Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 recites the limitation "the transparent substrate" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Interpretation
In view of figs. 3C and 4 of Applicant’s drawings and features “a plurality of unit pixels disposed on the circuit board” and “a plurality of light emitting devices disposed on the light blocking layer” in claim 8, the word “on” is understood to mean “on a top surface of” or “on a bottom surface of” for all claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kang et al (WO 2020/027369 A1), English translation is found in US PG Pub (2021/0273142 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a unit pixel, comprising: a light blocking structure (BM, fig. 1) having at least one window; a plurality of light emitting devices disposed on the light blocking structure; and a semi-transmissive structure (color filter 550, paragraph [0131]) disposed adjacent to at least one of the plurality of light emitting devices, the semi-transmissive structure arranged to overlap (fig. 1) with at least a part of one of the at least one window, wherein the semi-transmissive structure further comprises an island pattern (fig. 1) located within the one of the at least one window, and wherein the semi-transmissive structure extends from the window and is arranged to cover at least a portion of an upper surface (fig. 1) of the light blocking structure.
Regarding claim 2, Kang teaches the unit pixel of claim 1, wherein the semi-transmissive structure comprises a first part arranged in the window; and the first part is located lower than an upper surface of the light blocking structure relative to the transparent substrate (510, fig. 1 seen inverted).
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches the unit pixel of claim 1, wherein the semi-transmissive structure comprises a plurality of island patterns (fig. 1).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al (WO 2020/027369 A1), English translation is found in US PG Pub (2021/0273142 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hussell (PG Pub 2019/0371974 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kang remains as applied in claim 1.
Kang does not teach the semi-transmissive structure (color filter 550) is formed of a material that partially absorbs light.
In the same field of endeavor, Hussell teaches a color filter can be formed by a material that absorbs unwanted wavelengths and passes desirable ones (paragraph [0045]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the semi-transmissive structure to be formed of a material that partially absorbs light, for the benefit of providing a color filter that passes only the desirable wavelengths.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al (WO 2020/027369 A1), English translation is found in US PG Pub (2021/0273142 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chu et al (PG Pub 2015/0362165 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kang remains as applied in claim 1.
Kang does not teach the semi-transmissive structure further comprises one or more grid patterns.
In the same field of endeavor, Chu teaches a semi-transmissive structure (color filter, fig. 35) further comprises one or more grid patterns, for the benefits of preventing interference between adjacent pixels/subpixels and of distinguishing different light colors (paragraph [0138]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the semi-transmissive structure to further comprise one or more grid patterns, for the benefits of preventing interference between adjacent pixels/subpixels and of distinguishing different light colors.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (PG Pub 2020/0044125 A1), Hong (PG Pub 2020/0313056 A1), and Kim et al (PG Pub 2019/0067526 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches a unit pixel, comprising: a light blocking structure (122, figs. 1-12) having at least one window; a plurality of light emitting devices disposed on the light blocking structure, a light emitting device comprising a light emitting structure (104, paragraph [0031]) and an electrode pad (106); a semi-transmissive structure (color filter 130, paragraph [0047]) disposed adjacent to at least one of the plurality of light emitting devices, the semi-transmissive structure arranged to overlap with at least a part of one of the at least one window, wherein the semi-transmissive structure further comprises an island pattern (fig. 6B, for example) located within the one of the at least one window, and wherein the semi-transmissive structure extends from the at least one window and is arranged to cover at least a portion of an upper surface of the light blocking structure.
Chen does not teach an insulation layer disposed between the light emitting structure and the electrode pad, wherein the insulation layer includes a first distributed Bragg reflector.
In the same field of endeavor, Hong teaches an insulation layer (29, fig. 2B) disposed between the light emitting structure (21/23/25) and the electrode pad (33), wherein the insulation layer includes a first distributed Bragg reflector (paragraph [0085]), for the known benefit of increasing light extraction.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to dispose an insulation layer between the light emitting structure and the electrode pad, wherein the insulation layer included a first distributed Bragg reflector, for the known benefit of increasing light extraction.
Chen does not teach the semi-transmissive structure includes a second distributed Bragg reflector.
Chen teaches the semi-transmissive structure includes stacked multilayer (130, paragraph [0047]).
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches to make stacked multilayer to include a distributed Bragg reflector (53, fig. 4B) for the benefit of providing a reflector that can reflect and pass different wavelengths (paragraph [0007]), i.e. filtering light of certain colors.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the semi-transmissive structure to include a second distributed Bragg reflector, for the benefit filtering light of certain colors.
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches the unit pixel of claim 6, wherein a plurality of windows is formed in the light blocking layer corresponding to one or more of the plurality of light emitting devices (fig. 6B, for example).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (PG Pub 2020/0044125 A1) and Hong (PG Pub 2020/0313056 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches a displaying apparatus, comprising: a circuit board having pads (121, fig. 6B); a plurality of unit pixels (each of LED 104) disposed on the circuit board; each of the unit pixels, comprising: a light blocking layer (122) having at least one window; a plurality of light emitting devices (104, paragraph [0031]) disposed on the light blocking layer; a semi-transmissive structure (color filter 130, paragraph [0047]) disposed adjacent to the light blocking layer, the semi-transmissive structure at least partially overlapping with one of the at least one window, wherein the semi-transmissive structure further comprises an island pattern (fig. 6B, for example) located within the one of the at least one window.
Chen does not teach bonding materials for bonding the plurality of unit pixels to the pads.
In the same field of endeavor, Hong teaches bonding materials (1005, fig. 4B, paragraph [0126]) for bonding the plurality of unit pixels to the pads.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include bonding materials for bonding the plurality of unit pixels to the pads.
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches the displaying apparatus of claim 8, wherein the semi-transmissive structure further comprises a layer that extends from the window to cover at least a portion of an upper surface of the light blocking layer (fig. 6B, for example).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the displaying apparatus of claim 8, wherein the semi-transmissive structure includes a distributed Bragg reflector in which material layers having different refractive indices (paragraph [0125]) are alternately disposed.
Conclusion
/FEIFEI YEUNG LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899