DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “ exceeds a predetermined.” which is rendered indefinite. The claims end with a transitive verb without a connecting noun. Based on the specification, the Examiner will assume the missing noun is “value”. Therefore, correction is required.
Claims 9 recites the limitation “the second predetermined value” in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 15 recites the limitation “the map”, “the icon”, “the first predetermined value” in all lines of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 16 recites the limitation " the first predetermined value” and “the second predetermined value” " in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All other dependent claims are rejected on the dependency basis of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayward (US 9836962 B1) in view of Vasquez (US 8493198 B1).
Claim 2. Hayward teaches a driving support system, comprising:
a first monitoring device on a first object
(Fig 2 Col 13 lines 15-20 e.g. vehicles 202.1 and 202.2...mobile computing devices 204; Col 2 lines 60-67 e.g. the smart vehicle controller (e.g. smart controller or computing device are the monitoring devices))
, the first monitoring device having a first controller and a first camera
(Col 2 lines 15-25 e.g. To generate one or more sensor metrics, sensor array 326 may include, for example, one or more cameras,
Col 11 lines 50-67 e.g. generate, and/or collect one or more sensor metrics as part of the telematics data.
Col 18 lines 25-67 e.g. Fig 3, controller 340, sensor array 326);
a second monitoring device on a second object
(Fig 2 Col 13 lines 15-20 e.g. vehicles 202.1 and 202.2...mobile computing devices 204; Col 2 lines 60-67 e.g. the smart vehicle controller (e.g. smart controller or computing device are the monitoring devices))
, the second monitoring device having a second controller and an alert unit
(Col 2 lines 15-25; Col 18 lines 25-67 e.g. computing device 300 with controller 340; Fig 9, Col 56/57 lines 60-67/1-5 e.g. if the telematics data indicates a road hazard at a certain location and/or in a certain road lane, then smart vehicle controller 940 may issue one or more commands to driving control system 950 to steer the vehicle into a clear lane, thus avoiding the road hazard.
Col 57 lines 15-30 For example, the driving control system 950 may include various feedback components to provide visual and/or auditory feedback regarding the operation of the vehicle and/or information regarding anomalous conditions, alerts, warnings, recommendations, etc., which may be based upon an analysis of telematics data.);
and a server in communication with the first and second monitoring devices
(Col 4 lines 10-20 the telematics data may be (3) transmitted from the originating mobile device directly to a remote server (such as an insurance provider remote server), and then relayed or transmitted from the remote server to the destination mobile device or smart vehicle controller via wireless communication and/or data transmission;),
wherein the first controller is configured to: detect a first target object in a first image acquired from the first camera
(Col 35 lines 50-67 e.g. telematics data associated with a first vehicle 602, (2) analyzing or reviewing, at or via the mobile device and/or smart vehicle controller, the telematics data associated with the first vehicle to determine that a travel event associated with the first vehicle exists (that is revealed by the telematics data) 604
Col 59 lines 30-45 e.g. (277) Additionally or alternatively,...For example, image and/or video data included in the telematics data may be analyzed via one or more object recognition and/or image recognition techniques to determine whether an object matches a hazardous profile (e.g., deer or other animals, lanes being blocked, etc.). If so, aspects include an anomalous condition being identified at that location.);
generate first target information based on the first target object
Col 59 lines 30-45 e.g. (277) Additionally or alternatively,...For example, image and/or video data included in the telematics data may be analyzed via one or more object recognition and/or image recognition techniques to determine whether an object matches a hazardous profile (e.g., deer or other animals, lanes being blocked, etc.). If so, aspects include an anomalous condition being identified at that location.)
and transmit the first target information to the server
(Col 61 lines 50-60 Additionally or alternatively, the telematics data may be transmitted from the originating mobile computing device directly to a remote server, t).
Hayward further teaches the process of sending target information to a second controller where the second controller can determine a danger level of a target based on the target information
(Col 61 lines 50-60 e.g. the remote server relaying the telematics data to the destination mobile computing device or the smart vehicle controller, Fig. 10);
And the second controller configured to control the alert unit to issue a warning by a sound if the danger level exceeds a predetermined
(Col 31/32 lines 60-67/1-10
(149) Alert location 454 is a block diagram representation of one or more descriptions of the location of the anomalous condition...the threshold distances and/or geofences used to determine the relevance of the anomalous condition, etc.
Col 37 lines 1-10 providing an audio or audible alert, at or via the mobile device (and/or smart vehicle controller). The alert may be presented or provided only after the mobile device (or smart vehicle controller) determines that the abnormal travel condition (or traffic event) is relevant to the vehicle, such as by determining that a location of the abnormal travel condition)
But does not specifically disclose
wherein the server is configured to:
generate list information including the first target information from the first
monitoring device ; and transmit the list information to the second monitoring device when the
second object is within a first monitoring area;
wherein the second controller is configured to:
determine a danger level of a target based on the list information.
However, Vasquez teaches wherein the server is configured to:
generate list information including the first target information from the first
monitoring device ; and transmit the list information to the second monitoring device when the
second object is within a first monitoring area
(Col 7 lines 1-10 The recognition module 70 can transmit a recognition request signal to the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34. The recognition request signal can include the raw images 67, the resultant images 69, the audio and/or video clips 71, as well as the list of objects and/or the predetermined criteria. Results of the image, audio and/or video recognition performed by the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34 can be transmitted from the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34 to the mobile device 16 and used by the modules (e.g., the modules 70-76) of the mobile control module 19.);
wherein the second controller is configured to:
determine a danger level of a target based on the list information;
Col 7 lines 55-67 (28) The object indicator module 72 identifies objects that the vehicle 12 is approaching which satisfy the predetermined criteria 78 based on results from the recognition module 70. The results can include results received from the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34 based on the recognition request signals transmitted to the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34.
Col 8 lines 5-25,55-65 The warning module 74 generates alert messages to signal a vehicle operator of upcoming objects and/or traffic indicators that satisfy the predetermined criteria 78... The alert messages can also include text messages and/or audio alerts provided via the display 102 and/or audio network 104.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the server and the second monitoring device as taught by Vasquez within the system of Hayward for the purpose of enhancing the system to provide detailed information of a situational hazard where the second controller can interpret the hazard.
Claim 3. Hayward and Vasquez teach the driving support system according to claim 2, wherein the second monitoring device has a second camera, and
the second controller is configured to:
detect a second target object in a second image acquired from the second
camera
(Hayward Col 30 lines 15-20 These anomalous objects may also be identified as a traffic event, as previously discussed. This analysis may be performed in accordance with any suitable object recognition and/or image analysis to detect images in the path of the vehicle, such as animals, pedestrians, other vehicles, potholes, etc.);
generate second target information based on the second target object
((Col 61 lines 50-60 Additionally or alternatively, the telematics data may be transmitted from the originating mobile computing device directly to a remote server, ));
and transmit the second target information to the server
(Hayward (Col 13 lines e.g. Each of vehicles 202.1 and 202.2 may have an associated on-board computer, which is not shown in FIG. 2 for purposes of brevity, but may be an implementation of on-board computer 114, as shown in FIG. 1. Each of vehicles 202.1 and 202.2 may be configured for wireless inter-vehicle communication, such as vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) wireless communication and/or data transmission.
Col 17 lines 55-67 e.g. computing device 300 may be implemented as an on-board vehicle computer (e.g., on-board vehicle computer 114, as shown in FIG. 1).
(e.g. Each vehicle has cameras and are sharing target information with each other through the server)).
Claim 4. Hayward and Vasquez teach the driving support system according to claim 2, wherein the second object is a vehicle
(Hayward Fig 2 Col 13 lines 15-20 e.g. vehicles 202.1 and 202.2...).
Claim 5. Hayward and Vasquez teach the driving support system according to claim 4, wherein the first object is an electronic apparatus that is installed adjacent to a road to monitor objects on the road and can communicate with the server
(Hayward Col 13 lines 30-45 each of mobile computing devices 204.1 and 204.2 may be configured to communicate indirectly with one another and/or any suitable device via communications over network 201, such as external computing device 206 and/or infrastructure component 208,
Col 16 lines 50-60 infrastructure component 208 may be implemented as a traffic light, a railroad crossing light, a construction notification sign, a roadside display configured to display messages, a billboard display, etc.).
Claim 6. Hayward and Vasquez teach the driving support system according to claim 4, wherein the first object is a cellphone or a wearable device
(Hayward Col 22 50-55 to determine whether the phone is in use or stationary within a vehicle.
Col 31 lines 10-25 alert notification 402 being displayed as part of a notification system separate from home screen 400. For example, some mobile phone operating systems (e.g., the Android OS) implement a universal “pull-down” notification system where all incoming notifications are displayed.).
Claim 7. Hayward and Vasquez teach the driving support system according to claim 4, wherein the first object is another vehicle
(Hayward Fig 2 Col 13 lines 15-20 e.g. vehicles 202.1 and 202.2...).
Claim 8. Hayward and Vasquez teach the driving support system according to claim 2, wherein the alert unit is configured to issue a warning sound to prompt a driver to decelerate the second object if the danger level exceeds the second predetermined value
(Col 8 lines 55-60 “traffic is stopped 1.5 miles ahead;” “traffic has slowed to 20 mph 1.5 miles (or 2 blocks) ahead;” “recommended speed for turn ahead is 30 mph;”
Col 27 lines 1-5 a comparison between the speed of computing device 300 and the posted or other speed limit data (such as a comparison between mobile device or vehicle speed with a map of, and/or known, posted speed limit information) may indicate an anomalous condition.
Vasquez Col 16 lines 5-10 (72) The collision warning and countermeasure network 128 can also perform countermeasures based on behavior of the vehicle operator. The vehicle operator can, for example, attempt to accelerate or decelerate the vehicle based on the object information provided.).
Claim 10. Hayward and Vasquez teach the driving support system according to claim 2, wherein when the second object moves from the first monitoring area to a second monitoring area, the second controller generates a map according to list information regarding the second monitoring area received from the server, and the first monitoring area has an overlapping portion with the second monitoring
area
(Hayward Col 34 lines 10-20,25-35 Additionally or alternatively, the method may include calculating, by one or more processors, a geofenced area around the first vehicle, and the threshold distance condition may be satisfied when the second vehicle is located within the geofenced area and/or when the second vehicle is within a threshold distance of the first vehicle.
The method may include displaying the alternate route to a driver of the vehicle, such as on a navigation unit of the vehicle and/or navigation or map-based application of a mobile device associated with the driver.).
Claim 11. Hayward and Vasquez teach the driving support system according to claim 2, wherein the second controller generates a map of an area in the first monitoring area that includes targets detected according to the list information
(Hayward Col 34 lines 10-20,25-35 The method may include displaying the alternate route to a driver of the vehicle, such as on a navigation unit of the vehicle and/or navigation or map-based application of a mobile device associated with the driver.
Vasquez Col 7 lines 45-50 e.g. (27) The recognition module 70 can identify detected objects and store information describing the detected objects in the memory 58 as detected object information 100. This can include the raw and resultant images 67, 69 and/or the audio and video clips 71. The detected object information 100 can also include object sizes, shapes, colors, type, geographical location, map location, and/or elevation, and/or audio and/or video patterns and/or signatures.).
Claim 12. Hayward and Vasquez teach the driving support system according to claim 2, wherein the list information includes weather information
(hayward Col 8 lines 1-5 If a traffic event is encountered, about to be encountered, and/or expected or anticipated to be encountered by the vehicle as it travels (e.g., road construction; heavy traffic; congestion; bad weather conditions;).
Claim 13. Hayward and Vasquez teach the driving support system according to claim 2, wherein the list information includes traffic information
(hayward Col 8 lines 1-5 If a traffic event is encountered, about to be encountered, and/or expected or anticipated to be encountered by the vehicle as it travels (e.g., road construction; heavy traffic; congestion; bad weather conditions;).
Claim 14. Hayward and Vasquez teach the driving support system according to claim 2, wherein the danger level is calculated in accordance with a relative distance or a relative speed of the second
object with respect to the first target object
(Hayward Col 17 lines 15-25 In some aspects, smart infrastructure component 208 may be configured to receive geographic location data and/or telematics data from one or more other devices and to process this data to determine whether an anomalous condition has been detected and whether the detected anomalous condition satisfies a threshold distance condition with respect to smart infrastructure component 208. The threshold distance condition may include, for example, the geographic location of the anomalous condition being within a threshold radius of smart infrastructure component 208, on the same road serviced by smart infrastructure component 208, etc.).
Claim(s) 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayward, Vasquez and further in view of Irrgang (US 20120262284 A1).
Claim 9. Hayward and Vasquez teach the driving support system according to claim 2, and disclose the use of the alert unit to trigger an alarm based on certain imminent events based on a threshold (Hayward Col 28 lines 50-67 e.g. collision… between a first and second vehicle to be less than a threshold distance …alert notification) but do not specifically disclose wherein the alert unit is configured to output light or vibration or both if the danger level exceeds the second predetermined value
However, Irrgang teaches wherein the alert unit is configured to output light or vibration or both if the danger level exceeds the second predetermined value
([0024] Such automatic intervention in the driving maneuver control is preferably triggered when a collision probability exceeds a second threshold higher than the first warning threshold and/or when a collision is deemed highly probable and very soon to occur, i.e. with a very short "time-to-crossing" until the predicted occurrence of the collision. In a further embodiment of the invention, the optical, haptic or acoustic warning signal is combined with the automatic driving maneuver control.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the second predetermined value as taught by Irrgang within the system of Hayward for the purpose of preventing an imminent collision upon determining absolute certainty of collision.
Claim 16. Hayward and Vasquez teach the driving support system according to claim 2, and discloses the process of generating alerts related to objects on the road but do not specifically disclose wherein the second predetermined value is greater than the first predetermined value.
However, Irrgang teaches wherein the second predetermined value is greater than the first predetermined value
([0024] Such automatic intervention in the driving maneuver control is preferably triggered when a collision probability exceeds a second threshold higher than the first warning threshold and/or when a collision is deemed highly probable and very soon to occur, i.e. with a very short "time-to-crossing" until the predicted occurrence of the collision. In a further embodiment of the invention, the optical, haptic or acoustic warning signal is combined with the automatic driving maneuver control.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the second predetermined value as taught by Irrgang within the system of Hayward for the purpose of preventing an imminent collision upon determining absolute certainty of a collision event.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayward and Vasquez and further in view of Yamasaki (US 20170292845 A1).
Claim 15. Hayward and Vasquez teach the driving support system according to claim 2, and disclose the process of displaying a map but do not specifically disclose wherein the second controller is configured to: display the map and the icon on the display in a first display manner if the danger
level exceeds the first predetermined value; and display the map and the icon on the display in a second display manner if the danger level is below the first predetermined value, the second display manner comprising emphasis of the icon in comparison to the icon displayed in the first display manner.
However, Yamasaki teaches a controller configured to display the map and the icon on the display in a first display manner if the danger level exceeds the first predetermined value; and display the map and the icon on the display in a second display manner if the danger level is below the first predetermined value, the second display manner comprising emphasis of the icon in comparison to the icon displayed in the first display manner.
([0033] In another example, where it is determined that a confidence level of at least one of the vehicular traffic information and the incident location exceeds a threshold value, the methods may include obtaining GPS coordinates of the incident location, and providing a suitable update, alert, and/or instructions to the navigation guidance system for displaying a second icon, or the like, on a map at the GPS coordinates, wherein it is understood that the second icon represents a location of a verified event. In situations where a non-verified event is later verified, the methods may include changing the first icon to the second icon. (e.g. the emphasis is verification icon)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the map and the icon as taught by Yamasaki within the system of Hayward for the purpose of signaling a verifiable event to a driver at a specific location.
Claim(s) 17-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and further in view of Irrgang.
Claim 17. Hayward teaches a driving support monitoring device on a vehicle, comprising:
a controller configured to communicate with a server
(Fig. 3 display 318 and Fig. 7 smart vehicle controller 940;
Col 4 lines 10-20 the telematics data may be (3) transmitted from the originating mobile device directly to a remote server (such as an insurance provider remote server), and then relayed or transmitted from the remote server to the destination mobile device or smart vehicle controller via wireless communication and/or data transmission;);
a display
(fig. 3 display 316; fig. 3 display 316; Col 8 lines 5-25,55-65 The warning module 74 generates alert messages...The alert messages can also include text messages and/or audio alerts provided via the display 102 and/or audio network 104.)
; and
an alert unit
(Col 31/32 lines 60-67/1-10 Alert location 454 )
, wherein the controller is configured to:
the first target information being based on a first target object detected from a first image
acquired from a first camera of the external monitoring device
(Col 2 lines 15-25 e.g. To generate one or more sensor metrics, sensor array 326 may include, for example, one or more cameras,
Col 11 lines 50-67 e.g. generate, and/or collect one or more sensor metrics as part of the telematics data.
Col 18 lines 25-67 e.g. Fig 3, controller 340, sensor array 326);
Hayward further teaches the process of sending target information to a second controller where the second controller can determine a danger level of a target based on the target information
(Col 61 lines 50-60 ) and the second controller configured to control the alert unit to issue a warning by a sound if the danger level exceeds a predetermined value (Col 31/32 lines 60-67/1-10)
But does not specifically disclose
receive from the server list information generated by the server, the list
information including first target information generated by an external monitoring device,
and generate a danger level according to the list information.
However, Vasquez teaches wherein the second controller is configured to
receive from the server list information generated by the server, the list
information including first target information generated by an external monitoring device
(Col 7 lines 1-10 The recognition module 70 can transmit a recognition request signal to the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34. The recognition request signal can include the raw images 67, the resultant images 69, the audio and/or video clips 71, as well as the list of objects and/or the predetermined criteria. Results of the image, audio and/or video recognition performed by the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34 can be transmitted from the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34 to the mobile device 16 and used by the modules (e.g., the modules 70-76) of the mobile control module 19.),
and generate a danger level according to the list information
Col 7 lines 55-67 (28) The object indicator module 72 identifies objects that the vehicle 12 is approaching which satisfy the predetermined criteria 78 based on results from the recognition module 70. The results can include results received from the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34 based on the recognition request signals transmitted to the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34.
Col 8 lines 5-25,55-65 The warning module 74 generates alert messages to signal a vehicle operator of upcoming objects and/or traffic indicators that satisfy the predetermined criteria 78... The alert messages can also include text messages and/or audio alerts provided via the display 102 and/or audio network 104.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the server and the second monitoring device as taught by Vasquez within the system of Hayward for the purpose of enhancing the system to provide detailed information of a situational hazard where the second controller can interpret the hazard.
Hayward and Vasquez teach the generation of a map for indicating target information but do not specifically disclose generate a map and an icon of a target according to the list information;
display the map and the icon on the display if the danger level exceeds a
first predetermined value;
However, Yamasaki teaches the process of generating a map and an icon of a target according to the list information
([0018][0020][0024] method box 112, if no predetermined key term(s) is detected,... the incident location preferably includes GPS coordinates, an address, specific intersection(s), (e.g. list information)
[0032] and providing an update, alert, and/or suitable instructions to the navigation guidance system for displaying a first icon, or the like, on a map at the GPS coordinates, wherein it is understood that the first icon represents a location of a non-verified event.);
display the map and the icon on the display if the danger level exceeds a first predetermined value
([0033] at least one of the vehicular traffic information and the incident location exceeds a threshold value,... for displaying a second icon, or the like, on a map at the GPS coordinates, wherein it is understood that the second icon represents a location of a verified event.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the map and the icon as taught by Yamasaki within the system of Hayward for the purpose of signaling a significant event to a driver at a specific location in order to inform the driver of an imminent event.
Hayward and Vasquez further disclose the use of the alert unit to trigger an alarm based on certain imminent events based on a threshold (Hayward Col 28 lines 50-67 e.g. collision… between a first and second vehicle to be less than a threshold distance …alert notification)
but do not specifically disclose control the alert unit to issue a warning by a sound if the danger level exceeds a second predetermined value different from the first predetermined value.
However, Irrgang teaches the process of controlling the alert unit to issue a warning by a sound if the danger level exceeds a second predetermined value different from the first predetermined value
([0024]Such automatic intervention in the driving maneuver control is preferably triggered when a collision probability exceeds a second threshold higher than the first warning threshold and/or when a collision is deemed highly probable and very soon to occur, i.e. with a very short "time-to-crossing" until the predicted occurrence of the collision. In a further embodiment of the invention, the optical, haptic or acoustic warning signal is combined with the automatic driving maneuver control.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the second predetermined value as taught by Irrgang within the system of Hayward for the purpose of preventing an imminent collision upon determining absolute certainty of a collision event.
Claim 18. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 17, further comprising:
a second camera configured to capture a second image of a periphery of the vehicle
(Hayward Col 21 lines 30-45 In an aspect, sensor array 326 may include one or more cameras or other image capture devices... images may be captured from this vantage point.),
wherein the controller is configured to:
detect a second target object in the second image acquired from the
camera
(Hayward Col 21 lines 30-45 capturing images and/or video data of various objects outside of the vehicle from this vantage point. );
generate second target information based on the second target object
(Col 59 lines 35-45 For example, image and/or video data included in the telematics data may be analyzed via one or more object recognition and/or image recognition techniques to determine whether an object matches a hazardous profile (e.g., deer or other animals, lanes being blocked, etc.). If so, aspects include an anomalous condition being identified at that location.)
; and transmit the second target information to the server
(Col 61 lines 50-60 Additionally or alternatively, the telematics data may be transmitted from the originating mobile computing device directly to a remote server,...).
Claim 19. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 17, wherein the external monitoring device is an electronic apparatus that is installed adjacent to a road to monitor objects on the road and can communicate with the server
(Hayward Col 13 lines 30-45 each of mobile computing devices 204.1 and 204.2 may be configured to communicate indirectly with one another and/or any suitable device via communications over network 201, such as external computing device 206 and/or infrastructure component 208,
Col 16 lines 50-60 infrastructure component 208 may be implemented as a traffic light, a railroad crossing light, a construction notification sign, a roadside display configured to display messages, a billboard display, etc.).
Claim 20. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 17, wherein the external monitoring device is a cellphone or a wearable device
(Hayward Col 22 50-55 to determine whether the phone is in use or stationary within a vehicle.
Col 31 lines 10-25 alert notification 402 being displayed as part of a notification system separate from home screen 400. For example, some mobile phone operating systems (e.g., the Android OS) implement a universal “pull-down” notification system where all incoming notifications are displayed.).
Claim 21. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 17, wherein the external monitoring device is another vehicle
(Hayward Fig 2 Col 13 lines 15-20 e.g. vehicles 202.1 and 202.2...).
Claim 22. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 17, wherein the alert unit is configured to issue a warning sound to prompt a driver to decelerate the second object if the danger level exceeds the second predetermined value
(Col 8 lines 55-60 “traffic is stopped 1.5 miles ahead;” “traffic has slowed to 20 mph 1.5 miles (or 2 blocks) ahead;” “recommended speed for turn ahead is 30 mph;”
Col 27 lines 1-5 a comparison between the speed of computing device 300 and the posted or other speed limit data (such as a comparison between mobile device or vehicle speed with a map of, and/or known, posted speed limit information) may indicate an anomalous condition.
Vasquez Col 16 lines 5-10 (72) The collision warning and countermeasure network 128 can also perform countermeasures based on behavior of the vehicle operator. The vehicle operator can, for example, attempt to accelerate or decelerate the vehicle based on the object information provided.)..
Claim 23. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 17, wherein the alert unit is configured to output light or vibration or both if the danger level exceeds the second predetermined value
(Irrgang ([0024] Such automatic intervention in the driving maneuver control is preferably triggered when a collision probability exceeds a second threshold higher than the first warning threshold and/or when a collision is deemed highly probable and very soon to occur, i.e. with a very short "time-to-crossing" until the predicted occurrence of the collision. In a further embodiment of the invention, the optical, haptic or acoustic warning signal is combined with the automatic driving maneuver control.).).
Claim 24. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 17, wherein the danger level is calculated in accordance with a relative distance or a relative speed of the vehicle with respect to the first target object
(Hayward Col 17 lines 15-25 In some aspects, smart infrastructure component 208 may be configured to receive geographic location data and/or telematics data from one or more other devices and to process this data to determine whether an anomalous condition has been detected and whether the detected anomalous condition satisfies a threshold distance condition with respect to smart infrastructure component 208. The threshold distance condition may include, for example, the geographic location of the anomalous condition being within a threshold radius of smart infrastructure component 208, on the same road serviced by smart infrastructure component 208, etc.).
Claim 25. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 17, wherein the controller is configured to:
display the map and the icon on the display in a first display manner if the danger
level exceeds the first predetermined value; and display the map and the icon on the display in a second display manner if the danger level is below the first predetermined value, the second display manner comprising emphasis of the icon in comparison to the icon displayed in the first display manner
(Yamasaki ([0033] In another example, where it is determined that a confidence level of at least one of the vehicular traffic information and the incident location exceeds a threshold value, the methods may include obtaining GPS coordinates of the incident location, and providing a suitable update, alert, and/or instructions to the navigation guidance system for displaying a second icon, or the like, on a map at the GPS coordinates, wherein it is understood that the second icon represents a location of a verified event. In situations where a non-verified event is later verified, the methods may include changing the first icon to the second icon. (e.g. the emphasis is verification icon)).).
Claim 26. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 17, wherein the second predetermined value is greater than the first predetermined value
(Irrgang [0024] Such automatic intervention in the driving maneuver control is preferably triggered when a collision probability exceeds a second threshold higher than the first warning threshold and/or when a collision is deemed highly probable and very soon to occur, i.e. with a very short "time-to-crossing" until the predicted occurrence of the collision. In a further embodiment of the invention, the optical, haptic or acoustic warning signal is combined with the automatic driving maneuver control.)
Claim 27. Hayward teaches a driving support system, comprising:
a first monitoring device on a first object, the first monitoring device having a first
controller and a first camera
(Fig 2 Col 13 lines 15-20 e.g. vehicles 202.1 and 202.2...mobile computing devices 204; Col 2 lines 60-67 e.g. the smart vehicle controller (e.g. smart controller or computing device are the monitoring devices)
Col 2 lines 15-25 e.g. To generate one or more sensor metrics, sensor array 326 may include, for example, one or more cameras,)
and a second monitoring device on a second object, the second monitoring device having a second controller configured to establish communication with the first monitoring device,
(Fig 2 Col 13 lines 15-20 e.g. vehicles 202.1 and 202.2...mobile computing devices 204; Col 2 lines 60-67 e.g. the smart vehicle controller (e.g. smart controller or computing device are the monitoring devices)
(Col 61 lines 50-60 e.g. the telematics data may be transmitted from the originating mobile computing device directly to a remote server, the remote server relaying the telematics data to the destination mobile computing device or the smart vehicle controller, Fig. 10)),
a display
(fig. 3 display 316; Col 8 lines 5-25,55-65 The warning module 74 generates alert messages...The alert messages can also include text messages and/or audio alerts provided via the display 102 and/or audio network 104.),
and an alert unit
(Col 8 lines 5-25,55-65 The warning module 74 generates alert messages
Col 57 lines 15-30 For example, the driving control system 950 may include various feedback components to provide visual and/or auditory feedback regarding the operation of the vehicle and/or information regarding anomalous conditions, alerts, warnings, recommendations, etc., which may be based upon an analysis of telematics data.),
wherein the first controller is configured to:
detect a first target object in a first image acquired from the first camera
(Col 35 lines 50-67 e.g. telematics data associated with a first vehicle 602, (2) analyzing or reviewing, at or via the mobile device and/or smart vehicle controller, the telematics data associated with the first vehicle to determine that a travel event associated with the first vehicle exists (that is revealed by the telematics data) 604
Col 59 lines 30-45 e.g. (277) Additionally or alternatively,...For example, image and/or video data included in the telematics data may be analyzed via one or more object recognition and/or image recognition techniques to determine whether an object matches a hazardous profile (e.g., deer or other animals, lanes being blocked, etc.). If so, aspects include an anomalous condition being identified at that location.);
generate first target information based on the first target object
(Col 59 lines 30-45 e.g. (277) Additionally or alternatively,...For example, image and/or video data included in the telematics data may be analyzed via one or more object recognition and/or image recognition techniques to determine whether an object matches a hazardous profile (e.g., deer or other animals, lanes being blocked, etc.). If so, aspects include an anomalous condition being identified at that location.)
; and transmit the first target information to the second monitoring device
(Col 61 lines 50-60 e.g. the telematics data may be transmitted from the originating mobile computing device directly to a remote server, the remote server relaying the telematics data to the destination mobile computing device or the smart vehicle controller, Fig. 10))
Hayward further teaches the process of sending target information to a second controller where the second controller can determine a danger level of a target based on the target information
(Col 61 lines 50-60 e.g. the remote server relaying the telematics data to the destination mobile computing device or the smart vehicle controller, Fig. 10);
and the second controller configured to control the alert unit to issue a warning by a sound if the danger level exceeds a predetermined value
(Col 31/32 lines 60-67/1-10
(149) Alert location 454 is a block diagram representation of one or more descriptions of the location of the anomalous condition...the threshold distances and/or geofences used to determine the relevance of the anomalous condition, etc.
Col 37 lines 1-10 providing an audio or audible alert, at or via the mobile device (and/or smart vehicle controller). The alert may be presented or provided only after the mobile device (or smart vehicle controller) determines that the abnormal travel condition (or traffic event) is relevant to the vehicle, such as by determining that a location of the abnormal travel condition)
But does not specifically disclose
wherein the second controller is configured to generate list information including the first target information received from the first monitoring device; and determine a danger level of a target based on the list information.
However, Vasquez teaches the second controller that is configured to generate list information including the first target information received from the first monitoring device
(Col 7 lines 1-10 The recognition module 70 can transmit a recognition request signal to the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34. The recognition request signal can include the raw images 67, the resultant images 69, the audio and/or video clips 71, as well as the list of objects and/or the predetermined criteria. Results of the image, audio and/or video recognition performed by the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34 can be transmitted from the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34 to the mobile device 16 and used by the modules (e.g., the modules 70-76) of the mobile control module 19.)
; and determine a danger level of a target based on the list information
Col 7 lines 55-67 (28) The object indicator module 72 identifies objects that the vehicle 12 is approaching which satisfy the predetermined criteria 78 based on results from the recognition module 70. The results can include results received from the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34 based on the recognition request signals transmitted to the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34.
Col 8 lines 5-25,55-65 The warning module 74 generates alert messages to signal a vehicle operator of upcoming objects and/or traffic indicators that satisfy the predetermined criteria 78... The alert messages can also include text messages and/or audio alerts provided via the display 102 and/or audio network 104.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the server and the second monitoring device as taught by Vasquez within the system of Hayward for the purpose of enhancing the system to provide detailed information of a situational hazard where the second controller can interpret the hazard.
Hayward and Vasquez teach the generation of a map for indicating target information but do not specifically disclose generate a map and an icon of the target according to the list information;
display the map and the icon on the display if the danger level exceeds a
first predetermined value.
However, Yamasaki teaches the process of generating a map and an icon of a target according to the list information
([0018][0020][0024] method box 112, if no predetermined key term(s) is detected,... the incident location preferably includes GPS coordinates, an address, specific intersection(s), (e.g. list information)
[0032] and providing an update, alert, and/or suitable instructions to the navigation guidance system for displaying a first icon, or the like, on a map at the GPS coordinates, wherein it is understood that the first icon represents a location of a non-verified event.);
display the map and the icon on the display if the danger level exceeds a first predetermined value
([0033] at least one of the vehicular traffic information and the incident location exceeds a threshold value,... for displaying a second icon, or the like, on a map at the GPS coordinates, wherein it is understood that the second icon represents a location of a verified event.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the map and the icon as taught by Yamasaki within the system of Hayward for the purpose of signaling a significant event to a driver at a specific location in order to inform the driver of an imminent event.
Hayward and Vasquez further disclose the use of the alert unit to trigger an alarm based on certain imminent events based on a threshold (Hayward Col 28 lines 50-67 e.g. collision… between a first and second vehicle to be less than a threshold distance …alert notification)
but do not specifically disclose control the alert unit to issue a warning by a sound if the danger level exceeds a second predetermined value different from the first predetermined value.
However, Irrgang teaches the process of controlling the alert unit to issue a warning by a sound if the danger level exceeds a second predetermined value different from the first predetermined value
([0024]Such automatic intervention in the driving maneuver control is preferably triggered when a collision probability exceeds a second threshold higher than the first warning threshold and/or when a collision is deemed highly probable and very soon to occur, i.e. with a very short "time-to-crossing" until the predicted occurrence of the collision. In a further embodiment of the invention, the optical, haptic or acoustic warning signal is combined with the automatic driving maneuver control.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the second predetermined value as taught by Irrgang within the system of Hayward for the purpose of preventing an imminent collision upon determining absolute certainty of a collision event.
Claim 28. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support system according to claim 27, wherein the second monitoring device has a second camera
(Hayward Col 21 lines 30-45 In an aspect, sensor array 326 may include one or more cameras or other image capture devices... images may be captured from this vantage point.)
, and
the second controller is configured to: detect a second target object in a second image acquired from the second camera
(Hayward Col 21 lines 30-45 capturing images and/or video data of various objects outside of the vehicle from this vantage point. );
generate second target information based on the second target object
(Col 59 lines 35-45 For example, image and/or video data included in the telematics data may be analyzed via one or more object recognition and/or image recognition techniques to determine whether an object matches a hazardous profile (e.g., deer or other animals, lanes being blocked, etc.). If so, aspects include an anomalous condition being identified at that location.);
and transmit the second target information to the first monitoring device
(Col 61 lines 50-60 Additionally or alternatively, the telematics data may be transmitted from the originating mobile computing device directly to a remote server,...).
Claim 29. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support system according to claim 27, wherein the second object is a vehicle
(Hayward Fig 2 Col 13 lines 15-20 e.g. vehicles 202.1 and 202.2...).
Claim 30. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support system according to claim 29, wherein the first object is an electronic apparatus that is installed adjacent to a road to monitor objects on the road and can communicate with a server
(Hayward Col 13 lines 30-45 each of mobile computing devices 204.1 and 204.2 may be configured to communicate indirectly with one another and/or any suitable device via communications over network 201, such as external computing device 206 and/or infrastructure component 208,
Col 16 lines 50-60 infrastructure component 208 may be implemented as a traffic light, a railroad crossing light, a construction notification sign, a roadside display configured to display messages, a billboard display, etc.)
Claim 31. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support system according to claim 29, wherein the first object is a cellphone or a wearable device
(Hayward Col 22 50-55 to determine whether the phone is in use or stationary within a vehicle.
Col 31 lines 10-25 alert notification 402 being displayed as part of a notification system separate from home screen 400. For example, some mobile phone operating systems (e.g., the Android OS) implement a universal “pull-down” notification system where all incoming notifications are displayed.)
Claim 32. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support system according to claim 29, wherein the first object is another vehicle
(Hayward Fig 2 Col 13 lines 15-20 e.g. vehicles 202.1 and 202.2...).
Claim 33. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support system according to claim 27, wherein the alert unit is configured to issue a warning sound to prompt a driver to decelerate the second object if the danger level exceeds the second predetermined value
(Col 8 lines 55-60 “traffic is stopped 1.5 miles ahead;” “traffic has slowed to 20 mph 1.5 miles (or 2 blocks) ahead;” “recommended speed for turn ahead is 30 mph;”
Col 27 lines 1-5 a comparison between the speed of computing device 300 and the posted or other speed limit data (such as a comparison between mobile device or vehicle speed with a map of, and/or known, posted speed limit information) may indicate an anomalous condition.
Vasquez Col 16 lines 5-10 (72) The collision warning and countermeasure network 128 can also perform countermeasures based on behavior of the vehicle operator. The vehicle operator can, for example, attempt to accelerate or decelerate the vehicle based on the object information provided.).
Claim 34. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support system according to claim 27, wherein the alert unit is configured to output light or vibration or both if the danger level exceeds the second predetermined value
(Irrgang ([0024] Such automatic intervention in the driving maneuver control is preferably triggered when a collision probability exceeds a second threshold higher than the first warning threshold and/or when a collision is deemed highly probable and very soon to occur, i.e. with a very short "time-to-crossing" until the predicted occurrence of the collision. In a further embodiment of the invention, the optical, haptic or acoustic warning signal is combined with the automatic driving maneuver control.).).
Claim 35. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support system according to claim 27, wherein the danger level is calculated in accordance with a relative distance or a relative speed of the second object with respect to the first target object
(Hayward Col 17 lines 15-25 In some aspects, smart infrastructure component 208 may be configured to receive geographic location data and/or telematics data from one or more other devices and to process this data to determine whether an anomalous condition has been detected and whether the detected anomalous condition satisfies a threshold distance condition with respect to smart infrastructure component 208. The threshold distance condition may include, for example, the geographic location of the anomalous condition being within a threshold radius of smart infrastructure component 208, on the same road serviced by smart infrastructure component 208, etc.).
Claim 36. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support system according to claim 27, wherein the second controller is configured to: display the map and the icon on the display in a first display manner if the danger level exceeds the first predetermined value; and display the map and the icon on the display in a second display manner if the danger level is below the first predetermined value, the second display manner comprising emphasis of the icon in comparison to the
icon displayed in the first display manner
(Yamasaki ([0033] In another example, where it is determined that a confidence level of at least one of the vehicular traffic information and the incident location exceeds a threshold value, the methods may include obtaining GPS coordinates of the incident location, and providing a suitable update, alert, and/or instructions to the navigation guidance system for displaying a second icon, or the like, on a map at the GPS coordinates, wherein it is understood that the second icon represents a location of a verified event. In situations where a non-verified event is later verified, the methods may include changing the first icon to the second icon. (e.g. the emphasis is verification icon)).).
Claim 37. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support system according to claim 27, wherein the second predetermined value is greater than the first predetermined value
(Irrgang [0024] Such automatic intervention in the driving maneuver control is preferably triggered when a collision probability exceeds a second threshold higher than the first warning threshold and/or when a collision is deemed highly probable and very soon to occur, i.e. with a very short "time-to-crossing" until the predicted occurrence of the collision. In a further embodiment of the invention, the optical, haptic or acoustic warning signal is combined with the automatic driving maneuver control.).
Claim 38. Hayward teaches a driving support monitoring device on a vehicle, comprising:
a controller configured to communicate with an external monitoring device
(Fig. 3 display 318 and Fig. 7 smart vehicle controller 940;
Col 4 lines 10-20 the telematics data may be (3) transmitted from the originating mobile device directly to a remote server (such as an insurance provider remote server), and then relayed or transmitted from the remote server to the destination mobile device or smart vehicle controller via wireless communication and/or data transmission;);
a display
(fig. 3 display 316; Col 8 lines 5-25,55-65 The warning module 74 generates alert messages...The alert messages can also include text messages and/or audio alerts provided via the display 102 and/or audio network 104.)
; and an alert unit
(Col 31/32 lines 60-67/1-10 Alert location 454; Col 8 lines 5-25,55-65 The warning module 74 ).
wherein the controller is configured to:
receive from the external monitoring device first target information
generated by the external monitoring device, the first target information being based on
a first target object detected from a first image acquired from a first camera of the external
monitoring device
(Col 2 lines 15-25 e.g. To generate one or more sensor metrics, sensor array 326 may include, for example, one or more cameras,
Col 11 lines 50-67 e.g. generate, and/or collect one or more sensor metrics as part of the telematics data.
Col 18 lines 25-67 e.g. Fig 3, controller 340, sensor array 326
Col 4 lines 10-20 the telematics data may be (3) transmitted from the originating mobile device directly to a remote server (such as an insurance provider remote server), and then relayed or transmitted from the remote server to the destination mobile device or smart vehicle controller via wireless communication and/or data transmission;).
Hayward further teaches the process of sending target information to a second controller where the second controller can determine a danger level of a target based on the target information
(Col 61 lines 50-60 ) and the second controller configured to control the alert unit to issue a warning by a sound if the danger level exceeds a predetermined value (Col 31/32 lines 60-67/1-10)
But does not specifically disclose
disclose generate list information including the first target information received from the external monitoring device; and generate a danger level according to the list information.
However, Vasquez teaches generating list information including the first target information received from the external monitoring device
(Col 7 lines 1-10 The recognition module 70 can transmit a recognition request signal to the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34. The recognition request signal can include the raw images 67, the resultant images 69, the audio and/or video clips 71, as well as the list of objects and/or the predetermined criteria. Results of the image, audio and/or video recognition performed by the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34 can be transmitted from the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34 to the mobile device 16 and used by the modules (e.g., the modules 70-76) of the mobile control module 19.)
; and generate a danger level according to the list information
(Col 7 lines 55-67 (28) The object indicator module 72 identifies objects that the vehicle 12 is approaching which satisfy the predetermined criteria 78 based on results from the recognition module 70. The results can include results received from the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34 based on the recognition request signals transmitted to the vehicle network 14 and/or the server 34.
Col 8 lines 5-25,55-65 The warning module 74 generates alert messages to signal a vehicle operator of upcoming objects and/or traffic indicators that satisfy the predetermined criteria 78... The alert messages can also include text messages and/or audio alerts provided via the display 102 and/or audio network 104.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the server and the second monitoring device as taught by Vasquez within the system of Hayward for the purpose of enhancing the system to provide detailed information of a situational hazard where the second controller can interpret the hazard.
Hayward and Vasquez teach the generation of a map for indicating target information but do not specifically disclose generate a map and an icon of a target according to the list information; and display the map and the icon on the display if the danger level exceeds a
first predetermined value.
However, Yamasaki teaches the process of generating a map and an icon of a target according to the list information
([0018][0020][0024] method box 112, if no predetermined key term(s) is detected,... the incident location preferably includes GPS coordinates, an address, specific intersection(s), (e.g. list information)
[0032] and providing an update, alert, and/or suitable instructions to the navigation guidance system for displaying a first icon, or the like, on a map at the GPS coordinates, wherein it is understood that the first icon represents a location of a non-verified event.);
display the map and the icon on the display if the danger level exceeds a first predetermined value
([0033] at least one of the vehicular traffic information and the incident location exceeds a threshold value,... for displaying a second icon, or the like, on a map at the GPS coordinates, wherein it is understood that the second icon represents a location of a verified event.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the map and the icon as taught by Yamasaki within the system of Hayward for the purpose of signaling a significant event to a driver at a specific location in order to inform the driver of an imminent event.
Hayward and Vasquez further disclose the use of the alert unit to trigger an alarm based on certain imminent events based on a threshold (Hayward Col 28 lines 50-67 e.g. collision… between a first and second vehicle to be less than a threshold distance …alert notification)
but do not specifically disclose control the alert unit to issue a warning by a sound if the danger level
exceeds a second predetermined value different from the first predetermined value.
However, Irrgang teaches the process of controlling the alert unit to issue a warning by a sound if the danger level exceeds a second predetermined value different from the first predetermined value
([0024]Such automatic intervention in the driving maneuver control is preferably triggered when a collision probability exceeds a second threshold higher than the first warning threshold and/or when a collision is deemed highly probable and very soon to occur, i.e. with a very short "time-to-crossing" until the predicted occurrence of the collision. In a further embodiment of the invention, the optical, haptic or acoustic warning signal is combined with the automatic driving maneuver control.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention to use the second predetermined value as taught by Irrgang within the system of Hayward for the purpose of preventing an imminent collision upon determining absolute certainty of a collision event.
Claim 39. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 38, further comprising:
a camera configured to capture a second image of a periphery of the vehicle
(Hayward Col 21 lines 30-45 In an aspect, sensor array 326 may include one or more cameras or other image capture devices... images may be captured from this vantage point.),
wherein the controller is configured to:
detect a second target object in the second image acquired from the
camera
(Hayward Col 21 lines 30-45 capturing images and/or video data of various objects outside of the vehicle from this vantage point. );
generate second target information based on the second target object
(Col 59 lines 35-45 For example, image and/or video data included in the telematics data may be analyzed via one or more object recognition and/or image recognition techniques to determine whether an object matches a hazardous profile (e.g., deer or other animals, lanes being blocked, etc.). If so, aspects include an anomalous condition being identified at that location.);
and transmit the second target information to the external monitoring device
(Col 61 lines 50-60 Additionally or alternatively, the telematics data may be transmitted from the originating mobile computing device directly to a remote server,...).
Claim 40. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 38, wherein the external monitoring device is an electronic apparatus that is installed adjacent to a road to monitor objects on the road and can communicate with a server
(Hayward Col 13 lines 30-45 each of mobile computing devices 204.1 and 204.2 may be configured to communicate indirectly with one another and/or any suitable device via communications over network 201, such as external computing device 206 and/or infrastructure component 208,
Col 16 lines 50-60 infrastructure component 208 may be implemented as a traffic light, a railroad crossing light, a construction notification sign, a roadside display configured to display messages, a billboard display, etc.).
Claim 41. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 38, wherein the external monitoring device is a cellphone or a wearable device
(Hayward Col 22 50-55 to determine whether the phone is in use or stationary within a vehicle.
Col 31 lines 10-25 alert notification 402 being displayed as part of a notification system separate from home screen 400. For example, some mobile phone operating systems (e.g., the Android OS) implement a universal “pull-down” notification system where all incoming notifications are displayed.).
Claim 42. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 38, wherein the external monitoring device is another vehicle
(Hayward Fig 2 Col 13 lines 15-20 e.g. vehicles 202.1 and 202.2...).
Claim 43. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 38, wherein the alert unit is configured to issue a warning sound to prompt a driver to decelerate the second object if the danger level exceeds the second predetermined value.
(Col 8 lines 55-60 “traffic is stopped 1.5 miles ahead;” “traffic has slowed to 20 mph 1.5 miles (or 2 blocks) ahead;” “recommended speed for turn ahead is 30 mph;”
Col 27 lines 1-5 a comparison between the speed of computing device 300 and the posted or other speed limit data (such as a comparison between mobile device or vehicle speed with a map of, and/or known, posted speed limit information) may indicate an anomalous condition.
Vasquez Col 16 lines 5-10 (72) The collision warning and countermeasure network 128 can also perform countermeasures based on behavior of the vehicle operator. The vehicle operator can, for example, attempt to accelerate or decelerate the vehicle based on the object information provided.).
Claim 44. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 38, wherein the alert unit is configured to output light or vibration or both if the danger level exceeds the second predetermined value
(Irrgang ([0024] Such automatic intervention in the driving maneuver control is preferably triggered when a collision probability exceeds a second threshold higher than the first warning threshold and/or when a collision is deemed highly probable and very soon to occur, i.e. with a very short "time-to-crossing" until the predicted occurrence of the collision. In a further embodiment of the invention, the optical, haptic or acoustic warning signal is combined with the automatic driving maneuver control.).).
Claim 45. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 38, wherein the danger level is calculated in accordance with a relative distance or a relative speed of the vehicle with respect to the first target object
(Hayward Col 17 lines 15-25 In some aspects, smart infrastructure component 208 may be configured to receive geographic location data and/or telematics data from one or more other devices and to process this data to determine whether an anomalous condition has been detected and whether the detected anomalous condition satisfies a threshold distance condition with respect to smart infrastructure component 208. The threshold distance condition may include, for example, the geographic location of the anomalous condition being within a threshold radius of smart infrastructure component 208, on the same road serviced by smart infrastructure component 208, etc.).
Claim 46. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 38, wherein the controller is configured to: display the map and the icon on the display in a first display manner if the danger level exceeds the first predetermined value; and display the map and the icon on the display in a second display manner if the danger level is below the first predetermined value, the second display manner comprising emphasis of the icon in comparison to the icon displayed in the first display manner
(Yamasaki ([0033] In another example, where it is determined that a confidence level of at least one of the vehicular traffic information and the incident location exceeds a threshold value, the methods may include obtaining GPS coordinates of the incident location, and providing a suitable update, alert, and/or instructions to the navigation guidance system for displaying a second icon, or the like, on a map at the GPS coordinates, wherein it is understood that the second icon represents a location of a verified event. In situations where a non-verified event is later verified, the methods may include changing the first icon to the second icon. (e.g. the emphasis is verification icon)).).
Claim 47. Hayward, Vasquez, Yamasaki and Irrgang teach the driving support monitoring device according to claim 38, wherein the second predetermined value is greater than the first predetermined value
(Irrgang [0024] Such automatic intervention in the driving maneuver control is preferably triggered when a collision probability exceeds a second threshold higher than the first warning threshold and/or when a collision is deemed highly probable and very soon to occur, i.e. with a very short "time-to-crossing" until the predicted occurrence of the collision. In a further embodiment of the invention, the optical, haptic or acoustic warning signal is combined with the automatic driving maneuver control.).
Conclusion
/RUFUS C POINT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689