Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taheri et al (US 20080205076 A1) in view of Weller et al (US 7855755 B2) in view of Larson et al (US 12240384 B2) in view of Wang et al (US 20190271866)
Regarding Claim 1,
Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) a digital rear mirror device having an anti-glare function (automatic dimming mirror system configured for use as an interior rearview mirror of a vehicle (ABSTRACT)), which is capable of implementing a mirror mode (liquid crystal mirror) for checking a state of a rear of a vehicle through reflected light and a liquid crystal display (LCD) mode for displaying an image or a video comprising: a control unit (electronic circuitry) for adjusting the light transmittance and light reflectivity of the liquid crystal mirror unit [0016] thereby disclosing that a control unit is used for adjusting the light transmittance and light reflectivity of the liquid crystal mirror unit by comparing light intensities measured by a plurality of light sensors installed at the vehicle.
Taheri et al does not disclose a cover lens for transmitting light from the front; a backlight unit for providing light from the rear; a polarizing unit for aligning a light direction; a liquid crystal mirror unit for adjusting and reflecting the light transmission; a thin film transistor (TFT) array for providing an electrical signal required for implementing a display image or video; and a control unit for adjusting the light transmittance and light reflectivity of the liquid crystal mirror unit by comparing light intensities measured by a plurality of light sensors installed at the vehicle.
Larson et al discloses (ABSTRACT) a drive switching unit for switching between the mirror mode (first state) and the LCD mode (second state)(toggle mechanism operable to switch between the first sate and the second state (column 11, lines 11-25).
Weller et al discloses a backlight unit (Fig. 7, element 78) for providing light from the rear; a polarizing unit (column 3, lines 39-45) for aligning a light direction; a thin film transistor (TFT) array for providing an electrical signal required for implementing a display image or video.
Wang et al discloses a protective glass layer (can be considered the cover lens) outside of the polarizing plate of the liquid crystal panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Taheri et al’s digital rear mirror device to include Larson et al’s mirror mode, LCD mode and drive switching unit configure to switch between the mirror mode and the LCD mode motivated by the desire to improve vehicle rearward visibility through electronically controlled rearview mirror assemblies, to further include Weller et al’s backlight unit, and a TFT array to further include Wang et al’s cover lens motivated by the desire to manufacture a digital rear mirror device using both reflective and display operating modes.
Regarding Claim 2,
In addition to Taheri et al, Larson et al, Weller et al, and Wang et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) wherein the mirror mode includes a first mirror mode in which the anti-glare function is not implemented (normal reflective operation and automatic dimming operation of the liquid crystal mirror) and a second mirror mode in which the anti- glare function is implemented, and the anti-glare function is driven by lowering the light reflectivity of the liquid crystal mirror unit to below a predetermined value by the control unit (electronic circuitry varies the voltage applied to the liquid crystal reflective assembly to change its reflectance)[0015].
Regarding Claim 3,
In addition to Taheri et al, Larson et al, Weller et al, and Wang et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) wherein the plurality of light sensor includes sensors include a front light sensor for detecting and measuring the intensity of light entering from the front of the vehicle, and a rear light sensor for detecting and measuring the intensity of light entering from the rear of the vehicle, and the control unit controls the first mirror mode and the second mirror mode to be selectively driven by comparing the light intensity measured by the front light sensor with the light intensity measured by the rear light sensor [0104].
Regarding Claim 4,
In addition to Taheri et al, Larson et al, Weller et al, and Wang et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) wherein the control unit controls the first mirror mode to be driven when the light intensity measured by the rear light sensor is weaker or equal to the light intensity measured by the front light sensor, and controls the second mirror mode to be driven when the light intensity measured by the rear light sensor is stronger than the light intensity measured by the front light sensor [0004].
Regarding Claim 5,
In addition to Taheri et al, Larson et al, Weller et al, and Wang et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) wherein the light reflectivity of the liquid crystal mirror unit is adjusted to 40% or more in the first mirror mode, and the light reflectivity of the liquid crystal mirror unit is adjusted to less than 40% in the second mirror mode. One would have recognized the light reflectivity of the liquid crystal mirror unit is adjusted to 40% or more in the first mirror mode as a result effective variable to obtain the desired balance between rear visibility and glare reduction.
Regarding Claim 6,
In addition to Taheri et al, Larson et al, Weller et al, and Wang et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) wherein the light reflectivity of the liquid crystal mirror unit is adjusted to be within a range of 10% or more and less than 40% in the second mirror mode. One would have the light reflectivity of the liquid crystal mirror unit is adjusted to be within a range of 10% or more and less than 40% in the second mirror mode. as a result effective variable to obtain the desired balance between rear visibility and glare reduction.
Regarding Claim 7,
In addition to Taheri et al, Larson et al, Weller et al, and Wang et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) further comprising a liquid crystal mirror adjustment unit for adjusting the light transmittance and light reflectivity of the liquid crystal mirror unit, wherein the liquid crystal mirror adjustment unit is provided to adjust the light transmittance and light reflectivity of the liquid crystal mirror unit stepwise in a plurality of stages by using a pulse width modulation (PWM)(taught by Weller et al) control manner.
Regarding Claim 8,
In addition to Taheri et al, Larson et al, Weller et al, and Wang et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) wherein the drive switching unit is controlled to automatically switch a drive mode from the mirror mode to the LCD mode (taught by Larsen et al) by the control unit when receiving a reverse gear signal of the vehicle, and the TFT array (taught by Weller et al) is controlled to form and transmit video received from a rear camera installed at the rear of the vehicle to a lower part of a display screen of the digital rear mirror device by the control unit when the LCD mode is automatically switched by receiving the reverse gear signal of the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 9,
In addition to Taheri et al, Larson et al, Weller et al, and Wang et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) A control method of a digital rear mirror device having an anti- glare function, which includes a liquid crystal mirror unit that uses a liquid crystal (LC) method, the method comprising: detecting light intensity from each of a front light sensor and a rear light sensor [0104], installed on a vehicle; comparing the light intensity measured by the front light sensor with the light intensity measured by the rear light sensor; driving an anti-glare mode based on a light intensity comparison result; and adjusting reflectivity of the liquid crystal mirror unit [0075].
Regarding Claim 10,
In addition to Taheri et al, Larson et al, Weller et al, and Wang et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) wherein the anti-glare mode is controlled to be driven only when the light intensity measured by the rear light sensor is determined to be stronger than the light intensity measured by the front light sensor in the comparing of the light intensities (this is known because it activates dimming only under glare conditions)[0061].
Regarding Claim 11,
In addition to Taheri et al, Larson et al, Weller et al, and Wang et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) wherein the anti-glare mode is implemented by lowering the reflectivity of the liquid crystal mirror unit to less than a predetermined value.
Regarding Claim 12,
In addition to Taheri et al, Larson et al, Weller et al, and Wang et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) wherein the anti-glare mode is controlled not to be driven when the light intensity measured by the front light sensor is determined to be stronger than the light intensity measured by the rear light sensor or to be in the same or similar level in the comparing of the light intensities [0056].
Regarding Claim 13,
In addition to Taheri et al, Larson et al, Weller et al, and Wang et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) further comprising additionally comparing the light intensity measured by the front light sensor with the light intensity measured by the rear light sensor, wherein the additionally comparing of the light intensities is controlled to be performed only when the light intensity measured by the front light sensor in the comparing of the light intensities is determined to be stronger than the light intensity measured by the rear light sensor or to be in the same or similar level [0017].
Regarding Claim 14,
In addition to Taheri et al, Larson et al, Weller et al, and Wang et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) wherein the reflectivity of the liquid crystal mirror unit is controlled to be increased to a predetermined value or more when the light intensity measured by the front light sensor is determined to be stronger than the light intensity measured by the rear light sensor in the additionally comparing of the light intensities [0015].
Regarding Claim 15,
In addition to Taheri et al, Larson et al, Weller et al, and Wang et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) wherein the reflectivity of the liquid crystal mirror unit is controlled to be maintained to be the same as before when the light intensity measured by the front light sensor and the light intensity measured by the rear light sensor are determined to be at the same or similar level in the additionally comparing of the light intensities [0015-0017].
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larson et al (US 12240384 B2) in view of Taheri et al (US 20080205076 A1)
Regarding Claim 16,
Larson et al discloses a control method of a digital rear mirror device having an anti- glare function, which includes a liquid crystal mirror unit that uses a liquid crystal (LC) method, and is capable of implementing a mirror mode for checking a state of a rear of a vehicle through reflected light and a liquid crystal display (LCD) mode for displaying an image or a video, the method comprising: receiving an LCD mode signal (toggle mechanism changing from mirror mode to display mode) (column 11, lines 11-25); outputting a streaming video (video images derived from a rearward viewing camera (see claim 1)).
Larson et al does not disclose detecting light intensity from a front light sensor installed on the vehicle; comparing the light intensity measured by the front light sensor with a predetermined value; and adjusting display brightness of the streaming video based on a light intensity comparison result.
Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT) detecting light intensity from a front light sensor installed on the vehicle; comparing the light intensity measured by the front light sensor with a predetermined value; and adjusting display brightness of the streaming video based on a light intensity comparison result [0104].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Larson et al to include Taheri et al’s sensors motivated by the desire to automatically adjust display brightness thereby improving visibility under varying lighting conditions.
Regarding Claim 17,
In addition to Larson et al and Taheri et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) wherein in the comparing of the light intensities, the light intensity measured by the front light sensor is compared with a first set value between 1,000 lux and 2,000 lux (is a result effective variable), and the display brightness of the streaming video is controlled to be increased when the light intensity measured by the front light sensor is determined to be greater than the first set value in the comparing of the light intensities [0059].
Regarding Claim 18,
In addition to Larson et al and Taheri et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) further comprising additionally comparing the light intensity measured by the front light sensor with a second set value between 300 lux and 500 lux (this is a result effective variable), wherein the additionally comparing of the light intensities is performed only when the light intensity measured by the front light sensor is determined to be the first set value or less.
Regarding Claim 19,
In addition to Larson et al and Taheri et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) wherein the display brightness of the streaming video is controlled to be reduced when the light intensity measured by the front light sensor is determined to be less than the second set value in the additionally comparing of the light intensities [0002].
Regarding Claim 20,
In addition to Larson et al and Taheri et al, Taheri et al discloses (ABSTRACT and [0016]) wherein the display brightness of the streaming video is controlled to be maintained when the light intensity measured by the front light sensor and the second set value are determined to be at the same or similar level in the additionally comparing of the light intensities.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871