DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on December 16th, 2024 and March 12th, 2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “configured to allow for” in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “configured to allow for relative thermal displacement between the antenna element and dielectric support structure”. However, the specification fails to clearly disclose corresponding structure that is clearly associated with performing the claimed function.
Although the specification describes in par [0066] “For example, dielectric support structure 210 and ribbon 208 may only be coupled (e.g. using an adhesive) at the base of dielectric support structure 210, proximate the first end 224 of TEM line 204, allowing for thermal expansion upwards towards the second end 226 of TEM line 204.”. The par. further states that other methods may be used without providing sufficient detail regarding such methods. See par [0066] “ In other examples, other methods of accounting for thermal expansion may be present.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11-12, 15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Du (US 11183763 B2), herein referred to as Du.
Regarding claim 1, Du discloses an antenna system (fig. 1), the system comprising: a base structure (combination of 20, 30, and 23); a transmission line extending from the base structure (column 5, lines 22-27 explicitly disclose a feed line going through the support hole 22), the transmission line coupled to the base structure at a first end (at hole 22) of the transmission line; a ground plane (10) coupled to the transmission line at a second end (at ground plane) of the transmission line; and a backfire antenna element (31-34) between the ground plane (10) and the base structure; wherein the backfire antenna element is coupled to the second end of the transmission line (feed points 41-44).
Regarding claim 2, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Du also discloses wherein the backfire antenna element is helical (See fig. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 4, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Du also discloses the system further comprising a dielectric support structure (20), wherein the helical antenna element is coupled to the dielectric support structure (col. 4, lines 41-44).
Regarding claim 5, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 4.
Du also discloses wherein the dielectric support structure is constructed from a dielectric material (col. 4, lines 41-44).
Regarding claim 7, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Du also discloses wherein the backfire antenna element is constructed from a conductive metallic material (col. 4 lines 42-43).
Regarding claim 8, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Du also discloses wherein the transmission line comprises a matching network (col. 4 lines 53-56).
Regarding claim 9, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 8.
Du also discloses wherein the matching network comprises a quarter-wave transformer, or stub (65-68).
Regarding claim 11, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Du also discloses wherein the base structure is constructed from a metallic material (portion 30 of the base is a conductive patch).
Regarding claim 12, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Du also discloses wherein the antenna system is configured to at least one of: transmit UHF frequency signals; and receive UHF frequency signals (col. 5 line 5, 1583 MHz is within UHF range).
Regarding claim 15, Du discloses a method of transmitting an RF signal through an antenna system (fig. 1), the method comprising: providing an RF signal to an antenna system as an input (fig. 2A); transmitting the RF signal through a transmission line of the antenna system (col. 5 lines 22-27), the transmission line comprising an impedance matching network (col. 4 lines 53-56); transmitting the RF signal through a helical antenna element (33) having an axial center (vertical through hole 22); and radiating the RF signal away from the antenna system through the helical antenna element, wherein the transmission line is positioned at the axial center of the helical antenna element (See fig. 1-2, 2B).
Regarding claim 17, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 15.
Du also discloses wherein the matching network comprises a quarter-wave transformer, or stub (65-68).
Regarding claim 19, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 15.
Du also discloses wherein the antenna element is constructed from a conductive metallic material (col. 4 lines 42-43).
Regarding claim 20, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 15.
Du also discloses wherein the antenna system is configured to at least one of: transmit UHF frequency signals; and receive UHF frequency signals (col. 5 line 5, 1583 MHz is within UHF range).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du and further in view of Parsche et al. (US 20190089061 A1), herein referred to as Parsche.
Regarding claim 3, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Du also discloses the system further comprising a transmission line, however does not disclose wherein the transmission line is a TEM line, a microstrip line, a coaxial cable, or a dielectric waveguide.
However, transmission lines such as a coaxial cable, are well known in the art, as can be seen in Parsche (para. 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the antenna system of du wherein the transmission line is a coaxial cable, as taught by Parsche, to provide multiple conductors (para. 0011).
Regarding claim 16, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 15.
Du also discloses the system further comprising a transmission line, however does not disclose wherein the transmission line is a TEM line, a microstrip line, a coaxial cable, or a dielectric waveguide.
However, transmission lines such as a coaxial cable, are well known in the art, as can be seen in Parsche (para. 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the antenna system of du wherein the transmission line is a coaxial cable, as taught by Parsche, to provide multiple conductors (para. 0011).
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du and further in view of Min et al. (KR 20080027052 A), herein referred to as Min.
Regarding claim 6, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Du does not disclose wherein the backfire antenna element comprises a rectangular cross section.
However, Min discloses a helical antenna element which comprises a rectangular cross section (see fig. 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the antenna of Du wherein the backfire antenna element comprises a rectangular cross section, as taught by Min, in order to adjust radiating characteristics.
Regarding claim 18, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 15.
Du does not disclose wherein the antenna element comprises a rectangular cross section.
However, Min discloses a helical antenna element which comprises a rectangular cross section (see fig. 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the antenna of Du wherein the backfire antenna element comprises a rectangular cross section, as taught by Min, in order to adjust radiating characteristics.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du and further in view of JP 2008520143 A, herein referred to as JP'143.
Regarding claim 10, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Du does not disclose wherein the transmission line comprises a center conducting ground stub.
However, JP’143 does disclose wherein the transmission line comprises a center conducting ground stub (page 3 of attached, lines 2-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the antenna of Du where the transmission line comprises a center conducting ground stub, as taught by JP’143, in order to provide further impedance matching (page 3 of attached, lines 2-8).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du and further in view of O'Neill, JR et al. (US 20060022892 A1), herein referred to as O'Neill.
Regarding claim 13, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Du does not disclose configured to allow for relative thermal displacement between the antenna element and dielectric support structure.
However, O’Neill discloses an antenna (fig. 1), configured to allow for relative thermal displacement between the antenna element and dielectric support structure. (See tapes 23 and 24 attached to an end).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the antenna of Du wherein it is configured to allow for relative thermal displacement between the antenna element and dielectric support structure, as suggested by the teachings of O’Neill, to prevent damage from thermal expansion/displacement.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du and further in view of Lamensdorf et al. (US 6720935 B2), herein referred to as Lamensdorf.
Regarding claim 14, Du anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Du does not disclose wherein the transmission line further comprises a support structure for supporting the ground plane and antenna element.
However, Lamensdorf discloses a similar antenna wherein the transmission line (40) further comprises a support structure for supporting the ground plane (48) and antenna element (46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the system of Du wherein the transmission line further comprises a support structure for supporting the ground plane and antenna element, as taught by Lamensdorf, to provide structural support to the overall antenna.
Conclusion
/BRANDON SEAN WOODS/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845