DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s traversal arguments, filed 07/27/26, with respect to claims 1-20 restriction have been fully considered and are persuasive. The restriction/election requirement dating 07/27/2026 has been withdrawn. All claims will be considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7-9, 17-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7 and claim 17 recites “a terminal” as a first recitation, it is unclear if it is the terminal recited in claim 1,11 or a different terminal. Clarification is needed. Examiner will assume it is the already recited terminal.
Claims 8-9, 18-19 are rejected based on dependency from claim 7 and 17 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1,2,6-9,11,12,16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and USC 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Iizuka (US PG Pub 20170366059A1 hereinafter “Iizuka”).
Re-claim 1, Iizuka discloses a stator (100) of an electric motor (1) comprising: a stator carrier (101b,101a); stator windings (102) supported by the stator carrier (see fig.1); and at least one terminal (21u-v,22) coupled to the stator windings (11,11u1,11u2 to windings 102); wherein the at least one terminal is crimped to first and second conductors (11u1, 11u2) of the stator winding (102).
Re-claim 2, Iizuka discloses the stator according to claim 1, wherein the first and second conductors (11u1, 11u2) extend over an axial end of the stator windings (over in fig.1, and fig.2).
Re-claim 6, Lizuka discloses the stator according to claim 1, wherein the stator windings include a plurality of conductors comprising first, second and third windings(annotated fig.1 and fig.2, 10u-10w, have conductors).
Re-claim 7, Lizuka discloses the stator according to claim 6, wherein the at least one terminal coupled to the stator windings includes a terminal (each one has a terminal) coupled to each of the first, second and third windings (21u-21w).
Re-claim 8, Lizuka discloses the stator according to claim 7, wherein each of the terminals are crimped to a respective pair of conductors of the windings (see annotated fig.1, 21 crimped to wires 10).
Re-claim 9, Lizuka discloses the stator according to claim 8, wherein the terminal are ring terminal having an aperture for receiving a fastener (annotated fig.3) for coupling to an electric power source (P[0035], power source connected to ring side).
Re-claim 11, Iizuka discloses an electric motor (1) comprising: a stator (100) including a stator carrier (101b,101a); stator windings (102) supported by the stator carrier (see fig.1); and at least one terminal (21u-v,22) coupled to the stator windings (11,11u1,11u2 to windings 102); wherein the at least one terminal is crimped to first and second conductors (11u1, 11u2) of the stator winding (102).
Re-claim 12, Iizuka discloses the stator according to claim 11, wherein the first and second conductors (11u1, 11u2) extend over an axial end of the stator windings (over in fig.1, and fig.2).
Re-claim 16, Lizuka discloses the stator according to claim 11, wherein the stator windings include a plurality of conductors comprising first, second and third windings(annotated fig.1 and fig.2, 10u-10w, have conductors).
Re-claim 17, Lizuka discloses the stator according to claim 16, wherein the at least one terminal coupled to the stator windings includes a terminal (each one has a terminal) coupled to each of the first, second and third windings (21u-21w).
Re-claim 18, Lizuka discloses the stator according to claim 17, wherein each of the terminals are crimped to a respective pair of conductors of the windings (see annotated fig.1, 21 crimped to wires 10).
Re-claim 19, Lizuka discloses the stator according to claim 18, wherein the terminal are ring terminal having an aperture for receiving a fastener (annotated fig.3) for coupling to an electric power source (P[0035], power source connected to ring side).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3,4,13,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iizuka in view of Okamoto et al. (US PG Pub 20110109178 hereinafter “Okamoto”).
Re-claim 3, Lizuka discloses the stator according to claim 2.
Lizuka fails to explicitly teach wherein the terminal extends radially inwardly from the stator windings.
However, Okamoto teaches wherein the terminal extends radially inwardly from the stator windings (see fig.4, terminal 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the terminal of Lizuka wherein the terminal extends radially inwardly from the stator windings as suggested by Okamoto to form coil structure and coil ends that are exposed to cooling with out increasing cost (Okamoto, P[0007]).
Re-claim 4, Lizuka as modified discloses the stator according to claim 3, wherein the terminal includes a ring terminal having an aperture for receiving a fastener (annotated fig.3) for coupling the ring terminal to an electric power source (P[0035], power source connected to ring side).
Re-claim 13, Lizuka discloses the stator according to claim 12.
Lizuka fails to explicitly teach wherein the terminal extends radially inwardly from the stator windings.
However, Okamoto teaches wherein the terminal extends radially inwardly from the stator windings (see fig.4, terminal 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the terminal of Lizuka wherein the terminal extends radially inwardly from the stator windings as suggested by Okamoto to form coil structure and coil ends that are exposed to cooling without increasing cost (Okamoto, P[0007]).
Re-claim 14, Lizuka as modified discloses the stator according to claim 13, wherein the terminal includes a ring terminal having an aperture for receiving a fastener (annotated fig.3) for coupling the ring terminal to an electric power source (P[0035], power source connected to ring side).
Claim 5,10,15,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iizuka in view of Okamoto in further view of Kuwahara et al. (US PG Pub 2015008776 hereinafter “Kuwahara”).
Re-claim 5, Lizuka as modified discloses the stator according to claim 4, wherein the aperture (opening of 21u-21w) is aligned to receive a fastener (fastener goes in ring axially, see figure 1-3).
Lizuka fails to explicitly show that the aperture is aligned to receive a fastener in an axial direction of the stator.
However Kuwahara teaches the aperture (20, see fig.2) is aligned to receive a fastener (9) in an axial direction of the stator (see fig.1, screw in axially).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the terminal of Lizuka wherein the aperture is aligned to receive a fastener in an axial direction of the stator as suggested by Kuwahara to fix connection to power supply and prevent contact failure dur to vibrations (Kuwahara, P[0029]).
Re-claim 10, Lizuka as modified discloses the stator according to claim 9, wherein the aperture (opening of 21u-21w) is aligned to receive a fastener (fastener goes in ring axially, see figure 1-3).
Lizuka fails to explicitly show that the aperture is aligned to receive a fastener in an axial direction of the stator.
However Kuwahara teaches the aperture (20, see fig.2) is aligned to receive a fastener (9) in an axial direction of the stator (see fig.1, screw in axially).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the terminal of Lizuka wherein the aperture is aligned to receive a fastener in an axial direction of the stator as suggested by Kuwahara to fix connection to power supply and prevent contact failure dur to vibrations (Kuwahara, P[0029]).
Re-claim 15, Lizuka as modified discloses the stator according to claim 14, wherein the aperture (opening of 21u-21w) is aligned to receive a fastener (fastener goes in ring axially, see figure 1-3).
Lizuka fails to explicitly show that the aperture is aligned to receive a fastener in an axial direction of the stator.
However Kuwahara teaches the aperture (20, see fig.2) is aligned to receive a fastener (9) in an axial direction of the stator (see fig.1, screw in axially).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the terminal of Lizuka wherein the aperture is aligned to receive a fastener in an axial direction of the stator as suggested by Kuwahara to fix connection to power supply and prevent contact failure dur to vibrations (Kuwahara, P[0029]).
Re-claim 20, Lizuka as modified discloses the stator according to claim 19, wherein the aperture (opening of 21u-21w) is aligned to receive a fastener (fastener goes in ring axially, see figure 1-3).
Lizuka fails to explicitly show that the aperture is aligned to receive a fastener in an axial direction of the stator.
However Kuwahara teaches the aperture (20, see fig.2) is aligned to receive a fastener (9) in an axial direction of the stator (see fig.1, screw in axially).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the terminal of Lizuka wherein the aperture is aligned to receive a fastener in an axial direction of the stator as suggested by Kuwahara to fix connection to power supply and prevent contact failure dur to vibrations (Kuwahara, P[0029]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834