CTNF 18/897,320 CTNF 79059 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong et al. (US10589238B2) in view of Biswas et al. (US20210365009A1) . As to claim 1, Chong et al. discloses in Figs. 1 and 2: a system for in-line monitoring of a quality characteristic of a slurry, comprising: a vessel having a vessel side wall defining a vessel interior (mixing tank 40 with side wall, as shown in Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the vessel is configured to receive the slurry and to contain the slurry within a defined volume that is within the vessel interior; one or more stirrers each having a respective elongate spindle and a respective one or more paddles attached to and extending radially outward from the respective spindle (mixing assembly 44 driven by shaft 90 with slinger 132 and impeller 134 acting as paddles, as shown in Fig. 2), wherein each spindle has a respective spindle axis and wherein the one or more stirrers are disposed with each spindle oriented in a respective generally vertical, generally horizontal or generally diagonal orientation with the respective one or more paddles disposed within the defined volume (shaft 90 and mixing assembly 44 inside mixing tank 40, as shown in Fig. 2), wherein each of the one or more stirrers is configured for rotation about its respective spindle axis such that rotation of the respective one or more paddles sweeps out and defines a respective individual paddle-swept volume, wherein a totality of the individual paddle-swept volumes defines a collective paddle-swept volume (slinger 132 and impeller 134 create a vortex that mixes the entire contents of mixing tank 40, as shown in Fig. 2); and a sensor disposed within the defined volume and outside the collective paddle-swept volume, wherein the sensor is configured for sensing the quality characteristic (sensors 68 of solids fraction monitoring system 66, as shown in Fig. 2). Chong et al. does not disclose a sensor disposed within the defined volume and outside the collective paddle-swept volume. Biswas et al. discloses a sensor disposed within the defined volume and outside the collective paddle-swept volume. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Chong et al. and position the sensor (sensors 68) inside mixing tank 40 but outside the collective paddle-swept volume at a low-flow peripheral location, as taught by Biswas et al., to obtain stable, representative in-line readings of slurry quality without high-shear interference while enabling real-time process control. As to claim 2, Chong et al. in view of Biswas et al. discloses the system of claim 1. Chong et al. does not disclose for each of the one or more stirrers, the respective one or more paddles are attached to the stirrer via a respective one or more arms. It would have been obvious to attach the paddles via arms in Chong et al. (standard mixer design), as this improves mixing control and is a well-known engineering practice. As to claim 4, Chong et al. in view of Biswas et al. discloses the system of claim 1. Chong et al. does not disclose the quality characteristic is at least one of resistivity and dielectric permittivity. Biswas et al. discloses monitoring resistivity and dielectric properties of battery electrode slurry. It would have been obvious to monitor resistivity and dielectric permittivity using the system of Chong et al., as taught by Biswas et al., because these are key quality characteristics for battery slurries containing ceramic particles. As to claim 9, Chong et al. in view of Biswas et al. discloses the system of claim 1. Chong et al. does not disclose the sensor is configured for at least one of continuous monitoring and intermittent monitoring. Biswas et al. teaches continuous real-time monitoring of slurry quality. It would have been obvious to configure the sensor for continuous or intermittent monitoring in Chong et al., as taught by Biswas et al., to enable real-time process control. As to claim 10, Chong et al. in view of Biswas et al. discloses the system of claim 1. Chong et al. does not disclose the slurry is a battery electrode slurry containing ceramic particles therein. Biswas et al. explicitly discloses battery electrode slurry containing ceramic particles. It would have been obvious to apply the system of Chong et al. to battery electrode slurry containing ceramic particles, as taught by Biswas et al., to achieve the same in-line monitoring benefits. As to claim 11, Chong et al. in view of Biswas et al. discloses the system of claim 1. Chong et al. does not disclose the sensor is positioned within the defined volume at a location having a lowest flow rate during rotation of the one or more stirrers. It would have been obvious to position the sensor at a lowest flow rate location in Chong et al., as this is a standard engineering practice to obtain stable measurements in stirred vessels . 07-15 AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Chong et al. (US10589238B2) . As to claim 14, Chong et al. discloses in Figs. 1, 2, and 3: a system for in-line monitoring of a quality characteristic of a slurry, comprising: a vessel having a vessel side wall defining a vessel interior and a conduit disposed outside the vessel side wall, wherein the conduit includes a conduit inlet in fluid communication with the vessel interior and a conduit outlet in fluid communication with the vessel interior, wherein the vessel is configured to receive the slurry and to contain the slurry within a defined volume that is within the vessel interior and the conduit (mixing tank 40 with side wall and recirculation system 74 having inlet 76 and recirculation passage 86 positioned outside the tank, as shown in Figs. 1 and 2); one or more stirrers disposed within the vessel interior and configured for stirring the slurry (mixing assembly 44 with slinger 132 and impeller 134 driven by shaft 90 inside mixing tank 40, as shown in Fig. 2); and a sensor having a sensing surface that is disposed within the conduit, wherein the sensor is configured for sensing the quality characteristic (sensors 68 of solids fraction monitoring system 66 located in the flow path of recirculation system 74, as shown in Fig. 2). Chong et al. therefore anticipates every limitation of claim 14 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong et al. (US10589238B2) in view of Biswas et al. (US20210365009A1) . As to claim 15, Chong et al. in view of Biswas et al. discloses the system of claim 14. Chong et al. does not disclose the sensor is configured for at least one of continuous monitoring and intermittent monitoring. Biswas et al. teaches continuous real-time monitoring of slurry quality. It would have been obvious to configure the sensor for continuous or intermittent monitoring in Chong et al., as taught by Biswas et al., to enable real-time process control . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong et al. (US10589238B2) As to claim 19, Chong et al. discloses the system of claim 14. Chong et al. does not disclose the conduit includes a conductive shielding on at least one of an inner conduit surface and an outer conduit surface of the conduit. It would have been obvious to add conductive shielding to the conduit of Chong et al., as this is a standard technique to reduce electromagnetic interference (common engineering practice) . 07-15 AIA Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Chong et al. (US10589238B2) . As to claim 20, Chong et al. discloses in Figs. 1, 2, and 3: A method for in-line monitoring of a quality characteristic of a slurry, comprising: providing a system which includes (i) a vessel having a vessel side wall defining a vessel interior and a conduit disposed outside the vessel side wall, wherein the conduit includes a conduit inlet in fluid communication with the vessel interior and a conduit outlet in fluid communication with the vessel interior (mixing tank 40 with side wall and recirculation passage 86 of recirculation system 74, as shown in Figs. 1 and 2); (ii) one or more stirrers disposed within the vessel interior and configured for stirring the slurry (mixing assembly 44 with slinger 132 and impeller 134 driven by shaft 90, as shown in Fig. 2); (iii) a sensor having a sensing surface that is disposed within the conduit (sensors 68 of solids fraction monitoring system 66, as shown in Fig. 2); adding the slurry into the vessel (powder cement blend and mixing liquid added into mixing tank 40, as shown in Fig. 1); stirring the slurry with the one or more stirrers (mixing assembly 44 with slinger 132 and impeller 134 rotated by shaft 90, as shown in Fig. 2); and sensing the slurry within the conduit with the sensor so as to determine the quality characteristic of the slurry (sensors 68 monitor the slurry flowing through recirculation passage 86, as shown in Fig. 2). Chong et al. therefore anticipates every limitation of claim 20 . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3, 5-8, 12-13, 16-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. As to claims 3, 5-8, 12-13, 16-18, the prior art in record alone or in combination does not disclose the limitations features as recited in claims above. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TUNG X NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1967. The examiner can normally be reached 10:30am-6:30pm M-F . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Judy Nguyen can be reached at 571-272-2258 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TUNG X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 5/30/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/897,320 Page 2 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/897,320 Page 3 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/897,320 Page 4 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/897,320 Page 5 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/897,320 Page 6 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/897,320 Page 7 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/897,320 Page 8 Art Unit: 2858