CTNF 18/897,212 CTNF 96515 DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 9.26.24. In view of this communication, claims 1-14 are now pending in this application. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: Drive device with mounting features . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-6, 8, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chai et al(US20180290530A1), hereinafter Chai . Regarding Claim 1 , Chai discloses (Figs 1,2a,2b) a drive device for a vehicle [Abstract], comprising: a motor (300) including a motor shaft (303,202); a motor case (300ca) configured to house the motor; a first case (212,211,210 which forms cavity 213) configured to house a gear unit (200) mechanically connected (202 connected to 303 via 306) to the motor; and a second case (201 formed by 212,210,211 , 100ca) configured to house a power conversion unit (100) electrically connected (301,307,105) to the motor, wherein, the first case and the second case are fixed to one side (Fig 2, right side) of the motor case in an axial direction (AA) of the motor shaft, and a central axis (303,202) of the motor shaft is covered (Fig 2b) by the first case (211) and the second case (100ca) in the axial direction (AA) of the motor shaft. PNG media_image1.png 436 674 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 746 469 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 2 , Chai discloses the drive device according to claim 1. Chai further discloses wherein: the motor shaft (303,202) includes a first end face (202ef) opposed to the first case (211); and the first end face of the motor shaft is covered entirely (Fig 2b) by the first case (212,211,210 which forms cavity 213) and the second case (100ca) in the axial direction (AA) of the motor shaft. Regarding Claim 3 , Chai discloses the drive device according to claim 2. Chai further discloses further comprising: a first gear (202 mating part with 203)[Para 0032 discloses “a pinion 203 meshing with the input shaft 202”] attached to the motor shaft; and a second gear (203) meshing with the first gear, wherein a meshing point (Mp) between the first gear and the second gear is covered (Fig 2b) by the first case (212,211,210) and the second case (100ca) in the axial direction (AA) of the motor shaft (303,202). Regarding Claim 5 , Chai discloses the drive device according to claim 1. Chai further discloses wherein at least a part of a peripheral edge of the second case (201 formed by 212,210,211 , 100ca) is fixed (106) on an outer surface of the first case (212,211,210 which forms cavity 213) in a liquid-tight manner [0031 discloses sealed 213 and dry 201]. Regarding Claim 6 , Chai discloses the drive device according to claim 5. Chai further discloses wherein: at least a part of the second case (201 formed by 212,210,211 , 100ca) covers at least a part of the first case (212,211,210 which forms cavity 213) via a space (209) in the axial direction (AA) of the motor shaft (303,202); and wires (105) electrically connected to the power conversion unit (100) are placed in the space. Regarding Claim 8 , Chai discloses the drive device according to claim 1. Chai further discloses wherein: at least a part of the second case (201 formed by 212,210,211 , 100ca) covers at least a part of the first case (212,211,210 which forms cavity 213) via a space (209); and in the space, a noise-proof structure (209 is enclosed therefore noise proof. If Applicant intends a specific noise proof structure, it must be recited in the claim) is provided in at least one of the first case and the second case. Regarding Claim 11 , Chai discloses the drive device according to claim 1. Chai further discloses wherein: the first case includes a first flange, the first flange (210b) extending along an outer peripheral edge (Fig 2b) of the first case (212,211,210 which forms cavity 213) and being fixed to the motor case (308 part of 300ca) with a part of a plurality of fastening members [Para 0027 discloses “A flange connection surface 309 on the output shaft side of the electric motor unit 300 is detachably connected to a flange connection surface of an enclosure 210 on the electric motor side of the gearbox unit 200 through bolts”]; the second case (201 formed by 212,210,211 , 100ca) includes a second flange(210t) , the second flange extending along an outer peripheral edge of the second case and being fixed to the motor case (308 part of 300ca) with a part of the fastening members [0027]; and the first flange and the second flange are each independently fixed to the motor case (Fig 2a,2b). Regarding Claim 12 , Chai discloses the drive device according to claim 1. Chai further discloses wherein: the first case (212,211,210 which forms cavity 213) and the second case (201 formed by 212,210,211 , 100ca) are fastened [0027] to the motor case (308 part of 300ca) with a plurality of fastening members [0027 discloses “bolts”]; the fastening members include at least one common fastening member that fastens together the first case and the second case to the motor case; and the second case is placed on the first case at a position of the at least one common fastening member (Fig 1, Co fastening is a common fastening for both first and second case). Regarding Claim 13 , Chai discloses the drive device according to claim 12. Chai further discloses wherein: the first case (212,211,210 which forms cavity 213) includes a first flange (210b), the first flange extending along an outer peripheral edge of the first case and being fixed (308 part of 300ca) to the motor case with a part of the fastening members [0027 discloses “bolts”] ; the second case (201 formed by 212,210,211 , 100ca) includes a second flange (210t), the second flange extending along an outer peripheral edge (Fig 2) of the second case and being fixed (308 part of 300ca) to the motor case with a part of the fastening members [0027 discloses “bolts”]; a part of the first flange has an overlapping section positioned between the motor case and the second flange; and the at least one common fastening member includes at least one first common fastening member positioned in the overlapping section (Fig 2, Co fastening is a common fastening for both first and second case and 210t is right above 210b in Fig 2b, therefore is overlapping). Regarding Claim 14 , Chai discloses the drive device according to claim 1. Chai further discloses wherein: the first case (212,211,210 which forms cavity 213) includes a first flange (210b), the first flange extending along an outer peripheral edge of the first case (Fig 2a) and being fixed to the motor case (308 part of 300ca) with a plurality of fastening members [0027 discloses “bolts”]; and the second case (201 formed by 212,210,211 , 100ca) covers at least a part of the first flange. (210t is right above 210b in Fig 2b, therefore covers it ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4,7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Nakamura et al (WO2024038500A1 PCT filed 8.16.22), hereinafter Nakamura . Regarding Claim 4 , Chai discloses the drive device according to claim 3. Chai further discloses further comprising a counter shaft (Fig 5,203s), the counter shaft being a shaft to which the second gear (203) is attached and being parallel (Fig 5) to the motor shaft, wherein: the counter shaft includes a second end face (203ef) opposed the first case (211); and the first end face (202ef) of the motor shaft (303,202) projects in the axial direction (AA) but does not explicitly disclose it projects less in the axial direction than the second end face of the counter shaft. Nakamura discloses (Fig 1) it (31,ef1) projects less (ef1 projects less than ef2) in the axial direction (C1) than the second end face (ef2) of the counter shaft (33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed drive device of Chai with end face of counter shaft projecting farther in order to be able to balance the shaft depending upon the gears mounted on the shaft as per gear design choice. PNG media_image3.png 448 664 media_image3.png Greyscale PNG media_image4.png 638 630 media_image4.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 7 , Chai discloses the drive device according to claim 6. Chai further discloses wherein: the power conversion unit (100) includes a first component that includes an inverter [Para 0043 discloses inverter circuits 101,102) and a second component [Para 0043 discloses “various electronic components”] that is an electronic component electrically connected to the inverter; but does explicitly disclose the wires connect the first component and the second component to each other. Nakamura discloses (Fig 6) the wires (18) connect the first component (10 less 11) and the second component (11) to each other (Instant specification Para 0061 recites second component as a capacitor which is disclosed by Nakamura). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed drive device of Chai with wires connecting first and second electronic component in order to have a smooth 3 phase current to drive motor as per required performance characteristics of motor application . PNG media_image5.png 490 614 media_image5.png Greyscale 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai in view of Ian et al (GB2590387A), hereinafter Ian . Regarding Claim 9 , Chai discloses the drive device according to claim 1. Chai discloses mounting (Para 0028) but does not explicitly disclose wherein: the second case includes a mount bracket for attachment to the vehicle; and at least a part of the mount bracket overlaps with the motor shaft in the axial direction of the motor shaft. Ian discloses (Figs 2,8) wherein the second case (108 case) includes a mount bracket (134) for attachment to the vehicle (137 is mounting point); and at least a part of the mount bracket overlaps (134 is covering the entirety of the right surface in line with motor 106) with the motor shaft in the axial direction (AA) of the motor shaft (106 shaft). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed drive device of Chai with mounting bracket on second case overlapping motor shaft in the axial direction as taught by Ian in order to support the drive assembly uniformly in different parts of the drive assembly leading to reduced loads on a single component, improved NVH (noise, vibration, harshness) and improved disassembly process. PNG media_image6.png 640 836 media_image6.png Greyscale PNG media_image7.png 448 722 media_image7.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 10 , Chai in view of Ian discloses the drive device according to claim 9. Chai in view of Ian does not disclose wherein: the second case includes a low-rigidity part and a high-rigidity part, the high-rigidity part being more rigid than the low-rigidity part; the mount bracket projects from the high rigidity part; and the high rigidity part covers the central axis of the motor shaft in the axial direction of the motor shaft. Ian further discloses (Fig 6) wherein: the second case (108 case) includes a low-rigidity part and a high-rigidity part, the high-rigidity part being more rigid than the low-rigidity part (Fig 6 discloses a webbed right side surface of 108 case which makes it higher in stiffness compared to areas where there are no webs for e.g.,area Ls); the mount bracket (134) projects from the high rigidity part (134 is attached to 108case via boss 144 which are also stiff elements); and the high rigidity part covers the central axis (106 axis) of the motor shaft in the axial direction (AA) of the motor shaft (webbed surface of 108 case covers majority of right side surface which includes motor shaft 106 axis). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed drive device of Chai in view of Ian with high rigid part covering motor shaft axis in the axial direction and mounting bracket projecting from high rigid part as further taught by Ian in order to support the drive assembly uniformly in an area which can sufficiently withstand the load. PNG media_image8.png 592 686 media_image8.png Greyscale Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN whose telephone number is (571)272-4814. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M Koehler can be reached at 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/897,212 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/897,212 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/897,212 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/897,212 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/897,212 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/897,212 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/897,212 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/897,212 Page 10 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/897,212 Page 11 Art Unit: 2834