DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of applicant arguments/Remarks made in amendment in which the following is noted: claims 1 – 3, 9 – 10, 13, and 16 – 17 are amended and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending are currently pending and an Office action on the merits follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Shapiro (in view of Bao) does not disclose at least determining a velocity of at least a portion of the subject and applying a transparency to a portion of the virtual representation of the subject in accordance with the determined velocity.
In particular, Applicant argues Bao is focused on displaying the virtual representation as opposed to generating the virtual representation, as claimed. Applicants argues Bao does not disclose determining a velocity of a portion of the subject. Further, Applicant argues Bao teaches a blanket change to the opacity of the display.
However, applicant’s arguments do not appear commensurate with the scope of the claims. The Office submits the virtual representation must be generated when displayed. For example, Shapiro [0155] illustrates than avatar viewing itself in a virtual mirror. Further, the Office notes the HMD is directly connected to the wearer of the device and is configured to detect a velocity of at least a portion of the subject, as claimed. And Bao Figure 4a – 4b disclose embodiments in which opacity control can be applied to a plurality of regions 404 and not in a blanket manner as argued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 6 – 12, and 17 -19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shapiro et al; (Publication number: US 2019/0096106 A1), hereafter Shapiro, in view of Bao et al; (Publication number: US 2018/0088323 A1), hereafter Bao.
Regarding claim 1:
Shapiro discloses a method (Shapiro ABSTRACT; Figure 15) comprising: obtaining sensor data corresponding to a subject (Shapiro Figure 15 700); and generating a virtual representation of the subject based on the sensor data (Shapiro Figure 15 730, 740).
Shapiro does not disclose the method further comprising: determining, for a particular frame of the sensor data, a velocity of at least a portion of the subject; and applying, for the particular frame, a transparency treatment to the portion of a virtual representation of the subject in accordance with the determined velocity.
However, Bao discloses selectably opaque displays. More particularly Bao discloses determining, for a particular frame of the sensor data, a velocity of at least a portion of the subject (Bao Figure 11 1114 and 1102; [0118]); and
applying, for the particular frame, a transparency treatment to the portion of a virtual representation of the subject in accordance with the determined velocity (Bao Figure 1 1114 and 206).
It would have been obvious to modify the method Shapiro to include determining, for a particular frame of the sensor data, a velocity of at least a portion of the subject; and applying, for the particular frame, a transparency treatment to a portion of a virtual representation of the subject in accordance with the determined velocity, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to reduce the chance of injury to the user when in motion.Regarding claim 2:
Shapiro (in view of Bao) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the velocity of at least a portion of the subject comprises determining a translational velocity of a head mounted device (Shapiro [0118]).
Regarding claim 3:
Shapiro (in view of Bao) does not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the at least the portion of the virtual representation comprises a shoulder region of the virtual representation.
However, Bao further discloses an eye tracking such that the opacity controller 202 is configure to adapt the selectable opacity to various regions of the opacity layer such as when the user is looking downward, beyond the opacity layer (Bao [0125][0127] walking ).
As such, it would have been obvious to modify Shapiro (in view of Bao) wherein the least a portion of the virtual representation comprises a shoulder region of the virtual representation, as claimed, thereby allowing the user to view more clearly view what is in front of him/her, thereby allowing the user to make adjustments to their movement to avoid a collision with an approaching object.
Regarding claim 6:
Shapiro (in view of Bao) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein applying the transparency treatment to the portion of the virtual representation of the subject comprises: determining that the velocity stratifies a predetermined threshold (Bao [0118]; velocity stratifies determination of walking), determining a transparency parameter in accordance with the velocity (Bao [0080] request 408 selects opacity level), and applying a shader to the portion of the virtual representation using the transparency parameter (Bao [0080] transmission state of portion of display is changed).
Regarding claim 7:
Shapiro (in view of Bao) discloses the method of claim 6, wherein applying the shader to the portion of the representation comprises: in accordance with the velocity being greater than the predetermined threshold, increasing the transparency of the virtual representation (Bao [0105])
Regarding claim 8:
Shapiro (in view of Bao) discloses the method of claim 6, wherein applying the shader to the portion of the representation comprises: in accordance with the velocity being greater than the predetermined threshold, reducing transparency of the portion of the virtual representation (Bao [0105]).
Regarding claim 9:
Claim 9 directed to the computer-readable medium is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 1 (and additional for those disclosed by Shapiro [0186]).
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 10 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 11:
Claim 11 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 3.
Regarding claim 16:
Claim 16 directed to the system is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 1 (and additional for those disclosed by Shapiro [0186]).
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 17 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 18:
Claim 18 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 3.
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 6.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 12 – 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shapiro et al; (Publication number: US 2019/0096106 A1), hereafter Shapiro, in view of Bao et al; (Publication number: US 2018/0088323 A1), hereafter Bao, in view of Shriram et al; (Publication number: US 2022/0230379 A1), hereafter Shriram.
Regarding claim 4:
Shapiro (in view of Bao) does not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the virtual representation is further generated based on enrollment data for the subject.
However, Shriram discloses three-dimensional avatar generation and manipulation using shaders. More particularly, Shriram discloses wherein the virtual representation is further generated based on enrollment data for the subject (Shriram [0040] customization module).
It would have been obvious to further modify Shapiro (in view of Bao) wherein the virtual representation is further generated based on enrollment data for the subject, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to allow the user to realize a pleasing avatar.
Regarding claim 5:
Shapiro (in view of Bao and Shriram) discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the virtual representation of the subject is generated by: determining a shoulder width from the enrollment data and a shoulder position for the subject (Shriram [0040]; Shapiro [0116]), and generating a subject-specific should region using a generic virtual should region, the shoulder width, and the shoulder position (Shriram [0040] Shapiro [0116] and Figure 15 740).
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 4.
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 13 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 5.
Regarding claim 14:
Shapiro (in view of Bao) does not disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the virtual representation of the subject is generated based on enrollment image data from which a geometry and texture of the subject are derived.
However, Shriram discloses three-dimensional avatar generation and manipulation using shaders. More particularly, Shriram discloses wherein the virtual representation of the subject is generated based on enrollment image data from which a geometry and texture of the subject are derived (Shriram [0040][0044 – 0045]).
It would have been obvious to further modify Shapiro (in view of Bao) wherein the virtual representation of the subject is generated based on enrollment image data from which a geometry and texture of the subject are derived, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to allow the user to realize a pleasing avatar.
Regarding claim 15:
Shapiro (in view of Bao) discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, further comprising computer readable code to: generate virtual representation data based on sensor data (Shapiro Figure 15 730, 740) and virtual representation of the subject (Shapiro [0120]), and transmit the virtual representation data to the receiving device (Shapiro Figure 11 output of 480).
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 20 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 14.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIHIR K RAYAN/ 20 January 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621