DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of this application’s status as a continuation of application PCT/EP2023/056712 filed on 03/16/2023.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of DE102022107700.4 filed on 03/31/2022 has NOT been received/retrieved by the office.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/26/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig.1 has not been translated to English.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract includes a paragraph number “[29]” which should be removed.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Machine Translation of FR3058106A1 hereinafter “El”
Regarding claim 1, El discloses a method for operating a light-based driver assistance system in a motor vehicle (¶1L1-2: vehicle lighting to materialize a marking, relates to field of driver assistance), the method comprising:
projecting a light distribution onto the road surface in front of the motor vehicle (¶2L1-5: projection device can be integrated into the headlights of the motor vehicle in order to illuminate the road in front of the vehicle), wherein
the light distribution generates lane markings (Page.10 L12-13: materialize a first zone marked central [403] and a second zone marked [406]), wherein the lane markings are two individual parallel lane markings at a distance (D) to one another that corresponds to the width of the motor vehicle (Page. 10 L21-24: the spacing of the marking [403] and [404] may depend on the width of the motor vehicle; for example the spacing [412] can correspond to 1.5 times the width of the motor vehicle), wherein
the individual lane markings are not a solid line. (as shown in Fig.4 for example, the marking [403] and [404] includes parallel zone of [402/[404] and [405]/[407] respectively).
Regarding claim 2, El discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the individual lane markings look different than normal road surface lane markings. (as shown in Fig.4 for example, the marking [403] and [404] includes parallel zone of [402/[404] and [405]/[407] respectively).
Regarding claim 3, El discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the individual lane markings each look different than a double line, broken line, or a pair of lines composed of a solid line and a broken line. (shown in Fig.4 for example, the marking [403] and [404] includes parallel zone of [402/[404] and [405]/[407] respectively).
Regarding claim 4, El discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the individual lane markings each contain at least three parallel lines. (shown in Fig.4 for example, the marking [403] and [404] includes parallel zone of [402/[404] and [405]/[407] respectively).
Regarding claim 6, El discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the individual lane markings each contain a pattern of separate polygonal elements. (Page.10 L25-27: the invention covers any type of marking, including discontinuous bands)
Regarding claim 8, El discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the individual lane markings each contain a pattern of freeform elements. (Page.10 L25-27: the invention covers any type of marking, including discontinuous bands)
Regarding claim 9, El discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the lane markings are generated directly by the light distribution projected onto the road surface. (Page.8 L30-31: the lighting can be adapted so that the materialized marking is at least a predetermined distance in front of the vehicle)
Regarding claim 10, El discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein
the lane markings are generated by unlit sections of the light distribution projected onto the road surface. (Page. 9 L1-6: a negative contrast marking is materialized on the road; reducing the light intensity in the marked area can involve lowering the light intensity to a level below the light intensity of lighting function) )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El in view of NPL “Wider Edge Lines” hereinafter “USDOT”
Regarding claim 5, El discloses the method according to claim 4,
El does not expclitly disclose:
the at least three parallel lines are of different widths.
USDOT discloses that increasing the marking width of an edge line from 4 inches to 6 inches would increase trave safety. (Page.2 L1-5: wider edge line increases driver’s perception of the edge of the travel lane and can provide a safety benefit to all facility types)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the parallel line disclosed by El to be an increasing width as it approaches the edge of the marking, as suggest by USDOT.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because an wider edge line increases safety. (USDOT)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El in view of Machine Translation of WO2020/088916A1 hereinafter “Ziegel”
Regarding claim 7, El discloses the method according to claim 6
El does not expclitly disclose:
the individual lane markings each contain a herringbone pattern.
Ziegel discloses in Fig.3 for example, a projected pattern on the road surface from a vehicle wherein the markings are in a herringbone pattern. (Fig.3: [110.3])
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the markings disclosed by El to be in a herringbone pattern as disclosed by Ziegel.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the pattern can also display the intended movement of the vehicle in addition to marking the lanes and El recognizes that different marking may be used. (Page.10 L25-27: the invention covers any type of marking, including discontinuous bands)
Conclusion
/Raymond R Chai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844