DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed 9/26/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 14, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang, Pub. No. CN110796438A (“Zhang”). All below page number references are to the English translation provided by Applicant.
With regard to Claim 1, Zhang teaches an electronic red envelope sending method, performed by a terminal, comprising:
displaying a message page of a client, the message page including a red envelope message and a red envelope re-sending control corresponding to the red envelope message (Fig. 2 shows a messaging interface. P. 7 describes that red envelope copy options are displayed in an interface along with a selected red envelope message);
obtaining red envelope setting information corresponding to the red envelope message in response to a triggering operation performed on the red envelope re-sending control (P. 7 describes that the system prompts a user to enter any of the amount or message setting information that a user has selected to change for the red envelope); and
transmitting a red envelope re-sending message through the client based on the red envelope setting information (P. 8 describes that any of the change information received from the user is sent in a red envelope message to another user).
Claim 15 recites a medium storing instructions executed by a processor (Pp. 9-10) to carry out the method of Claim 1, and is similarly rejected. Claim 20 recites an electronic device comprising: at least one memory storing at least one application; and at least one processor configured to run the at least one application (Zhang, pp. 9-10) to carry out the method of Claim 1, and is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 2, Zhang teaches that obtaining the red envelope setting information message in response to the triggering operation performed on the red envelope re-sending control includes: displaying a re-sending confirmation control in response to the triggering operation performed on the red envelope re-sending control; and obtaining the red envelope setting information in response to a triggering operation performed on the re-sending confirmation control. P.7 describes that when a user selects a control option to change an amount or a message, an input box is provided into which a user can enter the information for the red envelope that is to be sent.
With regard to Claim 4, Zhang teaches that the red envelope setting information is first red envelope setting information; and transmitting the red envelope re-sending message includes: displaying a red envelope message setting page based on the first red envelope setting information, the red envelope message setting page including the first red envelope setting information; determining second red envelope setting information in response to an information modification operation directed to the first red envelope setting information on the red envelope message setting page; and transmitting the red envelope re-sending message through the client based on the second red envelope setting information, setting information of the red envelope re-sending message including the second red envelope setting information.
Zhang at p. 7 describes that the original red envelope with the original message and amount is displayed in a message thread. A user can select an option to copy the red envelope but change the message, causing an input box to be opened, allowing the user to enter the changed message. P. 8 describes the user sending the edited red envelope to another user through a messaging interface.
With regard to Claim 5, Zhang teaches that the first red envelope setting information and the second red envelope setting information each includes at least one of a red envelope number, a red envelope amount, a red envelope type, a red envelope cover, and a red envelope remark. P. 7 describes that the user can select the amount and the message from the red envelope for editing before re-sending.
With regard to Claim 6, Zhang teaches that before transmitting the red envelope re-sending message: displaying a red envelope receiving object selection page, the red envelope receiving object selection page including at least one object identifier each corresponding to one of at least one red envelope receiving object; and determining a target red envelope receiving object in response to a selection operation performed on one of the at least one object identifier; wherein transmitting the red envelope re-sending message includes: transmitting the red envelope re-sending message to the target red envelope receiving object through the client. P. 8 describes that after receiving the copy change information, the system can jump to a contact selection interface that allows a user to select the recipient for the red envelope.
With regard to Claim 7, Zhang teaches that the at least one object identifier include at least one of an object identifier of a current session object corresponding to the message page and an object identifier of an associated object associated with a logged-in account in the client. Pp. 7-8 describe that the user can also select a recipient for the red envelope by selecting a chat messaging page and pasting the red envelope therein.
With regard to Claim 14, Zhang teaches the red envelope setting information is first red envelope setting information; and transmitting the red envelope re-sending message includes: determining second red envelope setting information corresponding to the red envelope re-sending message based on the first red envelope setting information, the second red envelope setting information including red envelope payment information and object information of a red envelope receiving object; generating a payment order corresponding to the red envelope re-sending message based on the red envelope payment information, and performing a payment confirmation operation on the payment order; and transmitting, through the client, the red envelope re-sending message to a client of the red envelope receiving object based on the object information.
Zhang teaches at p. 7 that a user inputting a red envelope copy operation inputs changed information for the copied envelope. P. 8 describes transmitting the envelope to another user. P. 8 additionally teaches that the system can prompt a user to enter payment information; after a user submits payment, the red envelope is sent to the selected recipient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Yang, et al, U.S. PGPUB No. 2018/0167346 (“Yang”).
With regard to Claim 3, Zhang, in view of Yang teaches that obtaining the red envelope setting information in response to the triggering operation performed on the red envelope re-sending control includes: displaying a number prompt identifier in response to a re-sending number setting operation performed on the red envelope re-sending control, the number prompt identifier indicating a message number of red envelope re-sending messages corresponding to the re-sending number setting operation; and obtaining the red envelope setting information corresponding to the red envelope message in response to a number setting ending event.
Zhang teaches at p. 7 that a user opens an interface to input details for copying a red envelope. Yang teaches at [0066] that when a user selecting an option to open a red envelope configuration screen, can select recipients. The user can select multiple recipients, which as shown in Fig. 7 causes the interface to indicate the number of red envelopes that will be sent in response to the user’s designation of the recipients.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Yang with Zhang. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by providing additional configuration options for copying a red envelope, including adding multiple recipients.
With regard to Claim 12, Zhang, in view of Yang teaches that a red envelope re-sending countdown corresponds to the red envelope re-sending control, the red envelope re-sending countdown being less than or equal to a preset red envelope re-sending duration. Zhang teaches sending red envelopes using the copy controls, as described above. Yang teaches at [0108]-[0109] and Fig. 15A that a red envelope sent to a user can have a countdown displayed therewith in a chat window.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Yang with Zhang. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by providing additional configuration options for copying a red envelope, including adding multiple recipients.
With regard to Claim 13, Yang teaches obtaining a message transmission duration of the red envelope message; and adjusting a display effect of the red envelope re-sending control in response to the message transmission duration being greater than a preset red envelope re-sending duration. Fig. 11 shows a control when a time control is not activated in a red envelope sending interface. Fig. 13 shows that additional elements are added to the interface for sending envelopes when the time control is enabled.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Yang with Zhang. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by providing additional configuration options for copying a red envelope, including adding multiple recipients.
Claims 8-11 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Cho, U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0207679 (“Cho”).
With regard to Claim 8, Zhang, in view of Cho teaches before obtaining the red envelope setting information: receiving a red envelope re-sending request, and displaying a request detail viewing control in the red envelope message based on the red envelope re-sending request; and displaying a request detail page in response to a triggering operation performed on the request detail viewing control, the request detail page including a user identifier of a requesting user that requests red envelope re-sending.
Cho teaches at [0083]-[0084] that a user can receive a request for payment from another user. A user can then enter a trigger word, which brings up a view of details of the proposed transfer, along with a confirmation to complete the transaction. The details identify the recipient who requested the payment. As the red envelopes described in Zhang are a method for sending money, the combined references would suggest to one of skill in the art a red envelope request and details page as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Cho with Zhang. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling for users to request money in a system enabling red envelopes within a messaging application.
With regard to Claim 9, Zhang, in view of Cho teaches that the request detail page comprises a red envelope re-sending setting control; and the red envelope setting information is first red envelope setting information; the method further comprising: determining second red envelope setting information in response to a triggering operation performed on the red envelope re-sending setting control; obtaining the first red envelope setting information corresponding to the red envelope message; and transmitting the red envelope re-sending message through the client based on the first red envelope setting information and the second red envelope setting information.
Cho shows at Fig. 5 that the request detail page includes a control for sending the requested money. Zhang teaches at P. 7 that red envelope copy options are displayed in an interface along with a selected red envelope message, and that the system prompts a user to enter any of the amount or message setting information that a user has selected to change for the red envelope. P. 8 describes sending the copied and modified red envelope.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Cho with Zhang. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling for users to request money in a system enabling red envelopes within a messaging application.
With regard to Claim 10, Zhang, in view of Cho teaches that the red envelope re-sending setting control includes a receiving object setting control corresponding to the requesting user; and determining the second red envelope setting information in response to the triggering operation performed on the red envelope re-sending setting control includes: determining, in response to a triggering operation performed on the receiving object setting control, the requesting user as the red envelope receiving object; and determining the second red envelope setting information based on object information of the red envelope receiving object.
Fig. 5 of Cho shows that the control for sending money includes a detail screen identifying the requesting user as the recipient, and that a user can select to send requested money to the requesting user. Zhang teaches at P. 7 that red envelope copy options are displayed in an interface along with a selected red envelope message, and that the system prompts a user to enter any of the amount or message setting information that a user has selected to change for the red envelope. P. 8 describes sending the copied and modified red envelope.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Cho with Zhang. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling for users to request money in a system enabling red envelopes within a messaging application.
With regard to Claim 11, Zhang, in view of Cho teaches before obtaining the red envelope setting information: displaying a red envelope detail page in response to a triggering operation performed on the red envelope message, the red envelope detail page including a user identifier of a requesting user that requests red envelope re-sending, and the user identifier being obtained through a red envelope re-sending request transmitted by a client of the requesting user.
Cho teaches at [0083]-[0084] that a user can receive a request for payment from another user. A user can then enter a trigger word, which brings up a view of details of the proposed transfer, along with a confirmation to complete the transaction. The details identify the recipient who requested the payment. As the red envelopes described in Zhang are a method for sending money, the combined references would suggest to one of skill in the art a red envelope request and details page as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Cho with Zhang. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling for users to request money in a system enabling red envelopes within a messaging application.
With regard to Claim 16, Zhang, in view of Cho teaches an electronic red envelope sending method, performed by a terminal, comprising: displaying a message page of a client, the message page including a red envelope message; displaying a red envelope request control in response to a triggering operation performed on the red envelope message and all red envelopes in the red envelope message having been claimed; and transmitting, in response to a triggering operation performed on the red envelope request control, a red envelope re-sending request to another terminal corresponding to a user that transmits the red envelope message.
Cho teaches at [0083]-[0084] that a user can receive a request for payment from another user. A user can then enter a trigger word, which brings up a view of details of the proposed transfer, along with a confirmation to complete the transaction. The details identify the recipient who requested the payment. Zhang teaches at Pp. 7-8 that a user enters the red envelope into a messaging interface, also shown at Fig. 2 and 3. Therefore, a receiving user can send a re-transmit request for the red envelope as taught by the combination of references.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Cho with Zhang. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling for users to request money in a system enabling red envelopes within a messaging application.
Claim 18 recites an electronic device comprising: at least one memory storing at least one application; and at least one processor configured to run the at least one application (Zhang, pp. 9-10) to perform the method of claim 16, and is similarly rejected. Claim 19 recites a medium storing one or more executable instructions that, when loaded and executed by at least one processor of an electronic device (Zhang, pp. 9-10), cause the electronic device to perform the method of claim 16, and the claim is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 17, Zhang, in view of Cho teaches that transmitting the red envelope re-sending request includes: displaying a request information setting page; determining red envelope request information in response to a request information setting operation performed on the request information setting page; and generating the red envelope re-sending request based on the red envelope request information, and transmitting the red envelope re-sending request to the other terminal corresponding to the user that transmits the red envelope message.
Fig. 5 of Cho shows that the control for sending money includes a detail screen identifying the requesting user as the recipient, and that a user can select to send requested money to the requesting user. Zhang teaches at P. 7 that red envelope copy options are displayed in an interface along with a selected red envelope message, and that the system prompts a user to enter any of the amount or message setting information that a user has selected to change for the red envelope. P. 8 describes sending the copied and modified red envelope.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Cho with Zhang. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user experience by enabling for users to request money in a system enabling red envelopes within a messaging application.
Conclusion
/KEITH D BLOOMQUIST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171
8/4/2026