DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's response filed 22 December 2025 has been considered and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-18 are pending in this application. Claims 1-2, 7-8 and 13-14 are currently amended; claims 3-6, 9-12 and 15-18 are original.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-16 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12130795. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the U.S. Patent No. 12130795 and is covered by the U.S. Patent No. 12130795 and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
U.S. Patent No. 12130795
Instant Application - 18/897,249
1. (Original) A method comprising: storing a first table including a set of data in a network-based data system, the first table including a retention boundary for the set of data; executing, by at least one hardware processor, modifications to the first table; deleting data from the set of data in the first table past the retention boundary; storing a second table including delta information related to the modifications executed past the retention boundary to the first table in a different format than the first table; and generating change data capture information for the first table including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the second table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the first table for data before the retention boundary.
2. (Original) The method of claim 1, in response to a request, deleting identified information from the first table and deleting identified information from the second table.
3. (Original) The method of claim 2, wherein deleting identified information from the second table includes executing a delete command on the change data capture information.
1. (Currently Amended) A method comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a network-based data system; generating a system table storing delta information related to modifications to the primary table; generating change data capture information including one or more pointers to the system table based on the delta information; receiving a privacy compliance request to delete information for a user; identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request in the primary table and change data capture information deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request; and generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table.
2. (Original) The method of claim 1, in response to a request, deleting identified information from the first table and deleting identified information from the second table.
6. (Original) The method of claim 5, wherein executing modifications includes deleting a first partition of the plurality of partitions and adding a new partition representing a change to the first partition based on the modifications.
3. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein deleting information related to the user from the primary table comprises: identifying partitions including information related to the user; deleting the identified partitions; and adding new partitions corresponding to the deleted partitions, the new partitions excluding rows with the information related to the user.
4. (Original) The method of claim 1 further comprising: replicating a portion of the first table using the delta information stored in the second table.
4. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: replicating a portion of the primary table using the delta information stored in the system table.
1. (Original) A method comprising: storing a first table including a set of data in a network-based data system, the first table including a retention boundary for the set of data; executing, by at least one hardware processor, modifications to the first table; deleting data from the set of data in the first table past the retention boundary; storing a second table including delta information related to the modifications executed past the retention boundary to the first table in a different format than the first table; and generating change data capture information for the first table including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the second table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the first table for data before the retention boundary.
5. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; and deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; wherein the system table stores delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary.
1. (Original) A method comprising: storing a first table including a set of data in a network-based data system, the first table including a retention boundary for the set of data; executing, by at least one hardware processor, modifications to the first table; deleting data from the set of data in the first table past the retention boundary; storing a second table including delta information related to the modifications executed past the retention boundary to the first table in a different format than the first table; and generating change data capture information for the first table including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the second table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the first table for data before the retention boundary.
6. (Original) The method of claim 5, wherein the change data capture information includes one or more pointers to the system table for information past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for information before the retention boundary.
7. (Original) A system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform operations comprising: storing a first table including a set of data in a network-based data system, the first table including a retention boundary for the set of data; executing modifications to the first table; deleting data from the set of data in the first table past the retention boundary; storing a second table including delta information related to the modifications executed past the retention boundary to the first table in a different format than the first table; and generating change data capture information for the first table including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the second table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the first table for data before the retention boundary.
8. (Original) The system of claim 7, in response to a request, deleting identified information from the first table and deleting identified information from the second table.
9. (Original) The system of claim 8, wherein deleting identified information from the second table includes executing a delete command on the change data capture information.
7. (Currently Amended) A system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform operations comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a network-based data system; generating a system table storing delta information related to modifications to the primary table; generating change data capture information including one or more pointers to the system table based on the delta information; receiving a privacy compliance request to delete information for a user; identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request in the primary table and change data capture information: deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request; and generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table.
8. (Original) The system of claim 7, in response to a request, deleting identified information from the first table and deleting identified information from the second table.
12. (Original) The system of claim 11, wherein executing modifications includes deleting a first partition of the plurality of partitions and adding a new partition representing a change to the first partition based on the modifications.
9. (Original) The system of claim 7, wherein deleting information related to the user from the primary table comprises: identifying partitions including information related to the user; deleting the identified partitions; and adding new partitions corresponding to the deleted partitions, the new partitions excluding rows with the information related to the user.
10. (Original) The system of claim 7, further comprising: replicating a portion of the first table using the delta information stored in the second table.
10. (Original) The system of claim 7, the operations further comprising: replicating a portion of the primary table using the delta information stored in the system table.
7. (Original) A system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform operations comprising: storing a first table including a set of data in a network-based data system, the first table including a retention boundary for the set of data; executing modifications to the first table; deleting data from the set of data in the first table past the retention boundary; storing a second table including delta information related to the modifications executed past the retention boundary to the first table in a different format than the first table; and generating change data capture information for the first table including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the second table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the first table for data before the retention boundary.
11. (Original) The system of claim 7, the operations further comprising: defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; and deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; wherein the system table stores delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary.
7. (Original) A system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform operations comprising: storing a first table including a set of data in a network-based data system, the first table including a retention boundary for the set of data; executing modifications to the first table; deleting data from the set of data in the first table past the retention boundary; storing a second table including delta information related to the modifications executed past the retention boundary to the first table in a different format than the first table; and generating change data capture information for the first table including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the second table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the first table for data before the retention boundary.
12. (Original) The system of claim 11, wherein the change data capture information includes one or more pointers to the system table for information past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for information before the retention boundary.
13. (Original) A non-transitory machine-storage medium embodying instructions that, when executed by a machine, cause the machine to perform operations comprising: storing a first table including a set of data in a network-based data system, the first table including a retention boundary for the set of data; executing modifications to the first table; deleting data from the set of data in the first table past the retention boundary; storing a second table including delta information related to the modifications executed past the retention boundary to the first table in a different format than the first table; and generating change data capture information for the first table including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the second table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the first table for data before the retention boundary.
14. (Original) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 13, in response to a request, deleting identified information from the first table and deleting identified information from the second table.
15. (Original) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 14, wherein deleting identified information from the second table includes executing a delete command on the change data capture information.
13. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory machine-storage medium embodying instructions that, when executed by a machine, cause the machine to perform operations comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a network-based data system; generating a system table storing delta information related to modifications to the primary table; generating change data capture information including one or more pointers to the system table based on the delta information; receiving a privacy compliance request to delete information for a user; identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request in the primary table and change data capture information; deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request; and generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table.
14. (Original) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 13, in response to a request, deleting identified information from the first table and deleting identified information from the second table.
18. (Original) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 17, wherein executing modifications includes deleting a first partition of the plurality of partitions and adding a new partition representing a change to the first partition based on the modifications.
15. (Original) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 13, wherein deleting information related to the user from the primary table comprises: identifying partitions including information related to the user; deleting the identified partitions; and adding new partitions corresponding to the deleted partitions, the new partitions excluding rows with the information related to the user.
16. (Original) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 13, further comprising: replicating a portion of the first table using the delta information stored in the second table.
16. (Original) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 13, further comprising: replicating a portion of the primary table using the delta information stored in the system table.
13. (Original) A non-transitory machine-storage medium embodying instructions that, when executed by a machine, cause the machine to perform operations comprising: storing a first table including a set of data in a network-based data system, the first table including a retention boundary for the set of data; executing modifications to the first table; deleting data from the set of data in the first table past the retention boundary; storing a second table including delta information related to the modifications executed past the retention boundary to the first table in a different format than the first table; and generating change data capture information for the first table including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the second table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the first table for data before the retention boundary.
17. (Original) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 13, further comprising: defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; and deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; wherein the system table stores delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary.
13. (Original) A non-transitory machine-storage medium embodying instructions that, when executed by a machine, cause the machine to perform operations comprising: storing a first table including a set of data in a network-based data system, the first table including a retention boundary for the set of data; executing modifications to the first table; deleting data from the set of data in the first table past the retention boundary; storing a second table including delta information related to the modifications executed past the retention boundary to the first table in a different format than the first table; and generating change data capture information for the first table including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the second table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the first table for data before the retention boundary.
18. (Original) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 17, wherein the change data capture information includes one or more pointers to the system table for information past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for information before the retention boundary.
Noted, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify or to omit the additional elements of claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-16 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12130795 to arrive at the claims 1, 3-7, 9-13 and 15-18 of the instant application because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. "Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before." See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
The remaining claims are rejected for fully incorporating the deficiencies of the base claim(s) from which they depend.
5. Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-8, 12-15 and 19-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11748327. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the U.S. Patent No. 11748327 and is covered by the U.S. Patent No. 11748327 and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
U.S. Patent No. 11748327
Instant Application - 18/897,249
1. (Currently Amended) A method comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a plurality of partitions; executing modifications to the primary table to delete a first partition of the plurality of partitions and to add a new partition representing a change to the first partition based on the modifications; generating a system table storing delta information related to the modifications to the primary table in a different format than the primary table; defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; storing, in the system table, delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary; and generating change data capture information including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the system table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for data before the retention boundary.
5. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to a request, deleting identified information from the primary table and deleting identified information from the system table.
6. (Original) The method of claim 5, wherein deleting identified information from the system table includes executing a delete command on the change data capture information.
1. (Currently Amended) A method comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a network-based data system; generating a system table storing delta information related to modifications to the primary table; generating change data capture information including one or more pointers to the system table based on the delta information; receiving a privacy compliance request to delete information for a user; identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request in the primary table and change data capture information deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request; and generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table.
1. (Currently Amended) A method comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a plurality of partitions; executing modifications to the primary table to delete a first partition of the plurality of partitions and to add a new partition representing a change to the first partition based on the modifications; generating a system table storing delta information related to the modifications to the primary table in a different format than the primary table; defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; storing, in the system table, delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary; and generating change data capture information including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the system table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for data before the retention boundary.
5. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to a request, deleting identified information from the primary table and deleting identified information from the system table.
3. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein deleting information related to the user from the primary table comprises: identifying partitions including information related to the user; deleting the identified partitions; and adding new partitions corresponding to the deleted partitions, the new partitions excluding rows with the information related to the user.
7. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: replicating a portion of the primary table using the delta information stored in the system table.
4. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: replicating a portion of the primary table using the delta information stored in the system table.
1. (Currently Amended) A method comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a plurality of partitions; executing modifications to the primary table to delete a first partition of the plurality of partitions and to add a new partition representing a change to the first partition based on the modifications; generating a system table storing delta information related to the modifications to the primary table in a different format than the primary table; defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; storing, in the system table, delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary; and generating change data capture information including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the system table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for data before the retention boundary.
5. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; and deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; wherein the system table stores delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary.
1. (Currently Amended) A method comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a plurality of partitions; executing modifications to the primary table to delete a first partition of the plurality of partitions and to add a new partition representing a change to the first partition based on the modifications; generating a system table storing delta information related to the modifications to the primary table in a different format than the primary table; defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; storing, in the system table, delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary; and generating change data capture information including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the system table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for data before the retention boundary.
6. (Original) The method of claim 5, wherein the change data capture information includes one or more pointers to the system table for information past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for information before the retention boundary.
8. (Currently Amended) A system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform operations comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a plurality of partitions; executing modifications to the primary table to delete a first partition of the plurality of partitions and to add a new partition representing a change to the first partition based on the modifications; generating a system table storing delta information related to the modifications to the primary table in a different format than the primary table; defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; storing, in the system table, delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary; and generating change data capture information including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the system table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for data before the retention boundary.
12. (Original) The system of claim 8, the operations further comprising: in response to a request, deleting identified information from the primary table and deleting identified information from the system table.
13. (Original) The system of claim 12, wherein deleting identified information from the system table includes executing a delete command on the change data capture information.
7. (Currently Amended) A system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform operations comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a network-based data system; generating a system table storing delta information related to modifications to the primary table; generating change data capture information including one or more pointers to the system table based on the delta information; receiving a privacy compliance request to delete information for a user; identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request in the primary table and change data capture information: deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request; and generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table.
8. (Currently Amended) A system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform operations comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a plurality of partitions; executing modifications to the primary table to delete a first partition of the plurality of partitions and to add a new partition representing a change to the first partition based on the modifications; generating a system table storing delta information related to the modifications to the primary table in a different format than the primary table; defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; storing, in the system table, delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary; and generating change data capture information including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the system table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for data before the retention boundary.
12. (Original) The system of claim 8, the operations further comprising: in response to a request, deleting identified information from the primary table and deleting identified information from the system table.
9. (Original) The system of claim 7, wherein deleting information related to the user from the primary table comprises: identifying partitions including information related to the user; deleting the identified partitions; and adding new partitions corresponding to the deleted partitions, the new partitions excluding rows with the information related to the user.
14. (Original) The system of claim 8, the operations further comprising: replicating a portion of the primary table using the delta information stored in the system table.
10. (Original) The system of claim 7, the operations further comprising: replicating a portion of the primary table using the delta information stored in the system table.
8. (Currently Amended) A system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform operations comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a plurality of partitions; executing modifications to the primary table to delete a first partition of the plurality of partitions and to add a new partition representing a change to the first partition based on the modifications; generating a system table storing delta information related to the modifications to the primary table in a different format than the primary table; defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; storing, in the system table, delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary; and generating change data capture information including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the system table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for data before the retention boundary.
11. (Original) The system of claim 7, the operations further comprising: defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; and deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; wherein the system table stores delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary.
8. (Currently Amended) A system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform operations comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a plurality of partitions; executing modifications to the primary table to delete a first partition of the plurality of partitions and to add a new partition representing a change to the first partition based on the modifications; generating a system table storing delta information related to the modifications to the primary table in a different format than the primary table; defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; storing, in the system table, delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary; and generating change data capture information including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the system table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for data before the retention boundary.
12. (Original) The system of claim 11, wherein the change data capture information includes one or more pointers to the system table for information past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for information before the retention boundary.
15. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory machine-storage medium embodying instructions that, when executed by a machine, cause the machine to perform operations comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a plurality of partitions; executing modifications to the primary table to delete a first partition of the plurality of partitions and to add a new partition representing a change to the first partition based on the modifications; generating a system table storing delta information related to the modifications to the primary table in a different format than the primary table; defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; storing, in the system table, delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary; and generating change data capture information including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the system table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for data before the retention boundary.
19. (Previously Presented) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 15, further comprising: in response to a request, deleting identified information from the primary table and deleting identified information from the system table.
20. (Previously Presented) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 19, wherein deleting identified information from the system table includes executing a delete command on the change data capture information.
13. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory machine-storage medium embodying instructions that, when executed by a machine, cause the machine to perform operations comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a network-based data system; generating a system table storing delta information related to modifications to the primary table; generating change data capture information including one or more pointers to the system table based on the delta information; receiving a privacy compliance request to delete information for a user; identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request in the primary table and change data capture information; deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request; and generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table.
15. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory machine-storage medium embodying instructions that, when executed by a machine, cause the machine to perform operations comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a plurality of partitions; executing modifications to the primary table to delete a first partition of the plurality of partitions and to add a new partition representing a change to the first partition based on the modifications; generating a system table storing delta information related to the modifications to the primary table in a different format than the primary table; defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; storing, in the system table, delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary; and generating change data capture information including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the system table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for data before the retention boundary.
19. (Previously Presented) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 15, further comprising: in response to a request, deleting identified information from the primary table and deleting identified information from the system table.
15. (Original) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 13, wherein deleting information related to the user from the primary table comprises: identifying partitions including information related to the user; deleting the identified partitions; and adding new partitions corresponding to the deleted partitions, the new partitions excluding rows with the information related to the user.
21. (Previously Presented) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 15, further comprising: replicating a portion of the primary table using the delta information stored in the system table.
16. (Original) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 13, further comprising: replicating a portion of the primary table using the delta information stored in the system table.
15. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory machine-storage medium embodying instructions that, when executed by a machine, cause the machine to perform operations comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a plurality of partitions; executing modifications to the primary table to delete a first partition of the plurality of partitions and to add a new partition representing a change to the first partition based on the modifications; generating a system table storing delta information related to the modifications to the primary table in a different format than the primary table; defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; storing, in the system table, delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary; and generating change data capture information including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the system table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for data before the retention boundary.
17. (Original) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 13, further comprising: defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; and deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; wherein the system table stores delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary.
15. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory machine-storage medium embodying instructions that, when executed by a machine, cause the machine to perform operations comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a plurality of partitions; executing modifications to the primary table to delete a first partition of the plurality of partitions and to add a new partition representing a change to the first partition based on the modifications; generating a system table storing delta information related to the modifications to the primary table in a different format than the primary table; defining a retention boundary for the set of data stored in the primary table; deleting data past the retention boundary in the primary table; storing, in the system table, delta information related to modifications executed past the retention boundary; and generating change data capture information including a virtual table with one or more pointers to the system table for delta information related to modifications past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for data before the retention boundary.
18. (Original) The non-transitory machine-storage medium of claim 17, wherein the change data capture information includes one or more pointers to the system table for information past the retention boundary and one or more pointers to the primary table for information before the retention boundary.
Noted, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify or to omit the additional elements of claims 1, 5-8, 12-15 and 19-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11748327 to arrive at the claims 1, 3-7, 9-13 and 15-18 of the instant application because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. "Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before." See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
The remaining claims are rejected for fully incorporating the deficiencies of the base claim(s) from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-4, 7-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karri et al. (previously presented) (US 2017/0139909 A1) hereinafter Karri, in view of MUTHA et al. (US 2016/0313926 A1) hereinafter MUTHA.
As to claim 1, Karri discloses a method comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a network-based data system (Fig. 2, Para. 17, “receiving a request for a set of records, at least some of the set of records included in a base data structure.”. Para. 25, Fetches of records from the base table, i.e., primary table, can then involve generating a collated set of data from the base table and corresponding delta table so as to capture the modifications made and recorded within the delta table. Thus, providing a primary table storing a set of data in a network-based data system.);
generating a system table storing delta information related to modifications to the primary table (Para. 35, The data modification engine 245 can identify the changes and record the changes in the delta data structure corresponding to the modified base data table, as well as, in some instances, one or more differential data tables 220, i.e., a system table. In some instances, the changes can be recorded in the delta data structure 215, while in other instances, the specific changes can be recorded in the differential data tables 220, i.e., a system table, with the delta data structure 215 pointing or linking to the corresponding records of the differential data tables 220 including the description of the modification, among other example implementations. Thus, generating a system table storing delta information related to modifications to the primary table.);
generating change data capture information including one or more pointers to the system table based on the delta information (Para. 44, The delta data structure, i.e., change data capture information, can indicate the primary key of the base data that is affected (or being added), the location of the modification within the base data, the type of modification made to the base data, and a pointer to the corresponding differential data, i.e., the delta information. Para. 68, the delta data structure, i.e., change data capture information can include a pointer, i.e., one or more pointers, to the respective differential data record, i.e., the system table, containing the description of the modification indexed by the delta data record, i.e., the delta information. Thus, generating change data capture information including one or more pointers to the system table based on the delta information.);
receiving a request to delete information for a user (Fig. 4B; 9A, Para. 47, a delete request 475 is received, i.e., receiving a request to delete information, requesting deletion of the record(s) with primary key "C". Para. 67, “a request, such as a request from a human user, or another system, can be identified 905 requesting modification to the base data. Such modifications can include the insertion of new records, deletion of existing records”. Thus, a request is being received to delete information for a user.);
deleting information related to the user from the primary table in response to the request (Para. 47, a delete request 475 is received, requesting deletion of the record(s) with primary key "C". Para. 52, a delta record 515 can be identified that applies to base data with primary key "C", causing the deletion 540 of the base data record from the base data copy, i.e., deleting information related to the user from the primary table. Thus, deleting information related to the user from the primary table in response to the request.); and
generating a delete command to delete information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table (Para. 54, “FIG. 6A, following a merge and clearing of the delta data structure 410 and differential data structures 415, 420, 425, 430, 435 with base data table 405, additional modification requests (e.g., 605) can begin the repopulating of delta data structure 410 and differential data structures 415, 420, 425, 430, 435 with the latest modifications to the base data.”. Para. 25, Delta structures and differential data structures, i.e., the system table, can be archived and cleared, i.e., deletion of information related to the user from the system table, to record subsequent changes to the merged base data, thereby maintaining a relatively small table size for the delta table, where clearing differential data structures indicates deleting information related to the user from the system table. Para. 47, a delete request 475, i.e., a delete command, is received, requesting deletion of the record(s) with primary key "C". Thus, generating a delete command to delete information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table.).
Karri does not explicitly disclose receiving a privacy compliance request to delete information for a user; identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request in the primary table and change data capture information; deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request; and generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table.
However, in the same field of endeavor, MUTHA discloses receiving a privacy compliance request to delete information for a user (Fig. 3, Para. 300, “The textual pattern provided by the user may be a string, characters, numbers, or any combination thereof, and may therefore be an alphanumeric string. For example, if the textual pattern is simply a search string, the textual pattern might include a specific Social Security number, and the secondary storage editor 252 can find that Social Security number in files of the backup and delete those files.”. Para. 305, “the secondary storage editor 252 accesses a textual pattern for deletion. The textual pattern, for example, may be initially entered by a user and then scheduled to be run as a scheduled job for deletion (or copying) at multiple later dates. Running a scheduled job may be useful to ensure or attempt to ensure compliance with laws and regulations (or company policy) requiring the removal or copying of such data.”. Thus, the textual pattern such as a privacy compliance request is being received by the secondary storage editor to delete information for a user.);
identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request in the primary table and change data capture information (Para. 242, “An audit policy is a set of preferences, rules and/or criteria that protect sensitive data in the information management system 100. For example, an audit policy may define "sensitive objects" as files or objects that contain particular keywords (e.g., "confidential," or "privileged") and/or are associated with particular keywords (e.g., in metadata) or particular flags (e.g., in metadata identifying a document or email as personal, confidential, etc.).”. Para. 300, if the textual pattern is a regular expression, the regular expression may, for example, search for all strings that match a format expected of a Social Security number (with three digits followed by a hyphen, followed by two digits, a hyphen, and then four digits), i.e., identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request.);
deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request (Fig. 3, Para. 302, “At block 306, the secondary storage editor 252 determines whether to also delete the textual pattern from primary storage, such as the primary storage devices 104. It may be useful, for instance, to delete personal data or other data (e.g., as required by law or company policy) from both primary and secondary storage devices at the same time. A user may specify through the user interface output at block 302 whether or not to delete the textual pattern or files containing the textual pattern from primary storage. If such an indication is supplied, or if a policy stored in computer storage so dictates, the secondary storage editor 252 can instruct the media agent 144 or the data agent 142 to delete the files containing the pattern from primary storage at block 308.”. Thus, deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request.); and
generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information (Para. 300, The textual pattern provided by the user may be a string, characters, numbers, or any combination thereof, and may therefore be an alphanumeric string. For example, if the textual pattern is simply a search string, i.e., an explicit delete command, the textual pattern might include a specific Social Security number, and the secondary storage editor 252 can find that Social Security number in files of the backup and delete those files. Para. 306, “At block 404, the secondary storage editor 252 causes the media agent 144 to search the index 153 in the secondary storage that contains the textual pattern. At block 406, the media agent 144 performs a logical deletion of any identified files from the index. Such a deletion does not, in certain embodiments, physically remove the files from the backup. Instead, deleting from the index logically deletes the files by deleting metadata associated with those files.”. Thus, generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information.), the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table (Para. 42, “Storage pruning can be a feature through which users, such as administrators or compliance officers, can discover backed up data that matches a pattern provided by them and can then have the ability to copy or delete such data entirely from the backups. For example, a user may want to find and delete all files that contain Social Security numbers or other sensitive personal data in order to comply with laws or regulations.”. Para. 310, “Pointers or other logical references to a block can be stored instead of copies of the block to reduce storage. A single block can represent data obtained from multiple primary sources or client computing devices. Accordingly, it may not be possible to delete a block entirely for one client when physical deletion occurs without affecting other clients that rely on a backed-up version of the data represented by the block. Instead, when physical deletion occurs, a pointer to the block for the client for which the deletion has occurred may be removed. Once all pointers to a block have been removed for all clients, the block may be physically removed and its storage space reclaimed.”. Thus, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table. The limitation "to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table" is intended use and carries no patentable weight).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Karri in the environment of MUTHA such that the sensitive personal data of the user can be deleted from the tables of Karri in response to the user search queries as disclosed by MUTHA (Para. 42). A user may want to find and delete all files that contain Social Security numbers or other sensitive personal data in order to comply with laws or regulations (MUTHA, Para. 42). Thus, as combined, rendering obvious “receiving a privacy compliance request to delete information for a user; identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request in the primary table and change data capture information; deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request; and generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table” as claimed. One of the ordinary skills in the art would have motivated to make this modification in order to protect sensitive data in the information management system by implementing the audit policy such as a set of preferences, rules and/or criteria as suggested by MUTHA (Para. 242).
As to claim 7, Karri discloses a system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor (Para. 29; 34), cause the at least one hardware processor to perform operations comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a network-based data system (Fig. 2, Para. 17, “receiving a request for a set of records, at least some of the set of records included in a base data structure.”. Para. 25, Fetches of records from the base table, i.e., primary table, can then involve generating a collated set of data from the base table and corresponding delta table so as to capture the modifications made and recorded within the delta table. Thus, providing a primary table storing a set of data in a network-based data system.);
generating a system table storing delta information related to modifications to the primary table (Para. 35, The data modification engine 245 can identify the changes and record the changes in the delta data structure corresponding to the modified base data table, as well as, in some instances, one or more differential data tables 220, i.e., a system table. In some instances, the changes can be recorded in the delta data structure 215, while in other instances, the specific changes can be recorded in the differential data tables 220, i.e., a system table, with the delta data structure 215 pointing or linking to the corresponding records of the differential data tables 220 including the description of the modification, among other example implementations. Thus, generating a system table storing delta information related to modifications to the primary table.);
generating change data capture information including one or more pointers to the system table based on the delta information (Para. 44, The delta data structure, i.e., change data capture information, can indicate the primary key of the base data that is affected (or being added), the location of the modification within the base data, the type of modification made to the base data, and a pointer to the corresponding differential data, i.e., the delta information. Para. 68, the delta data structure, i.e., change data capture information can include a pointer, i.e., one or more pointers, to the respective differential data record, i.e., the system table, containing the description of the modification indexed by the delta data record, i.e., the delta information. Thus, generating change data capture information including one or more pointers to the system table based on the delta information.);
receiving a request to delete information for a user (Fig. 4B; 9A, Para. 47, a delete request 475 is received, i.e., receiving a request to delete information, requesting deletion of the record(s) with primary key "C". Para. 67, “a request, such as a request from a human user, or another system, can be identified 905 requesting modification to the base data. Such modifications can include the insertion of new records, deletion of existing records”. Thus, a request is being received to delete information for a user.);
deleting information related to the user from the primary table in response to the request (Para. 47, a delete request 475 is received, requesting deletion of the record(s) with primary key "C". Para. 52, a delta record 515 can be identified that applies to base data with primary key "C", causing the deletion 540 of the base data record from the base data copy, i.e., deleting information related to the user from the primary table. Thus, deleting information related to the user from the primary table in response to the request.); and
generating a delete command to delete information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table (Para. 54, “FIG. 6A, following a merge and clearing of the delta data structure 410 and differential data structures 415, 420, 425, 430, 435 with base data table 405, additional modification requests (e.g., 605) can begin the repopulating of delta data structure 410 and differential data structures 415, 420, 425, 430, 435 with the latest modifications to the base data.”. Para. 25, Delta structures and differential data structures, i.e., the system table, can be archived and cleared, i.e., deletion of information related to the user from the system table, to record subsequent changes to the merged base data, thereby maintaining a relatively small table size for the delta table, where clearing differential data structures indicates deleting information related to the user from the system table. Para. 47, a delete request 475, i.e., a delete command, is received, requesting deletion of the record(s) with primary key "C". Thus, generating a delete command to delete information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table.).
Karri does not explicitly disclose receiving a privacy compliance request to delete information for a user; identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request in the primary table and change data capture information: deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request; andgenerating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of informationrelated to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table.
However, in the same field of endeavor, MUTHA discloses receiving a privacy compliance request to delete information for a user (Fig. 3, Para. 300, “The textual pattern provided by the user may be a string, characters, numbers, or any combination thereof, and may therefore be an alphanumeric string. For example, if the textual pattern is simply a search string, the textual pattern might include a specific Social Security number, and the secondary storage editor 252 can find that Social Security number in files of the backup and delete those files.”. Para. 305, “the secondary storage editor 252 accesses a textual pattern for deletion. The textual pattern, for example, may be initially entered by a user and then scheduled to be run as a scheduled job for deletion (or copying) at multiple later dates. Running a scheduled job may be useful to ensure or attempt to ensure compliance with laws and regulations (or company policy) requiring the removal or copying of such data.”. Thus, the textual pattern such as a privacy compliance request is being received by the secondary storage editor to delete information for a user.);
identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request in the primary table and change data capture information (Para. 242, “An audit policy is a set of preferences, rules and/or criteria that protect sensitive data in the information management system 100. For example, an audit policy may define "sensitive objects" as files or objects that contain particular keywords (e.g., "confidential," or "privileged") and/or are associated with particular keywords (e.g., in metadata) or particular flags (e.g., in metadata identifying a document or email as personal, confidential, etc.).”. Para. 300, if the textual pattern is a regular expression, the regular expression may, for example, search for all strings that match a format expected of a Social Security number (with three digits followed by a hyphen, followed by two digits, a hyphen, and then four digits), i.e., identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request.);
deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request (Fig. 3, Para. 302, “At block 306, the secondary storage editor 252 determines whether to also delete the textual pattern from primary storage, such as the primary storage devices 104. It may be useful, for instance, to delete personal data or other data (e.g., as required by law or company policy) from both primary and secondary storage devices at the same time. A user may specify through the user interface output at block 302 whether or not to delete the textual pattern or files containing the textual pattern from primary storage. If such an indication is supplied, or if a policy stored in computer storage so dictates, the secondary storage editor 252 can instruct the media agent 144 or the data agent 142 to delete the files containing the pattern from primary storage at block 308.”. Thus, deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request.); and
generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information (Para. 300, The textual pattern provided by the user may be a string, characters, numbers, or any combination thereof, and may therefore be an alphanumeric string. For example, if the textual pattern is simply a search string, i.e., an explicit delete command, the textual pattern might include a specific Social Security number, and the secondary storage editor 252 can find that Social Security number in files of the backup and delete those files. Para. 306, “At block 404, the secondary storage editor 252 causes the media agent 144 to search the index 153 in the secondary storage that contains the textual pattern. At block 406, the media agent 144 performs a logical deletion of any identified files from the index. Such a deletion does not, in certain embodiments, physically remove the files from the backup. Instead, deleting from the index logically deletes the files by deleting metadata associated with those files.”. Thus, generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information.), the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table (Para. 42, “Storage pruning can be a feature through which users, such as administrators or compliance officers, can discover backed up data that matches a pattern provided by them and can then have the ability to copy or delete such data entirely from the backups. For example, a user may want to find and delete all files that contain Social Security numbers or other sensitive personal data in order to comply with laws or regulations.”. Para. 310, “Pointers or other logical references to a block can be stored instead of copies of the block to reduce storage. A single block can represent data obtained from multiple primary sources or client computing devices. Accordingly, it may not be possible to delete a block entirely for one client when physical deletion occurs without affecting other clients that rely on a backed-up version of the data represented by the block. Instead, when physical deletion occurs, a pointer to the block for the client for which the deletion has occurred may be removed. Once all pointers to a block have been removed for all clients, the block may be physically removed and its storage space reclaimed.”. Thus, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table. The limitation “to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table” is intended use and carries no patentable weight).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Karri in the environment of MUTHA such that the sensitive personal data of the user can be deleted from the tables of Karri in response to the user search queries as disclosed by MUTHA (Para. 42). A user may want to find and delete all files that contain Social Security numbers or other sensitive personal data in order to comply with laws or regulations (MUTHA, Para. 42). Thus, as combined, rendering obvious “receiving a privacy compliance request to delete information for a user; identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request in the primary table and change data capture information; deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request; and generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table” as claimed. One of the ordinary skills in the art would have motivated to make this modification in order to protect sensitive data in the information management system by implementing the audit policy such as a set of preferences, rules and/or criteria as suggested by MUTHA (Para. 242).
As to claim 13, Karri discloses a non-transitory machine-storage medium embodying instructions that, when executed by a machine (Para. 29; 71), cause the machine to perform operations comprising: providing a primary table storing a set of data in a network-based data system (Fig. 2, Para. 17, “receiving a request for a set of records, at least some of the set of records included in a base data structure.”. Para. 25, Fetches of records from the base table, i.e., primary table, can then involve generating a collated set of data from the base table and corresponding delta table so as to capture the modifications made and recorded within the delta table. Thus, providing a primary table storing a set of data in a network-based data system.);
generating a system table storing delta information related to modifications to the primary table (Para. 35, The data modification engine 245 can identify the changes and record the changes in the delta data structure corresponding to the modified base data table, as well as, in some instances, one or more differential data tables 220, i.e., a system table. In some instances, the changes can be recorded in the delta data structure 215, while in other instances, the specific changes can be recorded in the differential data tables 220, i.e., a system table, with the delta data structure 215 pointing or linking to the corresponding records of the differential data tables 220 including the description of the modification, among other example implementations. Thus, generating a system table storing delta information related to modifications to the primary table.);
generating change data capture information including one or more pointers to the system table based on the delta information (Para. 44, The delta data structure, i.e., change data capture information, can indicate the primary key of the base data that is affected (or being added), the location of the modification within the base data, the type of modification made to the base data, and a pointer to the corresponding differential data, i.e., the delta information. Para. 68, the delta data structure, i.e., change data capture information can include a pointer, i.e., one or more pointers, to the respective differential data record, i.e., the system table, containing the description of the modification indexed by the delta data record, i.e., the delta information. Thus, generating change data capture information including one or more pointers to the system table based on the delta information.);
receiving a request to delete information for a user (Fig. 4B; 9A, Para. 47, a delete request 475 is received, i.e., receiving a request to delete information, requesting deletion of the record(s) with primary key "C". Para. 67, “a request, such as a request from a human user, or another system, can be identified 905 requesting modification to the base data. Such modifications can include the insertion of new records, deletion of existing records”. Thus, a request is being received to delete information for a user.);
deleting information related to the user from the primary table in response to the request (Para. 47, a delete request 475 is received, requesting deletion of the record(s) with primary key "C". Para. 52, a delta record 515 can be identified that applies to base data with primary key "C", causing the deletion 540 of the base data record from the base data copy, i.e., deleting information related to the user from the primary table. Thus, deleting information related to the user from the primary table in response to the request.); and
generating a delete command to delete information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table (Para. 54, “FIG. 6A, following a merge and clearing of the delta data structure 410 and differential data structures 415, 420, 425, 430, 435 with base data table 405, additional modification requests (e.g., 605) can begin the repopulating of delta data structure 410 and differential data structures 415, 420, 425, 430, 435 with the latest modifications to the base data.”. Para. 25, Delta structures and differential data structures, i.e., the system table, can be archived and cleared, i.e., deletion of information related to the user from the system table, to record subsequent changes to the merged base data, thereby maintaining a relatively small table size for the delta table, where clearing differential data structures indicates deleting information related to the user from the system table. Para. 47, a delete request 475, i.e., a delete command, is received, requesting deletion of the record(s) with primary key "C". Thus, generating a delete command to delete information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table.).
Karri does not explicitly disclose receiving a privacy compliance request to delete information for a user; identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request in the primary table and change data capture information; deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request; and generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table.
However, in the same field of endeavor, MUTHA discloses receiving a privacy compliance request to delete information for a user (Fig. 3, Para. 300, “The textual pattern provided by the user may be a string, characters, numbers, or any combination thereof, and may therefore be an alphanumeric string. For example, if the textual pattern is simply a search string, the textual pattern might include a specific Social Security number, and the secondary storage editor 252 can find that Social Security number in files of the backup and delete those files.”. Para. 305, “the secondary storage editor 252 accesses a textual pattern for deletion. The textual pattern, for example, may be initially entered by a user and then scheduled to be run as a scheduled job for deletion (or copying) at multiple later dates. Running a scheduled job may be useful to ensure or attempt to ensure compliance with laws and regulations (or company policy) requiring the removal or copying of such data.”. Thus, the textual pattern such as a privacy compliance request is being received by the secondary storage editor to delete information for a user.);
identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request in the primary table and change data capture information (Para. 242, “An audit policy is a set of preferences, rules and/or criteria that protect sensitive data in the information management system 100. For example, an audit policy may define "sensitive objects" as files or objects that contain particular keywords (e.g., "confidential," or "privileged") and/or are associated with particular keywords (e.g., in metadata) or particular flags (e.g., in metadata identifying a document or email as personal, confidential, etc.).”. Para. 300, if the textual pattern is a regular expression, the regular expression may, for example, search for all strings that match a format expected of a Social Security number (with three digits followed by a hyphen, followed by two digits, a hyphen, and then four digits), i.e., identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request.);
deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request (Fig. 3, Para. 302, “At block 306, the secondary storage editor 252 determines whether to also delete the textual pattern from primary storage, such as the primary storage devices 104. It may be useful, for instance, to delete personal data or other data (e.g., as required by law or company policy) from both primary and secondary storage devices at the same time. A user may specify through the user interface output at block 302 whether or not to delete the textual pattern or files containing the textual pattern from primary storage. If such an indication is supplied, or if a policy stored in computer storage so dictates, the secondary storage editor 252 can instruct the media agent 144 or the data agent 142 to delete the files containing the pattern from primary storage at block 308.”. Thus, deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request.); and
generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information (Para. 300, The textual pattern provided by the user may be a string, characters, numbers, or any combination thereof, and may therefore be an alphanumeric string. For example, if the textual pattern is simply a search string, i.e., an explicit delete command, the textual pattern might include a specific Social Security number, and the secondary storage editor 252 can find that Social Security number in files of the backup and delete those files. Para. 306, “At block 404, the secondary storage editor 252 causes the media agent 144 to search the index 153 in the secondary storage that contains the textual pattern. At block 406, the media agent 144 performs a logical deletion of any identified files from the index. Such a deletion does not, in certain embodiments, physically remove the files from the backup. Instead, deleting from the index logically deletes the files by deleting metadata associated with those files.”. Thus, generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information.), the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table (Para. 42, “Storage pruning can be a feature through which users, such as administrators or compliance officers, can discover backed up data that matches a pattern provided by them and can then have the ability to copy or delete such data entirely from the backups. For example, a user may want to find and delete all files that contain Social Security numbers or other sensitive personal data in order to comply with laws or regulations.”. Para. 310, “Pointers or other logical references to a block can be stored instead of copies of the block to reduce storage. A single block can represent data obtained from multiple primary sources or client computing devices. Accordingly, it may not be possible to delete a block entirely for one client when physical deletion occurs without affecting other clients that rely on a backed-up version of the data represented by the block. Instead, when physical deletion occurs, a pointer to the block for the client for which the deletion has occurred may be removed. Once all pointers to a block have been removed for all clients, the block may be physically removed and its storage space reclaimed.”. Thus, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table. The limitation “to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table” is intended use and carries no patentable weight).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Karri in the environment of MUTHA such that the sensitive personal data of the user can be deleted from the tables of Karri in response to the user search queries as disclosed by MUTHA (Para. 42). A user may want to find and delete all files that contain Social Security numbers or other sensitive personal data in order to comply with laws or regulations (MUTHA, Para. 42). Thus, as combined, rendering obvious “receiving a privacy compliance request to delete information for a user; identifying sensitive information of the user associated with the privacy compliance request in the primary table and change data capture information; deleting the sensitive information related to the user from the primary table in response to the privacy compliance request; and generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table” as claimed. One of the ordinary skills in the art would have motivated to make this modification in order to protect sensitive data in the information management system by implementing the audit policy such as a set of preferences, rules and/or criteria as suggested by MUTHA (Para. 242).
As to claims 2, 8 and 14, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1, 7 and 13 above. In addition, MUTHA discloses wherein a privacy compliance request is based on a privacy regulation (Fig. 4, Para. 305, “At block 402, the secondary storage editor 252 accesses a textual pattern for deletion. The textual pattern may be supplied by a user as described above with respect to FIG. 3. Alternatively, the textual pattern may be a stored pattern that is associated with a scheduled job performed by the secondary storage editor 252 on a periodic or other basis. The textual pattern, for example, may be initially entered by a user and then scheduled to be run as a scheduled job for deletion (or copying) at multiple later dates. Running a scheduled job may be useful to ensure or attempt to ensure compliance with laws and regulations (or company policy) requiring the removal or copying of such data.”. Thus, a privacy compliance request is based on a privacy regulation.).
As to claims 3, 9 and 15, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1, 7 and 13 above. In addition, MUTHA discloses wherein deleting information related to the user from the primary table comprises: identifying partitions including information related to the user (Para. 310, “Physical deletion of secondary storage files may be performed differently when deduplication has occurred with respect to the secondary storage files. As described above, de-duplication can involve breaking down files into subcomponents, such as blocks, comparing those blocks with other blocks already in secondary storage, and storing new blocks instead of copies of the blocks. Pointers or other logical references to a block can be stored instead of copies of the block to reduce storage. A single block can represent data obtained from multiple primary sources or client computing devices. Accordingly, it may not be possible to delete a block entirely for one client when physical deletion occurs without affecting other clients that rely on a backed-up version of the data represented by the block. Instead, when physical deletion occurs, a pointer to the block for the client for which the deletion has occurred may be removed. Once all pointers to a block have been removed for all clients, the block may be physically removed and its storage space reclaimed.”. Thus, deleting information related to the user from the primary table comprises: identifying partitions including information related to the user.);
deleting the identified partitions; and adding new partitions corresponding to the deleted partitions, the new partitions excluding rows with the information related to the user (Para. 182, “Synthetic full backups generally consolidate data without directly backing up data from the client computing device. A synthetic full backup is created from the most recent full backup (i.e., standard or synthetic) and subsequent incremental and/or differential backups. The resulting synthetic full backup is identical to what would have been created had the last backup for the subclient been a standard full backup. Unlike standard full, incremental, and differential backups, a synthetic full backup does not actually transfer data from a client computer to the backup media, because it operates as a backup consolidator. A synthetic full backup extracts the index data of each participating subclient. Using this index data and the previously backed up user data images, it builds new full backup images, one for each subclient. The new backup images consolidate the index and user data stored in the related incremental, differential, and previous full backups, in some embodiments creating an archive file at the subclient level.”. Thus, deleting the identified partitions; and adding new partitions corresponding to the deleted partitions, the new partitions excluding rows with the information related to the user.).
As to claims 4, 10 and 16, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1, 7 and 13 above. In addition, Karri discloses further comprising: replicating a portion of the primary table using the delta information stored in the system table (Para. 20, “The differential data structure and the delta data structure can be caused to be copied to a scenario including a copy of the base data structure.”. Para. 38, “the merge engine 260 can copy data from the original base table 210 into the new instance of the base table and modify the new table by merging all the modifications recorded in the delta data structure and differential data tables 220 in the new base table. The original base data table can then be replaced by the new base table (e.g., by replacing the entirety of the original base data table with the new base data table or replacing affected portions or individual records of the original base table with corresponding portions of the new base table, etc.).”. Thus, replicating a portion of the primary table using the delta information stored in the system table.).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendment to the claims. For Examiner's response, see discussion below:
Applicant's arguments, see pages 7-9, applicant argues that “Karri discloses periodic maintenance (clearing delta structures during merges), not explicit deletion in response to privacy requests. Therefore, Karri does not disclose "generating an explicit delete command to delete the sensitive information related to the user from the change data capture information, the delete command triggering deletion of information related to the user from the system table to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table"”, as recited in amended independent claims.
Examiner respectfully responds that combination of Karri and MUTHA teach all the features of amended independent claims as set forth in the respective reasons of claims 1-18 under 35 USC §103 above. Furthermore, the limitation “to ensure no traces of the sensitive information related to the user remains in the system table” is intended use and carries no patentable weight.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ager et al. (US 2009/0055365 A1) teaches auditing of curation information.
Kudo (US 2012/0328093 A1) teaches processing context information.
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mohammad S Bhuyan/Examiner, Art Unit 2168 /CHARLES RONES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2168