Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority regarding Provisional Application 63/541,640 filed on 09/29/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 12/20/2024 has been fully considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7-8, and 14-16 are objected to because of the following informalities: Examiner suggests amending the claim for the sake of clarity by removing the dashes.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Examiner suggests amending the claim for the sake of antecedence by reciting “b. [[a]]the database populated with data related to the joining materials and their properties, wherein the database is accessible by the processor,”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 11, and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, the metes and bounds of the claims are rendered unclear due to the claim limitation of “wherein the joining materials are selected from the group consisting of solder materials, solder pastes, glues, adhesives, polymers, resins, sintering materials, protection materials, reinforcement materials, other bonding and joining materials commonly used in electronics manufacturing, and combinations of the foregoing.” The metes and bounds of the claim are rendered unclear because it is unclear what materials are encompassed by the recitation of “other bonding and joining materials commonly used in electronics manufacturing.” This particular limitation is so expansive that a person having ordinary skill in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of the claimed invention because one skill in the art would be unable to envision all possible “other” forms of “commonly used” bonding and joining materials. Furthermore, the metes and bounds of the claim are rendered unclear because it is unclear what bonding and joining materials are “commonly used.” This subjective term is not reasonably clear to one of ordinary skill in the art, specifically in view of the specification. The specification does not supply some objective standard for measuring the scope of what types of bonding and joining materials are “commonly used.” Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claims are rendered unclear.
For the sake of compact prosecution, Examiner is interpreting the claim as though the “other bonding and joining materials commonly used in electronic manufacturing” are any bonding or joining materials.
Accordingly, claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. abstract idea) without anything significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-6 are directed to a method, claims 7-13 are directed to a system, and claims 14-19 are directed to a computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium. Therefore, the claims are directed to patent eligible categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Claims 1, 7, and 14 are related to generating a visualization related to integrated solutions, constituting an abstract idea based on “Mental Processes” related to concepts performed in the human mind including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. Claim 1 recites limitations including “display a graphical representation of differentiated performance between a plurality of integrated solutions, wherein each of the plurality of integrated solutions comprises one or more joining materials; displays information to demonstrate differentiated performance between the plurality of integrated solutions, wherein the plurality of integrated solutions comprise a baseline integrated solution, wherein the baseline integrated solution comprises a baseline joining material or baseline plurality of joining materials, and a continuum of one or more additional integrated solutions measured against the baseline integrated solution, wherein each of the one more additional integrated solutions comprise one or more additional joining materials in addition to the baseline joining material or baseline plurality of joining materials; display a graphical representation of the plurality of integrated solutions, wherein the graphical representation provides product properties for each of the plurality of integrated solutions, wherein the product properties of the integrated solution are different from the product properties of individual joining materials that make up the integrated solution, wherein the graphical representation is arranged such that one of an X-axis and a Y-axis identifies and displays a property of the integrated solution and the other of the X-axis or Y-axis identifies the integrated solution, wherein the data is arranged so that a first row/column constitutes the baseline integrated solution; wherein an intersection of an X- and Y- data point represents a particular property for a particular integrated solution.” Claim 7 recites limitations including “display differentiated performance between a plurality of integrated solutions, wherein each of the plurality of integrated solutions comprises one or more joining materials; displays information to demonstrate differentiated performance between the plurality of integrated solutions, wherein the plurality of integrated solutions comprise a baseline integrated solution, wherein the baseline integrated solution comprises a baseline joining material or baseline plurality of joining materials, and a continuum of one or more additional integrated solutions measured against the baseline integrated solution, wherein each of the one more additional integrated solutions comprise one or more additional joining materials in addition to the baseline joining material or baseline plurality of joining materials; display a graphical representation of the plurality of integrated solutions, wherein the graphical representation provides product properties for each of the plurality of integrated solutions, wherein the product properties of the integrated solution are different from the product properties of individual joining materials that make up the integrated solution, wherein the graphical representation is arranged such that one of an X-axis and a Y-axis identifies and displays a property of the integrated solution and the other of the X-axis or Y-axis identifies the integrated solution, wherein the data is arranged so that a first row/column constitutes the baseline integrated solution; wherein an intersection of an X- and Y- data point represents a particular property for a particular integrated solution.” Claim 14 recites limitations including “display (i) integrated solutions for a particular industry segment, manufacturing process, or applications process; displaying information directed to differentiated performance between the plurality of integrated solutions, wherein the plurality of integrated solutions comprise a baseline integrated solution, wherein the baseline integrated solution comprises a baseline joining material or baseline plurality of joining materials, and a continuum of one or more additional integrated solutions measured against the baseline integrated solution, wherein each of the one more additional integrated solutions comprise one or more additional joining materials in addition to the baseline joining material or baseline plurality of joining materials; display a graphical representation of the plurality of integrated solutions, wherein the graphical representation provides product properties for each of the plurality of integrated solutions, wherein the product properties of the integrated solution are different from the product properties of individual joining materials that make up the integrated solution, wherein the graphical representation is arranged such that one of an X-axis and a Y-axis identifies and displays a property of the integrated solution and the other of the X-axis or Y-axis identifies the integrated solution, wherein the data is arranged so that a first row/column constitutes the baseline integrated solution;- wherein an intersection of an X- and Y- data point represents a particular property for a particular integrated solution.” These limitations, as drafted, but for the recitation of “graphical user interface,” is a process that covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, but for the “graphical user interface” language, nothing in the claim elements preclude the steps from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, with the exception of the “graphical user interface” language, the claim steps in the context of the claim encompass a user mentally or manually performing the steps of the claim.
Dependent claims 3-5, 10-12, and 17-18 further narrow the abstract idea identified in the independent claims and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration.
Dependent claims 2, 6, 8-9, 13, 15-16, and 19 will be evaluated under Step 2A, Prong 2 below.
Step 2A, Prong 2: Claims 1, 7, and 14 do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Claim 1 is directed to “a computer-implemented method for demonstrating differentiated performance between integrated solutions used for joining components, wherein the computer-implemented method comprises at least a processor to execute instructions, a memory therein to store instructions, and a database populated with data related to joining materials, wherein the database is accessible by the processor, wherein the computer implemented method is executed within a host organization, wherein the method comprises,” which is recited in the preamble of the claim. Claim 7 is directed to a system comprising “a. a processor for executing instructions, wherein the processor is programmed to (a) access data stored in a database, and (b) generate a graphical representation of a plurality of joining materials and their properties; b. a database populated with data related to the joining materials and their properties, wherein the database is accessible by the processor, and c. memory operably connected to the processor, the memory having instructions executable by the processor, the instructions including.” Claim 14 recites “a computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium, the computer readable medium having stored thereon a sequence of instructions which, when executed by a processor causes the processor to execute a method to present differentiated performance data for integrated solutions used for joining components to a user, the method comprising” within the preamble of the claim. Claim 1 recites limitations including “executing instructions via the processor, wherein the processor is programmed to (a) access data stored in the database, and (b) generate a graphical user interface (GUI) at a user computing device to display…,” “populating the GUI with the data related to the joining materials, wherein the data related to the joining materials and their properties is stored in the database,” "transmitting the GUI to the user computing device for display, wherein the GUI displays information…” “wherein the GUI is configured to display…” and “-based on a selection of an integrated solution on the X- or Y- axis, generating a pop-up window to display a visualization of information related to the integrated solution.” Claim 7 recites limitations including “- executing via the processor the generation of a graphical user interface (GUI) at a user computing device to display…;” “-populating the GUI with the data related to the joining materials and their properties,” “- displaying the GUI on the user computing device,” and “wherein the GUI displays information.” Claim 14 recites limitations including “- providing a series of graphical user interfaces (GUIs) to display (i) integrated solutions…; and (ii) sequentially display multiple depths of information pertaining to the differentiated performance data for a plurality of integrated solutions,” “- generating a first graphical user interface comprising one or more first level view icons, the one or more first level view icons displaying a selection of industry segments, manufacturing processes, or applications processes,” and “- upon selection of one of the first level view icons, generating a second graphical user interface, the second graphical user interface displaying information.” These additional elements are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., mental processes) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Dependent claims 3-5, 10-12, and 17-18 further narrow the abstract idea identified in the independent claims and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration, which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claims 2 and 9 recite the additional element of “wherein the GUI comprises a plurality of GUIs.” Dependent claims 6, 13, and 19 recite the additional element of “wherein the graphical representation remains in a suspended state when the pop-up window is displayed.” Dependent claim 8 recites the additional element of “- based on a selection of an integrated solution on the X- or Y- axis, generating a pop-up window to display a visualization of information related to the integrated solution.” Dependent claim 15 recites the additional element of “- generating additional graphical user interfaces to display information related to one or more of quality and/or performance and/or reliability goals, quality and/or performance and/or reliability solutions; and risk mitigation for analyzing/determining/computing performance data of one or more of the plurality of integrated solutions, wherein the additional graphical user interfaces each comprise one or more view icons to differentiate/highlight/display the information to the user.” Dependent claim 16 recites the additional element of “- based on a selection of an integrated solution on the X- or Y- axis, generating a pop-up window to display a visualization of information related to the integrated solution.” These additional elements are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., mental processes) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements of the dependent claims, when considered both individually and in the context of the independent claims, are not sufficient to prove integration into a practical application.
Step 2B: Claims 1, 7, and 14 do not comprise anything significantly more than the judicial exception. Claim 1 is directed to “a computer-implemented method for demonstrating differentiated performance between integrated solutions used for joining components, wherein the computer-implemented method comprises at least a processor to execute instructions, a memory therein to store instructions, and a database populated with data related to joining materials, wherein the database is accessible by the processor, wherein the computer implemented method is executed within a host organization, wherein the method comprises,” which is recited in the preamble of the claim. Claim 7 is directed to a system comprising “a. a processor for executing instructions, wherein the processor is programmed to (a) access data stored in a database, and (b) generate a graphical representation of a plurality of joining materials and their properties; b. a database populated with data related to the joining materials and their properties, wherein the database is accessible by the processor, and c. memory operably connected to the processor, the memory having instructions executable by the processor, the instructions including.” Claim 14 recites “a computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium, the computer readable medium having stored thereon a sequence of instructions which, when executed by a processor causes the processor to execute a method to present differentiated performance data for integrated solutions used for joining components to a user, the method comprising” within the preamble of the claim. Claim 1 recites limitations including “executing instructions via the processor, wherein the processor is programmed to (a) access data stored in the database, and (b) generate a graphical user interface (GUI) at a user computing device to display…,” “populating the GUI with the data related to the joining materials, wherein the data related to the joining materials and their properties is stored in the database,” "transmitting the GUI to the user computing device for display, wherein the GUI displays information…” “wherein the GUI is configured to display…” and “-based on a selection of an integrated solution on the X- or Y- axis, generating a pop-up window to display a visualization of information related to the integrated solution.” Claim 7 recites limitations including “- executing via the processor the generation of a graphical user interface (GUI) at a user computing device to display…;” “-populating the GUI with the data related to the joining materials and their properties,” “- displaying the GUI on the user computing device,” and “wherein the GUI displays information.” Claim 14 recites limitations including “- providing a series of graphical user interfaces (GUIs) to display (i) integrated solutions…; and (ii) sequentially display multiple depths of information pertaining to the differentiated performance data for a plurality of integrated solutions,” “- generating a first graphical user interface comprising one or more first level view icons, the one or more first level view icons displaying a selection of industry segments, manufacturing processes, or applications processes,” and “- upon selection of one of the first level view icons, generating a second graphical user interface, the second graphical user interface displaying information.” These additional elements are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., mental processes) do not comprise anything significantly more than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Dependent claims 3-5, 10-12, and 17-18 further narrow the abstract idea identified in the independent claims and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration, which is not anything significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 2 and 9 recite the additional element of “wherein the GUI comprises a plurality of GUIs.” Dependent claims 6, 13, and 19 recite the additional element of “wherein the graphical representation remains in a suspended state when the pop-up window is displayed.” Dependent claim 8 recites the additional element of “- based on a selection of an integrated solution on the X- or Y- axis, generating a pop-up window to display a visualization of information related to the integrated solution.” Dependent claim 15 recites the additional element of “- generating additional graphical user interfaces to display information related to one or more of quality and/or performance and/or reliability goals, quality and/or performance and/or reliability solutions; and risk mitigation for analyzing/determining/computing performance data of one or more of the plurality of integrated solutions, wherein the additional graphical user interfaces each comprise one or more view icons to differentiate/highlight/display the information to the user.” Dependent claim 16 recites the additional element of “- based on a selection of an integrated solution on the X- or Y- axis, generating a pop-up window to display a visualization of information related to the integrated solution.” These additional elements are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., mental processes) is not anything significantly more than the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Therefore, the additional elements of the dependent claims, when considered both individually and in the context of the independent claims, are not anything significantly more than the judicial exception.
Accordingly, claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steppan et al. (US 20200210056 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Steppan anticipates a computer-implemented method for demonstrating differentiated performance between integrated solutions used for joining components, wherein the computer-implemented method comprises at least a processor to execute instructions, a memory therein to store instructions, and a database populated with data related to joining materials, wherein the database is accessible by the processor (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer; see also: [0197, 0240, 0245, 0253]), wherein the computer implemented method is executed within a host organization, wherein the method comprises:
- executing instructions via the processor (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer; see also: [0197, 0240, 0245, 0253]), wherein the processor is programmed to (a) access data stored in the database (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0064] teaches mixture designs can be created, each property is then measured and recorded in a design-expert table, which is stored in a database, as well as in [0273-0274] teach generating a material configuration by optimizing coating formulation based on performance, wherein the recipes can be stored in a database; see also: [0080, 0146, 0163-0164, 0197]), and
(b) generate a graphical user interface (GUI) at a user computing device to display a graphical representation of differentiated performance between a plurality of integrated solutions (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference; see also: [0253]),
wherein each of the plurality of integrated solutions comprises one or more joining materials ([0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein [0071] teaches the material may be a foam, coating, adhesive, sealant, elastomer, sheet, film, a binder, or any organic polymer; see also: [0090, 0174, 0240, 0245, 0253]);
- populating the GUI with the data related to the joining materials (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference; see also: [0186-0187, 0253]),
wherein the data related to the joining materials and their properties is stored in the database (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference; see also: [0186-0187, 0253]);
- transmitting the GUI to the user computing device for display (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer; see also: [0186-0187, 0197, 0240, 0245, 0253]),
wherein the GUI displays information to demonstrate differentiated performance between the plurality of integrated solutions (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0253, 0281]),
wherein the plurality of integrated solutions comprise a baseline integrated solution (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties, wherein [0273] teaches the digital formulation service module is configured to generate a material configuration, such as a custom coating, by optimizing the coating formulation based on performance, wherein the user may specify one or more criteria that one or more particular qualities of a coasting must satisfy, wherein the user may specify that the custom coating must possess at least a minimum smoothness, wherein the system is configured to analyze all known recipes that satisfy the performance constraints, wherein the known recipes may be based on information from the database, wherein [0274] teaches the system may provide an optimization configuration using substitute ingredients that may satisfy the default performance constraint using default ingredients; see also: Fig. 10, [0064, 0253, 0281]),
wherein the baseline integrated solution comprises a baseline joining material (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties, and wherein [0064] teaches a coating comprising an A side and a B side is analyzed using a two-mixture design, with one mixture based on relative amounts of three components and the other mixture based on the relative amounts of two components, wherein a design formulation data set can be created and upon generating a set of formulations, the coatings can be prepared and cured on appropriate substrates, wherein each property is then measured and recorded in a data table and stored in a database, wherein [0273] teaches the digital formulation service module is configured to generate a material configuration, such as a custom coating, by optimizing the coating formulation based on performance, wherein the user may specify one or more criteria that one or more particular qualities of a coasting must satisfy, wherein the user may specify that the custom coating must possess at least a minimum smoothness, wherein the system is configured to analyze all known recipes that satisfy the performance constraints, wherein the known recipes may be based on information from the database, wherein [0274] teaches the system may provide an optimization configuration using substitute ingredients that may satisfy the default performance constraint using default ingredients; see also: Fig. 10, [0253, 0281]), and
a continuum of one additional integrated solution measured against the baseline integrated solution (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties, wherein [0273] teaches the digital formulation service module is configured to generate a material configuration, such as a custom coating, by optimizing the coating formulation based on performance, wherein the user may specify one or more criteria that one or more particular qualities of a coasting must satisfy, wherein the user may specify that the custom coating must possess at least a minimum smoothness, wherein the system is configured to analyze all known recipes that satisfy the performance constraints, wherein the known recipes may be based on information from the database, wherein [0274] teaches the system may provide an optimization configuration using substitute ingredients that may satisfy the default performance constraint using default ingredients; see also: Fig. 10, [0253, 0281]),
wherein each of the one more additional integrated solutions comprise one or more additional joining materials in addition to the baseline joining material ([0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties, wherein the current recipe table can be adjusted using the tool of Fig. 22 that can update the variable selection and slider bar GUIs, wherein [0181-0182] teach generating square plots and displaying them on the GUI in order to provide an iterative process to determine component combinations that product materials with properties closest to the desired properties, wherein in order to evaluate effects of formulation ingredients and processing variables, a level may be changed by clicking and dragging the slider bars for any products which have recipe/performance relationships, such as foams, elastomers, coatings, and more, wherein the individual blowing agents can be set to “0” or can be set to different levels based on user input, wherein [0064] teaches a coating comprising an A side and a B side is analyzed using a two-mixture design, with one mixture based on relative amounts of three components and the other mixture based on the relative amounts of two components, wherein a design formulation data set can be created and upon generating a set of formulations, the coatings can be prepared and cured on appropriate substrates, wherein each property is then measured and recorded in a data table and stored in a database, wherein [0273] teaches the digital formulation service module is configured to generate a material configuration, such as a custom coating, by optimizing the coating formulation based on performance, wherein the user may specify one or more criteria that one or more particular qualities of a coasting must satisfy, wherein the user may specify that the custom coating must possess at least a minimum smoothness, wherein the system is configured to analyze all known recipes that satisfy the performance constraints, wherein the known recipes may be based on information from the database, wherein [0274] teaches the system may provide an optimization configuration using substitute ingredients that may satisfy the default performance constraint using default ingredients; see also: Fig. 10, [0240, 0245, 0253, 0281]);
wherein the GUI is configured to display a graphical representation of the plurality of integrated solutions (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0154, 0253, 0281]),
wherein the graphical representation provides product properties for each of the plurality of integrated solutions (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties, wherein [0273] teaches the digital formulation service module is configured to generate a material configuration, such as a custom coating, by optimizing the coating formulation based on performance, wherein the user may specify one or more criteria that one or more particular qualities of a coasting must satisfy, wherein the user may specify that the custom coating must possess at least a minimum smoothness, wherein the system is configured to analyze all known recipes that satisfy the performance constraints, wherein the known recipes may be based on information from the database, wherein [0274] teaches the system may provide an optimization configuration using substitute ingredients that may satisfy the default performance constraint using default ingredients; see also: Fig. 10, [0154, 0253, 0281]),
wherein the product properties of the integrated solution are different from the product properties of individual joining materials that make up the integrated solution ([0150-0151] teach formulating a composition based on a plurality of properties, wherein this iterative process can allow one to determine which component combinations product materials, such as coatings, with predicted properties close to desired properties, wherein the user can change the ratio of components in a formulation, wherein [0152-0153] teach using the slider bar to change the relative amount of each ISO material in the mixture, wherein upon sliding the bar, the properties in the current selection table of Fig. 8 and [0154] can be updated, wherein [0182] teaches the slider bar can be set to a minimum for a given component, as well as in [0061] teaches predicting a material property for a large number of combinations of components and provide immediate feedback to the user indicating the predicted material property for a large number of combinations of components, wherein the system can provide new predicted material properties for a particular combination of components, wherein [0064] teaches a coating comprising an A side and a B side is analyzed using a two-mixture design, with one mixture based on relative amounts of three components and the other mixture based on the relative amounts of two components, wherein a design formulation data set can be created and upon generating a set of formulations, the coatings can be prepared and cured on appropriate substrates, wherein each property is then measured and recorded in a data table and stored in a database, as well as in [0273-0274] teach generating a material configuration by optimizing coating formulation based on performance, wherein the recipes can be stored in a database; see also: [0071, 0080, 0146, 0163-0164, 0183-0184, 0197]),
wherein the graphical representation is arranged such that one of a Y-axis identifies and displays a property of the integrated solution and the other of the X-axis identifies the integrated solution ([0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0154, 0240, 0245, 0253, 0281]; Examiner’s Note: The row or x-axis of the table provides each formulation and each column or y-axis provides the properties associated with the formulations.),
wherein the data is arranged so that a first row constitutes the baseline integrated solution ([0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0154, 0240, 0245, 0253, 0281]; Examiner’s Note: The row or x-axis of the table provides each formulation and each column or y-axis provides the properties associated with the formulations.);
wherein an intersection of an X- and Y- data point represents a particular property for a particular integrated solution ([0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein the cells, such as 1602, 1604, 1606, are highlighted in a first color to indicate that the pointer is located within the optimization region, wherein cell 1608 is highlighted in a second color to indicate it is located outside of the optimization region, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Figs. 8 & 10, [0154, 0240, 0245, 0253, 0281]);
wherein the method further comprises:
- based on a selection of an integrated solution on the X- or Y- axis, generating a pop-up window to display a visualization of information related to the integrated solution (Fig. 8 and [0154] teach the current selection table showing the current formulation details that includes a first section that lists the materials and a second section that lists the values of the properties, wherein the values of the current selection table can be updated and the table can be referenced at any time to view the formulation and predicted property values of the current selection, wherein the values of each component amount and predicted property can be viewed by hovering, wherein Fig. 15 and [0162] teach a graphical depiction of plots that show the relationship between the current selection table and the location pointers in the heat map regions, wherein the pointers have been moved out the gridded regions by clicking and dragging the pointer using the cursor, wherein as the pointer is moved within the gridded region, the optimized property cell is highlighted cell, as well as in Fig. 25 and [0186] teach the display of the current selection table showing values of predicted properties, listed as properties in the table, wherein the current selection table includes a first section for storing and updating values of properties, wherein with reference to Fig. 21, as the pointer is moved within the heat map, the values in the current selection table can be updated in real time, wherein this table can be reference at any time to view the formulation and property values of the current selection, wherein Fig. 27 and [0188] teach a square plot for a property showing a display of a popup window on hover property, wherein the popup on hover enables a user to view the values of the x-axis and y-axis variables and predicted property value by hovering over any of the provided square plots, wherein the popup window can display the property values; see also: Figs. 16-17, [0197-0198]).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Steppan anticipates all the limitation of claims 1, 7, and 14 above.
Steppan further teaches wherein the GUI comprises a plurality of GUIs (Fig. 37 and [0197] teach a display of a stored formulation table, as well as in Fig. 36 and [0196] teach a graphical depiction of a cost table GUI window, as well as in Fig. 26 and [0187] teach a current recipe display GUI; see also: [0185-0186]),
each of which constitutes integrated solutions for an applications process (Fig. 37 and [0197] teach a display of a stored formulation table, as well as in Fig. 36 and [0196] teach a graphical depiction of a cost table GUI window, as well as in Fig. 26 and [0187] teach a current recipe display GUI, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps that enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display, wherein [0150] teaches formulating a composition by determining component combinations that produce materials, such as coatings, with predicted properties closest to the desired properties, wherein [0268] teaches the processing unit may be configured to generate a set of instructions for producing a product that exhibits the predicted value of the property of the material at one of the points, wherein [0208] teaches polyols are manufactured with a particular catalyst, wherein [0245] teaches generating predicted values of a material based on a historian of a distributive control system of a chemical manufacturing plant data, wherein [0069] teaches models for generating predictive values of properties include statistical analysis of unstructured data, such as that generated by a historian of a distributive control system of a chemical manufacturing plant; see also: [0150, 0208]).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Steppan anticipates all the limitation of claims 1, 7, and 14 above.
Steppan further anticipates wherein the product property constitutes one or more of mechanical reliability, and cost analysis ([0070-0071] teach the various material properties may include solvent resistance, coefficient of friction, density, deflection, tensile strength, elongation, tear strength, maximum temperature, compression strength, fatigue loss, and more, wherein Fig. 25 and [0186] teach the current selection table can list the predicted properties in the table for each formulation, and wherein Fig. 36 and [0196] teach a graphical depiction of a cost table GUI window can be generated that lists the components and unit cost that can be selected, wherein if the price of a product changes, it can be updated in the cost table using the unit selection GUI window, wherein prices can be generated, wherein the GUI window lists all eleven properties and the base cost; see also: [0271-0272]).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Steppan anticipates all the limitation of claims 1, 7, and 18 above.
Steppan further anticipates wherein the joining materials are selected from the group consisting of adhesives, polymers, resins, protection materials, reinforcement materials ([0071] teaches the material may be a foam, coating, adhesive, sealant, elastomer, sheet, film, binder, or any organic polymer, as well as in [0061] teaches designing a product using known components such as resin, as well as in [0256] teaches the material can be a combination of the components; see also: [0089, 0210]).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, Steppan anticipates all the limitation of claims 1, 8, and 16 above.
Steppan further anticipates wherein the graphical representation remains in a suspended state when the pop-up window is displayed (Fig. 8 and [0154] teach the current selection table showing the current formulation details that includes a first section that lists the materials and a second section that lists the values of the properties, wherein the values of the current selection table can be updated and the table can be referenced at any time to view the formulation and predicted property values of the current selection, wherein the values of each component amount and predicted property can be viewed by hovering, wherein [0151] teaches the user can change the ratio amounts of components used in a formulation by clicking and dragging the pointer, wherein Fig. 15 and [0162] teach a graphical depiction of plots that show the relationship between the current selection table and the location pointers in the heat map regions, wherein the pointers have been moved out the gridded regions by clicking and dragging the pointer using the cursor, wherein as the pointer is moved within the gridded region, the optimized property cell is highlighted cell, as well as in Fig. 25 and [0186] teach the display of the current selection table showing values of predicted properties, listed as properties in the table, wherein the current selection table includes a first section for storing and updating values of properties, wherein with reference to Fig. 21, as the pointer is moved within the heat map, the values in the current selection table can be updated in real time, wherein this table can be reference at any time to view the formulation and property values of the current selection, wherein Fig. 27 and [0188] teach a square plot for a property showing a display of a popup window on hover property, wherein the popup on hover enables a user to view the values of the x-axis and y-axis variables and predicted property value by hovering over any of the provided square plots, wherein the popup window can display the property values; see also: Figs. 16-17, [0197-0198]).
Regarding claim 7, Steppan anticipates a system comprising (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset; see also: [0197, 0240, 0245, 0253]):
a. a processor for executing instructions (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein the computing device includes a memory and processor, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer; see also: [0197, 0240, 0245, 0253]),
wherein the processor is programmed to (a) access data stored in a database (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0064] teaches mixture designs can be created, each property is then measured and recorded in a design-expert table, which is stored in a database, as well as in [0273-0274] teach generating a material configuration by optimizing coating formulation based on performance, wherein the recipes can be stored in a database; see also: [0080, 0146, 0163-0164, 0197]), and
(b) generate a graphical representation of a plurality of joining materials and their properties (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference; see also: [0253]);
b. a database populated with data related to the joining materials and their properties (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0064] teaches mixture designs can be created, each property is then measured and recorded in a design-expert table, which is stored in a database, as well as in [0273-0274] teach generating a material configuration by optimizing coating formulation based on performance, wherein the recipes can be stored in a database; see also: [0080, 0146, 0163-0164, 0197]),
wherein the database is accessible by the processor (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0064] teaches mixture designs can be created, each property is then measured and recorded in a design-expert table, which is stored in a database, as well as in [0273-0274] teach generating a material configuration by optimizing coating formulation based on performance, wherein the recipes can be stored in a database; see also: [0080, 0146, 0163-0164, 0197]), and
c. memory operably connected to the processor, the memory having instructions executable by the processor (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein the computing device includes a memory and processor, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer; see also: [0197, 0240, 0245, 0253]), the instructions including:
- executing via the processor the generation of a graphical user interface (GUI) at a user computing device to display differentiated performance between a plurality of integrated solutions (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference; see also: [0253]),
wherein each of the plurality of integrated solutions comprises one or more joining materials ([0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein [0071] teaches the material may be a foam, coating, adhesive, sealant, elastomer, sheet, film, a binder, or any organic polymer; see also: [0090, 0174, 0240, 0245, 0253]);
-populating the GUI with the data related to the joining materials and their properties (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference; see also: [0186-0187, 0253]);
- displaying the GUI on the user computing device (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer; see also: [0186-0187, 0197, 0240, 0245, 0253]),
wherein the GUI displays information to demonstrate differentiated performance between the plurality of integrated solutions (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0253, 0281]),
wherein the plurality of integrated solutions comprise a baseline integrated solution (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0064, 0253, 0281]),
wherein the baseline integrated solution comprises a baseline joining material (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties, and wherein [0064] teaches a coating comprising an A side and a B side is analyzed using a two-mixture design, with one mixture based on relative amounts of three components and the other mixture based on the relative amounts of two components, wherein a design formulation data set can be created and upon generating a set of formulations, the coatings can be prepared and cured on appropriate substrates, wherein each property is then measured and recorded in a data table and stored in a database; see also: Fig. 10, [0253, 0281]), and
a continuum of one or more additional integrated solutions measured against the baseline integrated solution (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0253, 0281]),
wherein each of the one more additional integrated solutions comprise one or more additional joining materials in addition to the baseline joining material ([0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties, wherein the current recipe table can be adjusted using the tool of Fig. 22 that can update the variable selection and slider bar GUIs, wherein [0181-0182] teach generating square plots and displaying them on the GUI in order to provide an iterative process to determine component combinations that product materials with properties closest to the desired properties, wherein in order to evaluate effects of formulation ingredients and processing variables, a level may be changed by clicking and dragging the slider bars for any products which have recipe/performance relationships, such as foams, elastomers, coatings, and more, wherein the individual blowing agents can be set to “0” or can be set to different levels based on user input, wherein [0064] teaches a coating comprising an A side and a B side is analyzed using a two-mixture design, with one mixture based on relative amounts of three components and the other mixture based on the relative amounts of two components, wherein a design formulation data set can be created and upon generating a set of formulations, the coatings can be prepared and cured on appropriate substrates, wherein each property is then measured and recorded in a data table and stored in a database; see also: Fig. 10, [0240, 0245, 0253, 0281]);
wherein the GUI is configured to display a graphical representation of the plurality of integrated solutions (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0154, 0253, 0281]),
wherein the graphical representation provides product properties for each of the plurality of integrated solutions (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0154, 0253, 0281]),
wherein the product properties of the integrated solution are different from the product properties of individual joining materials that make up the integrated solution ([0150-0151] teach formulating a composition based on a plurality of properties, wherein this iterative process can allow one to determine which component combinations product materials, such as coatings, with predicted properties close to desired properties, wherein the user can change the ratio of components in a formulation, wherein [0152-0153] teach using the slider bar to change the relative amount of each ISO material in the mixture, wherein upon sliding the bar, the properties in the current selection table of Fig. 8 and [0154] can be updated, wherein [0182] teaches the slider bar can be set to a minimum for a given component, as well as in [0061] teaches predicting a material property for a large number of combinations of components and provide immediate feedback to the user indicating the predicted material property for a large number of combinations of components, wherein the system can provide new predicted material properties for a particular combination of components, wherein [0064] teaches a coating comprising an A side and a B side is analyzed using a two-mixture design, with one mixture based on relative amounts of three components and the other mixture based on the relative amounts of two components, wherein a design formulation data set can be created and upon generating a set of formulations, the coatings can be prepared and cured on appropriate substrates, wherein each property is then measured and recorded in a data table and stored in a database, as well as in [0273-0274] teach generating a material configuration by optimizing coating formulation based on performance, wherein the recipes can be stored in a database; see also: [0071, 0080, 0146, 0163-0164, 0183-0184, 0197]),
wherein the graphical representation is arranged such that one of a Y-axis identifies and displays a property of the integrated solution and the other of the X-axis identifies the integrated solution ([0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0154, 0240, 0245, 0253, 0281]; Examiner’s Note: The row or x-axis of the table provides each formulation and each column or y-axis provides the properties associated with the formulations.),
wherein the data is arranged so that a first row constitutes the baseline integrated solution ([0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0154, 0240, 0245, 0253, 0281]; Examiner’s Note: The row or x-axis of the table provides each formulation and each column or y-axis provides the properties associated with the formulations.);
wherein an intersection of an X- and Y- data point represents a particular property for a particular integrated solution ([0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein the cells, such as 1602, 1604, 1606, are highlighted in a first color to indicate that the pointer is located within the optimization region, wherein cell 1608 is highlighted in a second color to indicate it is located outside of the optimization region, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Figs. 8 & 10, [0154, 0240, 0245, 0253, 0281]).
Regarding claim 8, Steppan anticipates all the limitations of claim 7 above.
Steppan further anticipates - based on a selection of an integrated solution on the X- or Y- axis, generating a pop-up window to display a visualization of information related to the integrated solution (Fig. 8 and [0154] teach the current selection table showing the current formulation details that includes a first section that lists the materials and a second section that lists the values of the properties, wherein the values of the current selection table can be updated and the table can be referenced at any time to view the formulation and predicted property values of the current selection, wherein the values of each component amount and predicted property can be viewed by hovering, wherein Fig. 15 and [0162] teach a graphical depiction of plots that show the relationship between the current selection table and the location pointers in the heat map regions, wherein the pointers have been moved out the gridded regions by clicking and dragging the pointer using the cursor, wherein as the pointer is moved within the gridded region, the optimized property cell is highlighted cell, as well as in Fig. 25 and [0186] teach the display of the current selection table showing values of predicted properties, listed as properties in the table, wherein the current selection table includes a first section for storing and updating values of properties, wherein with reference to Fig. 21, as the pointer is moved within the heat map, the values in the current selection table can be updated in real time, wherein this table can be reference at any time to view the formulation and property values of the current selection, wherein Fig. 27 and [0188] teach a square plot for a property showing a display of a popup window on hover property, wherein the popup on hover enables a user to view the values of the x-axis and y-axis variables and predicted property value by hovering over any of the provided square plots, wherein the popup window can display the property values; see also: Figs. 16-17, [0197-0198]).
Regarding claim 14, Steppan anticipates a computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium, the computer readable medium having stored thereon a sequence of instructions which, when executed by a processor causes the processor to execute a method to present differentiated performance data for integrated solutions used for joining components to a user, the method comprising:
- providing a series of graphical user interfaces (GUIs) to display (i) integrated solutions for an applications process (Fig. 37 and [0197] teach a display of a stored formulation table, as well as in Fig. 36 and [0196] teach a graphical depiction of a cost table GUI window, as well as in Fig. 26 and [0187] teach a current recipe display GUI [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps that enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display, wherein [0150] teaches formulating a composition by determining component combinations that produce materials, such as coatings, with predicted properties closest to the desired properties, wherein [0268] teaches the processing unit may be configured to generate a set of instructions for producing a product that exhibits the predicted value of the property of the material at one of the points, wherein [0208] teaches polyols are manufactured with a particular catalyst, wherein [0245] teaches generating predicted values of a material based on a historian of a distributive control system of a chemical manufacturing plant data, wherein [0069] teaches models for generating predictive values of properties include statistical analysis of unstructured data, such as that generated by a historian of a distributive control system of a chemical manufacturing plant; see also: [0150, 0208]); and
(ii) sequentially display multiple depths of information pertaining to the differentiated performance data for a plurality of integrated solutions ([0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein the cells, such as 1602, 1604, 1606, are highlighted in a first color to indicate that the pointer is located within the optimization region, wherein cell 1608 is highlighted in a second color to indicate it is located outside of the optimization region, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties, as well as in Fig. 37 and [0197] teach a display of a stored formulation table, as well as in Fig. 36 and [0196] teach a graphical depiction of a cost table GUI window; see also: Figs. 8 & 10, [0154, 0240, 0245, 0253, 0281]);
- generating a first graphical user interface comprising one or more first level view icons, the one or more first level view icons displaying a selection of applications processes ([0081] teaches the GUI is a user friendly interface that is always available, wherein the GUI user interface allows users to interact with the data table created by design of experiments techniques through graphical icons and visual indicators such as secondary notation, wherein Fig. 37 and [0197] teach a display of a stored formulation table, as well as in Fig. 36 and [0196] teach a graphical depiction of a cost table GUI window, as well as in Fig. 26 and [0187] teach a current recipe display GUI [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps that enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display, wherein [0150] teaches formulating a composition by determining component combinations that produce materials, such as coatings, with predicted properties closest to the desired properties, wherein [0268] teaches the processing unit may be configured to generate a set of instructions for producing a product that exhibits the predicted value of the property of the material at one of the points, wherein [0208] teaches polyols are manufactured with a particular catalyst, wherein [0245] teaches generating predicted values of a material based on a historian of a distributive control system of a chemical manufacturing plant data, wherein [0069] teaches models for generating predictive values of properties include statistical analysis of unstructured data, such as that generated by a historian of a distributive control system of a chemical manufacturing plant; see also: [0150, 0208]);
- upon selection of one of the first level view icons, generating a second graphical user interface, the second graphical user interface displaying information directed to differentiated performance between the plurality of integrated solutions ([0081] teaches the GUI is a user friendly interface that is always available, wherein the GUI user interface allows users to interact with the data table created by design of experiments techniques through graphical icons and visual indicators such as secondary notation, wherein Fig. 37 and [0197] teach a display of a stored formulation table, as well as in Fig. 36 and [0196] teach a graphical depiction of a cost table GUI window, as well as in Fig. 26 and [0187] teach a current recipe display GUI [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps that enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display, wherein [0150] teaches formulating a composition by determining component combinations that produce materials, such as coatings, with predicted properties closest to the desired properties, wherein [0268] teaches the processing unit may be configured to generate a set of instructions for producing a product that exhibits the predicted value of the property of the material at one of the points, wherein [0208] teaches polyols are manufactured with a particular catalyst, wherein [0245] teaches generating predicted values of a material based on a historian of a distributive control system of a chemical manufacturing plant data, wherein [0069] teaches models for generating predictive values of properties include statistical analysis of unstructured data, such as that generated by a historian of a distributive control system of a chemical manufacturing plant; see also: [0150, 0208]),
wherein the plurality of integrated solutions comprise a baseline integrated solution (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0064, 0253, 0281]),
wherein the baseline integrated solution comprises a baseline joining material (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties, and wherein [0064] teaches a coating comprising an A side and a B side is analyzed using a two-mixture design, with one mixture based on relative amounts of three components and the other mixture based on the relative amounts of two components, wherein a design formulation data set can be created and upon generating a set of formulations, the coatings can be prepared and cured on appropriate substrates, wherein each property is then measured and recorded in a data table and stored in a database; see also: Fig. 10, [0253, 0281]), and
a continuum of one or more additional integrated solutions measured against the baseline integrated solution (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0253, 0281]),
wherein each of the one more additional integrated solutions comprise one or more additional joining materials in addition to the baseline joining material ([0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties, wherein the current recipe table can be adjusted using the tool of Fig. 22 that can update the variable selection and slider bar GUIs, wherein [0181-0182] teach generating square plots and displaying them on the GUI in order to provide an iterative process to determine component combinations that product materials with properties closest to the desired properties, wherein in order to evaluate effects of formulation ingredients and processing variables, a level may be changed by clicking and dragging the slider bars for any products which have recipe/performance relationships, such as foams, elastomers, coatings, and more, wherein the individual blowing agents can be set to “0” or can be set to different levels based on user input, wherein [0064] teaches a coating comprising an A side and a B side is analyzed using a two-mixture design, with one mixture based on relative amounts of three components and the other mixture based on the relative amounts of two components, wherein a design formulation data set can be created and upon generating a set of formulations, the coatings can be prepared and cured on appropriate substrates, wherein each property is then measured and recorded in a data table and stored in a database; see also: Fig. 10, [0240, 0245, 0253, 0281]);
wherein the second GUI is configured to display a graphical representation of the plurality of integrated solutions (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0154, 0253, 0281]),
wherein the graphical representation provides product properties for each of the plurality of integrated solutions (Figs. 40-41 and [0240] teach a computing device that can store data tables, wherein the data tables can be stored in and accessed by both the device 1712 and 1730, wherein [0245] teaches the computing device 1712 may be a client device and device 1730 may be a server coupled to a data table containing a dataset to a visual representation of the dataset, wherein [0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0154, 0253, 0281]),
wherein the product properties of the integrated solution are different from the product properties of individual joining materials that make up the integrated solution ([0150-0151] teach formulating a composition based on a plurality of properties, wherein this iterative process can allow one to determine which component combinations product materials, such as coatings, with predicted properties close to desired properties, wherein the user can change the ratio of components in a formulation, wherein [0152-0153] teach using the slider bar to change the relative amount of each ISO material in the mixture, wherein upon sliding the bar, the properties in the current selection table of Fig. 8 and [0154] can be updated, wherein [0182] teaches the slider bar can be set to a minimum for a given component, as well as in [0061] teaches predicting a material property for a large number of combinations of components and provide immediate feedback to the user indicating the predicted material property for a large number of combinations of components, wherein the system can provide new predicted material properties for a particular combination of components, wherein [0064] teaches a coating comprising an A side and a B side is analyzed using a two-mixture design, with one mixture based on relative amounts of three components and the other mixture based on the relative amounts of two components, wherein a design formulation data set can be created and upon generating a set of formulations, the coatings can be prepared and cured on appropriate substrates, wherein each property is then measured and recorded in a data table and stored in a database, as well as in [0273-0274] teach generating a material configuration by optimizing coating formulation based on performance, wherein the recipes can be stored in a database; see also: [0071, 0080, 0146, 0163-0164, 0183-0184, 0197]),
wherein the graphical representation is arranged such that one of a Y-axis identifies and displays a property of the integrated solution and the other of the X-axis identifies the integrated solution ([0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0154, 0240, 0245, 0253, 0281]; Examiner’s Note: The row or x-axis of the table provides each formulation and each column or y-axis provides the properties associated with the formulations.),
wherein the data is arranged so that a first row constitutes the baseline integrated solution ([0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Fig. 10, [0154, 0240, 0245, 0253, 0281]; Examiner’s Note: The row or x-axis of the table provides each formulation and each column or y-axis provides the properties associated with the formulations.);
- wherein an intersection of an X- and Y- data point represents a particular property for a particular integrated solution ([0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein the cells, such as 1602, 1604, 1606, are highlighted in a first color to indicate that the pointer is located within the optimization region, wherein cell 1608 is highlighted in a second color to indicate it is located outside of the optimization region, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties; see also: Figs. 8 & 10, [0154, 0240, 0245, 0253, 0281]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steppan et al. (US 20200210056 A1) in view of Tryon III et al. (US 20080015827 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Steppan anticipates all the limitation of claims 1 and 7 above.
However, Steppan does not explicitly teach wherein the GUI is configured to convey information related to risk factors and risk mitigation strategies for the joining materials and the integrated solutions comprising the joining materials.
From the same or similar field of endeavor, Tryon III teaches wherein the GUI is configured to convey information related to risk factors and risk mitigation strategies for the joining materials and the integrated solutions comprising the joining materials ([0038] teaches with inputs from all parameters, plus parameters inherent to the materials themselves, the processes are physically deterministic at a fundamental microstructural level, wherein randomness must be explicitly brought into failure calculations, wherein it is possible to mathematically model these material level failure mechanisms by combining the physics of grain structure response to stress with a simulation of randomness, wherein the outcome from the models matches a high degree of accuracy and can be fed into a higher level system, wherein [0039] teaches predicting time to failure of an electronic component including generating a finite element model of the component and generating a microstructure based fatigue model, wherein [0119] teaches the reliability of structural elements with complex stress distributions can be predicted by integrating a fatigue simulation model with traditional finite element analysis, wherein material libraries containing microstructural characterization data and failure mechanism algorithms can be utilized, wherein for many new materials, such as particular alloys, libraries of data must be independently developed, wherein [0100] teaches the reliability of the product is related to the probability that the product will perform its intended function in a satisfactory manner for a specified period under realistic conditions, wherein the fatigue reliability measure as output from a simulation can identify a particular lifetime for the material that permits one to deduce the probability that the material will survive that long, wherein a product that is under the predetermined reliability threshold may introduce too high of a risk, wherein [0194] teaches establishing a reliability or probability of failure threshold for sending a warning, setting the level of analysis confidence needed, determining an appropriate warning, wherein these steps may address the issue of what risk level to set before which the user is informed, wherein [0117] teaches the probabilistic analysis then determines the variation in electronic system response in order to more accurately predict the failure, wherein the system can provide a basis for the rational design decisions, while reducing expense and time to market, as well as in [0033-0034] teach evaluating material failure and utilizing reliability factors in the product design process in order to perform economic trade-offs associated with the benefits versus the costs of achieving even greater reliability; see also: [0019, 0177, 0289]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Steppan to incorporate the teachings of Tryon III to include wherein the GUI is configured to convey information related to risk factors and risk mitigation strategies for the joining materials and the integrated solutions comprising the joining materials. One would have been motivated to more accurately predict the impending failure of an electronic component, thus avoiding the economic impact of failure (Tryon III, [0026]). By incorporating the teachings of Tryon III, one would have been able to evaluate material failure and utilizing reliability factors in the product design process in order to perform economic trade-offs associated with the benefits versus the costs of achieving even greater reliability (Tryon III, [0033-0034]).
Regarding claim 15, Steppan anticipates all the limitations of claim 14 above.
Steppan further teaches further comprising:
- generating additional graphical user interfaces to display information related to one or more of quality and/or performance goals ([0273] teaches the digital formulation service module is configured to generate a material configuration, such as a custom coating, by optimizing the coating formulation based on performance, wherein the user may specify one or more criteria that one or more particular qualities of a coasting must satisfy, wherein the user may specify that the custom coating must possess at least a minimum smoothness, wherein the system is configured to analyze all known recipes that satisfy the performance constraints, wherein the known recipes may be based on information from the database, wherein [0274] teaches the system may provide an optimization configuration using substitute ingredients that may satisfy the default performance constraint using default ingredients; see also: [0271]); and
wherein the additional graphical user interfaces each comprise one or more view icons to differentiate/highlight/display the information to the user ([0080] teaches a web based graphical user interface that is created using web visualization software, wherein the GUI may be used on a computer, as well as in [0062] teaches building a database of data to generate maps to enable users to custom-design various products by manipulating the ratios of three variables and providing a graphical depiction of the results on a screen or display of a computer, wherein [0197] teaches a display of a stored formulations table, wherein once a formulation of interest has been discovered, a user may select the save button and store the component details and their predicted properties for future use/reference, wherein the current recipe formulations “1610” and “1612” can be displayed, wherein the cells, such as 1602, 1604, 1606, are highlighted in a first color to indicate that the pointer is located within the optimization region, wherein cell 1608 is highlighted in a second color to indicate it is located outside of the optimization region, wherein Figs. 25-26 and [0186-0187] teach a display of a current recipe table with properties, wherein the table can be updated with slider bar GUIs, wherein the current recipe table can show a rudimentary formula based on currently selected properties, wherein [0273] teaches the digital formulation service module is configured to generate a material configuration, such as a custom coating, by optimizing the coating formulation based on performance, wherein the user may specify one or more criteria that one or more particular qualities of a coasting must satisfy, wherein the user may specify that the custom coating must possess at least a minimum smoothness, wherein the system is configured to analyze all known recipes that satisfy the performance constraints, wherein the known recipes may be based on information from the database, wherein [0274] teaches the system may provide an optimization configuration using substitute ingredients that may satisfy the default performance constraint using default ingredients; see also: Figs. 8 & 10, [0154, 0240, 0245, 0253, 0281]).
However, Steppan does not explicitly teach risk mitigation for analyzing/determining/computing performance data of one or more of the plurality of integrated solutions.
From the same or similar field of endeavor, Tryon III teaches risk mitigation for analyzing/determining/computing performance data of one or more of the plurality of integrated solutions ([0038] teaches with inputs from all parameters, plus parameters inherent to the materials themselves, the processes are physically deterministic at a fundamental microstructural level, wherein randomness must be explicitly brought into failure calculations, wherein it is possible to mathematically model these material level failure mechanisms by combining the physics of grain structure response to stress with a simulation of randomness, wherein the outcome from the models matches a high degree of accuracy and can be fed into a higher level system, wherein [0039] teaches predicting time to failure of an electronic component including generating a finite element model of the component and generating a microstructure based fatigue model, wherein [0119] teaches the reliability of structural elements with complex stress distributions can be predicted by integrating a fatigue simulation model with traditional finite element analysis, wherein material libraries containing microstructural characterization data and failure mechanism algorithms can be utilized, wherein for many new materials, such as particular alloys, libraries of data must be independently developed, wherein [0100] teaches the reliability of the product is related to the probability that the product will perform its intended function in a satisfactory manner for a specified period under realistic conditions, wherein the fatigue reliability measure as output from a simulation can identify a particular lifetime for the material that permits one to deduce the probability that the material will survive that long, wherein a product that is under the predetermined reliability threshold may introduce too high of a risk, wherein [0194] teaches establishing a reliability or probability of failure threshold for sending a warning, setting the level of analysis confidence needed, determining an appropriate warning, wherein these steps may address the issue of what risk level to set before which the user is informed, wherein [0117] teaches the probabilistic analysis then determines the variation in electronic system response in order to more accurately predict the failure, wherein the system can provide a basis for the rational design decisions, while reducing expense and time to market, as well as in [0033-0034] teach evaluating material failure and utilizing reliability factors in the product design process in order to perform economic trade-offs associated with the benefits versus the costs of achieving even greater reliability; see also: [0019, 0177, 0289]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Steppan to incorporate the teachings of Tryon III to include risk mitigation for analyzing/determining/computing performance data of one or more of the plurality of integrated solutions. One would have been motivated to more accurately predict the impending failure of an electronic component, thus avoiding the economic impact of failure (Tryon III, [0026]). By incorporating the teachings of Tryon III, one would have been able to evaluate material failure and utilizing reliability factors in the product design process in order to perform economic trade-offs associated with the benefits versus the costs of achieving even greater reliability (Tryon III, [0033-0034]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al. (US 20190157970 A1) discloses a graph evaluating materials that have specific temperature behavior and are selected based on the requirement for deadtimes for a PCB
Hsu et al. (US 20250025940 A1) discloses determining metal fatigue due to the material combination and replacing vulnerable materials
/SARA GRACE BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625