DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 10-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 1, it is thought that –aa should be added after “having”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 19608275.
Regarding claim 1, DE19608275 discloses:
An assembly (Fig. 4), comprising: a first attachment portion (upper number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6); a second attachment portion (lower number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6); and a handle assembly (10; Fig. 1) pivotably attached to the first attachment portion and the second attachment portion, where such pivotal connection of the handle body 14 of the grab handle 10 to the first and second attachment portions (bearing bodies 16; Fig., 1) is described in para. [0031], lines 1-6), and the handle assembly (10; Fig. 1) is pivotable between a stowed position (shown in solid lines in Fig. 4) and a deployed position (shown in dashed lines in Fig. 4), wherein the handle assembly (10; Fig. 1) includes: a first telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portion; para. [0031], lines 7-9) pivotably attached (in that a guide piece (22; Fig. 4) of each telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4) is rotatably mounted about the axis of rotation (28; Fig. 1) of the bearing bolt (38; Fig. 1), where such bearing bolt (38; Fig. 1) is part of each bearing body (16; Fig. 1) and the bearing bodies correspond to the recited first and second attachment portions; see para. [0031], lines 1-9) to the first attachment portion (upper number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6); a second telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portion (16; Fig. 1); para. [0031], lines 7-9) pivotably attached (in a manner analogous to the first telescoping portion) to the second attachment portion (lower number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6); and a grab portion (14; Fig. 1) attached to the first telescoping portion and the second telescoping portion (the grab portion (14; Fig. 1) is slidably attached by way of stop element (26; Fig. 4) received in slotted hole (24; Fig. 4) of guide piece (22; Fig. 4) of each of the first and second telescoping portions (20; Fig. 4); see para. [0031], lines 7-15), wherein the first telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portions; para. [0031], lines 7-9) and the second telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portions; para. [0031], lines 7-9) are configured to move the grab portion (14; Fig. 1) between a retracted position (shown in solid lines in Fig. 4) and at least one extended position (shown in dashed lines in Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 19608275 in view of Baron US 9,789,797.
Regarding claim 2, DE 19608275 discloses:
The assembly of claim 1, as explained above, except for including a latch configured to retain the grab portion in the at least one extended position.
Notwithstanding, Baron discloses a handle assembly (12; Fig. 3) with a grab portion (20; Fig. 3) with a telescoping portion (30, 26b) Figs. 2 and 3. The telescoping portion has a latch in the form of a detent mechanism comprising spring loaded detents (col. 3, lines 45-48) and corresponding receiving holes (the lower three unnumbered circles in Figure 3 which are the same as the three circles identified by number 28 above; col. 3 lines 45-48). The latch retains the grab portion in an extended position. See Fig. 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the first and second telescoping portions of DE 19608275 with a latch in the form of a detent mechanism including detents and detent openings as taught by Baron with a reasonable expectation of success in order to maintain the grab portion in the deployed, extended position for continued use in such deployed, extended position.
Regarding claim 3, DE 19608275, in view of Baron, discloses:
The assembly of claim 2, as explained above, wherein the first telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portion (16; Fig. 1); para. [0031], lines 7-9) includes a first base segment (22; Fig. 4) pivotably attached (para. [0031], lines 7-9) to the first attachment portion (upper number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6) and a first intermediate segment (26; Fig. 4) in (slidable engagement; para. [0031], the last four lines) engagement with the first base segment (22; Fig. 4) and fixed relative to the grab portion (14; Fig. 1). See para. [0031], lines 7-15.
Regarding claim 4, DE 19608275, in view of Baron, discloses:
The assembly of claim 3, as explained above, wherein the second telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portion (16; Fig. 1); para. [0031], lines 7-9) includes a second base segment (the corresponding one of 22 in Fig. 4 associated with the second telescoping portion) pivotably attached (para. [0031], lines 7-9) to the second attachment portion (lower number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6) and a second intermediate segment (the corresponding one of 26 in Fig. 4 associated with the second telescoping portion) in (slidable engagement; para. [0031], the last four lines) engagement with the second base segment (the corresponding one of 22 in Fig. 4 associated with the second telescoping portion) and fixed relative to the grab portion (14; Fig. 1). See para. [0031], lines 7-15.
Regarding claim 5, DE 19608275, in view of Baron, discloses:
The assembly of claim 4, as explained above, wherein the latch (the detent mechanism taught by Baron) includes a first detent (of the detent mechanism) for engaging a first detent opening (of the detent mechanism) in the first base segment (22; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, DE 19608275, in view of Baron, discloses:
The assembly of claim 5, as explained above, wherein the latch (the detent mechanism taught by Baron) includes a second detent (of the detent mechanism) for engaging a second detent opening (of the detent mechanism) in the second base segment (the corresponding one of 22 in Fig. 4 associated with the second telescoping portion).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 19608275 in view of Baron US 9,789,797.
Regarding claim 14, DE 19608275 discloses:
A method of operating a grab handle (14; Fig. 1) on a vehicle (para. [0001], line 1), the method comprising: pivoting a handle assembly (10; Fig. 1) of the grab handle (14; Fig. 1) from a stowed position (shown in solid lines in Fig. 4) to a deployed position (shown in dashed lines in Fig. 4), by pivoting (from solid to dashed lines in Fig. 4) the handle assembly about a first attachment portion (upper number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6); fixed relative to the vehicle and a second attachment portion (lower number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6); fixed relative to the vehicle, wherein the handle assembly (10; Fig. 1) includes: a first telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portion; para. [0031], lines 7-9) pivotably attached (in that a guide piece (22; Fig. 4) of each telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4) is rotatably mounted about the axis of rotation (28; Fig. 1) of the bearing bolt (38; Fig. 1), where such bearing bolt (38; Fig. 1) is part of each bearing body (16; Fig. 1) and the bearing bodies correspond to the recited first and second attachment portions; see para. [0031], lines 1-9) to the first attachment portion (upper number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6); pivotably attached (in a manner analogous to the first telescoping portion) to the second attachment portion (lower number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6); and a grab portion (14; Fig. 1) attached to the first telescoping portion and the second telescoping portion (the grab portion (14; Fig. 1) is slidably attached by way of stop element (26; Fig. 4) received in slotted hole (24; Fig. 4) of guide piece (22; Fig. 4) of each of the first and second telescoping portions (20; Fig. 4); see para. [0031], lines 7-15), wherein the first telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portions; para. [0031], lines 7-9) and the second telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portions; para. [0031], lines 7-9) are configured to move the grab portion (14; Fig. 1) into at least one extended position (shown in dashed lines in Fig. 4) telescoping the grab portion (14; Fig. 1) to a desired longitudinal position (as shown in dashed lines in Fig. 4).
However, DE 19608275 does not disclose the step of activating a latch on the grab portion to secure the grab portion in the desired longitudinal position.
Notwithstanding, Baron discloses a handle assembly (12; Fig. 3) with a grab portion (20; Fig. 3) with a telescoping portion (30, 26b) Figs. 2 and 3. The telescoping portion has a latch on the grab portion in the form of a detent mechanism comprising spring loaded detents (col. 3 lines 45-48) and corresponding receiving holes (the lower three unnumbered circles in Figure 3 which are the same as the three circles identified by number 28 above; col. 3 lines 45-48). The latch retains the grab portion in an extended position. See Fig. 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the first and second telescoping portions of DE 19608275 with a latch in the form of a detent mechanism including detents and detent openings as taught by Baron with a reasonable expectation of success in order to maintain the grab portion in the deployed, extended position for continued use in such deployed, extended position.
Regarding claim 15, DE 19608275, in view of Baron, discloses:
The method of claim 14, as explained above, wherein the first telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portion (16; Fig. 1); para. [0031], lines 7-9) includes a first base segment (22; Fig. 4) pivotably attached (para. [0031], lines 7-9) to the first attachment portion (upper number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6) and a first intermediate segment (26; Fig. 4) in (slidable engagement; para. [0031], the last four lines) engagement with the first base segment (22; Fig. 4) and the grab portion (14; Fig. 1) and the second telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portion (16; Fig. 1); para. [0031], lines 7-9) includes a second base segment (the corresponding one of 22 in Fig. 4 associated with the second telescoping portion) pivotably attached (para. [0031], lines 7-9) to the second attachment portion (lower number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6) and a second intermediate segment (the corresponding one of 26 in Fig. 4 associated with the second telescoping portion) in (slidable engagement; para. [0031], the last four lines) engagement with the second base segment (the corresponding one of 22 in Fig. 4 associated with the second telescoping portion) and fixed relative to the grab portion (14; Fig. 1). See para. [0031], lines 7-15.
Regarding claim 16, DE 19608275, in view of Baron, discloses:
The method of claim 15, as explained above, wherein activating the latch (the detent mechanism taught by Baron) on the grab portion (as taught by Baron) includes moving a first detent (of the detent mechanism) on the latch (associated with the first telescoping portion) into engagement with a first detent opening (of the detent mechanism; associated with the first telescoping portion) and moving a second detent (of the detent mechanism; associated with the second telescoping portion) on the latch into engagement with a second detent opening (of the detent mechanism; associated with the second telescoping portion).
Regarding claim 17, DE 19608275, in view of Baron, discloses:
The method of claim 16, as explained above, wherein the first detent opening (of the latch detent mechanism taught by Baron) is at least partially defined by the first base segment (22; Fig. 4) and the second detent opening (of the latch detent mechanism taught by Baron) is defined by the second base segment (the corresponding one of 22 in Fig. 4 associated with the second telescoping portion).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 3828032 in view of DE 19608275.
Regarding claim 18, DE 3828032 discloses:
A vehicle (para. [0001], line 1), comprising: a passenger cabin (i.e., vehicle interior; para. [0020], line 1) at least partially defined by a vehicle body (roof 2; para. [0019], line 3), wherein the passenger cabin includes an egress opening (i.e., a door with upper edge (4; Fig. 1) and window pane (5; Fig. 1)) ; and a grab handle (6; Fig. 1) located adjacent the egress opening (as shown in Fig. 1). The grab handle is extendable between a stowed position (solid lines in Fig. 1) and a deployed position (dashed lines in Fig. 1).
However, the grab handle of DE 3828032 does not include the specific structural features recited in claim 18. Namely, that the grab handle includes: a first attachment portion fixed relative to the vehicle body; a second attachment portion fixed relative to the vehicle body; and a handle assembly pivotably attached to the first attachment portion and the second attachment portion and the handle assembly is pivotable between a stowed position and a deployed position, wherein the handle assembly includes: a first telescoping portion pivotably attached to the first attachment portion; a second telescoping portion pivotably attached to the second attachment portion; and a grab portion attached to the first telescoping portion and the second telescoping portion, wherein the first telescoping portion and the second telescoping portion are configured to move the grab portion between a retracted position and an extended position.
Notwithstanding, DE 19608275 discloses a vehicle mounted grab handle configuration, where the grab handle (14; Fig. 1) includes: a first attachment portion (upper number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6) fixed relative to the vehicle body; a second attachment portion (lower number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6); fixed relative to a vehicle body (para. [0001], line 1); and a handle assembly (10; Fig. 1) pivotably attached (in that a guide piece (22; Fig. 4) of each telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4) is rotatably mounted about the axis of rotation (28; Fig. 1) of the bearing bolt (38; Fig. 1), where such bearing bolt (38; Fig. 1) is part of each bearing body (16; Fig. 1) and the bearing bodies correspond to the recited first and second attachment portions; see para. [0031], lines 1-9) to the first attachment portion (upper number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6) and the second attachment portion (lower number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6); and the handle assembly is pivotable between a stowed position (shown in solid lines in Fig. 4) and a deployed position (shown in dashed lines in Fig. 4), wherein the handle assembly (10; Fig. 1) includes: a first telescoping portion( 20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portions; para. [0031], lines 7-9) pivotably attached (in that a guide piece (22; Fig. 4) of each telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4) is rotatably mounted about the axis of rotation (28; Fig. 1) of the bearing bolt (38; Fig. 1), where such bearing bolt (38; Fig. 1) is part of each bearing body (16; Fig. 1) and the bearing bodies correspond to the recited first and second attachment portions; see para. [0031], lines 1-9) to the first attachment portion (upper number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6); a second telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portion (16; Fig. 1); para. [0031], lines 7-9) pivotably attached (in a manner analogous to the first telescoping portion) to the second attachment portion (lower number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6); and a grab portion (14; Fig. 1) attached to the first telescoping portion and the second telescoping portion (the grab portion (14; Fig. 1) is slidably attached by way of stop element (26; Fig. 4) received in slotted hole (24; Fig. 4) of guide piece (22; Fig. 4) of each of the first and second telescoping portions (20; Fig. 4); see para. [0031], lines 7-15), wherein the first telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portions para. [0031], lines 7-9) and the second telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portions; para. [0031], lines 7-9) are configured to move the grab portion (14; Fig. 1) between a retracted position (shown in solid lines in Fig. 4) and an extended position (shown in dashed lines in Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to substitute the grab handle of DE 19608275 for that of DE 3828032 so that the grab handle includes: a first attachment portion fixed relative to the vehicle body; a second attachment portion fixed relative to the vehicle body; and a handle assembly pivotably attached to the first attachment portion and the second attachment portion and the handle assembly is pivotable between a stowed position and a deployed position, wherein the handle assembly includes: a first telescoping portion pivotably attached to the first attachment portion; a second telescoping portion pivotably attached to the second attachment portion; and a grab portion attached to the first telescoping portion and the second telescoping portion wherein the first telescoping portion and the second telescoping portion are configured to move the grab portion between a retracted position and an extended position as taught by DE 19608275 with a reasonable expectation of success in order to be able to attach the grab handle in a compact recess in the upper side area of the headliner so that requirements regarding adequate side impact protection can be met. Motivation provided by DE 19608275 in para. [0008], lines 3-5.
Regarding claim 19, DE 3828032, as modified by DE 19608275, discloses:
The vehicle of claim 18, as explained above, wherein the first telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portion (16; Fig. 1); para. [0031], lines 7-9) includes a first base segment (22; Fig. 4) pivotably attached (para. [0031], lines 7-9) to the first attachment portion (upper number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6) and a first intermediate segment (26; Fig. 4) in (slidable engagement; para. [0031], the last four lines) engagement with the first base segment (22; Fig. 4) and the grab portion (14; Fig. 1) and the second telescoping portion (20; Fig. 4; one of which is associated with each attachment portion (16; Fig. 1); para. [0031], lines 7-9) includes a second base segment (the corresponding one of 22 in Fig. 4 associated with the second telescoping portion) pivotably attached (para. [0031], lines 7-9) to the second attachment portion (lower number 16 in Fig. 1 which is disclosed as a bearing body; para. [0031], lines 1-6) and a second intermediate segment (the corresponding one of 26 in Fig. 4 associated with the second telescoping portion) in (slidable engagement; para. [0031], the last four lines) engagement with the second base segment (the corresponding one of 22 in Fig. 4 associated with the second telescoping portion) and fixed relative to the grab portion (14; Fig. 1). See para. [0031], lines 7-15.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 3828032 in view of DE 19608275, as applied above to claim 19, and further in view of Baron US 9,789,797.
Regarding claim 20, DE 3828032, as modified by DE 19608275, discloses:
The vehicle of claim 19, as explained above, except for including a latch having a first detent for engaging a first detent opening in at least one of the first base segment or the first intermediate segment and the latch includes a second detent for engaging a second detent opening in at least one of the second base segment or the second intermediate segment.
Notwithstanding, Baron discloses a handle assembly (12; Fig. 3) with a grab portion (20; Fig. 3) with a telescoping portion (30, 26b) Figs. 2 and 3. The telescoping portion has a latch in the form of a detent mechanism comprising spring loaded detents (col. 3 lines 45-48) and corresponding receiving holes (the lower three unnumbered circles in Figure 3 which are the same as the three circles identified by number 28 above; col. 3 lines 45-48). The latch retains the grab portion in an extended position. See Fig. 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the first and second telescoping portions of DE 19608275 with a latch in the form of a detent mechanism including detents and detent openings for each base segment as taught by Baron with a reasonable expectation of success in order to maintain the grab portion in the deployed, extended position for continued use in such deployed, extended position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The recitation in claim 7 that the first detent and the second detent are each attached to a connecting rod is neither taught nor fairly suggested by the prior art of record. Specifically, Baron US 9,789,797, the closest prior art for disclosing an extensible handle grab portion with a latching mechanism, discloses a singular attachment portion (24; Figs. 2 and 3) including the latch mechanism (col. 3, lines 45-48) and thus fails to disclose two attachment portions with latches that are each attached to a connecting rod.
Claims 8 and 9 are considered to contain allowable subject matter at least due to their ultimate dependence upon claim 7 which contains allowable subject matter.
The recitation in claim 10 of a first damper having a first end fixed relative to the first base segment and a second end fixed relative to the grab portion is neither taught nor fairly suggested by the prior art of record. Specifically, Hansen, the closest prior art of record teaches a damper (10; Fig. 2) for a vehicle handle (34; Fig. 1), however it is a friction damper implemented for rotational movement of the handle about a rotation axis (col. 3, lines 1-10) rather than between a base segment of a telescoping portion and the grab portion of the handle as required by claim 10.
Claim 11 is considered to contain allowable subject matter at least due to its dependence upon claim 10 which contains allowable subject matter.
The recitation in claim 12 that the first base segment, the first intermediate segment, the second base segment, and the second intermediate segment each include a reinforcement plate is neither taught nor fairly suggested by the prior art of record. Specifically, DE19608275, the closest prior art of record, fails to disclose any plates associated with the first intermediate segment, the second base segment, and the second intermediate segment that could be considered a reinforcement plate.
The recitation in claim 13 of a deployment retainer configured to engage the first attachment portion and the handle assembly to maintain the handle assembly in the deployed position is neither taught nor fairly suggested by the prior art of record. DE19608275, the closest prior art of record, fails to disclose a mechanism which engages the first attachment portion which maintains the handle assembly in the deployed position.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 2614515 discloses a handle assembly with telescoping portions (50, 60, 70; Fig. 1), a detent latching arrangement (unnumbered in Fig. 1) and a grab portion (11; Fig. 1). However, the reference fails to disclose first and second attachment portions as recited in claim 1.
Smith US 4,169,623 discloses an extendable handle for a vehicle movable between a stowed position (Fig. 4) and a deployed position (Fig. 2). However, the reference lacks a detent connecting rod, a damper, a reinforcement plate and a deployment retainer as recited in current claims 7, 10, 12 and 13, respectively.
KR 1998-0128347 discloses an extendable grab handle (14; Figs. 2 and 4) for a vehicle disposed over a point of egress (see Fig. 2). However, the reference lacks a detent connecting rod, a damper, a reinforcement plate and a deployment retainer as recited in current claims 7, 10, 12 and 13, respectively.
Steck et al. US 11,623,555 discloses a vehicle handle (1; Fig. 1C) which pivots between stowed and deployed positions. However, the reference lacks telescoping portions as recited in claim 1.
Conclusion
/Joseph D. Pape/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612