Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 4/2/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 17-27 are withdrawn from examination. Claims 1-27 remain pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 4/2/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 17-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NASKAR (US-2019/0225809), hereinafter NASKAR. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 1, NASKAR discloses A polymer blend material {[abstract]} comprising the following components:
(i) a lignin component; (ii) a nitrile butadiene rubber component {[abstract], [0006], [0013] note that lignin is a subcomponent in (i) thus lignin can be considered (i) and acrylonitrile rubber can be considered (ii), [0024] note NBR or nitrile butadiene rubber};
and (iii) a filler component comprising ceramic particles, wherein component (iii) is present in an amount of 0.1-10 wt% by weight of components (i) and (ii) {[0030] note additional component is the filler or component (iii) and note that silica is ceramic as evidenced by instant claims 11-12, note the concentration of less than 10 wt% of polymer blend or components (i) and (ii)};
wherein component (i) is present in an amount of about 5 wt% to about 95 wt% by weight of components (i) and (ii) {[0026] note lignin is present from 5 wt% to 95 wt% in the mixture of lignin (i) and rubber (ii)}.
The Examiner notes that NASKAR teaches a filler or component (iii) concentration of 10 wt% or less that encompasses the claimed range of 0.1-10 wt%. A prima facie case of obviousness is established when a claimed narrow range is within a broad prior art range or partially overlaps or touches the broad range. Harris, 409 F.3d at 1341; Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1329-30; also see MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Modified NASKAR, however, is silent on the silica particle size range or the last limitation of claim 1 reciting “ceramic particles having an average primary particle size of 1-100 nm”.
In another embodiment for filler being carbon particles, NASKAR teaches that the carbon particles could have a size between 1-100 nm {[0031]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied the teachings of NASKAR regarding the carbon particle size to the silica particle sizes of NASKAR. This would have been obvious to an artisan, since NASKAR discloses that both particles have the same functionality {[0030]}.
Regarding claim 2, NASKAR discloses wherein said lignin component is a hardwood lignin, softwood lignin, organosolv lignin, or grass-derived lignin {[0015]-[0016]}.
Regarding claim 3, NASKAR discloses wherein component (i) is present in an amount of about 30 wt% to about 70 wt% by weight of components (i) and (ii) {[0026] note teaching within the bounds 30 and 70}.
Regarding claim 4, NASKAR discloses wherein component (i) is present in an amount of about 40 wt% to about 60 wt% by total weight of components (i) and (ii) {[0026] note teaching within the bounds 40 and 60}.
Regarding claims 5-6, NASKAR discloses wherein component (ii) has an acrylonitrile content of at least or above 40 mol% (claim 5), wherein component (ii) has an acrylonitrile content of at least or above 50 mol% (claim 6) {[0022]}.
Regarding claim 7, NASKAR discloses wherein component (i) is dispersed in component (ii) in the form of domains having a size of up to 1000 nm {[0013]}.
Regarding claim 8, NASKAR discloses wherein component (iii) is present in an amount of 1-10 wt% by weight of components (i) and (ii) {[0030]}.
The Examiner notes that NASKAR teaches a component (iii) concentration of 10 wt% or less that encompasses the claimed range of 1-10 wt%. A prima facie case of obviousness is established when a claimed narrow range is within a broad prior art range or partially overlaps or touches the broad range. Harris, 409 F.3d at 1341; Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1329-30; also see MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 9, NASKAR discloses wherein component (iii) is present in an amount of 1-7 wt% by weight of components (i) and (ii) {[0030]}.
The Examiner notes that NASKAR teaches a component (iii) concentration of 10 wt% or less that encompasses the claimed range of 1-7 wt%. A prima facie case of obviousness is established when a claimed narrow range is within a broad prior art range or partially overlaps or touches the broad range. Harris, 409 F.3d at 1341; Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1329-30; also see MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 10, NASKAR discloses wherein component (iii) is present in an amount of 1-5 wt% by weight of components (i) and (ii) {[0030]}.
The Examiner notes that NASKAR teaches a component (iii) concentration of 5 wt% or less that encompasses the claimed range of 1-5 wt%. A prima facie case of obviousness is established when a claimed narrow range is within a broad prior art range or partially overlaps or touches the broad range. Harris, 409 F.3d at 1341; Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1329-30; also see MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claims 11-12, NASKAR discloses wherein said ceramic particles in component (iii) are ceramic oxide particles (claim 11), wherein said ceramic oxide particles are silica particles (claim 12) {[0030]}.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NASKAR as applied to claims 1 and 11-12 above, and further in view of HEERING (US-2026/0049237), hereinafter HEERING.
Regarding claim 13, modified NASKAR discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 11-12 as discussed above. Modified NASKAR, however, is silent on silica particles being fumed silica particles.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to structural adhesive for printing, HEERING discloses wherein said silica particles are fumed silica particles {[0058-[0059]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of HEERING in the modified polymer blend of NASKAR and have used silica fume as the silica particles. As disclosed by HEERING, silica fume is a known and often used form of silica particles {[0058]-[0059]}.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NASKAR as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of RODIONOV (US-2018/0334551), hereinafter RODIONOV.
Regarding claim 14, modified NASKAR discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Modified NASKAR, however, is silent on addition of epoxy-functionalized ceramic particles to component (iii).
In the same field of endeavor that is related to silica fillers in polymeric compositions, RODIONOV discloses wherein component (iii) comprises said ceramic particles in admixture with epoxy-functionalized ceramic particles {[0011] note functionalizing silica particle with epoxy groups}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of RODIONOV in the modified polymer blend of NASKAR and have included an epoxy-functionalized ceramic or silica in component (iii). As disclosed by RODIONOV, a number of enhanced properties can be incorporated in the polymer blend by the epoxy-functionalized silica such as Young's Modulus, fracture energy and toughness of resin {[0025]}.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NASKAR as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of NASKAR471 (US-2015/0368471), hereinafter NASKAR471.
Regarding claim 15, modified NASKAR discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Modified NASKAR, however, is silent on addition of a polyacrylonitrile-containing polymer to the polymer blend of claim 1.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to polymer blend composition, NASKAR471 discloses further comprising: (iv) a polyacrylonitrile-containing polymer blended with components (i), (ii), and (iii) {[0027]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of NASKAR471 in the modified polymer blend of NASKAR and have included a polyacrylonitrile-containing polymer in the polymer blend. As disclosed by NASKAR471, the advantage of this additional polymer is improvement in tensile strength and toughness {[0002]}.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NASKAR as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of NASKAR411 (US-2020/0308411), hereinafter NASKAR411.
Regarding claim 16, modified NASKAR discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Modified NASKAR, however, is silent on addition of an organic peroxide that crosslinks component (ii).
In the same field of endeavor that is related to lignin acrylonitrile polymer blend, NASKAR411 discloses further comprising: (v) an organic peroxide that crosslinks component (ii) {[0063]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of NASKAR411 in the modified polymer blend of NASKAR and have included an organic peroxide that crosslinks component (ii). As disclosed by NASKAR411, the advantage of this crosslinking is improvement in material stiffness {[0005]}.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748