CTNF 18/897,236 CTNF 86450 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 3, 6 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (United States Patent Application Publication 20200363627 A1) . With respect to claim 1, Lin discloses an optical path changing device (see fig.5) comprising: an optical member (see fig.5, 1500); a first support member (1200 in fig.5 ) that supports the optical member; a second support member (see 1110 in fig.5) that supports the first support member swingably about a first swing center line (1620 in fig.5) extending in a direction intersecting a propagation direction of light incident on the optical member (see the z direction which intersects the y direction); a base member (1120 in fig.5) that supports the second support member (1110 in fig.5) swingably about a second swing center line (see 1610 in fig.5) that extends in a direction intersecting the propagation direction and is different from the first swing center line (compare 1610 to 1620 in fig.5); a first actuator (see C2 and M3 in fig.5) that is disposed on one side with respect to the first swing center line (see 1620) as viewed in the propagation direction and swings the first support member (see the operation of C2 and M3 ); a second actuator (C1 and M1) that is disposed on one side with respect to the second swing center line as viewed in the propagation direction and swings the second support member (see the operation of 1410); a first elastic member (1310) that couples the first support member (1110) and the first actuator (C2 and M3 in fig.5); and a second elastic member (1320) that couples the second support member (1110) and the second actuator (see M2, C1 and M1). With respect to claim 3, Lin discloses the optical path changing device according to claim 1, wherein the first support member and the first actuator are coupled via a plurality of the first elastic members (1310 and see the elastic member on the opposite side of 1610), and the plurality of the first elastic members (1310 and see the elastic member on the opposite side of 1610) are disposed at an interval in an extending direction of the first swing center line (see 1620). With respect to claim 6, Lin discloses the optical path changing device according to The optical path changing device according to wherein the second support member (1110 in fig.5) and the second actuator (C1 and M1) are coupled via a plurality of the second elastic members (see 1320 and the other elastic member on the other side of 1620), and the plurality of the second elastic members are disposed at an interval in an extending direction of the second swing center line (see the disposition along 1610). With respect to claim 11, Lin discloses an optical path changing device comprising: an optical member (see 1500); a support member (1200) that supports the optical member; a base member (1110) that supports the support member swingably about a swing center line that extends in a direction intersecting a propagation direction of light incident on the optical member (see 1620); an actuator (see C4 and M3) that is disposed on one side with respect to the swing center line as viewed in the propagation direction (see the position of C2 and M3) and swings the support member (see 1200 in fig.5); and an elastic member (see 1310 in fig.5) that couples the support member (see 1200) and the actuator (C2 and M2). With respect to claim 12, Lin discloses a projection image display device comprising: the optical path changing device according to claim 1; a light source (212 in fig.1); and an optical modulation module (220 in fig.1) that converts light from the light source into image light and emits the image light toward the optical member of the optical path changing (see 1000c in fig.2). With respect to claim 13, Lin discloses a projection image display device comprising: the optical path changing device according to claim 11; a light source (212 in fig.1); and an optical modulation module (220 in fig.1) that converts light from the light source into image light and emits the image light toward the optical member of the optical path changing device(see 1000c in fig.2) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (United States Patent Application Publication 20200363627 A1) in view of Uchikawa (United States Patent Application Publication 2009/0323072 A1) . With respect to claim 2, Lin discloses the optical path changing device according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first elastic member and the second elastic member are elastically deformable leaf springs. Uchikawa discloses elastic member as a deformable leaf spring (para.[0087]: Further, it is only required for the spring 83 to be an elastic member the restoring force of which can be used, and the spring 83 can be, for example, a leaf spring ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lin with teaching of Uchikawa so that elastic member as a deformable leaf spring to efficiently control the path adjuster and enhance stability . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4, 5, 7 and 8 -10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. With respect to claim 4, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the optical path changing device according to claim 1, wherein an extending length of the first elastic member is larger than a distance between a portion, of the first support member, connected to the first elastic member and a portion, of the first actuator, connected to the first elastic member. With respect to claim 7, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the optical path changing device according to claim 1, wherein an extending length of the second elastic member is larger than a distance between a portion, of the second support member, connected to the second elastic member and a portion, of the second actuator, connected to the second elastic member. With respect to claim 9, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the optical path changing device according to claim 1, wherein the first actuator includes: a movable portion that includes a movable magnet and is coupled to the first support member via the first elastic member; and a fixed portion that includes a coil that generates a magnetic field and is fixed to the base member, and the second actuator includes: a movable portion that includes a movable magnet and is coupled to the second support member via the second elastic member; and a fixed portion that includes a coil that generates a magnetic field and is fixed to the base member. Claims 5, 8, and 10 are allowable as they depend from allowable claims. The closest prior art of record, Lin, discloses an optical path changing device (see fig.5) comprising: an optical member (see fig.5, 1500); a first support member (1200 in fig.5 ) that supports the optical member; a second support member (see 1110 in fig.5) that supports the first support member swingably about a first swing center line (1620 in fig.5) extending in a direction intersecting a propagation direction of light incident on the optical member (see the z direction which intersects the y direction); a base member (1120 in fig.5) that supports the second support member (1110 in fig.5) swingably about a second swing center line (see 1610 in fig.5) that extends in a direction intersecting the propagation direction and is different from the first swing center line (compare 1610 to 1620 in fig.5); a first actuator (see C2 and M3 in fig.5) that is disposed on one side with respect to the first swing center line (see 1620) as viewed in the propagation direction and swings the first support member (see the operation of C2 and M3 ); a second actuator (C1 and M1) that is disposed on one side with respect to the second swing center line as viewed in the propagation direction and swings the second support member (see the operation of 1410); a first elastic member (1310) that couples the first support member (1110) and the first actuator (C2 and M3 in fig.5); and a second elastic member (1320) that couples the second support member (1110) and the second actuator (see M2, C1 and M1) but does not disclose the limitations of claims 4, 7 and 9. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JERRY L. BROOKS whose telephone number is (571)270-5711. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00-4:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Toan Ton can be reached at 5712722303. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JERRY L BROOKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/897,236 Page 2 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/897,236 Page 3 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/897,236 Page 4 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/897,236 Page 5 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/897,236 Page 6 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/897,236 Page 7 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/897,236 Page 8 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/897,236 Page 9 Art Unit: 2882