Detailed Office Action
Notice of Pre-AIA Status
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Warning
Applicant is advised that should claim 5 be found allowable, claim 10 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Objections
Claims 7 – 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 – 5 are directed to a “process” and use the preamble “the process of”, however, claims 7 – 10 (which depend on claim 4) then switch to “the method of”. Claims 7 – 10 should read as “the process of” for consistency and clarity purposes. The examiner notes that it appears these claims may have been intended to depend on claim 6 instead of claim 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. § 112
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, 4, and 6 – 7, “[7.0, 9.0]” is an indefinite range. It does not make clear whether 7.0 – 9.0 is the intended range or whether the pH is selected from 7.0 or 9.0. The latter interpretation is taken for purposes of examination. “[7.0, 8.0]” is indefinite for the same reasons. The examiner also notes that the use of brackets creates a lack of clarity as to whether these values are exemplary/optional or required.
Regarding claims 2 – 3 and 8 – 9, the limitations of the claims are indefinite because it is not clear whether they are intended to actually limit the method steps of the process claimed or whether they are describing intended use of the process. To clarify, stating that the surfaces “to be passivated” does not make clear whether this is actually required of the process or whether this merely an intended use of the process of claim 1. Moreover, stating that the passivation operation is part of a plan organized by a site or organized during a lifetime is not a positive recitation of the limiting the process claimed but instead reads as an intended use of the process of claim 1 (this also applies to claims 8 and 9). The claims of 3 – 4 and 8 – 9 are therefore indefinite and their limitations are interpreted as intended use and optional.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the phrase “CO2 injection allows to keep the pH” is indefinite. The phrasing is indefinite because it does not make clear whether the CO2 is actually keeping the pH in the range claimed or whether the injection is merely allowing the water to be capable of having a pH in the range. The limitation does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the claim scope sought and therefore is indefinite.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 depends on claim 4 and has nearly identical language. Claim 7 does not further limit the limitation of claim 4.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections – U.S.C. §103
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IIAR (“Understanding the Importance of Passivation”, NPL, 2013) in view of Evapco (“Passivation”, NPL, 2015), Goeldner (US 4,547,294), and Spence (“Pitting of Galvanized Steel in Controlled Clean Air Environments”, NPL, 1976).
Regarding claims 1 – 5 and 7, IIAR discusses that passivation on galvanized steel in evaporative condensers and cooling towers is imperative for corrosion control and resistance [Page 1]. Meeting the claimed limitation of passivating galvanized surfaces of open or closed water circuit equipment. This also meets the claimed limitations that the equipment/surface is an evaporative condenser or cooling tower (claims 2 – 3 and claim 5). IIAR further teaches that passivation must be conducted as part of the startup process on site (due to water differences) and that preventive maintenance, including repassivation, should be conducted [Page 2]. This meets/reasonably suggests the limitations of performing the passivation process as part of a startup plan by the operating site (claim 2) as well as the limitation of performing repassivation during the lifetime (claim 3).
IIAR does not expressly describe the passivation process.
Evapco teaches information related to the passivation of galvanized steel material [page 1]. Evapco teaches that the passivation process occurs as a wet process by maintaining the water properties to those shown in Table 1, including a pH in a range of 7 – 8.0, which falls within the claimed range. To this, Goelder teaches a process of treating water in a cooling tower system (and other heat transfer surfaces contacted by circulating water) [Abstract] in order to prevent scaling as well as corrosion by introducing carbon dioxide as a gas into the water to maintain a pH of about 7.5 [Col 3, line 54 – 55; and Col 4, line 59 – 65]. Meeting the claimed limitation of injecting gaseous CO2 into water in contact with the surface/equipment and maintaining a pH range of 7 – 9. Meeting the claimed limitation of maintaining the pH in a range of 7 – 8 of claim 4 and claim 7.
Moreover, Goeldner teaches this process has the benefit of maintaining the pH of water to minimize scaling and corrosion, ensuring that calcium carbonate is not precipitated [Col 3, line 20 – 39], and reducing/eliminating mineral acids usage (which drives secondary scale problems) [Col 2, line 30 – 40].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of IIAR, Evapco, and Goeldner to perform passivation of galvanized steel surfaces using the carbon dioxide gas injection into water process described by Goeldner. IIAR and Evapco teach that passivation of galvanized steel in evaporative condenser/cooling towers is performed under wet (i.e., water) conditions by maintaining a pH in a range of 7 – 8 and Goeldner provides a known process for maintaining the pH of water in a cooling tower system at 7.5 via carbon dioxide injection. Therefore, a person possessing ordinary skill and creativity would have considered the process of Goeldner to be relevant to the passivation requirements discussed by IIAR and Evapco.
Moreover, Spence (NPL) expressly discloses that it was known in the art before the effective filing date that a pH of 7 – 8 (in particular 7.5) is within the passivation range of a zinc-water-carbon dioxide system (see image below)[page 14, Spence] and Evapco expressly discloses that the pH for passivation must be 7 – 8. Therefore, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in applying the process of Goeldner as a passivation process for galvanized steel surfaces in evaporative condensers/cooling towers.
Additionally, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the process of Goeldner because the process provides additional benefits of preventing scale formation due to calcium carbonate and reducing/eliminating the need for mineral acid usage (which produces secondary scale).
Regarding claims 8 – 10, IIAR in view of Evapco, Goeldner, and Spence teaches the invention as applied in claim 4. IIAR discusses that passivation on galvanized steel in evaporative condensers and cooling towers is imperative for corrosion control and resistance [Page 1]. Meeting the claimed limitations that the equipment/surface is an evaporative condenser or cooling tower (claims 8 – 9 and claim 10). IIAR further teaches that passivation must be conducted as part of the startup process on site (due to water differences) and that preventive maintenance, including repassivation, should be conducted [Page 2]. This meets/reasonably suggests the limitations of performing the passivation process as part of a startup plan by the operating site (claim 8) as well as the limitation of performing repassivation during the lifetime (claim 9).
Regarding claim 6, IIAR discusses that passivation on galvanized steel in evaporative condensers and cooling towers is imperative for corrosion control and resistance [Page 1]. Meeting the claimed limitation of passivating galvanized surfaces of open or closed water circuit equipment. IIAR further teaches that passivation must be conducted as part of the startup process on site (due to water differences) and that preventive maintenance, including repassivation, should be conducted [Page 2].
IIAR does not expressly describe the passivation process.
Evapco teaches information related to the passivation of galvanized steel material [page 1]. Evapco teaches that passivation is performed by a wet process via maintaining the water properties to those shown in Table 1, including a pH in a range of 7 – 8.0, which falls within the claimed range. To this, Goelder teaches a process of treating water in a cooling tower system (and other heat transfer surfaces contacted by circulating water) [Abstract] in order to prevent scaling as well as corrosion by introducing carbon dioxide as a gas into the water to maintain the pH at about 7.5 [Col 3, line 54 – 55; and Col 4, line 59 – 65]. Moreover, Goeldner teaches this process has the benefit of maintaining the pH of water to minimize scaling and corrosion, ensuring that calcium carbonate is not precipitated [Col 3, line 20 – 39], and reducing/eliminating mineral acids usage (which drive secondary scale problems) [Col 2, line 30 – 40].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the teachings of IIAR, Evapco, and Goeldner to perform passivation of galvanized steel surfaces using the carbon dioxide gas injection into water process described by Goeldner. IIAR and Evapco teach that passivation of galvanized steel in evaporative condenser/cooling towers is performed under wet (i.e., water) conditions by maintaining the pH in a range of 7 – 8 and Goeldner provides a known process for maintaining the pH of water in a cooling tower system at 7.5 via carbon dioxide injection. Therefore, a person possessing ordinary skill and creativity would have considered the process of Goeldner to be relevant to the passivation requirements discussed by IIAR and Evapco.
Moreover, Spence (NPL) expressly discloses that it was known in the art before the effective filing date that a pH of 7 – 8 (in particular 7.5) is within the passivation range of a zinc-water-carbon dioxide system (see image above)[page 14, Spence] and Evapco expressly discloses that the pH for passivation must be 7 – 8. Therefore, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in applying the process of Goeldner as a passivation process for galvanized steel surfaces in evaporative condensers/cooling towers.
Additionally, an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to apply the process of Goeldner because the process provides additional benefits of preventing scale formation due to calcium carbonate and reducing/eliminating the need for mineral acid usage (which produces secondary scale).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 3,218,241 – Disclosure of maintaining water pH in a range of 7.5-8.0 by carbon dioxide injection in order to prevent scale and corrosion
EP0451434 – water treatment process for water system to prevent scale and corrosion
Conclusion
/AUSTIN POLLOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/SPE, Art Unit 1738