DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2026/0101354, Park hereafter, supported by pages 88-112 of the accompanying foreign priority translation).
RE claims 1 and 5, Park discloses a method and 8-transmit (8-TX) user equipment (UE) for full power transmissions, the 8-TX UE comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to the at least one processor and storing one or more computer-executable instructions (Figure 16) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the 8-TX UE to: transmit, to a base station (BS), an information element (IE) for reporting capability information (Paragraph 124); receive, from the BS, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration for configuring the 8-TX UE with a codebook-based (CB) PUSCH transmission, a full power mode 1, and one of a partial coherent codebook subset with two antenna groups, a partial coherent codebook subset with four antenna groups, and a non-coherent codebook subset (Paragraph 124); receive, from the BS, downlink control information (DCI) comprising a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) and an additional transmit precoder matrix indication (TPMI) for indicating an 8-port SRS resource, the additional TPMI corresponding to a precoding matrix with at least one non-zero element in each row (Paragraphs 63 and 124, and Table7); and perform, based on the PUSCH configuration and the DCI, the CB PUSCH transmission using the full power mode 1, wherein the IE comprises a first field indicating that the 8-TX UE supports the full power mode 1 and one of the following fields: a second field indicating that the 8-TX UE supports the partial coherent codebook subset with two antenna groups, a third field indicating that the 8-TX UE supports the partial coherent codebook subset with four antenna groups, and a fourth field indicating that the 8-TX UE supports the non-coherent codebook subset (Paragraph 124).
RE claims 3 and 7, Park discloses the method of claim 1 and 8-TX UE of claim 5 as set forth above. Note that Park further discloses receiving, from the BS, a first radio resource control (RRC) message indicating to the 8-TX UE to report the capability information, wherein transmitting, to the BS, the IE comprises transmitting the IE to the BS through a second RRC message wherein the PUSCH configuration is applied to a particular bandwidth part (BWP) (Paragraph 124).
RE claims 4 and 8, Park discloses the method of claim 1 and 8-TX UE of claim 5 as set forth above. Note that Park further discloses wherein the DCI comprises a DCI format 0_1 (Table 4).
RE claim 9, Park discloses a base station (BS) for managing full power transmissions, the BS comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to the at least one processor and storing one or more computer-executable instructions (Figure 15) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the BS to: receive, from an 8-transmit (8-TX) user equipment (UE), an information element (IE) for reporting capability information(Paragraph 124); transmit, to the 8-TX UE, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration for configuring the 8-TX UE with a codebook-based (CB) PUSCH reception, a full power mode 1, and one of a partial coherent codebook subset with two antenna groups, a partial coherent codebook subset with four antenna groups, and a non-coherent codebook subset (Paragraph 124); transmit, to the 8-TX UE, downlink control information (DCI) comprising a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI) and an additional transmit precoder matrix indication (TPMI) for indicating an 8-port SRS resource, the additional TPMI corresponding to a precoding matrix with at least one non-zero element in each row (Paragraphs 63 and 124, and Table7); and performing, based on the PUSCH configuration and the DCI, the CB PUSCH reception using the full power mode 1, wherein the IE comprises a first field indicating that the 8-TX UE supports the full power mode 1 and one of the following fields: a second field indicating that the 8-TX UE supports the partial coherent codebook subset with two antenna groups, a third field indicating that the 8-TX UE supports the partial coherent codebook subset with four antenna groups, and a fourth field indicating that the 8-TX UE supports the non-coherent codebook subset (Paragraph 124).
RE claim 11, Park discloses the BS of claim 9 as set forth above. Note that Park further discloses wherein the PUSCH configuration is applied to a particular bandwidth part (BWP) (Paragraph 124).
RE claim 12, Park discloses the BS of claim 9 as set forth above. Note that Park further discloses wherein the DCI comprises a DCI format 0_1 (Table 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Kim (US 2024/0306037).
RE claims 2, 6 and 10, Park discloses the method of claim 1, the 8-TX UE of claim 5 and BS of claim 9 as set forth above. Park does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the BS, a first radio resource control (RRC) message indicating to the 8-TX UE to report the capability information, wherein transmitting, to the BS, the IE comprises transmitting the IE to the BS through a second RRC message.
However, Kim teaches receiving, from the BS, a first radio resource control (RRC) message indicating to the 8-TX UE to report the capability information, wherein transmitting, to the BS, the IE comprises transmitting the IE to the BS through a second RRC message (Paragraph 55 teaches: “The base station may request the capability of the terminal through an RRC message (UECapabilityEnquiry), and the terminal may indicate a terminal capability (i.e., a function supported by the terminal) supported by the terminal in an RRC message (UECapabilitylnformation) in response to the request, and report same to the base station.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method, UE and BS of Park with the teachings of Kim since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Conclusion
/James P Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461