DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's traverse of the restriction requirement has been considered but is not persuasive. Applicant argues that the apparatus system includes an arrangement of components connected as recited in the process claims and therefore is not used to practice another materially different process. However, the apparatus system of Invention I (claims 1–8) is capable of being used in a materially different process, such as a heat-recovery process in which heat from a hot furnace effluent is successively recovered in two heat exchangers to heat a circulating cooling or heat-recovery medium, without necessarily practicing the particular process steps of arranging, configuring, connecting, and providing the components recited in Invention II (claims 9–16). Furthermore, a serious search and examination burden exists because examination of the claimed apparatus system would require searching heat-exchanger systems, furnace-effluent cooling systems, and heat-recovery systems used in different processes, whereas examination of the claimed process would require searching the particular process steps and operating arrangements recited in claims 9–16. Accordingly, the inventions involve different fields of search and examination considerations.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter regarded as the invention.
Claim 2: The recitation “inlet header exchanger” lacks a clear identification of the referenced component. It is unclear whether the limitation refers to the cracked-gas inlet header or the transfer line exchanger.
Claim 3: The recitation “a cross-sectional area of an internal diameter of the jacket” is unclear because a diameter is a linear dimension rather than an area, rendering the intended reference area uncertain.
Claim 6: The recitation “cracked gas outlet header exchanger” does not clearly identify a previously introduced component. It is unclear whether the limitation refers to the cracked-gas outlet header of the transfer line exchanger or to another exchanger.
Claim 8 depends from claim 1, which requires the transfer line exchanger to be vertically oriented. However, claim 8 recites “in the case of a horizontally oriented transfer line exchanger.”
Because a dependent claim incorporates all limitations of its parent claim, claim 8 cannot replace the required vertical orientation with a horizontal orientation. Accordingly, claim 8 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1 as required by §112(d). See MPEP §608.01(m).
Additionally, claim 8 is rejected under §112(b) because the conditional expression renders it unclear whether the horizontal orientation is mandatory or merely an optional embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over CN 115823913 A.
Claim 1: CN ’913 teaches a quenching system comprising a cracking furnace (16),
primary quench exchanger (13), and vertically oriented secondary shell-and-tube quench
exchanger (14), including a jacket (6), tube bundle (10), cracked-gas inlet header (7), cracked-
gas outlet header (5), lower shell-side inlet (3), upper shell-side outlet (4), and expansion
compensation ring (12). CN ’913 further teaches that the compensation ring accommodates differential thermal expansion between the exchanger shell and tube bundle (¶ [0023]; Fig. 1). The shell-side outlet is connected to the cracking furnace (CN ’913, claims 1, 5–6; ¶¶ [0007], [0011]–[0012], [0017], [0023], [0026]–[0027]; Figs. 1–2). Claims 1-8 are directed to an apparatus system which includes a mannerof operating disclosed system, neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiateapparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP §2114 and 2115. Further, process limitations do nothave a patentable weight in an apparatus claim. See Exparte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd.App. 1969) that states "Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and to an intendedoperation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. CN ’913 does not specifically teach positioning the expansion compensator at the upper end of the transfer line exchanger behind the cracked-gas inlet header. Figure 1 instead depicts compensation ring 12 at an intermediate location along the exchanger shell. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to position the known expansion compensator of CN ’913 at a suitable axial location along the exchanger shell, including the upper-end region behind the cracked-gas inlet header, according to expected differential thermal expansion, mechanical stresses, and available installation space, while retaining its known function of accommodating differential thermal expansion.
Claim 5: CN ’913 teaches that compensation ring 12 accommodates stresses caused by differential thermal expansion between the exchanger shell and tube bundle (¶ [0023]; Fig. 1). Accordingly, the additional differential-expansion compensation limitation of claim 5 is taught by CN ’913, while the upper-end compensator positioning inherited from claim 1 is addressed by the modification discussed above.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over CN ’913 in view of Johnston et al. (US 2005/0161204 A1).
Claim 2: CN ’913 teaches baffles (11) arranged within the secondary exchanger to redirect shell-side gas flow and support the tube bundle (claim 1; ¶¶ [0017], [0023]; Fig. 1).
CN ’913 does not specifically teach tube-bundle-free segments at the baffles arranged to guide the cooling medium alternately around the outside of the tube bundle.
Johnston teaches no-tubes-in-window shell-and-tube exchangers having alternating baffle windows to redirect shell-side flow (Johnston, ¶¶ [0005], [0009], [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Johnston's alternating tube-free baffle windows into the exchanger of CN ’913 to provide controlled shell-side flow distribution and effective heat transfer.
Claim 3: Johnston teaches selecting baffle-window dimensions and arrangements to influence shell-side flow and exchanger performance (¶¶ [0007]–[0009], [0029]).
Johnston does not expressly teach that the tube-bundle-free segments occupy 10–20% of the internal jacket cross-sectional area.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select an effective baffle-window area, including the claimed range, by routine optimization of shell-side flow distribution and pressure drop.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over CN 115823913 A in view of Johnston (US 2005/0161204 A1), further in view of Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Section 11.
CN ’913 teaches a secondary shell-and-tube quench exchanger comprising a tube bundle (10) within an exchanger jacket (6) (CN ’913, claim 1; ¶ [0023]; Fig. 1).
CN ’913 in view of Johnston teaches the exchanger arrangement as applied to claim 2.
However, CN ’913 and Johnston do not specifically teach that the tubes are arranged in a triangular pattern having a side length of 1.2–1.3 times the tube diameter.
Perry's teaches triangular tube layouts having a tube pitch equal to 1.25 times the tube outside diameter (Perry's, Section 11, p. 11-41, Shell-Side Construction, equations (11-74a)–(11-74d)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange the tubes of the modified exchanger of CN ’913 in a triangular pattern having a tube pitch of 1.25 times the tube outside diameter, as taught by Perry's, to provide a conventional, compact tube-bundle arrangement with suitable tube spacing and heat-transfer surface density, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over CN ’913 in view of Birk (US 2016/0169589 A1).
Claim 6: CN ’913 teaches a secondary shell-and-tube quench exchanger but does not specifically teach cleaning pipes adjacent to the cracked-gas outlet tube sheet.
Birk teaches cleaning or inspection connections near the tube-sheet region of a secondary quench exchanger, allowing access for cleaning and maintenance (Birk, ¶¶ [0016]–[0018], [0025]; Figs. 7–9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the secondary exchanger of CN ’913 with cleaning connections as taught by Birk to facilitate maintenance and removal of deposits.
Claim 8: CN ’913 teaches a vertically oriented secondary quench exchanger. Birk teaches horizontal exchanger configurations and cleaning connections.
CN ’913 in view of Birk does not specifically teach two to four cleaning pipes, each 200–500 mm in diameter, extending lengthwise through the lower jacket region of a horizontally oriented exchanger.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide cleaning access along the lower jacket region of a horizontally oriented exchanger to reach regions where deposits may accumulate, thereby permitting removal of deposits without dismantling the tube bundle.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over CN 115823913 A and Brik as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of WO 01/48434 A1.
CN ’913 teaches a secondary shell-and-tube quench exchanger having a jacket (6), tube bundle (10), and cracked-gas outlet header (5) (CN ’913, ¶ [0023]; Fig. 1).
CN ’913 does not teach cleaning pipes arranged adjacent to the lower tube sheet.
WO ’434 teaches a shell-and-tube heat exchanger having cleaning passages (35) arranged near the lower tube plate (12), accessible from outside the exchanger shell, and inspection passages (38) provided with removable closing plates (41), permitting inspection and cleaning of the lower tube-plate region (WO ’434, p. 2, lines 3–14; p. 3, lines 22–30; p. 4, lines 6–26; Figs. 1–4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the secondary exchanger of CN ’913 with cleaning passages near the lower tube sheet, as taught by WO ’434, to permit removal of deposits accumulating in that region and thereby reduce corrosion and maintenance difficulties.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771