DETAILED ACTION
This application has been examined. Claims 1,3-12,14-22 are pending. Claims 2,13 are cancelled. Claims 21-22 are submitted as new claims.
Making Final
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection.
The claim amendments regarding -- ‘wherein obtaining the second packet comprises adding an Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) basic header to an outer layer of the first packet to obtain the second packet, wherein a destination address field of the IPv6 basic header carries a first Segment Routing over Internet Protocol version 6 (SRv6) segment identifier (SID) of a downstream node to the first router on a first injection link, wherein an ingress node on the first injection link is the protection system, wherein an egress node on the first injection link is a second router’ -- clearly change the literal scope of the independent and dependent claims and/or the range of equivalents for such claims. The said amendments alter the scope of the claims but do not overcome the disclosure by the prior art as shown below.
The Examiner is presenting new grounds for rejection as necessitated by the claim amendments and is thus making this action FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection.
Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith disclosed (re. Claim 1) a protection system that is deployed in a bypass mode (Smith-Column 9 Lines 20-25,operating states of two or more modules can be toggled between an active state and a bypass state. Manipulation of identity parameters will only occur in the module which has an active operating state. The module with a bypass operating state will simply pass data packets without modification.) and that is external to a first router wherein the traffic injection method comprises: receiving to-be-scrubbed traffic from the first router wherein the to-be-scrubbed traffic is received from an external network and is for a protected network through the first router; (Li-Paragraph 3, a router is disposed between an external IP network and an internal network comprising an enterprise LAN and a server. An ESM is side-connected to a router using the side-hanging topology. In operation, data coming in from an external IP network on encountering the router will be diverted to an ESM for examination and processing)
scrubbing the to-be-scrubbed traffic to obtain scrubbed traffic comprising a first packet; (Boucadair-Paragraph 36, a filtering function for suspicious traffic in order to “scrub” the network of all traces of this traffic as close as possible to the source (target) of the attack, Paragraph 230, Non-suspicious traffic is reinjected into the nominal network while DDoS traffic is suppressed.)
obtaining a second packet based on the first packet (Shaw-Column 4 Lines 40-45, network device 102 may prepend one or more micro SIDs, in addition to, or in lieu of prepending one or more SIDs to the packet)
wherein obtaining the second packet comprises adding an Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) basic header to an outer layer of the first packet to obtain the second packet, (Shaw-Column 6 Lines 40-45, network device may then forward the packet, along with the remaining SIDs of the stack, to a next hop on the route associated with the active SID.) wherein a destination address field of the IPv6 basic header carries a first Segment Routing over Internet Protocol version 6 (SRv6) segment identifier (SID) of a downstream node to the first router on a first injection link, wherein an ingress node on the first injection link is the protection system, (Li-Figure 1,Paragraph 3, An ESM is side-connected to a router) wherein an egress node on the first injection link is a second router (Li-Paragraph 24, After passing the security examination, the traffic will be returned to the router 100 at the communication interface E1/1. According to the policy set in the first routing table, the data traffic with destination. IP address of 100.1.1.2 will be forwarded to the internal network through interface E1/2, and finally to the internal application server.)
wherein the second packet is an SRv6 packet and comprises an SRv6 SID of the second router that is deployed as the downstream node to the first router on the first injection link (Shaw-Column 6 Lines 40-45, network device may then forward the packet, along with the remaining SIDs of the stack, to a next hop on the route associated with the active SID.) and is deployed between an IPv6 network and the protected network, wherein the second router and the first router are connected through an IPv6 network
wherein the SRv6 SID of the second router is an IPv6 address of the second router; (Shaw-Column 6 Lines 40-45, Column 6 Lines 60-65, network device may then forward the packet, along with the remaining SIDs of the stack, to a next hop on the route associated with the active SID.) and sending the second packet to the second router. (Li-Paragraph 24, After passing the security examination, the traffic will be returned to the router 100 at the communication interface E1/1. According to the policy set in the first routing table, the data traffic with destination. IP address of 100.1.1.2 will be forwarded to the internal network through interface E1/2, and finally to the internal application server.)
Regarding Claim 21
Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith-Filsfils disclosed (re. Claim 7,21) wherein adding the SRH to the first packet comprises: adding the SRH to the outer layer of the first packet; or inserting the SRH into an inner layer of the IPV6 basic header of the first packet. (Filsfils- Figure 7,Paragraph 30, a Segment Routing Header (SRH) 116 is added to first packet 114 and an outer IPv6 header 118 is also added to first packet 114, Paragraph 68, packet header 700 is a SRH that includes a new Flow-ID SID list 702 that is allocated by the ingress node and added before the first SID list on the stack in the SRH 700.)
Regarding Claim 22
Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith disclosed (re. Claim 22) wherein before adding the SRH to the first packet, the traffic injection method further comprises: sending topology information of the IPv6 network to a controller; (Li-Paragraph 15, Figure 4, processor receiving new routing information from the security detection system at 204, the processor will modify and update the routing policy and contents of the first routing table) and receiving the first segment list from the controller, wherein the first segment list is based on the topology information of the IPV6 network.(Shaw-Column 4 Lines 30, For segment routing within prefix segments, the “path” information is disseminated between the routers)
Priority
This application claims benefits of priority from Foreign Application CN202210314660.1 (CHINA) filed March 28, 2022.
The effective date of the claims described in this application is March 28, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-4,10-12,14-15,19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (USPGPUB 20120240226) further in view of Boucadair (USPGPUB 20220210185) further in view of Shaw (US Patent 11477119) further in view of Smith (US Patent 9075992)
Regarding Claim 1
Li Paragraph 3 disclosed wherein a router is disposed between an external IP network and an internal network comprising an enterprise LAN and a server. An ESM is side-connected to a router using the side-hanging topology. In operation, data coming in from an external IP network on encountering the router will be diverted to an ESM for examination and processing.
Li Paragraph disclosed (re. Claim 1) a traffic injection method implemented by a protection system on a first router and comprising: receiving, from an external network, to-be-scrubbed traffic from the first router, wherein the to-be-scrubbed traffic is for a protected network;( Li-Paragraph 3, a router is disposed between an external IP network and an internal network comprising an enterprise LAN and a server. An ESM is side-connected to a router using the side-hanging topology. In operation, data coming in from an external IP network on encountering the router will be diverted to an ESM for examination and processing.)
While Li substantially disclosed the claimed invention Li does not disclose (re. Claim 1) wherein the router is operating under bypass mode.
While Li substantially disclosed the claimed invention Li does not disclose (re. Claim 1) scrubbing the to-be-scrubbed traffic to obtain scrubbed traffic
comprising a first packet; a second packet based on the first packet, wherein the second packet is a Segment Routing over Internet Protocol version 6 (SRv6) packet and comprises a first SRv6 segment identifier (SID) of a second router that is deployed between an Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) network and the protected network, wherein the first SRv6 SID is an IPv6 address of the second router;
Boucadair Paragraph 230 discloses wherein a mitigation action and more particularly the activation of a policy of intercepting suspicious traffic as close as possible to the source at the origin of the DDoS attack. Thus, all or part of the traffic is redirected to the fleet of mobile objects which has embedded DDoS inspection and mitigation functions. These functions may be distributed among several mobile objects (e.g. drones). Non-suspicious traffic is reinjected into the nominal network while DDoS traffic is suppressed.
Boucadair disclosed (re. Claim 1) scrubbing the to-be-scrubbed traffic to obtain scrubbed traffic (Boucadair-Paragraph 36, a filtering function for suspicious traffic in order to “scrub” the network of all traces of this traffic as close as possible to the source (target) of the attack, Paragraph 230, Non-suspicious traffic is reinjected into the nominal network while DDoS traffic is suppressed.)
Li and Boucadair are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding router configuration and forwarding policy. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Boucadair into Li. The motivation for the said combination would have been to enable exploiting the resources of a portable mobile DPS service, capable of detecting and intervening at any time and at any location (in the network) where an attack has been detected (Boucadair-Paragraph 41)
While Li-Boucadair substantially disclosed the claimed invention Li-Boucadair does not disclose (re. Claim 1) wherein the router is operating under bypass mode.
While Li-Boucadair substantially disclosed the claimed invention Li-Boucadair does not disclose (re. Claim 1) a traffic injection method comprising a first packet; a second packet based on the first packet, wherein the second packet is a Segment Routing over Internet Protocol version 6 (SRv6) packet and comprises a first SRv6 segment identifier (SID) of a second router that is deployed between an Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) network and the protected network, wherein the first SRv6 SID is an IPv6 address of the second router.
Shaw Column 1 Lines 55-65 disclosed using Segment Routing (SR) extension, wherein label switching routers can forward traffic along a particular path through a network to a destination device, i.e., a Label Switched Path (LSP), using labels prepended to the traffic. An LSP defines a distinct path through the network to carry MPLS packets from the source device to a destination device.
Shaw disclosed (re. Claim 1) a traffic injection method comprising a first packet; a second packet based on the first packet, (Shaw-Column 4 Lines 40-45, network device 102 may prepend one or more micro SIDs, in addition to, or in lieu of prepending one or more SIDs to the packet) wherein the second packet is a Segment Routing over Internet Protocol version 6 (SRv6) packet and comprises a first SRv6 segment identifier (SID) of a second router (Shaw-Column 5 Lines , With SRv6, a segment may be encoded in a header as an IPv6 address (e.g., a SID). ) that is deployed between an Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) network and the protected network, wherein the first SRv6 SID is an IPv6 address of the second router; sending the second packet to the second router.(Shaw-Column 6 Lines 40-45, network device may then forward the packet, along with the remaining SIDs of the stack, to a next hop on the route associated with the active SID.)
Li and Shaw are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding router configuration and forwarding policy. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Shaw into Li-Boucadair. The motivation for the said combination would have been so that network administrator need only allocate SIDs to particular routers and the segment routing IGP control-plane automatically builds the required MPLS forwarding constructs from a router to any other router (Shaw-Column 4 Lines 50-55)
While Li-Boucadair-Shaw substantially disclosed the claimed invention Li-Boucadair-Shaw does not disclose (re. Claim 1) wherein the router is operating under bypass mode.
Smith Column 14 Lines 40-45 disclosed wherein a mission plan can be modified from time to time by a network administrator to update or change the way in which the network maneuvers to thwart potential adversaries. Smith Column 9 Lines 20-25 disclosed wherein operating states of two or more modules can be toggled between an active state and a bypass state. Manipulation of identity parameters will only occur in the module which has an active operating state. The module with a bypass operating state will simply pass data packets without modification.
Smith disclosed (re. Claim 1) wherein the router is operating under bypass mode. (Smith-Column 9 Lines 20-25,operating states of two or more modules can be toggled between an active state and a bypass state. Manipulation of identity parameters will only occur in the module which has an active operating state. The module with a bypass operating state will simply pass data packets without modification.)
Li and Smith are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding router configuration and forwarding policy. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Smith into Li-Boucadair-Shaw. The motivation for the said combination would have been to enable administrators, via a mission plan, to specify a time when the network modules are to return to the active mode, or directing them to enter into the active mode or bypass mode. The foregoing process of updating a mission plan advantageously allows changes in network security procedures to occur without disrupting communication among the various computing devices attached to the computer network 100. (Smith-Column 18 Lines 30-50)
Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith disclosed (re. Claim 1) a protection system that is deployed in a bypass mode (Smith-Column 9 Lines 20-25,operating states of two or more modules can be toggled between an active state and a bypass state. Manipulation of identity parameters will only occur in the module which has an active operating state. The module with a bypass operating state will simply pass data packets without modification.) and that is external to a first router wherein the traffic injection method comprises: receiving to-be-scrubbed traffic from the first router wherein the to-be-scrubbed traffic is received from an external network and is for a protected network through the first router; (Li-Paragraph 3, a router is disposed between an external IP network and an internal network comprising an enterprise LAN and a server. An ESM is side-connected to a router using the side-hanging topology. In operation, data coming in from an external IP network on encountering the router will be diverted to an ESM for examination and processing)
scrubbing the to-be-scrubbed traffic to obtain scrubbed traffic comprising a first packet; (Boucadair-Paragraph 36, a filtering function for suspicious traffic in order to “scrub” the network of all traces of this traffic as close as possible to the source (target) of the attack, Paragraph 230, Non-suspicious traffic is reinjected into the nominal network while DDoS traffic is suppressed.)
obtaining a second packet based on the first packet (Shaw-Column 4 Lines 40-45, network device 102 may prepend one or more micro SIDs, in addition to, or in lieu of prepending one or more SIDs to the packet)
wherein obtaining the second packet comprises adding an Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) basic header to an outer layer of the first packet to obtain the second packet, (Shaw-Column 6 Lines 40-45, network device may then forward the packet, along with the remaining SIDs of the stack, to a next hop on the route associated with the active SID.) wherein a destination address field of the IPv6 basic header carries a first Segment Routing over Internet Protocol version 6 (SRv6) segment identifier (SID) of a downstream node to the first router on a first injection link, wherein an ingress node on the first injection link is the protection system, (Li-Figure 1,Paragraph 3, An ESM is side-connected to a router) wherein an egress node on the first injection link is a second router (Li-Paragraph 24, After passing the security examination, the traffic will be returned to the router 100 at the communication interface E1/1. According to the policy set in the first routing table, the data traffic with destination. IP address of 100.1.1.2 will be forwarded to the internal network through interface E1/2, and finally to the internal application server.)
wherein the second packet is an SRv6 packet and comprises an SRv6 SID of the second router that is deployed as the downstream node to the first router on the first injection link (Shaw-Column 6 Lines 40-45, network device may then forward the packet, along with the remaining SIDs of the stack, to a next hop on the route associated with the active SID.) and is deployed between an IPv6 network and the protected network, wherein the second router and the first router are connected through an IPv6 network
wherein the SRv6 SID of the second router is an IPv6 address of the second router; (Shaw-Column 6 Lines 40-45, Column 6 Lines 60-65, network device may then forward the packet, along with the remaining SIDs of the stack, to a next hop on the route associated with the active SID.) and sending the second packet to the second router. (Li-Paragraph 24, After passing the security examination, the traffic will be returned to the router 100 at the communication interface E1/1. According to the policy set in the first routing table, the data traffic with destination. IP address of 100.1.1.2 will be forwarded to the internal network through interface E1/2, and finally to the internal application server.)
Regarding Claim 12
Claim 12 (re. protection system) recites substantially similar limitations as Claim 1. Claim 12 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3,14
Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith disclosed (re. Claim 3,14) wherein the downstream node is the second router or the downstream node is a transit node between the protection system and the second router. (Li-Paragraph 24, After passing the security examination, the traffic will be returned to the router 100 at the communication interface E1/1. According to the policy set in the first routing table, the data traffic with destination. IP address of 100.1.1.2 will be forwarded to the internal network through interface E1/2, and finally to the internal application server.)
Regarding Claim 4,15
Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith disclosed (re. Claim 4,15) wherein the obtaining comprises updating content of a destination address field of an IPV6 basic header of the first packet (Shaw-Column 20 Lines 35-30, the ingress forwarding unit is configured to forward the packet comprising the updated header to an egress forwarding unit to forward into the network) to the first SRv6 SID to obtain the second packet when the first packet is an IPV6 packet.(Shaw-Column 8 Lines 40-45, Network device 102 may encapsulate the data sent by CPE 118 and apply one or more micro SIDs within a top SID as shown with packet 122A )
Regarding Claim 10,19
Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith disclosed (re. Claim 10,19) the first SRv6 SID comprises locating information and function information, wherein the locating information indicates a location of the second router, and wherein the function information instructs the second router to perform SRv6 decapsulation.(Shaw-Column 7 Lines 40-45, A micro SID may include a destination address and a function or action , Column 9 Lines 45-50, Network device 116 may de-encapsulate the data intended for CPE 120 and send the data to CPE 120.)
Regarding Claim 11,20
Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith disclosed (re. Claim 11,20) receiving an advertisement packet from the second router, wherein the advertisement packet is for advertising the first SRv6 SID.(Shaw-Column 8 Lines 10-15, network device 106 may receive an advertisement originated by network device 110 in network 100. The advertisement may specify a second micro SID which may be associated with the network device 110. Network device 106 may store, in a destination lookup table of a forwarding unit (not shown in FIG. 1A) of network device 106, a route entry comprising a first micro SID associated with network device 106 and the second micro SID.)
Claim(s) 5-7,9,16-17,21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (USPGPUB 20120240226) further in view of Boucadair (USPGPUB 20220210185) further in view of Shaw (US Patent 11477119) further in view of Smith (US Patent 9075992) further in view of Filsfils (USPGPUB 2019/0260657)
Regarding Claim 5,16
While Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith substantially disclosed the claimed invention Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith does not disclose (re. Claim 5,16) wherein the second packet comprises an IPV6 extension header, wherein the IPV6 extension header comprises second content that is written by the protection system and that exists in the destination address field of the IPV6 basic header of the first packet before the updating, and wherein the IPV6 extension header is a segment routing header (SRH) or a destination options header.
Filsfils Figure 7,Paragraph 68 disclosed wherein packet header 700 is a SRH that includes a new Flow-ID SID list 702 that is allocated by the ingress node and added before the first SID list on the stack in the SRH 700.
Filsfils Paragraph 65 disclosed wherein upon performing method 500 to determine one or more loss measurement values, a responsive action may be taken, for example, by network controller 110 and/or one or more nodes, including first network element 102 and/or second network element 104. Responsive actions include, but are not limited to: changing a path for a packet flow (e.g., a path protection switchover)
Filsfils disclosed (re. Claim 5,16) wherein the second packet comprises an IPV6 extension header, wherein the IPV6 extension header comprises second content that is written by the protection system and that exists in the destination address field of the IPV6 basic header of the first packet before the updating, and wherein the IPV6 extension header is a segment routing header (SRH) or a destination options header.(Filsfils- Figure 7,Paragraph 30, a Segment Routing Header (SRH) 116 is added to first packet 114 and an outer IPv6 header 118 is also added to first packet 114, Paragraph 68, packet header 700 is a SRH that includes a new Flow-ID SID list 702 that is allocated by the ingress node and added before the first SID list on the stack in the SRH 700.)
Li and Filsfils are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding router configuration and forwarding policy. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Filsfils into Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith. The motivation for the said combination would have been to simplify network operations and make networks Software Defined Network (SDN)-friendly.(Filsfils-Paragraph 3)
Regarding Claim 6,17
Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith-Filsfils disclosed (re. Claim 6,17) wherein the obtaining further comprises adding a segment routing header (SRH) to the first packet to obtain the second packet, (Filsfils- Figure 7,Paragraph 30, a Segment Routing Header (SRH) 116 is added to first packet 114 and an outer IPv6 header 118 is also added to first packet 114, Paragraph 68, packet header 700 is a SRH that includes a new Flow-ID SID list 702 that is allocated by the ingress node and added before the first SID list on the stack in the SRH 700.)wherein the SRH comprises a first segment list, (Shaw-Column 2 Lines 10-15, To forward a packet through the network, the routers may push (and pop) one or more labels in a label stack, e.g., a segment list, that is applied to the packet as it is forwarded through the network, Column 7 Lines 35-40, By placing several micro SIDs within a given SID, a packet's overhead may be dramatically reduced when multiple segments are being traversed in a segment routing version 6 (SRv6) packet.) wherein the first segment list comprises the first SRv6 SID and a third SRv6 SID of at least one transit node through which the first injection link passes, wherein the ingress node is the protection system, and wherein the egress node is the second router.
Regarding Claim 7,21
Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith-Filsfils disclosed (re. Claim 7,21) wherein adding the SRH to the first packet comprises: adding the SRH to the outer layer of the first packet; or inserting the SRH into an inner layer of the IPV6 basic header of the first packet. (Filsfils- Figure 7,Paragraph 30, a Segment Routing Header (SRH) 116 is added to first packet 114 and an outer IPv6 header 118 is also added to first packet 114, Paragraph 68, packet header 700 is a SRH that includes a new Flow-ID SID list 702 that is allocated by the ingress node and added before the first SID list on the stack in the SRH 700.)
Regarding Claim 9
Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith disclosed (re. Claim 9) wherein before adding the SRH to the first packet, the traffic injection method further comprises: sending topology information of the IPv6 network to a controller; (Li-Paragraph 15, Figure 4, processor receiving new routing information from the security detection system at 204, the processor will modify and update the routing policy and contents of the first routing table) and receiving the first segment list from the controller, wherein the first segment list is based on the topology information of the IPV6 network.(Shaw-Column 4 Lines 30, For segment routing within prefix segments, the “path” information is disseminated between the routers)
Claim(s) 8,18,22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (USPGPUB 20120240226) further in view of Boucadair (USPGPUB 20220210185) further in view of Shaw (US Patent 11477119) further in view of Smith (US Patent 9075992) further in view of Filsfils (USPGPUB 2019/0260657)
further in view of Chunduri (USPGPUB 2024/0235984)
Regarding Claim 8,18
While Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith substantially disclosed the claimed invention Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith does not disclose (re. Claim 8,18) wherein the first injection link exists between the protection system and the second router, wherein a second injection link exists between the protection system and the second router, and wherein before adding the SRH to the first packet, the traffic injection method further comprises selecting the first segment list and a second segment list based on a first quality of the first injection link and a second quality of the second injection link, wherein the first segment list represents the first injection link, wherein the second segment list represents the second injection link, wherein the first quality is higher than the second quality, and wherein the first quality or the second quality is based on at least one of congestion, a delay, a packet loss rate, bandwidth, or overheads.
Chunduri Paragraph 127 disclosed wherein while SR allows packet steering on a specified path (for MPLS and IPv6 with SRH), it does not have any notion of QoS or resources reserved along the path. The determination of which resources to allocate and reserve on nodes across the path, like the determination of the path itself, can in many cases be made by a controller. Accordingly, PPR includes extensions that allow to manage those reservations, in addition to the path itself.
Chunduri Figure 9 Paragraph 154 disclosed a set of T links (also referred to as “TE links”) between individual spine nodes and individual leaf nodes.
Chunduri Paragraph 157 disclosed wherein after the TE policy is installed or otherwise established on the various nodes and the fabric controller(s) 902, the fabric controller(s) 902 can signal the individual nodes to begin routing traffic flows (data packets) according to the TE policy. For example, the TE policy and/or the higher metric value of the T links can be advertised to the leaf and spine nodes.
Chunduri disclosed (re. Claim 8,18) wherein the first injection link exists between the protection system and the second router, wherein a second injection link exists between the protection system and the second router (Chunduri-Figure 9, Paragraph 154,a set of T links (also referred to as “TE links”) between individual spine nodes and individual leaf nodes.)
and wherein before adding the SRH to the first packet, the traffic injection method further comprises selecting the first segment list and a second segment list based on a first quality of the first injection link and a second quality of the second injection link, (Chunduri-Paragraph 96, PPR-PDEs like SR SIDs, can represent topological elements like links/nodes, backup nodes, as well as non-topological elements such as a service, function, or context on a node with additional control information as needed.)
wherein the first segment list represents the first injection link, wherein the second segment list represents the second injection link, wherein the first quality is higher than the second quality, and wherein the first quality or the second quality is based on at least one of congestion, a delay, a packet loss rate, bandwidth, or overheads.(Chunduri-Paragraph 127, PPR includes extensions that allow to manage those reservations, in addition to the path itself, Paragraph 128, PPR Reservations are expressed in terms of required resources (e.g., bandwidth and/or the like), traffic characteristics (e.g., burst size and/or the like), and service level parameters (e.g., expected maximum latency at each hop and/or the like) based on the capabilities of each node and link along the path.)
Li and Chunduri are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding router configuration and forwarding policy. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Chunduri into Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith. The motivation for the said combination would have been to implement PPR traffic steering on a specified path while managing QoS or resources reserved along the path.( Chunduri-Paragraph 127)
Regarding Claim 22
Li-Boucadair-Shaw-Smith disclosed (re. Claim 22) wherein before adding the SRH to the first packet, the traffic injection method further comprises: sending topology information of the IPv6 network to a controller; (Li-Paragraph 15, Figure 4, processor receiving new routing information from the security detection system at 204, the processor will modify and update the routing policy and contents of the first routing table) and receiving the first segment list from the controller, wherein the first segment list is based on the topology information of the IPV6 network.(Shaw-Column 4 Lines 30, For segment routing within prefix segments, the “path” information is disseminated between the routers)
Conclusion
Examiner’s Note: In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREG C BENGZON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444