DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Ohhashi et al (US 20120320544; “Ohhashi” hereinafter), in view of Hara et al (US 20030094101; “Hara” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Ohhashi discloses: a circuit board assembly, comprising:
a circuit board (11, fig. 3), wherein the circuit board comprises a first surface (see ‘FS’ in annotated fig. 3 below) and a second surface (see ‘SS’ in annotated fig. 3 below) disposed opposite to each other along a first direction (vertical direction with respect to fig. 3), and the circuit board further comprises an electronic component disposed on the first surface (14a, 14b, fig.3);
a first housing (12, fig. 3) comprising a first recess (perimeter of 32, see ‘FR’ in annotated fig. 3 below), wherein the circuit board is disposed in the first recess (figs. 14-16), the first recess comprises a first bottom wall (12a, fig. 3), and the second surface is oriented toward the first bottom wall (as disclosed upon examination of figures 3 and 14);
a first insulation piece (13 and 20, figs. 3 and 16, ¶[0131]) disposed on the first surface and covering at least a part of the electronic component (as disclosed upon examination of figures 3 and 14), wherein the first insulation piece is connected to the first housing to form a first space (space inside perimeter of 25, figs 4 and 16), and a projection of the first insulation piece (25, fig. 16) in the first direction overlaps a projection (outer surface of 31, fig. 16) of the first space in the first direction, wherein at least a part of the second surface is located in the first space (figs. 3, 14, 16); and
a first ventilation piece (ABD, fig. 3), communicating the first space to an external space (¶[0072]).
Ohhashi does not explicitly disclose:
wherein, the first ventilation piece comprises a first opening, a second opening, and a first channel communicating the first opening to the second opening, and wherein the first opening communicates to the first space, and the second opening communicates to the external space.
However, Hara discloses:
a first ventilation piece (C1, figs. 1-2, 4) disposed on a cover main body (10, i.e. first insulation piece) comprises a first opening (23, figs. 2, 4), a second opening (H1, figs. 1-2, 4), and a first channel communicating the first opening to the second opening (passage comprised by H1 and 23) and comprising a breathable film (S, figs. 1-4); the first opening communicates to the first space (through H0, fig. 2) and the second opening communicates to the external space (¶[0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace Ohhashi’s first ventilation piece, with Hara’s first ventilation piece including the breathable film, in order to allow pressure relief from heat generated gases by the electrical components between the first housing and the first insulation piece, and allow said gases to permeate through the external space, and prevents a water drop or condensation from permeating through the first space. (¶[0003]-[0004], [0062]).
Regarding claim 5, Ohhashi in view of Hara teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Ohhashi further teaches:
the first insulation piece is made of a cured insulation material (Polyimide, ¶[0131], ¶[0050]).
Regarding claim 6, Ohhashi in view of Hara teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Ohhashi further teaches:
wherein, the first housing further comprises a first connecting piece (31, fig. 16), the first connecting piece is disposed on the first bottom wall (Fig. 4), the first connecting piece is disposed around the circuit board and is connected to the circuit board to form the first space (space inside perimeter of 31, figs 3 and 16)), and the first insulation piece is connected to the first connecting piece (fig. 16) and overlaps the projection (outer surface of 31, fig. 16) of the first space in the first direction.
Regarding claim 7, Ohhashi in view of Hara teaches the limitations of claim 6, and Ohhashi further teaches:
the circuit board further comprises a third surface (see ‘TS’ in annotated fig. 3 above, and annotated fig. 16 below), the third surface is disposed between the first surface and the second surface, a first region (see annotated fig. 16 below) and a second region (see annotated fig. 16 below) are disposed on the first connecting piece at an end away from the first bottom wall (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 3 and 16), the first region is connected to the second surface (through 46), and the second region is connected to the third surface (see annotated fig. 16 below).
Regarding claim 8, Ohhashi in view of Hara teaches the limitations of claim 7, and Ohhashi further teaches:
wherein, a clearance (L14, fig. 16) is provided between the second region and the third surface, and the first insulation piece fills the clearance (fig. 16 discloses this limitation).
Regarding claim 9, Ohhashi in view of Hara teaches the limitations of claim 7, and Ohhashi further teaches:
wherein, the first insulation piece is in contact with and connected to the second region (fig. 16 discloses this limitation).
Regarding claim 10, Ohhashi in view of Hara teaches the limitations of claim 6, and Ohhashi further teaches:
wherein, the first housing further comprises a second connecting piece (46, fig. 16), the second connecting piece is at least partially located in the first space (fig. 16 teaches this limitation), the circuit board assembly further comprises a first fastener (B2, fig. 16), and the first fastener is connected to the second connecting piece and the circuit board (¶[0117]).
Regarding claim 11, Ohhashi in view of Hara teaches the limitations of claim 10, and Ohhashi further teaches:
wherein, the second connecting piece is connected to the first bottom wall and extends along the first direction (46 is connected to the first bottom wall through inner side wall 31, figs. 3 and 16); and an end of the second connecting piece facing away from the first bottom wall is in contact with and connected to the second surface (fig. 16 clearly teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 13, Ohhashi in view of Hara teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Hara further teaches: wherein, the first ventilation piece further comprises a breathable film (S, figs. 1-4), and the breathable film is disposed in the first channel (fig. 2).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohhashi, in view of Hara, and further in view of Wang et al (CN 111355004; “Wang” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Ohhashi in view of Hara teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein, along the first direction, a height of the first insulation piece disposed on the first surface is greater than 1 mm.
However, Wang teaches:
a battery module, wherein, along the first direction (horizontal direction), a height (thickness) of the first insulation piece (2, fig. 2) disposed on a first surface of a battery (1, fig. 2) is greater than 1 mm (1-4 mm, see claim 13, ¶[n0093]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set that along the first direction, a height of the first insulation piece disposed on the first surface is greater than 1 mm or any desired valued, since creating the claimed height range would only involve routine "engineering optimization", according to its intended use as evidenced by Wang, which has been held to be within the ordinary capabilities of a person having ordinary skill in the art. Applicant should note In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (1955) where it was held that optimizing particular values is obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (who would easily be able to set different values within the range of possible values in order to arrive at the best value by simple experimentation).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohhashi in view of Hara, and further in view of Su et al (US 20210204423; “Su” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 4, Ohhashi in view of Hara teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein, the first ventilation piece runs through the circuit board and the first insulation piece.
However, Su teaches:
a first ventilation piece (16 and 18, fig. 6) runs through a circuit board (12, fig. 6) and a housing (14, figs. 6 and 11, i.e. first insulation piece).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ohhashi’s circuit board and the first insulation piece, with Su’s teaching such that the first ventilation piece runs through the circuit board and the first insulation piece, in order to provide and attachment point between the circuit board and the first insulation piece, and simultaneously serve as a vent for passing gases (¶[0006]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohhashi in view of Hara et al (US 20030094101; “Hara” hereinafter), as applied to claim 13, and further in view of Su et al (US 20210204423; “Su” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 14, Ohhashi in view of Hara teaches the limitations of claim 13, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein, the circuit board assembly further comprises a first connecting hole running through the circuit board and a second connecting hole running through the first insulation piece, the second connecting hole communicates to the first connecting hole, the first ventilation piece comprises a first part and a second part, the first part is at least partially disposed in the first connecting hole, and the second part is at least partially disposed in the second connecting hole.
However, Su teaches:
a first connecting hole running through the circuit board (12A) and a second connecting hole (16A) running through a housing (14, fig. 4, i.e. first insulation piece), the second connecting hole communicates to the first connecting hole (figs. 4-6), the first ventilation piece comprises a first part (see ‘FP’ in annotated fig. 6 below) and a second part (see ‘SP’ in annotated fig. 6 below), the first part is at least partially disposed in the first connecting hole, and the second part is at least partially disposed in the second connecting hole (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 4 and annotated fig. 6 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ohhashi’s circuit board and the first insulation piece, with Su’s teaching such that the circuit board assembly further comprises a first connecting hole running through the circuit board and a second connecting hole running through the first insulation piece, the second connecting hole communicates to the first connecting hole, the first ventilation piece comprises a first part and a second part, the first part is at least partially disposed in the first connecting hole, and the second part is at least partially disposed in the second connecting hole, in order to provide and attachment point between the circuit board and the first insulation piece, and simultaneously serve as a vent for passing gases (¶[0006]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohhashi in view of Hara et al (US 20030094101; “Hara” hereinafter), Su et al (US 20210204423; “Su” hereinafter) as applied to claim 14, and further in view of Gall et al (US 20050207114; “Gall” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 17, Ohhashi in view of Hara and Su teaches the limitations of claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein, the breathable film is disposed in the first part.
However, Gall teaches:
a first connecting hole (see ‘FCH’ in annotated fig. 4 below) running through a circuit board (38) and a second connecting hole (see ‘SCH’ in annotated fig. 4 below) running through a housing (32, fig. 4, i.e. first insulation piece), the second connecting hole communicates to the first connecting hole (fig. 4), a first ventilation piece (50, 56, 58, 62, fig. 4) comprises a first part (50, 56, 62) and a second part (56, 58), the first part is at least partially disposed in the first connecting hole (fig. 4), and the second part is at least partially disposed in the second connecting hole (fig. 4), wherein, a breathable film (50, fig. 4, ¶[0032]) is disposed in the first part (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify , Ohhashi in view of Hara and Su, with Gall’s teaching such that the breathable film is disposed in the first part, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohhashi in view of Hara, and further in view of Obasih et al (US 20120263988; “Obasih” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 19, Ohhashi in view of Hara teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
a battery comprising:
a battery cell; and
the circuit board assembly according to claim 1, and the battery cell is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly.
However, Obasih discloses:
An electrical apparatus (10, fig. 1, ¶[0023]) including a vented battery system (24, fig. 3, ¶[0083]) comprising a battery cell (88, fig. 4, ¶[0041]), and a circuit board (¶[0041]), and the battery cell is electrically connected to the circuit board (¶[0041]-[0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include Obasih’s electrical apparatus comprising a battery, such that a battery, comprising a battery cell, and said battery cell is electrically connected to the circuit board assembly, since the claim would have been obvious because the particular technique was well known as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Obasih. Moreover, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (§MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 20, Ohhashi in view of Hara and Obasih teaches the limitations of claim 19, and Obasih further discloses:
an electrical apparatus (10, fig. 1, ¶[0023]), comprising the battery according to claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claims 1 and 12-14, a combination of limitations that teaches: wherein, along the first direction, a height by which the second part protrudes beyond the first surface is greater than a height of the first insulation piece disposed on the first surface. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claims 1 and 12-14, a combination of limitations that teaches: wherein, the second part comprises a first outer surface oriented toward the first part and located outside the first channel, and the first outer surface is in contact with and connected to the first surface. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claims 1, 12-14 and 17, a combination of limitations that teaches: wherein, the first part comprises a first inner surface oriented toward the second part and located in the first channel, and the first inner surface is connected to the breathable film. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's first argument:
“Even if Ohhashi paragraph [0049] is relied upon for first space "L1," Ohhashi does not disclose L1 as a single identified space having the amended claim 1 relationships. Ohhashi paragraph [0049] states that L1 more specifically includes spaces L5 and L7, but Ohhashi thereafter treats L5 and L7 as distinct spaces having different locations and different functions. Thus, even under Ohhashi's own description, L5 and L7 are not disclosed as the same identified space that both contains at least a part of the second surface and corresponds to the claimed first space”.
Examiner’s response:
The first space was not mapped to any particular space such as L1, L5, L7 and the like, but rather at the whole space formed between the first housing and the first insulating element and therefore said space includes circuit board 11. And as such, annotated figure 16 below from Ohhashi teaches where at least a part of the second surface is located in the first space.
Applicant's second argument:
“Ohhashi does not describe ABD as having a first opening, a second opening, and a first channel communicating the first opening to the second opening, nor does Ohhashi tie ABD to the particular space containing back surface 11b, as opposed to the control unit interior generally”.
Examiner’s response:
Ohhashi is not relied upon to address this limitation of formerly claim 12, now incorporated in amended claim 1, but rather Hara (see previous and current office action). Therefore, Ohhashi in view of Hara teaches the limitation of amended claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841