 1, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by del Nido et al. (2017/0231477).
Regarding Claim 1, del Nido discloses a surgical instrument having a body 101; a camera 221 and a light source 222 (Fig. 2). Del Nido further discloses scissors, dissectors, etc. that can be placed in channel 102, passed to the distal end of the device and can be viewed by the camera (see par. [0031-0032, 0037]).
In regard to Claims 7 and 8, del Nido discloses powering the device with a wireless power transmission. (par. [0056, 0059]).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bell et al. (2025/0133277). Bell discloses a surgical instrument having an imaging device 124; a light source 102 (par. [0061]; Fig. 1A); cutting/dissecting tools (par. [0059) and a processor 116, 120 that can implement a machine learning algorithm to label tissue types in the captured images (par. [0035]), wherein the images can also include the tools themselves (par. [0044, 0061, 0087]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell et al. (2025/0133277) in view of Freeman et al. (2019/0282324). Bell discloses the use of neural networks but fails to disclose the sue of a convolutional neural network. However, Freman discloses that CNNs are known networks well-suited to image recognition tasks (par. [0274]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in the Bell reference to include a convolutional neural network as the particular neural network, as taught and suggested by Freeman, for the purpose of accurately and efficiently performing object detection in images.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Denolf et al. (2020/0104715), par. [0004] discloses CNNs or image analysis.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796