DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Case et al. (US 6,357,558).
Regarding independent claim 1, Case discloses a radial piston machine (see col. 4, lines 7-17; FIG. 1), comprising: a housing (1A, 1B, 1C, 1D) including a first working connection and a second working connection (see col. 4, lines 35-37); a drive shaft (5) including at least one pivot bearing (8A, 8B) rotatably mounted in the housing with respect to an axis of rotation (see FIG. 2); a rotor (6) configured to accommodate a plurality of pistons (14), the drive shaft connected to the rotor non-rotatably with respect to the axis of rotation (see col. 4, lines 18-19), the plurality of pistons radially movable with respect to the axis of rotation so that the rotor and the plurality of pistons each delimit an associated working chamber (12); and a control surface (4) surrounding the axis of rotation in a ring-like manner (see FIG. 1), the control surface disposed on an inside of the housing (see FIG. 1), wherein a distance between the control surface and the axis of rotation is variable along a periphery of the control surface so that a volume of a corresponding working chamber of the delimited working chambers changes periodically when a respective piston of the plurality of pistons contacts the control surface (see col. 4, lines 29-37), while the rotor rotates with respect to the axis of rotation (see col. 4, lines 29-37), wherein the housing comprises a fluid distributor (16) configured to cooperate with the rotor in such a way that the delimited working chambers are fluidically connected alternately to the first working connection and the second working connections when the rotor rotates with respect to the axis of rotation (see col. 4, lines 29-37), wherein the drive shaft comprises a shaft section (5), a disc section (9), and a first annular section (24) fixedly connected to one another (see FIG. 1), wherein the housing comprises a second annular section (1’C) disposed at least partially within the first annular section (see FIG. 1), wherein a brake disc assembly with a plurality of separate brake discs (28, 30) is disposed radially to the axis of rotation between the first annular section and the second annular section (see FIG. 1), wherein the brake discs of the plurality of brake discs are alternately non-rotatably connected to either the first annular section or the second annular section (see FIG. 1; see also col. 4, lines 61-67), so that a multi-disc brake is produced (see FIG. 1), wherein the brake disc assembly is pretensioned by a spring (46) into a closed state of the multi-disc brake (see col. 5, lines 60-64), wherein a ring-like brake piston (56, 58) is configured to delimit a brake chamber (48) in sections (see FIG. 1), wherein the brake piston interacts with the brake disc assembly and the spring in such a way that the multi-disc brake is brought into an open state by pressurizing the brake chamber (see col. 5, lines 64-66), wherein the brake disc assembly is disposed within the brake chamber (see FIG. 1), wherein the first annular section and the second annular section each delimit the brake chamber in sections (see FIG. 1), and wherein the disc section, the spring, the brake piston, and the brake disc assembly are disposed next to one another in a specified sequence along the axis of rotation in such a way that a force of the spring is transmitted to the brake disc assembly (see FIG. 1; col. 5, lines 60-64).
Regarding claim 11, Case discloses that an end face of the first annular section facing away from the disc section cooperates with the housing in a manner of a labyrinth seal (see FIG. 1, first annular section (24) overlaps housing section (1D), thereby forming a labyrinth seal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Case et al. (US 6,357,558), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Lucas (US 2014/0023544).
Regarding claim 2, Case does not disclose that the brake piston bears with a radially outer peripheral surface sealingly against the first annular section and the brake piston bears with a radially inner peripheral surface sealingly against the shaft section, so that the drive shaft and the brake piston delimit a spring chamber in which the spring is disposed.
Lucas teaches a brake for a hydraulic drive (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-9) comprising a piston (128), a rotor (108, 124) comprising a first annular section (108), a disc section (124) (see FIG. 4, radially extending portion of (124) forms a disc section), and a shaft section (124) (see FIG. 4, axially extending portion of (124) forms the shaft section), wherein the brake piston bears with a radially outer peripheral surface sealingly (132) against the first annular section (see FIG. 4) and the brake piston bears with a radially inner peripheral surface sealingly (130) against the shaft section (see FIG. 4), so that the drive shaft and the brake piston delimit a spring chamber in which the spring (138) is disposed (see FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to replace the brake assembly of Case with the brake assembly of Lucas to provide a brake assembly that is capable of disengaging the hydraulic portion of the motor form the driven hub to allow the driven hub to free-wheel, thereby increasing the life of the moving parts by reducing friction between components (see e.g. Lucas, ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 12, Case does not disclose that a first fastening flange is disposed on the outside of the housing, such that the radial piston machine is fastened to a higher-level assembly, a brake connection is disposed on the first fastening flange, and the brake connection is fluidically connected to the brake chamber.
Lucas teaches a brake for a hydraulic drive (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-9) comprising a first fastening flange (104) that is disposed on the outside of a housing (102), such that a hydraulic drive (142) is fastened to a higher-level assembly (see ¶ 0033), a brake connection (168) is disposed on the first fastening flange (see FIGS. 7, 8), and the brake connection is fluidically connected to the brake chamber (see FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to replace the brake assembly of Case with the brake assembly of Lucas, including the mounting flange, to provide a brake assembly that is capable of disengaging the hydraulic portion of the motor form the driven hub to allow the driven hub to free-wheel, thereby increasing the life of the moving parts by reducing friction between components (see e.g. Lucas, ¶ 0005).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, neither Case nor Lucas disclose that a first fluid channel extends from the spring chamber to an interior of the housing completely within the drive shaft. Rather, Lucas discloses that the spring chamber is sealed.
Regarding claim 4, neither Case nor Lucas disclose a separate closure ring is disposed radially to the axis of rotation between the first annular section and the second annular section. Rather, Lucas discloses that the closure ring (see FIG. 4, radially inward projection portion of (108) adjacent to seal (109)) is integrally formed with the first annular section.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
October 16, 2026