DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 3/12/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 13-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/12/2026.
Double Patenting
(A) Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,186,973. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
Regarding claim 1 (instant application), claim 1 of the reference application claims exactly the same subject matter except the phrase “a plastic base layer, a printed plastic layer, and a transparent plastic layer” (3 layers) is replaced with “a plastic base layer and a long plastic layer” (2 layers). However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have provided any number of suitable layers as to have created a product having an appropriate thickness for a given application.
Regarding claims 2-10 (instant application), claims 2-10 of the referenced application claim the same subject matter.
(B) Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,633,905. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
Regarding claims 1-3 (instant application), claim 1 of the referenced patent would include all of the limitations of claims 1-3 of this application.
Regarding claims 4-9 (instant application), claim 1 of the referenced patent contains all of these limitations.
Regarding claims 10-12 (instant application), these limitations all appear to be present in claim 1 of the referenced patent. The separate feeding devices are described.
(C) Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,633,904. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
Regarding claim 1 (instant application), claim 1 of the referenced patent would include all of the limitations of claim 1 of this application.
Regarding claims 2-9 (instant application), claim 1 of the referenced patent contains all of these limitations.
Regarding claims 10-12 (instant application), these limitations all appear to be present in claim 1 of the referenced patent. The separate feeding devices are described.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Comerio (US 2013/0228946) in view of Lensing et al. (US 2018/0117830), hereinafter Lensing.
Regarding claim 1, Comerio discloses a method of manufacturing flooring planks comprising a plastic base layer [substrate (S)], a printed plastic layer [or (F) film], and a transparent plastic layer: (a) providing a decorative material of continuous length by feeding said printed plastic layer, including a layered raw material [“LM” which comprises the (F) film (PVC) (“plastic base layer” / “transparent plastic layer”) and (S) substrate together as two layers, par. 0068, 0089] (Fig. 3) into oppositely rolling rollers (engraved roller 201 – “embossing roller” and counter-cylinder 202 – “backing roller”) (par. 0070); with the transparent plastic layer inherently having a front and back side as shown.
Comerio further discloses that the printed plastic layer or “film” (F) is preprinted with a decoration having continuous unit patterns defined by pitch “A” (par. 0051, 0068; Fig. 5) that are repeating patterns that are connected end to end and which would be defined by an “unstretched length.” Comerio further discloses that the embossing roller (201) has an outer cylinder with an embossed pattern around the cylinder.
Comerio further discloses that there is a stretching step (par. 0092) which stretches or changes the feeding speed (“adjusting a feeding tension” as in the claim) in order to synchronize the printed matter and embossing (par. 0049-0050, 0052-0053; 0088) so that they are “in register” (par. 0045, 0053) with one another as claimed before rolling (par. 0056) or “back in synchrony” which would be “realized during the rolling” inherently as it is placed in-register, immediately prior to the subsequent rolling (par. 0049, 0053-0054). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reason to have specified that the stretched length “matches said length of said embossed pattern” as to have produced an “in-register” image with the embossing. Comerio further discloses a cutting step to produce a panel or plank (par. 0068) which would be done as to produce the desired pattern in order to form the flooring plank.
Comerio does not explicitly disclose that there is a second plastic layer (plastic base layer or transparent plastic layer) included in the now three-layered structure that is rolled as claimed. However, Lensing discloses a similar continuous in-register embossing process (Lensing, abstract) which comprises a multi-layered structure that is joined together and embossed as in Comerio (using embossing roller (7) shown as dashed line in Lensing, Fig. 4).
Comerio discloses a “base” process of forming a layered structure of an embossing in register with a printed pattern. Lensing discloses an “improvement” to the process that has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention in that Lensing includes multiple layers (1, 2) (Lensing, Fig. 4) which are joined together at nip point (6) between rollers (5, 7) (Fig. 4), demonstrating that multi-layered structures can be produced in a similar manner as in Comerio and the products obtained would be substantially similar but for the inclusion of more layers of material in the product.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process as discussed above to have further specified that more than one plastic layer is supplied by the feeding step into the rollers as claimed in order to produce a multi-layered structure for the material product.
Regarding claims 3-4, Comerio/Lensing discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses hot rolling the plastic base layer to the back side of the printed plastic layer by a rolling step where the material is rolled and embossed with an embossing roller (at section 200) (Comerio, par. 0070, 0091; Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 5-9, Comerio/Lensing discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses the repeating units with a pattern shown at the side (Comerio, Fig. 5) corresponding to a “preset part” or “chromatic printing line” where the embossing roller matches the pattern as outlined above, and so it would also match this pattern as required in the claims.
Regarding claim 10, Comerio/Lensing discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses the separate feeding devices (as shown in Comerio, Fig. 3) for each of the materials.
Regarding claims 11-12, Comerio/Lensing discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the layers are made up of a PVC material, which is thermoplastic (Comerio, par. 0048, 0050, 0068).
Allowable Subject Matter
Regarding claim 2, it appears that this claim contains subject matter that is free of the prior art. However, it is subject to the three non-statutory double patenting rejections above.
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742