DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osypka et al. (US 2021/0121660).
Regarding claim 1, Osypka discloses a vascular introducer comprising: a proximal housing (12) defining an axial passageway (14); and an elongated tubular sheath (20) extending distally from the proximal housing (Figure 1) and including a sheath wall defining a central lumen (22), wherein the central lumen of the tubular sheath includes an unexpanded configuration and an expanded configuration (¶ [0028]), wherein the central lumen of the tubular sheath in the unexpanded configuration includes a first inner diameter and the central lumen of the tubular sheath in the expanded configuration includes a second inner diameter, the second inner diameter being larger than the first inner diameter (Figures 9-10; ¶ [0028]; ID1 and ID2), the tubular sheath including a plurality of circumferentially spaced apart elongated struts (44) disposed partially within the sheath wall, such that an exposed portion of each of the plurality of struts extends radially inwardly from an inner surface of the sheath wall into the central lumen (Figures 9-10; ¶¶ [0033]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 2, Osypka further discloses wherein a cross-section of at least one of the plurality of struts includes a substantially rectangular shape (Figures 9-10, the struts 44 are substantially rectangular as claimed).
Regarding claim 7, Osypka further discloses wherein the central lumen of the tubular sheath is configured to transition between the first inner diameter (Figure 9) and the second inner diameter (Figures 3 and 10) in response to introduction of a device (e.g., dilator 30; Figures 2-3) within the central lumen, the device including an outer diameter that is greater than the first inner diameter of the central lumen of the tubular sheath (Figure 3 and ¶ [0028] disclose that the dilator is of larger diameter than the initial diameter and the introducer expands as it is inserted).
Regarding claim 8, Osypka further discloses a body portion (16; Figures 6-7) extending distally from the proximal housing and defining an axial bore (18) in communication with the axial passageway of the proximal housing, wherein the tubular sheath extends distally from the axial bore of the body portion (¶ [0027]; Figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Osypka further discloses wherein the exposed portion of each of the plurality of struts provides a contact area along which a device inserted within the central lumen slides, the contact area being less than a surface area of an interior of the tubular sheath to decrease frictional resistance experienced by the device inserted within the central lumen (see Figures 9-10; the struts are formed with triangular grooves 46 therebetween, which will reduce the contact surface area of any device inserted therethrough, when compared with the total internal circumference, and thereby reduce the friction since less surface area is engaged with the outer surface of the inserted instrument).
Regarding claim 11, Osypka further discloses wherein the body portion (16) is formed from a flexible material (¶ [0030]).
Regarding claim 12, Osypka further discloses wherein the sheath wall is formed from an expandable polymeric material (¶ [0009] discloses that the inner expandable sheath portion is formed from HDPE or a similar material such as a polyamide or other similar Nylon material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osypka in view of Avneri et al. (US 2013/0281787).
Regarding claim 3, Osypka discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth above for claim 1 and discloses the use of a rectangular shape for the struts as set forth above for claim 2. However, Osypka fails to explicitly disclose the additional claimed shapes.
Avneri et al. (henceforth Avneri) teaches an expandable medical sheath (e.g., Figures 16 and 21a) which has a circular cross-section and a number of triangular-shaped score lines on an inner surface (¶ [0276]; “Such a surface will produce less friction than the shape in FIG. 8A. An additional advantage of this variation is that the width of both strip and beam base are increased, thus enhancing expandability while maintaining column strength. Also, with the beams essentially touching each other, the overall structural strength of the sheath is increased. Importantly, wall tension on the strips is greater than in the previous embodiment as they have a larger diameter than strips 305 in FIG. 15 for any same OD and ID, allowing for easier expansion”). Avneri discloses in Figure 16 the use of triangular shaped inward struts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Osypka to comprise the triangular cross-section for the strut, as taught by Avneri, since Avneri teaches that such a configuration confers column strength to the sheath and reduces internal friction, which is the same scope as Osypka (see ¶¶ [0276] and [0282] of Avneri).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Avneri further teaches the use of externally directed struts which comprise U-shaped and I-shaped cross-sections (Figures 17A and 17B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize these cross-sections as internal struts since they are directed to decreasing friction with another element while maintaining the column strength of the tubular member (¶ [0277]). Because the struts are formed for the same purpose as the internally directed struts of Figure 16, it would have been obvious to form them internally to achieve the same function for reducing the friction of the dilator of Osypka as it is inserted through the sheath. Because the embodiments are directed to the same function and are depicted and discussed adjacent to the internal embodiment of Figure 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the disclosure of Avneri to arrive at the claimed configuration.
Regarding the star-shaped cross-section of claim 4, both Osypka and Avneri fail to explicitly disclose such a cross-section. However, Avneri teaches (as above for claims 3, 5, and 6) that the configuration of the support ribs is intended to reduce friction with an engaging member while retaining or increasing the column strength of the tubular member (¶¶ [0276]-[0277]). Furthermore, it appears one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the device of Osypka/Avneri to have a variety of cross-sections for the ribs or supports, including star-shaped, as it involves only adjusting a dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Osypka/Avneri to comprise star-shaped ribs as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In this case, the frictional engagement of the inner member with the inner surface of the sheath as well as the column strength of the shaft are being optimized by varying the cross-section to achieve a desired result.
Claim(s) 10, 13, 14, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osypka in view of Bishop et al. (US 2011/0152763).
Regarding claim 10, Osypka discloses the device substantially as set forth above for claim 9 but fails to explicitly disclose the struts being formed from a lubricious material to decrease frictional resistance experienced by the device inserted within the central lumen.
Bishop et al. (henceforth Bishop) teaches forming an internal layer of a tubular member from a lubricious material to decrease frictional resistance experienced by a device inserted within the tubular member (¶ [0023]; a number of lubricious materials are provided for performing this function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the inner surface and ribs of Osypka to comprise a lubricious layer thereon, thereby forming the surface with the lubricous layer, to provide a means of reducing the friction of the inner surface with the outer surface of an instrument inserted therein as taught by Bishop.
Regarding claim 13, Osypka discloses a vascular introducer comprising: a proximal housing (12) defining an axial passageway (14); and an elongated tubular sheath (20) extending distally from the proximal housing (Figure 1) and including a sheath wall defining a central lumen (22), the sheath wall being formed from an expandable polymeric material (¶ [0009] discloses that the inner expandable sheath portion is formed from HDPE or a similar material such as a polyamide or other similar Nylon material), wherein the central lumen of the tubular sheath includes an unexpanded configuration and an expanded configuration, wherein the central lumen of the tubular sheath in the unexpanded configuration includes a first inner diameter and the central lumen of the tubular sheath in the expanded configuration includes a second inner diameter, the second inner diameter being larger than the first inner diameter (Figures 9-10; ¶ [0028]; ID1 and ID2), the tubular sheath including a plurality of circumferentially spaced apart elongated struts (44) disposed partially within the sheath wall (Figures 9-10), such that an exposed portion of each of the plurality of struts extends radially inwardly from an inner surface of the sheath wall into the central lumen (Figures 9-10; ¶¶ [0033]-[0035]), the exposed portion of each of the plurality of struts providing a contact area along which a device (e.g., dilator 30) inserted within the central lumen slides, the contact area being less than a surface area of an interior of the tubular sheath (see Figures 9-10; the struts are formed with triangular grooves 46 therebetween, which will reduce the contact surface area of any device inserted therethrough, when compared with the total internal circumference, and thereby reduce the friction since less surface area is engaged with the outer surface of the inserted instrument). Osypka fails to explicitly disclose at least the contact area of each of the plurality of struts being formed from a lubricious material, such that frictional resistance experienced by the device inserted within the central lumen is decreased. Osypka fails to explicitly disclose the struts being formed from a lubricious material to decrease frictional resistance experienced by the device inserted within the central lumen.
Bishop et al. (henceforth Bishop) teaches forming an internal layer of a tubular member from a lubricious material to decrease frictional resistance experienced by a device inserted within the tubular member (¶ [0023]; a number of lubricious materials are provided for performing this function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the inner surface and ribs of Osypka to comprise a lubricious layer thereon, thereby forming the surface with the lubricous layer, to provide a means of reducing the friction of the inner surface with the outer surface of an instrument inserted therein as taught by Bishop.
Regarding claim 14, Osypka further discloses wherein a cross-section of at least one of the plurality of struts includes a substantially rectangular shape (Figures 9-10, the struts 44 are substantially rectangular as claimed).
Regarding claim 19, Osypka further discloses wherein the central lumen of the tubular sheath is configured to transition between the first inner diameter (Figure 9) and the second inner diameter (Figures 3 and 10) in response to introduction of a device (e.g., dilator 30; Figures 2-3) within the central lumen, the device including an outer diameter that is greater than the first inner diameter of the central lumen of the tubular sheath (Figure 3 and ¶ [0028] disclose that the dilator is of larger diameter than the initial diameter and the introducer expands as it is inserted).
Regarding claim 20, Osypka discloses a vascular introducer comprising: a proximal housing (12) defining an axial passageway (14); a body portion (16; Figures 6-7) extending distally from the proximal housing (Figure 1) and defining an axial bore (18) in communication with the axial passageway of the proximal housing, the body portion being formed from a flexible material (¶ [0030]); and an elongated tubular sheath (20) extending distally from the axial bore of the body portion (Figure 1) and including a sheath wall defining a central lumen (22), the sheath wall being formed from an expandable polymeric material (¶ [0034] set forth various polymers for the inner expandable wall portion), wherein the central lumen of the tubular sheath includes an unexpanded configuration and an expanded configuration, wherein the central lumen of the tubular sheath in the unexpanded configuration includes a first inner diameter and the central lumen of the tubular sheath in the expanded configuration includes a second inner diameter, the second inner diameter being larger than the first inner diameter (Figures 9-10; ¶ [0028]; ID1 and ID2), the tubular sheath including a plurality of circumferentially spaced apart elongated struts (44) disposed partially within the sheath wall, such that an exposed portion of each of the plurality of struts extends radially inwardly from an inner surface of the sheath wall into the central lumen (Figures 9-10), the exposed portion of each of the plurality of struts providing a contact area along which a device (e.g., dilator 30) inserted within the central lumen slides, the contact area being less than a surface area of an interior of the tubular sheath (see Figures 9-10; the struts are formed with triangular grooves 46 therebetween, which will reduce the contact surface area of any device inserted therethrough, when compared with the total internal circumference, and thereby reduce the friction since less surface area is engaged with the outer surface of the inserted instrument). Osypka fails to explicitly disclose at least the contact area of each of the plurality of struts being formed from a lubricious material, such that frictional resistance experienced by the device inserted within the central lumen is decreased.
Bishop et al. (henceforth Bishop) teaches forming an internal layer of a tubular member from a lubricious material to decrease frictional resistance experienced by a device inserted within the tubular member (¶ [0023]; a number of lubricious materials are provided for performing this function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the inner surface and ribs of Osypka to comprise a lubricious layer thereon, thereby forming the surface with the lubricous layer, to provide a means of reducing the friction of the inner surface with the outer surface of an instrument inserted therein as taught by Bishop.
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osypka in view of Bishop, and further in view of Avneri.
Regarding claim 15, Osypka/Bishop teach the claimed invention substantially as set forth above for claim 13 and discloses the use of a rectangular shape for the struts as set forth above for claim 14. However, Osypka fails to explicitly disclose the additional claimed shapes.
Avneri et al. (henceforth Avneri) teaches an expandable medical sheath (e.g., Figures 16 and 21a) which has a circular cross-section and a number of triangular-shaped score lines on an inner surface (¶ [0276]; “Such a surface will produce less friction than the shape in FIG. 8A. An additional advantage of this variation is that the width of both strip and beam base are increased, thus enhancing expandability while maintaining column strength. Also, with the beams essentially touching each other, the overall structural strength of the sheath is increased. Importantly, wall tension on the strips is greater than in the previous embodiment as they have a larger diameter than strips 305 in FIG. 15 for any same OD and ID, allowing for easier expansion”). Avneri discloses in Figure 16 the use of triangular shaped inward struts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Osypka to comprise the triangular cross-section for the strut, as taught by Avneri, since Avneri teaches that such a configuration confers column strength to the sheath and reduces internal friction, which is the same scope as Osypka (see ¶¶ [0276] and [0282] of Avneri).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Avneri further teaches the use of externally directed struts which comprise U-shaped and I-shaped cross-sections (Figures 17A and 17B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize these cross-sections as internal struts since they are directed to decreasing friction with another element while maintaining the column strength of the tubular member (¶ [0277]). Because the struts are formed for the same purpose as the internally directed struts of Figure 16, it would have been obvious to form them internally to achieve the same function for reducing the friction of the dilator of Osypka as it is inserted through the sheath. Because the embodiments are directed to the same function and are depicted and discussed adjacent to the internal embodiment of Figure 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the disclosure of Avneri to arrive at the claimed configuration.
Regarding the star-shaped cross-section of claim 16, both Osypka and Avneri fail to explicitly disclose such a cross-section. However, Avneri teaches (as above for claims 3, 5, and 6) that the configuration of the support ribs is intended to reduce friction with an engaging member while retaining or increasing the column strength of the tubular member (¶¶ [0276]-[0277]). Furthermore, it appears one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the device of Osypka/Bishop/Avneri to have a variety of cross-sections for the ribs or supports, including star-shaped, as it involves only adjusting a dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of Osypka/Bishop/Avneri to comprise star-shaped ribs as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In this case, the frictional engagement of the inner member with the inner surface of the sheath as well as the column strength of the shaft are being optimized by varying the cross-section to achieve a desired result.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN L ZAMORY/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783