DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are pending.
Claims 1, 9, and 10 are independent.
Claims 1, 9, and 10 have been amended.
Claim 4 has been canceled.
This FINAL action is in response to “Amendments and Remarks” received on 04 May 2026.
Response to Amendment/Remarks
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed 04 May 2026, Applicant’s “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered and were not wholly persuasive. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
With respect to objection of the claims, Applicant’s “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objections to the claims have been withdrawn.
With respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, Applicant’s “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
With respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant’s “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, the rejection is modified to incorporate different teachings of the same prior art. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that Ishikawa does not disclose (or even suggest) determining whether a generated route is within a predetermined region that (i) represents a range within a predetermined distance from a reference line connecting the current position of the moving body and the destination, and (ii) is used to determine whether the generated route is an inefficient route for reaching the destination. Ishikawa merely updates a waypoint relative to a moving target. This is fundamentally different from evaluating whether the generated route itself is inefficient and deviates from the above predetermined region.
Based on Ishikawa’s disclosure, a particular situation may be considered wherein a mobile robot follows a target as seen in Figure 1. A circle having radius RA is centered on the target and the mobile robot always tries to maintain a distance RA from the target. Since the robot disclosed by Ishikawa cannot cross into the circle with radius RA, a traveling space outside of the circle with radius RA is the predetermined region. From Ishikawa [0102] and [0104], it can be gathered when the target moves some distance L, the circle with radius RA also moves some distance L. When the mobile is further away than a distance RA it will generate a straight-line path to a new target position which involves turning by some angle (for example 150°) to face in the direction of the new target position to minimize an angular difference between robot heading and target position. To point (i), the mobile robot is always in a predetermined region when generating a route to the target and every route is a straight-line reference starting at the mobile robot and ending at the center of the circle with radius RA but maintain a distance RA away from the target. Relying on Applicant’s Specification [0005], efficiency seems to relate to orientation of a robot when a route is generated. To point (ii), Ishikawa discloses setting a path to the target via a straight-line meaning that the robot must turn by some angle to face and approach the target.
Final Office Action
Claim Interpretation
During examination, claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and limitations in the specification are not read into the claims. See MPEP §2111, MPEP §2111.01 and In re Yamamoto et al., 222 USPQ 934 10 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP 2111.01 (I). It is further noted it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification, i.e., a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. See 15 MPEP 2111.01 (II).
A first exception to the prohibition of reading limitations from the specification into the claims is when the Applicant for patent has provided a lexicographic definition for the term. See MPEP §2111.01 (IV). Following a review of the claims in view of the specification herein, the Office has found that Applicant has not provided any lexicographic definitions, either expressly or implicitly, for any claim terms or phrases with any reasonable clarity, deliberateness and precision. Accordingly, the Office concludes that Applicant has not acted as his/her own lexicographer.
A second exception to the prohibition of reading limitations from the specification into the claims is when the claimed feature is written as a means-plus-function. See 35 U.S.C. §112(f) and MPEP §2181-2183. As noted in MPEP §2181, a three-prong test is used to determine the scope of a means-plus-function limitation in a claim:
The Office has found herein that the claims do not contain limitations of means or means type language that must be analyzed under 35 U.S.C. §112 (f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishikawa et al. (US 20230205234 A1), hereinafter Ishikawa.
Regarding claim 1, Ishikawa discloses:
A control device for a moving body comprising ([0087], To set and control the movement path for the robot 10, such as for path creation processing, a data processing unit of an information processing device provided inside the robot 10 or an external information processing device that can communicate with the robot 10 may be used):
a storage medium configured to store computer-readable instructions (Fig. 25, 308; [0042], a storage medium provided in a computer-readable form or a program that can be provided by a communication medium, the storage medium or the program being provided to an information processing device or a computer system that can execute various program codes. By providing such a program in a computer-readable form, processing according to the program can be implemented on an information processing device or a computer system);
and a processor connected to the storage medium ([0485], The data processing unit 303 includes a processor such as a CPU having a function of executing a program, and performs the processing according to the flowcharts described in the above embodiments; [0486], the program is stored in the storage unit),
wherein the processor executes ([0485], The data processing unit 303 includes a processor such as a CPU having a function of executing a program, and performs the processing according to the flowcharts described in the above embodiments.)
the computer-readable instructions to recognize a surrounding situation of the moving body based at least on an image of the surrounding situation of the moving body (Fig. 4; [0149], The camera 101 captures an image in the travel direction of the mobile device (robot) 100 and an image of a target to be followed; [0150], The target recognition unit 102 receives the image captured by the camera 101 and identifies the target. The target image is stored in advance in a storage unit (not illustrated), and the target recognition unit 102 compares the target image stored in the storage unit with the image captured by the camera to extract the target from the image captured by the camera, for example; [0155], The obstacle map creation unit 104 receives detection information from the sensor 103, analyzes the position of an obstacle that exists in the travel direction of the mobile device (robot) 100, and creates an obstacle map. The created obstacle map is stored in a storage unit (not illustrated) and output to the path planning unit 105 at the next stage),
to generate a route from the moving body to a destination based on the recognized surrounding situation and the destination (Fig. 2; Fig. 3; [0044], it includes a movement path creation unit that creates a path that is the following path on which the target is to be followed by the mobile device. The movement path creation unit sequentially sets a piece of path position information (waypoint) near the target, and sequentially connects set pieces of path position information to create the path. The movement path creation unit sets the piece of path position information at a position determined in accordance with a predetermined rule based on a position and a travel direction of the target. When the target moves a predetermined distance, a new piece of path position information is set.),
to determine whether or not the generated route is within a predetermined region defined by a current position of the moving body and the destination ([0111], Rule: Set a new piece of path position information (waypoint) on a circle with a radius Ra centered on the target and at an angular position of a specified angle (for example, 150 degrees counterclockwise) with respect to the travel direction of the target to be followed.),
to control the moving body so that the moving body moves along the generated rote to the destination ([0085], A robot 10 illustrated in. FIG. 1 is a mobile device according to the present disclosure. The robot 10 moves to follow a target (an object to be followed) 20. In the following embodiment, an autonomous travel robot will be described as an example of a mobile device that follows the target (the object to be followed) 20. However, examples of the mobile device according to the present disclosure include not only such an autonomous mobile robot but also various mobile devices such as a self-driving vehicle and a drone.),
and when it is determined that the route deviates from the predetermined region ([0109], In this way, when the target 20 moves the predetermined distance (L), a new piece of path position information (waypoint) is set.),
to turn the moving body on a spot by a predetermined angle so as to reduce an angular difference between a forward direction of the moving body and a direction toward the destination ([0205], In order to achieve efficient following processing for the target 20 to be followed, the robot 10 according to the present disclosure sets a “direction vector” connecting the current position and the past position of the target 20 as illustrated in FIG. 6, and sets, based on the set “direction vector”, a piece of path position information (waypoint) at a position of a predetermined angle; [0209], A “direction vector 202” connecting the current position (Ptx) and the past position (Pty) of the target 20 is set, and a piece of path position information (waypoint) is set at a position of a predetermined angle with respect to the set “direction vector 202” used as a reference.),
and to regenerate a route from the moving body that has turned on the spot to the destination (Fig. 2; Fig. 3; [0044], it includes a movement path creation unit that creates a path that is the following path on which the target is to be followed by the mobile device. The movement path creation unit sequentially sets a piece of path position information (waypoint) near the target, and sequentially connects set pieces of path position information to create the path. The movement path creation unit sets the piece of path position information at a position determined in accordance with a predetermined rule based on a position and a travel direction of the target. When the target moves a predetermined distance, a new piece of path position information is set.),
wherein the predetermined region is a region which represents a range within a predetermined distance from a reference line that connects the current position of the moving body and the destination (Fig. 1; [0109], In this way, when the target 20 moves the predetermined distance (L), a new piece of path position information (waypoint) is set; [0111], Rule: Set a new piece of path position information (waypoint) on a circle with a radius Ra centered on the target and at an angular position of a specified angle (for example, 150 degrees counterclockwise) with respect to the travel direction of the target to be followed.),
and is a determination region for determining whether or not the generated route is an inefficient route for reaching the destination from the current position of the moving body ([0281], By such processing being performed, it is possible to create an efficient following path even when an error in recognizing the target 20 occurs.).
Regarding claim 2, Ishikawa discloses:
wherein the processor determines whether or not the regenerated route is within the predetermined region ([0498], The data processing unit 501 of the user terminal 500 creates a piece of path position information (waypoint) and a connection path, further creates drive control information for driving the mobile device 300 along the created pieces of path position information (waypoints) and connection path, and transmits the drive control information to the mobile device 300 via the communication unit 503; [0500], The data processing unit 501 includes a processor such as a CPU having a function of executing a program, and performs the processing according to the flowcharts described in the above embodiments),
and when it is determined that the regenerated route is within the predetermined region, the processor controls the moving body so that the moving body moves along the regenerated route to the destination (Fig. 13; Fig. 14; Fig. 15; Fig. 16; Fig. 21; Fig. 24; [0044], According to the configuration of one embodiment of the present disclosure, it is possible to realize a device and a method for efficiently creating a following path of a target to be followed by a mobile device to enable reliable follow up. Specifically, for example, it includes a movement path creation unit that creates a path that is the following path on which the target is to be followed by the mobile device. The movement path creation unit sequentially sets a piece of path position information (waypoint) near the target, and sequentially connects set pieces of path position information to create the path. The movement path creation unit sets the piece of path position information at a position determined in accordance with a predetermined rule based on a position and a travel direction of the target. When the target moves a predetermined distance, a new piece of path position information is set).
Regarding claim 3, Ishikawa discloses:
wherein the processor determines whether or not the regenerated route is within the predetermined region ([0498], The data processing unit 501 of the user terminal 500 creates a piece of path position information (waypoint) and a connection path, further creates drive control information for driving the mobile device 300 along the created pieces of path position information (waypoints) and connection path, and transmits the drive control information to the mobile device 300 via the communication unit 503; [0500], The data processing unit 501 includes a processor such as a CPU having a function of executing a program, and performs the processing according to the flowcharts described in the above embodiments),
and when it is determined that the regenerated route has deviated from the predetermined region, the processor controls the moving body so that the moving body moves along the regenerated route to a vicinity of a boundary of the predetermined region, turns the moving body on the spot in the vicinity of the boundary of the predetermined region, and generates a route from the moving body that has turned on the spot to the destination (Fig. 13; Fig. 14; Fig. 15; Fig. 16; Fig. 21; Fig. 24; [0100], In the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the new piece of path position information (waypoint) 12 is set on a circle with a radius Ra centered on the target 20 and at an angular position of 150 degrees counterclockwise with respect to the travel direction of the target 20 to be followed).
Regarding claim 5, Ishikawa discloses:
wherein the moving body is operated in either a following mode in which the moving body moves to follow a user, or a guide mode in which the moving body moves in front of the user at a moving speed corresponding to that of the user (Fig. 1, Basic Algorithm of Target Following Process; [0011], a movement path creation unit that creates a path that is a following path on which a target is to be followed by a mobile device).
Regarding claim 6, Ishikawa discloses:
wherein when the moving body is operated in the following mode, the destination is the user or a point within a predetermined range from the user (Fig. 1, Basic Algorithm of Target Following Process; [0011], a movement path creation unit that creates a path that is a following path on which a target is to be followed by a mobile device; Fig. 13; Fig. 14; Fig. 15; Fig. 16; Fig. 21; Fig. 24; [0104], The piece of path position information (waypoint) is sequentially set as the target 20 moves. For example, when the target 20 moves a predetermined distance (L), a new piece of path position information (waypoint) is set).
Regarding claim 9, Ishikawa discloses:
A control method for a moving body (Abstract, Provided are a device and a method for efficiently creating a following path of the target to be followed by a mobile device to enable reliable follow-up),
wherein a computer recognizes a surrounding situation of the moving body based at least on an image of the surrounding situation of the moving body (Fig. 4; [0149], The camera 101 captures an image in the travel direction of the mobile device (robot) 100 and an image of a target to be followed; [0150], The target recognition unit 102 receives the image captured by the camera 101 and identifies the target. The target image is stored in advance in a storage unit (not illustrated), and the target recognition unit 102 compares the target image stored in the storage unit with the image captured by the camera to extract the target from the image captured by the camera, for example; [0155], The obstacle map creation unit 104 receives detection information from the sensor 103, analyzes the position of an obstacle that exists in the travel direction of the mobile device (robot) 100, and creates an obstacle map. The created obstacle map is stored in a storage unit (not illustrated) and output to the path planning unit 105 at the next stage),
generates a route from the moving body to a destination based on the recognized surrounding situation and the destination (Fig. 2; Fig. 3; [0044], it includes a movement path creation unit that creates a path that is the following path on which the target is to be followed by the mobile device. The movement path creation unit sequentially sets a piece of path position information (waypoint) near the target, and sequentially connects set pieces of path position information to create the path. The movement path creation unit sets the piece of path position information at a position determined in accordance with a predetermined rule based on a position and a travel direction of the target. When the target moves a predetermined distance, a new piece of path position information is set.),
determines whether or not the generated route is within a predetermined region defined by a current position of the moving body and the destination ([0111], Rule: Set a new piece of path position information (waypoint) on a circle with a radius Ra centered on the target and at an angular position of a specified angle (for example, 150 degrees counterclockwise) with respect to the travel direction of the target to be followed.),
controls the moving body so that the moving body moves along the generated rote to the destination ([0085], A robot 10 illustrated in. FIG. 1 is a mobile device according to the present disclosure. The robot 10 moves to follow a target (an object to be followed) 20. In the following embodiment, an autonomous travel robot will be described as an example of a mobile device that follows the target (the object to be followed) 20. However, examples of the mobile device according to the present disclosure include not only such an autonomous mobile robot but also various mobile devices such as a self-driving vehicle and a drone.),
and when it is determined that the route deviates from the predetermined region ([0109], In this way, when the target 20 moves the predetermined distance (L), a new piece of path position information (waypoint) is set.),
turns the moving body on a spot by a predetermined angle so as to reduce an angular difference between a forward direction of the moving body and a direction toward the destination ([0205], In order to achieve efficient following processing for the target 20 to be followed, the robot 10 according to the present disclosure sets a “direction vector” connecting the current position and the past position of the target 20 as illustrated in FIG. 6, and sets, based on the set “direction vector”, a piece of path position information (waypoint) at a position of a predetermined angle; [0209], A “direction vector 202” connecting the current position (Ptx) and the past position (Pty) of the target 20 is set, and a piece of path position information (waypoint) is set at a position of a predetermined angle with respect to the set “direction vector 202” used as a reference.),
and to regenerate a route from the moving body that has turned on the spot to the destination (Fig. 2; Fig. 3; [0044], it includes a movement path creation unit that creates a path that is the following path on which the target is to be followed by the mobile device. The movement path creation unit sequentially sets a piece of path position information (waypoint) near the target, and sequentially connects set pieces of path position information to create the path. The movement path creation unit sets the piece of path position information at a position determined in accordance with a predetermined rule based on a position and a travel direction of the target. When the target moves a predetermined distance, a new piece of path position information is set.),
wherein the predetermined region is a region which represents a range within a predetermined distance from a reference line that connects the current position of the moving body and the destination (Fig. 1; [0109], In this way, when the target 20 moves the predetermined distance (L), a new piece of path position information (waypoint) is set; [0111], Rule: Set a new piece of path position information (waypoint) on a circle with a radius Ra centered on the target and at an angular position of a specified angle (for example, 150 degrees counterclockwise) with respect to the travel direction of the target to be followed.),
and is a determination region for determining whether or not the generated route is an inefficient route for reaching the destination from the current position of the moving body ([0281], By such processing being performed, it is possible to create an efficient following path even when an error in recognizing the target 20 occurs.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa in view of Komuro et al. (US 20230315130 A1), hereinafter Komuro.
Regarding claim 7, Ishikawa does not specifically state:
wherein when the moving body is operated in the guidance mode, the destination is a point set by the user or a point within a predetermined range in front of the user.
Komuro teaches:
wherein when the moving body is operated in the guidance mode, the destination is a point set by the user or a point within a predetermined range in front of the user (Fig. 5A, Guide Mode and Leading Mode; Fig. 6B; Fig. 6D; [0028], The mobile body 100 can guide a specific person (also referred to as a user) to a specific location in a space, can store a load of the user in a housing and follow the user, or can deliver a load from a specific location in a space to a location of a user (or from the location of the user to the specific location)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Komuro into the invention of Ishikawa to include a guidance mode where a destination is set by a user as Komuro discloses with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art to create a more robust system that guides a user to a desired location (Komuro: [0036]). Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well-known elements of a following robot that maintains a radius distance away from a user as disclosed by Ishikawa and a robot that leads/guides a user to a destination as taught by Komuro. The combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 8, Ishikawa does not specifically state:
wherein when the moving body is operated in the guidance mode, the destination is a temporary point that is temporarily set to reach a final point set by the user.
Komuro teaches:
wherein when the moving body is operated in the guidance mode, the destination is a temporary point that is temporarily set to reach a final point set by the user (Fig. 6B, S626; Fig. 6D, S669; [0088], In a case of a user detection failure (loss) during traveling, the mobile body 100 is stopped when temporarily failing to detect the user in the leading mode and the guide mode, and requires user authentication again. On the other hand, in the follow mode, for example, in a case where the user walking in front of the mobile body is detected again from the sensor information, the traveling is resumed without performing the user authentication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the additional teachings of Komuro into the invention of Ishikawa to include a temporary waiting destination when a user cannot be detected as Komuro discloses with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art to create a more robust system that sets a temporary waiting destination to allow a user to reach the guiding robot and to continue navigation. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well-known elements of a following robot that maintains a radius distance away from a user as disclosed by Ishikawa and a robot that leads/guides a user to a destination as taught by Komuro. The combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 10, Ishikawa discloses:
wherein a computer is caused to ([0042], The program of the present disclosure is, for example, a storage medium provided in a computer-readable form or a program that can be provided by a communication medium, the storage medium or the program being provided to an information processing device or a computer system that can execute various program codes, for example. By providing such a program in a computer-readable form, processing according to the program can be implemented on an information processing device or a computer system.)
recognize a surrounding situation of the moving body based at least on an image of the surrounding situation of the moving body (Fig. 4; [0149], The camera 101 captures an image in the travel direction of the mobile device (robot) 100 and an image of a target to be followed; [0150], The target recognition unit 102 receives the image captured by the camera 101 and identifies the target. The target image is stored in advance in a storage unit (not illustrated), and the target recognition unit 102 compares the target image stored in the storage unit with the image captured by the camera to extract the target from the image captured by the camera, for example; [0155], The obstacle map creation unit 104 receives detection information from the sensor 103, analyzes the position of an obstacle that exists in the travel direction of the mobile device (robot) 100, and creates an obstacle map. The created obstacle map is stored in a storage unit (not illustrated) and output to the path planning unit 105 at the next stage),
to generate a route from the moving body to a destination based on the recognized surrounding situation and the destination (Fig. 2; Fig. 3; [0044], it includes a movement path creation unit that creates a path that is the following path on which the target is to be followed by the mobile device. The movement path creation unit sequentially sets a piece of path position information (waypoint) near the target, and sequentially connects set pieces of path position information to create the path. The movement path creation unit sets the piece of path position information at a position determined in accordance with a predetermined rule based on a position and a travel direction of the target. When the target moves a predetermined distance, a new piece of path position information is set.),
to determine whether or not the generated route is within a predetermined region defined by a current position of the moving body and the destination ([0111], Rule: Set a new piece of path position information (waypoint) on a circle with a radius Ra centered on the target and at an angular position of a specified angle (for example, 150 degrees counterclockwise) with respect to the travel direction of the target to be followed.),
to control the moving body so that the moving body moves along the generated rote to the destination ([0085], A robot 10 illustrated in. FIG. 1 is a mobile device according to the present disclosure. The robot 10 moves to follow a target (an object to be followed) 20. In the following embodiment, an autonomous travel robot will be described as an example of a mobile device that follows the target (the object to be followed) 20. However, examples of the mobile device according to the present disclosure include not only such an autonomous mobile robot but also various mobile devices such as a self-driving vehicle and a drone.),
and when it is determined that the route deviates from the predetermined region ([0109], In this way, when the target 20 moves the predetermined distance (L), a new piece of path position information (waypoint) is set.),
to turn the moving body on a spot by a predetermined angle so as to reduce an angular difference between a forward direction of the moving body and a direction toward the destination ([0205], In order to achieve efficient following processing for the target 20 to be followed, the robot 10 according to the present disclosure sets a “direction vector” connecting the current position and the past position of the target 20 as illustrated in FIG. 6, and sets, based on the set “direction vector”, a piece of path position information (waypoint) at a position of a predetermined angle; [0209], A “direction vector 202” connecting the current position (Ptx) and the past position (Pty) of the target 20 is set, and a piece of path position information (waypoint) is set at a position of a predetermined angle with respect to the set “direction vector 202” used as a reference.),
and to regenerate a route from the moving body that has turned on the spot to the destination (Fig. 2; Fig. 3; [0044], it includes a movement path creation unit that creates a path that is the following path on which the target is to be followed by the mobile device. The movement path creation unit sequentially sets a piece of path position information (waypoint) near the target, and sequentially connects set pieces of path position information to create the path. The movement path creation unit sets the piece of path position information at a position determined in accordance with a predetermined rule based on a position and a travel direction of the target. When the target moves a predetermined distance, a new piece of path position information is set.),
wherein the predetermined region is a region which represents a range within a predetermined distance from a reference line that connects the current position of the moving body and the destination (Fig. 1; [0109], In this way, when the target 20 moves the predetermined distance (L), a new piece of path position information (waypoint) is set; [0111], Rule: Set a new piece of path position information (waypoint) on a circle with a radius Ra centered on the target and at an angular position of a specified angle (for example, 150 degrees counterclockwise) with respect to the travel direction of the target to be followed.),
and is a determination region for determining whether or not the generated route is an inefficient route for reaching the destination from the current position of the moving body ([0281], By such processing being performed, it is possible to create an efficient following path even when an error in recognizing the target 20 occurs.).
However, Ishikawa does not specifically state:
A non-transient computer-readable storage medium for storing a program
Komuro teaches:
A non-transient computer-readable storage medium for storing a program ([0009], Still another aspect of the present disclosure provides a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to function as each unit of a mobile body control device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Komuro into the invention of Ishikawa to include a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to function as each unit of a mobile body control device as Komuro discloses with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to incorporate aspects of the cited prior art to create a more robust system that stores control instructions even in the absence of power. Additionally, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old, well-known elements of a following robot that maintains a radius distance away from a user as disclosed by Ishikawa and non-transitory computer-readable storage media as taught by Komuro. The combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Documents Considered but Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Motoyama et al. (US 20240393805 A1) discloses an information processing method executed by one processor or executed by a plurality of processors in cooperation, the method includes: an estimation step of estimating a relative position or a relative attitude of an aerial vehicle with respect to a moving body; an acquisition step of acquiring information related to a distance between the moving body and the aerial vehicle; and a switching step of switching an estimation method for estimating the relative position or the relative attitude of the aerial vehicle, based on the information related to the distance. Kuhara (US 20250271870 A1) discloses robot current location information, guidance destination location information, robot travelable area information, and person movable area information are obtained; a person route that is a route for a person from a current location to the location of a guidance destination is calculated, to satisfy a predetermined condition for lightening a burden on the person, based on the robot current location information, the guidance destination location information, and the person movable area information obtained; the person route calculated is compared with the robot travelable area information; and a display format of guidance to the guidance destination, the display format being displayed on a display of the robot, is changed in accordance with a comparison result obtained from the comparing. Oshima et al. (US 20230341862 A1) discloses an autonomous movement device includes a sensor to detect a surrounding object, driven wheels, and a processor. The processor acquires teaching control data, generates route data of a surrounding environment based on a point cloud detected by the sensor while controlling the driven wheels in accordance with the acquired teaching control data, and memorizes a movement path along which the autonomous movement device moves in the generated route data. Kishimoto et al. (US 20170349258 A1) discloses a moving body control device includes a moving body direction sensor, a position sensor, and processing circuitry. The processing circuitry estimates a direction of disturbance. The processing circuitry sets a target position and a starting position. The processing circuitry controls a propulsion generator and a movement direction adjuster such that a heading direction sensed by the moving body direction sensor is opposite to the direction of the disturbance estimated by the processing circuitry, and when the moving body has been drifted at least a specific distance from the target position, the moving body returns to the starting position, and the heading direction at the starting position is opposite to the direction of the disturbance. The processing circuitry changes the starting position based on a distance between the target position and a position of the moving body sensed by the position sensor. Okada (US 20170293795 A1) discloses a moving device for moving along a terminal device includes a first control unit and a second control unit. The first control unit is configured to move the moving device from a position far from the terminal device to a vicinity of the terminal device based on a current position of the terminal device. The second control unit is configured to recognize the terminal device or a user of the terminal device in the vicinity of the current position of the terminal device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.A.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666