DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,129,880. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Please Note that Claim 1 is also a broad version of Claim 1 of 12,129,880 and could be rejected as being an obvious type double patenting rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, from Claim 19, the thicknesses of the at least one elongated member and its respective spoon being the same must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites “wherein thicknesses of at least one of the elongate members and its respective spoon are the same.” However, the figures (Figures 9 and 10) and the specification both show and discuss the thicknesses of the elongated members and the respective spoons and state that those thicknesses are different and not the same. Therefore, it appears that this claim is drafted in error with a typo and should rather state that the thicknesses are “not the same.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 13-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 9,255,594 to Cabrit et al. (Cabrit).
Regarding Claim 1: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt, comprising: a base (See Annotated Fig. A); a plurality of elongate members (See Annotated Fig. A) extending distally from the base, the elongate members distally terminating in respective spoons (See Annotated Fig. A), at least one of the elongate members being integrally formed (See generally Annotated Fig. A) together with its respective spoon as a single piece of material; and a central shaft member (See Annotated Fig. A) extending between the elongate members and terminating in a wedge member (See Annotated Fig. A), the spoons defining a cavity (See Annotated Fig. A) for receiving the wedge member, the elongate members structured to move outwardly in response to the wedge member moving into the cavity. (See Col. 7, lines 27-46)
Regarding Claim 2: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt of claim 1, wherein the wedge member has a frustoconical shape (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claims 3 and 16: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt wherein the central shaft member is rigid. (See Col. 3, line 53)
Regarding Claim 4: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt of claim 1, wherein the central shaft member (See Annotated Fig. A) including the wedge member (See Annotated Fig. A) are integrally formed together. (See generally Annotated Fig. A)
Regarding Claim 5: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt wherein thicknesses of at least one of the elongate members and its respective spoon are the same. (See generally Annotated Fig. A)
Regarding Claim 6: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt of claim 1, further comprising: a biasing member (3) structured to bias the plurality of elongate members relative to the central shaft member. Note that the biasing member (3) of Cabrit biases the elongate members via the wedge portion applying an expanding force to the spoons.
Regarding Claim 7: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt of claim 6, wherein the biasing member is a spring (3).
Regarding Claim 8: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt of claim 6, further comprising: a cap (See Annotated Fig. A) disposed around the central shaft member, wherein the expansion bolt is structured such that applying a first force in a first direction to the central shaft member and applying a second force in a second direction opposite the first direction to the cap causes the biasing member to compress. (See Col. 7, lines 27-46)
Regarding Claim 9: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt of claim 1, wherein an inner surfaces of at least one of the spoons has a radial curvature. (See generally Annotated Fig. A)
Regarding Claim 13: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt of claim 1, wherein the central shaft member includes a first cylindrical portion (See Annotated Fig. A) having a first diameter and a second cylindrical portion (See Annotated Fig. A) having a second diameter less than the first diameter.
Regarding Claim 14: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt, comprising: a base (See Annotated Fig. A); a plurality of elongate members (See Annotated Fig. A) extending distally from the base, the elongate members distally terminating in respective spoons (See Annotated Fig. A), wherein the elongate members and their respective spoons are rigid; a central shaft member (See Annotated Fig. A) extending between the elongate members and terminating in a wedge member (See Annotated Fig. A); and a biasing member (3), wherein the expansion bolt has a first configuration in which the spoons are proximal to a widest point of the wedge member causing the elongate members to move outwardly, and a second configuration in which the widest point of the wedge member extends beyond a distal end of the spoons, and wherein the biasing member is structured to bias the expansion bolt toward the first configuration. (See Col. 7, lines 27-46)
Regarding Claim 15: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt further comprising: a cap (See Annotated Fig. A) disposed around the central shaft member, wherein the expansion bolt is structured such that applying a first force in a first direction to the central shaft member and applying a second force in a second direction opposite the first direction to the cap causes the expansion bolt to move to the second configuration. (See Col. 7, lines 27-46)
Regarding Claim 17: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt wherein the plurality of elongate members includes a first elongate member (See Annotated Fig. A) distally terminating in a respective first spoon (See Annotated Fig. A), wherein the first elongate member and the respective first spoon are integrally formed together. (See generally Annotated Fig. A)
Regarding Claim 19: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt of claim 14, wherein thicknesses of at least one of the elongate members and its respective spoon are the same. (See generally Annotated Fig. A)
Regarding Claim 20: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt, comprising: a base (See Annotated Fig. A); a plurality of elongate members (See Annotated Fig. A) extending distally from the base, the elongate members distally terminating in respective spoons (See Annotated Fig. A); a rigid central shaft member (See Annotated Fig. A) extending between the elongate members and terminating in a wedge member (See Annotated Fig. A); and wherein the elongate members and spoons are structured to move relative to the central shaft member between a first configuration in which the wedge member causes the spoons to move outwardly, and a second configuration in which the wedge member does not cause the spoons to move outwardly, wherein a diameter measured radially from a longitudinal axis of the central shaft member to outer surfaces of the spoons is greater in the first configuration than in the second configuration. (See Col. 7, lines 27-46)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cabrit.
Regarding Claims 10 and 11: Cabrit discloses a first and second elongated member equally spaced around the central shaft member but does not disclose a third elongate member. Nonetheless, modifying Cabrit to include a third elongate member would be merely a duplication of parts and would have been obvious, here is why.
Courts have held that “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.”1 Here, Spielmann discloses a device wherein said cable ladder includes one cable (27) with a plurality of rungs (28) at even distances. Duplicating the essential working part of the elongate member such that three elongate members extend from the base would provide additional strength and stability of the expansion bolt without producing any new and unexpected results. As such, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective date of invention to duplicate the essential working cable to provide three elongate members equally spaced around the central shaft to provide additional strength and stability of the expansion bolt.
Claim(s) 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cabrit in view of US Patent App. No. 2019/0047828 to Connell et al. (Connell).
Regarding Claims 12 and 18: Cabrit discloses an expansion bolt comprising a ring element attached to the central shaft member (See Col. 7, lines 55-58). Cabrit does not disclose that the ring element is swivelly attached. However, Connell teaches an expansion bolt (500) further comprising: a ring element swivelly attached (See generally Figure 8 and para. 0082) to the central shaft member (720), to allow for swivelling the ring element about a longitudinal axis of the central shaft member. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Cabrit by using a swivelly attached ring element similar to that taught by Connell to enable a user to easily attach the anchor to a supporting cable or hook.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the references used in this rejection and those cited in the PTO-892, the following references are very relevant to the claimed invention: US 20090056267, 10478645, 3352193, 8894329.
ERET C. MCNICHOLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ERET C MCNICHOLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632
1 See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).