DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazyar et al (20130081335).
Mazyar, paragraph 20 of the PGPUB, teaches “organometallic material” refers to a compound that contains at least one bond between a metal and carbon atom in an organic molecule, ion, or radical. In an embodiment, the organometallic material contains a metal (e.g., a transition metal) with metal-carbon single bonds or metal-carbon multiple bonds as well as a metal complexes with unsaturated molecules (metal-π-complexes). Examples of the organometallic material are compounds such as sandwich compounds. Such sandwich compounds include full sandwiches, half sandwiches, multidecker sandwiches such as triple decker sandwiches, and inverse sandwiches. The organometallic material can include more than one metal atom, and each metal atom can be different a metal element, the same metal element, or a combination thereof.
Mazyar, paragraph 21 of the PGPUB, teaches the ligands of the organometallic material are the same or different. Examples of the ligand include isocyanide, η5-cyclopentadienyl or a combination comprising at least one of the foregoing.
Mazyar, paragraph 23 of the PGPUB, teaches the ligands of the organometallic material can be substituted. As used herein “substituted” refers to a compound or radical substituted with at least one (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or more) substituents independently selected from a C1 to C20 alkyl, or a combination including at least one of the foregoing, instead of hydrogen, provided that the substituted atom's normal valence is not exceeded.
Mazyar, paragraph 24 of the PGPUB, teaches the metal of the organometallic material can be an manganese.
The structure of the organometallic material taught in the reference including the claimed structure would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains as suitable based on the teaching of the references above.
Given that Mazyar discloses the organometallic material structure that overlaps the presently claimed raw material, it therefore would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the organometallic material structure, which is both disclosed by Mazyar and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dineen teaches cyanide and isocyanide metal complexes.
/STEFANIE J COHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1732 9/17/26