DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse in the reply filed on 07/22/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the two embodiments utilize the same inventive principle and the distinction identified in the election of species requirement (whether the circuit includes one or 2+ circuit controllers) is merely a difference in circuit implementation. The arguments are persuasive and the requirement is withdrawn.
Claims 1-49 are examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 16, 20, 23-24, 38, 46, and 49 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 16 and 24: “in duration” should be deleted (line 2).
Claim 38: “herein” should be changed to “wherein” (line 1).
Claims 20, 23, 46, 49: “computer-readable data storage device” should be changed to “non-transitory computer readable medium” (lines 2-3, 2, 2-3, 2, respectively).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 14, 16-17, 20-23, 30-36, 38, and 40, 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Antecedent Basis
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the main circuit board" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 32 recites the limitations "the first current controller" and “the second current controller” in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 38 recites the limitation "the housing" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “about” in claims 14, 16-17, 40, and 42-43 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how close the parameter values can be to the ranges provided to meet the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 8, there are multiple typographical errors that render the claim indefinite. For the purpose of continued examination, the examiner has interpreted the claim based on the specification (see [0228]) to read (emphasis added):
8. The system of claim 6, wherein current flows from the voltage source through the third transistor, through the load and then through the second transistor in the second mode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-19, 24, and 38-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0059748), hereinafter ‘Simon’, in view of Maloney et al. (US Patent No. 12,539,077), hereinafter ‘Maloney’.
Regarding claim 1, Simon teaches a system for stimulating a nerve within a user (abstract, transmit electrical impulses to a selected nerve within a patient), the system comprising:
a stimulator (volume 350, Fig. 2B) comprising an electrode (electrodes 340, Fig. 2B) configured for contacting the outer skin surface at, or near the target location ([0145], target skin surface);
an energy source (nerve stimulation device 302, Fig. 2B) coupled to the stimulator ([0143], coupled via wires 345, see Fig. 2B) and configured to generate at least one electrical impulse and to transmit the at least one electrical impulse transcutaneously from the electrode through the outer skin surface of the user to a selected nerve in the user ([0143], delivering impulses to nerves) adjacent to, or near, the target location ([0246], point adjacent to external jugular vein for non-invasive stimulation of vagus nerve); and
wherein the energy source comprises a voltage source (power source 320, Fig 2B) and an electronic circuit (impulse generator 310, Fig. 2B) for generating an alternating current as the electrical impulse ([0279], control impulse generator to modulate stimulation, see Figs. 2D/2E), the electronic circuit comprising a current controller coupled to the voltage source ([0206], add capacitors to the impulse generator to synthesize pulse shapes).
Simon does not specifically teach that the electronic circuit comprises a bridge circuit.
Maloney teaches a device that applies a stimulation waveform to the surface of a patient’s skin (see col. 1, ll. 50-65, device 10, Fig. 1A), further comprising:
the electronic circuit comprising a bridge circuit (H-bridge control circuit 79, Figs. 6A-6B).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simon to incorporate the teachings of Maloney to include a bridge circuit. Doing so would allow for rapid and repeated reversal of the current direction to produce stimulation waveforms, as recognized by Maloney (col. 9, ll. 2-9).
Regarding claim 24, Simon teaches a system for stimulating a nerve within a user (abstract, transmit electrical impulses to a selected nerve within a patient), the system comprising:
a stimulator (volume 350, Fig. 2B) comprising an electrode (electrodes 340, Fig. 2B) configured for contacting the outer skin surface at, or near the target location ([0145], target skin surface);
an energy source (nerve stimulation device 302, Fig. 2B) coupled to the stimulator ([0143], coupled via wires 345, see Fig. 2B) and configured to generate a plurality of positive voltage waves ([0041], voltage is 0-30 V); and
wherein the stimulator transmits alternating positive and negative voltage waves (see Figs. 2D/2E) transcutaneously from the electrode through the outer skin surface of the user to a selected nerve in the user ([0143], delivering impulses to nerves) adjacent to, or near, the target location ([0246], point adjacent to external jugular vein for non-invasive stimulation of vagus nerve).
Simon does not specifically teach that a bridge circuit generates the alternating voltage waves.
Maloney teaches a device that applies a stimulation waveform to the surface of a patient’s skin (see col. 1, ll. 50-65, device 10, Fig. 1A), further comprising:
a bridge circuit configured to convert the positive voltage waves (diodes D1-D4, Fig. 6B) into alternating positive and negative voltage waves (col. 9, ll. 2-9).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simon to incorporate the teachings of Maloney to include a bridge circuit. Doing so would allow for rapid and repeated reversal of the current direction to produce stimulation waveforms, as recognized by Maloney (col. 9, ll. 2-9).
Regarding claim 2, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 1. Maloney teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the bridge circuit is configured to operate in a first mode, wherein the alternating current has a positive polarity and a second mode, wherein the alternating current has a negative polarity (col. 9, ll. 30-35, current flows in opposite directions).
Regarding claim 3, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 2. Maloney teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the bridge circuit comprises first, second, third and fourth transistors (transistors 72-75, Fig. 6B) coupled to a load (TE 22, Fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 4, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 3. Maloney teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the first and second transistors are coupled to a first end of the load (see Fig. 6B, 72 and 73 on one end of TE 22) and the third and fourth transistors are coupled to a second end of the load (see Fig. 6B, 74 and 75 on other end of TE 22).
Regarding claim 5, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 4. Maloney teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the second and third transistors are turned OFF and the first and fourth transistors are turned ON in the first mode (col. 9, ll. 25-35, transistors 72/75 are synched to be either on or off, current flows through transistors 72 and 75 in a first state).
Regarding claim 6, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 5. Maloney teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the first and fourth transistors are turned OFF and the second and third transistors are turned ON in the second mode (col. 9, ll. 25-35, transistors 73/74 are synched to be either on or off, current flows through transistors 73 and 74 in the other state).
Regarding claim 7, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 5. Maloney teaches the system further comprising:
wherein current flows from the voltage source through the first transistor, through the load and then through the fourth transistor in the first mode (col. 9, ll. 30-35, current flows through TEU 22).
Regarding claim 8, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 5. Maloney teaches the system further comprising:
wherein current flows from the voltage source through the third transistor, through the load and then through the second transistor in the second mode (col. 9, ll. 30-35, current flows through TEU 22).
Regarding claim 11, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 1. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the stimulator comprises a housing ([0234], outside housing of stimulator, unlabeled, see Figs. 8A-8D), wherein the electrode is coupled to the housing (electrodes 56, Figs. 8C-8D).
Regarding claim 12, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 11. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the energy source is disposed within the housing ([0029], energy source is within the housing).
Regarding claim 13, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 12. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
a signal generator (control unit 330, Fig. 2B) disposed within the housing and electrically coupled to the energy source and the electrode (see Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 14, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 1. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the electrical impulse comprises pulses having a frequency of about 1 kHz to about 20 kHz ([0032], frequency between 1,000-10,000 Hz).
Regarding claim 15, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 1. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the electrical impulse comprises bursts of pulses ([0155], bursts of sinusoidal pulses), wherein each of the pulses alternates between a positive polarity and a negative polarity within each burst (see Figs. 2D-2E).
Regarding claim 16, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 15. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
wherein each burst has a frequency of about 1 to about 100 bursts per second ([0251], 5-50 bursts per second) and each pulse has a duration of about 50 to about 1000 microseconds in duration ([0251], duration of 1-1000 microseconds).
Regarding claim 17, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 15. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the bursts each comprise about 2 to 20 pulses ([0251], 1-20 pulses per burst) and the bursts are separated by an inter-burst period that comprises zero pulses ([0251], silent inter-burst interval, see Fig. 2E).
Regarding claim 18, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 1. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the nerve is a vagus nerve (vagus nerve 60, Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 19, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 1. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the electrode is configured for contacting an outer skin surface of the neck of the user (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 38, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 24. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the energy source is disposed within the housing ([0029], energy source is within the housing).
Regarding claim 39, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 24. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
a signal generator (control unit 330, Fig. 2B) disposed within the housing and electrically coupled to the energy source and the electrode (see Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 40, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 24. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the alternating positive and negative voltage waves have a frequency of about 1 kHz to about 20 kHz ([0032], frequency between 1,000-10,000 Hz).
Regarding claim 41, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 24. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the alternating positive and negative voltage waves comprises bursts of pulses ([0155], bursts of sinusoidal pulses), wherein each of the pulses alternates between a positive polarity and a negative polarity within each burst (see Figs. 2D-2E).
Regarding claim 42, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 41. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
wherein each burst has a frequency of about 1 to about 100 bursts per second ([0251], 5-50 bursts per second) and each pulse has a duration of about 50 to about 1000 microseconds in duration ([0251], duration of 1-1000 microseconds).
Regarding claim 43, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 41. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the bursts each comprise about 2 to 20 pulses ([0251], 1-20 pulses per burst) and the bursts are separated by an inter-burst period that comprises zero pulses ([0251], silent inter-burst interval, see Fig. 2E).
Regarding claim 44, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 24. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the nerve is a vagus nerve (vagus nerve 60, Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 45, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 24. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the electrode is configured for contacting an outer skin surface of the neck of the user (see Fig. 9).
Claims 9-10, 25-29, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0059748) in view of Maloney et al. (US Patent No. 12,539,077), further in view of Wanasek (US Pre-Grant Publication 2010/0324619), hereinafter ‘Wanasek’.
Regarding claim 9, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 1, but do not specifically teach that the current controller comprises an operational amplifier and a transistor.
Wanasek teaches a device that delivers electrical stimulation to a patient’s nerve (see [0003]), further comprising:
wherein the current controller comprises an operational amplifier (operational amplifier 311, Fig. 5) and a transistor (MOSFET device 313, Fig. 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simon and Maloney to incorporate the teachings of Wanasek to include an op amp and transistor. Doing so would allow for inputs to match and for constant current output to the bridge circuit, as recognized by Wanasek [0067].
Regarding claim 10, Simon, Maloney, and Wanasek teach the system of claim 9. Wanasek teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the transistor comprises a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) (MOSFET device 313, Fig. 5).
Regarding claims 25, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claim 24, but do not specifically teach first and second current controllers.
Wanasek teaches a device that delivers electrical stimulation to a patient’s nerve (see [0003]), further comprising:
first (input circuitry 310, Fig. 5) and second current controllers (feedback circuitry 350, Fig. 5).
The limitation: ”wherein the energy source transmits a first series of one-half positive voltage sine waves to the first current controller and a second series of one-half positive voltage sine waves to the second current controller” is interpreted as intended use of the recited structure, i.e. energy source. The examiner notes that if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, or elsewhere in a claim, then it meets the limitations of the claim (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). Absent evidence of the contrary, the energy source (nerve stimulation device of Simon, see rejection of claim 24) would be capable of transmitting two one-half positive voltage sine waves.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simon and Maloney to incorporate the teachings of Wanasek to include two current controllers. Doing so would allow for the controlled application of voltage, as recognized by Wanasek [0068].
Regarding claims 26-29, the entire claims are interpreted as intended use of the recited structures, i.e. the bridge circuit and energy source. The examiner notes that if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, or elsewhere in a claim, then it meets the limitations of the claim (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). Absent evidence of the contrary, the bridge circuit of Maloney and the energy source of Simon would be capable of reversing, shifting, and otherwise adjusting the voltage sine waves, as detailed in the limitations in claims 26-29.
Regarding claim 37, Simon, Maloney, and Wanasek teach the system of claim 25. Wanasek teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the first and second current controllers each comprise an operational amplifier (operational amplifiers 311 and 351, Fig. 5).
Claims 20-23, 30-31, and 46-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0059748) in view of Maloney et al. (US Patent No. 12,539,077), further in view of Yoo et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0126039), hereinafter ‘Yoo’.
Regarding claims 20 and 46, Simon and Maloney teach the system of claims 1 and 24. Simon teaches the system further comprising:
a primary circuit board that includes a processor and a computer-readable data storage device storing program instructions that, when executed by the processor, the program instructions generate the alternating positive and negative voltage waves (see connection of components in Fig. 2B, [0149], control unit includes processor and memory to produce pulse train).
Simon teaches multiple circuits enclosed in a box (see Fig. 6E, [0212]), but does not specifically teach a circuit board removably coupled to the main circuit board.
Yoo teaches a nerve stimulation system (see abstract), further comprising:
a secondary circuit board removably coupled to the main circuit board ([0054], controllers are detachable).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Simon and Maloney to incorporate the teachings of Yoo to include a removable circuit board. Doing so would allow for wireless communication, as recognized by Yoo [0054].
Regarding claims 21 and 47, Simon, Maloney, and Yoo teach the system of claims 20 and 46. Yoo teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the secondary circuit board is configured to wirelessly transmit data to and from the stimulator and an external device ([0054], wireless communication link).
Regarding claims 22 and 48, Simon, Maloney, and Yoo teach the system of claims 20 and 46. Yoo teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the secondary circuit board comprises a memory module ([0054], memory).
Regarding claims 23 and 49, Simon, Maloney, and Yoo teach the system of claims 20 and 46. Yoo teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the processor is a first processor and the secondary circuit board comprises a second processor and a second computer-readable data storage device storing program instructions that, when executed by the second processor, adjusts a parameter of the alternating positive and negative voltage waves generated by the first processor ([0153], user can adjust parameters).
Regarding claim 30, Simon, Maloney, and Yoo teach the system of claim 22. Maloney teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the bridge circuit comprises first, second, third and fourth transistors (transistors 72-75, Fig. 6B) coupled to a load (TE 22, Fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 31, Simon, Maloney, and Yoo teach the system of claim 30. Maloney teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the first and second transistors are coupled to a first end of the load (see Fig. 6B, 72 and 73 on one end of TE 22) and the third and fourth transistors are coupled to a second end of the load (see Fig. 6B, 74 and 75 on other end of TE 22).
Claims 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2023/0059748) in view of Maloney et al. (US Patent No. 12,539,077), further in view of Wanasek (US Pre-Grant Publication 2010/0324619), further in view of Yoo et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0126039).
Regarding claim 32, Simon, Maloney, and Yoo teach the system of claim 31. Wanasek teaches the system further comprising:
wherein the first current controller is coupled to the first and second transistors and the second current controller is coupled to the third and fourth transistors (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claims 33-36, the entire claims are interpreted as intended use of the recited structures, i.e. the first, second, third, and fourth transistors. The examiner notes that if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, or elsewhere in a claim, then it meets the limitations of the claim (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). Absent evidence of the contrary, the bridge circuit/transistors of Maloney would be capable of driving and pushing the sine waves through the electrode/to ground above/below a threshold voltage, as detailed in the limitations in claims 33-36.
Conclusion
/E.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/SHIRLEY X JIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792
September 23, 2026