DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication (preliminary amendment) filed on 05/30/2025.
Status of claims in the instant application:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10-11, 14, 16-18, and 20 have been amended.
No claim has been added or canceled.
Election/Restrictions
No claim restrictions warranted at the applicant’s initial time of filing for patent.
Priority
This application is a CON of 18/481,394 filed on 10/05/2023 now PAT 12,107,968 which is a CON of 18/061,708 filed on 12/05/2022 now PAT 11,799,667.
Information Disclosure Statement
No Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) has been filed by the Applicant.
Drawings
Drawings filed on 09/26/2024 have been inspected, and it’s in compliance with MPEP 608.02.
Specification
Specification filed on 09/26/2024 has been inspected and it’s in compliance with MPEP 608.01.
Claim Interpretation
No claim interpretation is warranted under 35 USC 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 11 recites:
“A method for validating authenticity of a wireless chipset affixed to a physical object and identifying a digital asset correlated with the wireless chipset, the method comprising:
receiving, from a wireless chipset, identification information, wherein the wireless chipset is affixed to a carrier object and includes:
non-transitory electronic storage that stores the identification information, and one or more hardware processors;
verifying, subsequent to receiving the identification information from the wireless chipset, authenticity of the wireless chipset;
determining, subsequent to receiving the identification information from the wireless chipset, a storage system address on a remote file storage system associated with the wireless chipset from the identification information, wherein determining the storage system address includes identifying a file in the remote file storage system storing some or all of the identification information; and
analyzing the file in the remote file storage system storing some or all of the identification information to determine an identifier of the digital asset on the distributed ledger correlated with the storage system address”.
Examiner notes that the bolded and underlined verifying, determining, and determine limitations/steps of claim 11 above can be interpreted as being performed in human mind – an abstract idea (with the help of pencil and paper) by comparing some data/tag/identifier. This is considered a mental process, which is one of the 3 categories of an abstract idea. The remaining features of claim 11 are to obtain data (i.e. transmit/send/store – communicate data). The transmit/receive/store of data is part of everyday communication over network – is just an insignificant extra solution activity (mpep 2106.05(g)). Furthermore, claim do not recite additional limitations that can be considered to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. It’s also noted that there is no additional element in the claim that can be considered as significantly more than the previously identified abstract ide.
Therefore claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Also, dependent claims 12-13 and 15-20 recite limitations similar to that of claim 11, hence they are also rejected as claim 11.
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are also rejected for reasons similar to that of claims 11-13 and 15-20 respectively.
Appropriate corrections required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,107,968. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are just broader version of claims of the issued patent 12,107,968 that make the claims of the instant application obvious.
Instant Application
Reference Patent (12,107,968)
1. A system configured to validate authenticity of a wireless chipset and to identify a digital asset stored on a distributed ledger correlated with the wireless chipset, the system comprising: one or more hardware processors configured by machine-readable instructions to: receive, from a wireless chipset affixed to a carrier object, identification information; verify, subsequent to receiving the identification information from the wireless chipset, authenticity of the wireless chipset using the identification information; determine, subsequent to receiving the identification information from the wireless chipset, a storage system address on a remote file storage system associated with the wireless chipset from the identification information, wherein determining the storage system address includes identifying a file in the remote file storage system storing some or all of the identification information; analyze the file in the remote file storage system storing some or all of the identification information to determine an identifier of the digital asset on the distributed ledger, the digital asset being correlated with the storage system address.
1. A system configured to validate authenticity of a wireless chipset and to identify a digital asset stored on a distributed ledger correlated with the wireless chipset, the system comprising: a wireless transducer configured to communicate information via a wireless protocol; one or more hardware processors configured by machine-readable instructions to: receive, from a wireless chipset affixed to a carrier object, identification information; verify, responsive to receiving the identification information from the wireless chipset, authenticity of the wireless chipset using the identification information and further wireless communication with the wireless chipset; determine, responsive to receiving the identification information of the wireless chipset, a storage system address on a remote file storage system associated with the wireless chipset from the identification information, wherein determining the storage system address includes identifying a file in the remote file storage system storing some or all of the identification information; obtain a copy of the file in the remote file storage system from the storage system address in the remote file storage system; and determine, from the copy of the file in the remote file storage system, an identifier of a digital asset on a distributed ledger, the digital asset being correlated with the storage system address.
2. (Previously Presented) The system of claim 1, wherein the wireless chipset includes non-transitory electronic storage that stores the identification information, wherein the identification information includes one or more of a unique identifier of the wireless chipset, a manufacturer identifier of the wireless chipset, or a digital signature, wherein the unique identifier and the manufacturer identifier are also stored on the remote file storage system at the storage system address on the remote file storage system.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the wireless chipset includes non-transitory electronic storage that stores the identification information, wherein the identification information includes one or more of a unique identifier of the wireless chipset, a manufacturer identifier of the wireless chipset, or a digital signature, wherein the unique identifier and the manufacturer identifier are also stored on the remote file storage system at the storage system address on the remote file storage system.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the identification information is received responsive to scanning the wireless chipset.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the identification information is received responsive to scanning the wireless chipset, wherein scanning the wireless chipset includes the wireless transducer being near the wireless chipset.
4. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 1, wherein the wireless chipset includes non-transitory electronic storage that stores an encryption key, wherein the further wireless communication with the wireless chipset includes: sending challenge information to be encrypted for further verification of authenticity of the wireless chipset, receiving, from the wireless chipset, encrypted response information that is based on encryption of the challenge information, wherein the encryption uses the encryption key, and verifying, responsive to receiving the encrypted response information from the wireless chipset, the challenge information has been encrypted as expected by the wireless chipset.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the wireless chipset includes non-transitory electronic storage that stores an encryption key, wherein the further wireless communication with the wireless chipset includes: sending challenge information to be encrypted by the wireless chipset for further verification of authenticity of the wireless chipset, receiving, from the wireless chipset, encrypted response information, wherein the encrypted response information is generated by the wireless chipset encrypting the challenge information, and verifying, responsive to receiving the encrypted response information from the wireless chipset, the challenge information has been encrypted as expected by the wireless chipset.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to: retrieve, from the distributed ledger, information associated with the digital asset.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to: retrieve, from the distributed ledger, information associated with the digital asset.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to: receive information regarding the carrier object from the wireless chipset; and store the information on the distributed ledger, wherein storing the information on the distributed ledger associates the information with the digital asset.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to: receive information regarding the carrier object from the wireless chipset; and store the information on the distributed ledger, wherein storing the information on the distributed ledger associates the information with the digital asset.
7. The system of claim 6, wherein the wireless chipset includes: sensors recording activity information of the carrier object or environment surrounding the carrier object, and non-transitory electronic storage that stores sensor data, wherein the sensor data represents the activity including information recorded by the sensors, wherein the information regarding the carrier object includes some or all of the sensor data.
7. The system of claim 6, wherein the wireless chipset includes: sensors recording activity information of the carrier object or environment surrounding the carrier object, and non-transitory electronic storage that stores sensor data, the sensor data including information recorded by the sensors, wherein the information regarding the carrier object includes some or all of the sensor data.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein at least some of the identification information is stored on the distributed ledger.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the identification information is stored on the distributed ledger.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the digital asset is generated with a smart contract using the identification information, wherein the smart contract is a computer program or protocol stored on the distributed ledger.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the digital asset is generated with a smart contract using the identification information, wherein the smart contract is a computer program or protocol stored on the distributed ledger.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein at least some of the identification information is stored separately from the distributed ledger.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the identification information is stored separately from the distributed ledger.
Claims 11-20 of the instant application are also rejected for the same reasons as claims 1-10 over claims 11-20 of the reference patent. Claims 11-20 are just a set of parallel method claims, and claims 11-20 of the reference patent are also parallel method claims of the system claims 1-10.
Claims 1-20 are also rejected under nonstatutory double over claims 1-12 of reference patent 11,799,667.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No.: US 20220398601 A1 to Anastas et al. (hereinafter “Anastas”) in view of Pub. No.: US 20210072928 A1 to Winarski (hereinafter “Winarski”).
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Anastas discloses A system configured to validate authenticity of a wireless chipset and to identify a digital asset stored on a distributed ledger correlated with the wireless chipset (Anastas, Abstract, Para [0007], FIG. 5: … A system for verifying the authenticity of physical goods uses an NFC tag embedded in the product. An NFC reader positioned within range of the tag reads a unique identification number from the tag. The unique identification number may be used to generate an authentication code. During production, the manufacturer generates a blockchain record as a function of the authentication code … The authentication code and at least one additional identifier corresponding to the manufacturer are then stored as a record in a blockchain. The record in the blockchain establishes a relationship between the unique identifier stored on the NFC tag and the manufacturer that is immutable for the lifetime of the product …), the system comprising:
one or more hardware processors configured by machine-readable instructions (Anastas, Para [0028, 0034]: … The mobile device 30 includes a processor 32 in communication with memory 38. The processor 32 may include a single processor or multiple processors. The processors may operate synchronously or asynchronously. Optionally, a single processor may include multiple processing cores, where each processor and/or core may execute one or more applications. The memory 38 may include volatile memory, non-volatile memory, or a combination thereof. The memory 38 stores an operating system and applications configured to be executed by the processor 32 …) to:
receive, from a wireless chipset affixed to a carrier object, identification information (Anastas, Para [0033, 0035], FIG. 4-5: … With reference also to FIG. 5, each tag 22 includes a unique identifier 24 and is configured to store a limited amount of data. The tag reader 120 is configured for bidirectional communication between the computing device 102 and the NFC tag 22. The tag reader 120 is configured to communicate via near field communication with the NFC tag 22, and the tag reader 120 is further configured to communicate with a first communication interface 114 on the computing device. The first communication interface 114 may be a wired or wireless communication interface according to the requirements of the tag reader 120. The tag reader 120 is configured to read a unique identifier 24 from the NFC tag 22 … In operation, the tag 22 mounted to a product 20 …);
verify, subsequent to receiving the identification information from the wireless chipset, authenticity of the wireless chipset using the identification information (Anastas, Abstract, Para [0033-0035, 0039, 0044-0046, 0008], FIG. 4-5: … the mobile device accesses the record in the blockchain and obtains the identifier corresponding to the manufacturer. Based upon scanning the NFC tag, the consumer is thereby able to obtain an identifier of the manufacturer to ensure authenticity of the product being purchased … The computing device includes a second communication interface 116. In some embodiments, the first and second communication interfaces may be a common interface. The second communication interface 116 is configured to communicate via the network 50 to the authentication server 70 and to ledger nodes 60 … In operation, the tag 22 mounted to a product 20 allows a consumer, C, to verify the authenticity of the product. The tag 22 is mounted to the product 20 in a manner where tampering with the tag after mounting is evident. The tag 22 may be provided in a number of different forms … After establishing a secure communication channel between the authentication server 70 and the mobile device 30, the unique identifier 24 is transmitted from the mobile device 30 to the authentication server 70. According to one embodiment of the invention, the encrypted unique identifier 24 may be transmitted along with the initial request by the mobile device 30 to establish a secure communication channel … the authentication code 202 generated for the consumer, C, is identical to the authentication code 202 generated for the manufacturer for the same unique identifier 24. The authentication server 70 returns the authentication code 202 to the mobile device 30 …; Examiner’s note: The process of verifying the product is done through verifying the tag attached to the product, thus authenticating the tag (i.e. chipset) after receiving the identifier);
determine, subsequent to receiving the identification information from the wireless chipset, a storage system address on a remote file storage system associated with the wireless chipset from the identification information, wherein determining the storage system address includes identifying a file in the remote file storage system storing some or all of the identification information (Anastas, Abstract, Para [0041]: … With reference to FIG. 6, the steps performed by the manufacturer to register each tag 22 in a blockchain are illustrated. The NFC reader 120 at the workstation 100 is used to scan a tag 22 mounted to a product 20. The NFC reader 120 requests the unique identifier 24 from the tag 22, and the tag 22 transmits the unique identifier 24 back to the NFC reader 120. Along with the unique identifier 24, the NFC tag 22 transmits the URL of the authentication server 70. The computing device 102 at the workstation 100 uses the URL to establish communication with the authentication server 70 and transmits the unique identifier 24 to the authentication server 70. After generating the authentication code 202, the authentication server 70 returns the authentication code (illustrated as Return RO) to the computing device 102. The computing device 102 then establishes communication with a blockchain manager and requests that the blockchain manager create an initial record 200 in the blockchain associating the tag 22 with the authentication code. Upon adding the initial record 200 to the blockchain, the blockchain manager returns an acknowledgement to the computing device …);
However, Anastas does not explicitly teach, but Winarski from same or similar field of endeavor teaches:
“analyze the file in the remote file storage system storing some or all of the identification information to determine an identifier of the digital asset on the distributed ledger, the digital asset being correlated with the storage system address (Winarski, Abstract, Para [0003], FIG. 2, 4: … An archival blockchain system is disclosed that includes a cache-tier storage level where data is stored before it has met a first aging criteria, a disk-tier storage level where the data is migrated to and stored within archival blockchain blocks after it has met the first aging criteria. When the archival blockchain blocks containing the data meet a second aging criteria they are migrated to a tape-tier storage level where the disk-tier archival blockchain blocks are stored within another archival blockchain block stored on the tape-tier. This archival blockchain system also includes a blockchain appliance in digital data communication with the cache-tier, disk-tier, and tape-tier storage levels that maintains a ledger that stores data pointers to the data stored on the cache-tier, disk-tier, and tape-tier storage levels to logically link them into a contiguous data set … the method bundles multiple groups of the blockchain blocks stored in the disk-tier storage level that have reached a second blockchain block aging criteria into a set for storage in a tape-tier storage level. The method may also maintain a ledger containing data pointers to the blockchain blocks stored across the cache-tier, the disk-tier, and the tape-tier storage levels logically linking them together into the contiguous blockchain …).”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Winarski into the teachings of Anastas, because it discloses that, “a method for receiving a data stream and configuring it into a blockchain technology for storage across a multi-tiered storage system according to a secondary embodiment of the present specification in which blockchain blocks are migrated across a multi-tiered storage system based on aging parameters with a blockchain ledger that tracks the storage locations of the blockchain blocks where the blockchain blocks are secured with a secondary archival blockchain that wraps and secures blockchain blocks as they are moved from the cache storage tier to the disk storage tier and the tape storage tier (Winarski, Para [0016])”.
Regarding Claim 2. (Previously Presented) The combination of Anastas-Winarski discloses the system of claim 1, Anastas further discloses, “wherein the wireless chipset includes non-transitory electronic storage that stores the identification information (Anastas, Para [0007, 0027]: … Each NFC tag includes a unique identification number stored on the tag which may be read by the NFC reader … The tag 22 includes a unique identifier 24 stored in non-volatile memory included within the tag …), wherein the identification information includes one or more of a unique identifier of the wireless chipset (Anastas, Para [0033]: … With reference also to FIG. 5, each tag 22 includes a unique identifier 24 …), a manufacturer identifier of the wireless chipset, or a digital signature, wherein the unique identifier and the manufacturer identifier are also stored on the remote file storage system at the storage system address on the remote file storage system (Anastas, Para [0007]: … Each NFC tag includes a unique identification number stored on the tag which may be read by the NFC reader. During production, the manufacturer uses the unique identifier to create an authentication code. The authentication code and at least one additional identifier corresponding to the manufacturer are then stored as a record in a blockchain. The record in the blockchain establishes a relationship between the unique identifier stored on the NFC tag and the manufacturer that is immutable for the lifetime of the product …).”
Regarding Claim 3. (Previously Presented) The combination of Anastas-Winarski discloses the system of claim 1, Anastas further discloses, “wherein the identification information is received responsive to scanning the wireless chipset (Anastas, Para [0009]: … According to one embodiment of the invention, a method for verifying authenticity of a product includes scanning a tag mounted to the product with a mobile device, receiving at the mobile device a unique identifier corresponding to the tag, and transmitting the unique identifier to an authentication sever …).”
Regarding Claim 5. (Previously Presented) The combination of Anastas-Winarski discloses the system of claim 1, Anastas further discloses, “wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to:
retrieve, from the distributed ledger, information associated with the digital asset (Anastas, Abstract, Para [0007-0008]: … During production, the manufacturer generates a blockchain record as a function of the authentication code. The blockchain record includes at least one additional identifier corresponding to the manufacturer. A consumer uses a mobile device to read the NFC tag and obtains the authentication code as a function of the unique identification number. Having the authentication code, the mobile device accesses the record in the blockchain and obtains the identifier corresponding to the manufacturer … the authentication code and at least one additional identifier corresponding to the manufacturer are then stored as a record in a blockchain. The record in the blockchain establishes a relationship between the unique identifier stored on the NFC tag and the manufacturer that is immutable for the lifetime of the product …).”
Regarding Claim 6. (Currently Amended) The combination of Anastas-Winarski discloses the system of claim 1, Anastas further discloses, “wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to:
receive information regarding the carrier object (Anastas, Abstract, Para [0009-0010]: … a method for verifying authenticity of a product includes scanning a tag mounted to the product with a mobile device, receiving at the mobile device a unique identifier corresponding to the tag, and transmitting the unique identifier to an authentication sever … According to other aspects of the invention, the tag is mounted to the product in a manner where tampering with the tag after mounting is evident. The record includes at least one additional identifier of either a manufacturer of the product or of the product and the at least one additional identifier is displayed on the mobile device …); and
store the information on the distributed ledger, wherein storing the information on the distributed ledger associates the information with the digital asset (Anastas, Para [0007]: … During production, the manufacturer uses the unique identifier to create an authentication code. The authentication code and at least one additional identifier corresponding to the manufacturer are then stored as a record in a blockchain. The record in the blockchain establishes a relationship between the unique identifier stored on the NFC tag and the manufacturer that is immutable for the lifetime of the product …)”.
Regarding Claim 8. (Currently Amended) The combination of Anastas-Winarski discloses the system of claim 1, Anastas further discloses, “wherein at least some of the identification information is stored on the distributed ledger (Anastas, Para [0007]: … During production, the manufacturer uses the unique identifier to create an authentication code. The authentication code and at least one additional identifier corresponding to the manufacturer are then stored as a record in a blockchain. The record in the blockchain establishes a relationship between the unique identifier stored on the NFC tag and the manufacturer that is immutable for the lifetime of the product …).”
Regarding Claim 10. (Currently Amended) The combination of Anastas-Winarski discloses the system of claim 1, Anastas further discloses, “wherein at least some of the identification information is stored separately from the distributed ledger (Anastas, Para [0007]: … Each NFC tag includes a unique identification number stored on the tag which may be read by the NFC reader …).”
Regarding Claims 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18 and 20. Claims 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18 and 20 contain all the same or similar limitations as claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8 and 10 respectively; and hence similarly rejected as claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8 and 10 respectively.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No.: US 20220398601 A1 to Anastas et al. (hereinafter “Anastas”) in view of Pub. No.: US 20210072928 A1 to Winarski (hereinafter “Winarski”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pub. No.: US 20150134552 A1 to ENGELS et al. (hereinafter “ENGELS”)
Regarding Claim 4. (Currently Amended) The combination of Anastas-Winarski discloses the system of claim 1, Anastas further discloses, “wherein the wireless chipset includes non-transitory electronic storage that stores an encryption key (Anastas, Para [0010]: … According to still other aspects of the invention, the unique identifier may be encrypted as a function of a public key stored on the tag, and the authentication server may include a private key to decrypt the unique identifier before the authentication code is generated. The authentication code may be a cipher-based message authentication code …), wherein the further wireless communication with the wireless chipset includes:
However, the combination of Anastas-Winarski does not explicitly disclose, but ENGELS from same or similar field of endeavor teaches:
“sending challenge information to be encrypted for further verification of authenticity of the wireless chipset (ENGELS, Para [0011, 0068, 0123], FIG. 7: … the authentication application configures the processor to: generate a first challenge data, send the first challenge data to a tagging device … The tagging device may comprise a first encryption key, and the first challenge response may comprise the first challenge data encrypted with the first encryption key … FIG. 7 illustrates a messaging diagram 600 of a process for authenticating a cryptographically enabled tagging device. The process 600 may begin at step 602 with the reading device 120 sending a first challenge message to the tagging device 112 …),
receiving, from the wireless chipset, encrypted response information that is based on encryption of the challenge information, wherein the encryption uses the encryption key, (ENGELS, Para [0068, 0124], FIG. 7: … At step 604, the tagging device may encrypt the challenge data in the challenge message. In an embodiment, the tagging device 112 may use a private key stored in the tagging device to encrypt the challenge data. In some embodiments, the tagging device 112 may use a private key to sign the challenge data. The tagging device 112 may then send the encrypted challenge data as a first response back to the reading device 120 in step 606 …) and
verifying, responsive to receiving the encrypted response information from the wireless chipset, the challenge information has been encrypted as expected wireless chipset (ENGELS, Para [0068, 0123-0124, 0054, 0099], FIG. 7: … The tagging device 112 may then send the encrypted challenge data as a first response back to the reading device 120 in step 606 … The reading device 120 may communicate with an authentication system 170, which may be a local authentication system 122 and/or a server based authentication system 170. The local authentication system 122 may be an application that executes on the reading device 120. The local authentication system 122 can communicate with the authentication system 170 to assist in the authentication process based upon the data and other information obtained from the tagging device 112 and one or more reading devices … In an embodiment, the authentication application 122 may also be configured to execute on the processor 308 to perform an authentication or verification process for the tagging device. In addition to mediating the communications with the tagging device, the authentication application 122 may serve to compare one or more communications, responses, data, or other indicators to determine when the tagging device is verified or authenticated. For example, the authentication application 122 may receive an expected response from the authentication system and compare that response with a response received from a tagging device resulting from a challenge …).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ENGELS into the combined teachings of Anastas-Winarski, because it discloses that, “authentication step may ensure that the user requesting the ownership change request actually possesses the item, thereby reducing the likelihood that the request is directed to an item not in the user's possession. In order to authenticate the tagging device, the reading device may obtain the tagging device data from the tagging device, for example by reading a bar code, communicating with an RFID chip, or the like. The information may then be sent to the authentication server to authenticate the tagging device. When the tagging device comprises cryptographic functionality, the authentication application may mediate a one-way or mutual authentication between the authentication server and the tagging device, for example, using the mutual authentication processes described herein (ENGELS, Para [0161])”.
Regarding Claim 14. Claim 14 contains all the same or similar limitations as claim 4; and hence similarly rejected as claim 4.
Claims 7, 9, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No.: US 20220398601 A1 to Anastas et al. (hereinafter “Anastas”) in view of Pub. No.: US 20210072928 A1 to Winarski (hereinafter “Winarski”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pub. No.: US 20200288284 A1 to Klein (hereinafter “Klein”)
Regarding Claim 7. (Currently Amended) The combination of Anastas-Winarski discloses the system of claim 6, however it does not explicitly disclose but Klein from same or similar field of endeavor teaches, “wherein the wireless chipset includes:
sensors recording activity information of the carrier object or environment surrounding the carrier object (Klein, Para [0008, 0053]: … Some embodiments comprise reporting device data based on calculated or transmitted location, temperature, movement, or chain of custody data so shipment data can be transferred to or traded according to smart contracts in the blockchain … The method, and blockchain technology described herein may be applied to compare data transmitted and received from the small form factor client device, placed inside or on a time-critical package 76, so its real-time ownership, temperature data reported by thermometer inside the accelerometer 67 acting as a temperature reporting data sensor, and location by access points and their signal strength are received by device Wi-Fi receiver 17 reporting nearby Wi-Fi access point data to microcontroller module 73, and further transmitted by GSM radio method 6, so it can be recorded, shared and managed in a distributed ledger and distributed standard under ledger systems 69 in a remote blockchain database 65 …), and
non-transitory electronic storage that stores sensor data, wherein the sensor data represents the activity information recorded by the sensors (Klein, Para [0043-0044]: … Transmission over the GSM network 12 demands more energy than any other operation performed by the device. Determining the right moment to transmit is then very important for power efficiency. The tracking device 11 includes an accelerometer module 5 with firmware built-on that allows MCU 20 to detect and process data from the activity, even minor vibration or other movements …), wherein the information regarding the carrier object includes some or all of the sensor data (Klein, Para [0059, 0061-0062]: … The system estimates the mobile device's current geographic location, latitude and longitude, by using as references one more Wi-Fi signals for location reporting of the package from the attached client device, within range. This can also be complemented or augmented by using Cell-ID location data that the attached mobile device receives … The GSM location message transmissions by the package-positioning device can also be enabled to add high-grade proven cryptography targeted at small form factor devices and building around that additional security application services such as device identity management. Such cryptography can be added into smart baggage tags and connecting package devices to airline and airport enterprise applications via a secure M2M/IoT cloud application addressing IATA 753 airline industry standard but it also addresses, for example, airport concerns about the security of smart baggage tags and other trackers and the potential creation of millions of insecure mobile hackable endpoints … Incorporating blockchain in combination with the IoT enabled sensor device attached onto or placed inside packages can add real-time ownership and location journey of package shipments to be shared and managed in a distributed ledger enabling AirTrace Service to be part of a distributed standard …).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Klein into the combined teachings of Anastas-Winarski, because it discloses that, “method of not storing data directly in client device for later retrieval or access assures package shipment parties remote blockchain permission-based access to complete location, ownership and temperature data during and after delivery points in the shipment's journey that is trustworthy by the blockchain technology method as it provides access to an immutable and distributed ledger to better validate trackable ownership, device locations and telemetry data reported that is independently stored with time stamp receipt data from the client device, and sent by GSM data transmissions to a remote special purpose computer database server storage with blockchain technology that can't be hacked (Klein, Para [0054])”.
Regarding Claim 9. (Previously Presented) The combination of Anastas-Winarski discloses the system of claim 8, however it does not explicitly disclose but Klein from same or similar field of endeavor teaches, “wherein the digital asset is generated with a smart contract using the identification information, wherein the smart contract is a computer program or protocol stored on the distributed ledger (Klein, Para [0052-0055]: … The flow chart of FIG. 7 is an exemplary diagram of the method steps and process 64 of smart contract implementation. The method shows how the computer server with client device 76 described herein may be implemented, along with the location and temperature reporting involved in blockchain technology and a blockchain database system 65 remote from the client device, with smart contract interactions associated to a single and specific package shipment 66 transported by aircraft or truck … The information about the shipment nearby Wi-Fi location access points received by Wi-Fi antenna 8 and associated movement and temperature data reported from accelerometer 67 is transmitted with nearby Wi-Fi access point location data received, together with other identifying data received from client device 76, after transmission by GSM radio module 6 for comparison in Wi-Fi access point location database 68 that can also interface with the blockchain database for trade by smart contract 75 … the smart contract 70 can automatically execute an agreement between client device 11 and distributed ledger 69 and access to the blockchain database 65 data stream will automatically be provided by remote special computer server 71, By storing and executing smart contracts on blockchain database 65 a permission-less model is provided that allows the device 76 to join the blockchain database 65 to record, access and make use of the real-time device telemetry data stream 72 from client device 76 to include Wi-FI receiver data 17 even when there is no relationship between client device 76 and distributed ledger 69 and each device may be unknown and un-trusted to the other…).”
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Klein into the combined teachings of Anastas-Winarski, because it discloses that, “method of not storing data directly in client device for later retrieval or access assures package shipment parties remote blockchain permission-based access to complete location, ownership and temperature data during and after delivery points in the shipment's journey that is trustworthy by the blockchain technology method as it provides access to an immutable and distributed ledger to better validate trackable ownership, device locations and telemetry data reported that is independently stored with time stamp receipt data from the client device, and sent by GSM data transmissions to a remote special purpose computer database server storage with blockchain technology that can't be hacked (Klein, Para [0054])”.
Regarding Claims 17 and 19. Claims 17 and 19 contain all the same or similar limitations as claims 7 and 9 respectively; and hence similarly rejected as claims 7 and 9 respectively.
Pertinent Prior Arts
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20210103938 A1; Bulawski et al.: Bulawski discloses A method that includes receiving, by an application executing on a first computing device, from an NFC reader, a unique identifier of an NFC tag. A second computing device stores an identification of the product and the unique identifier of the NFC tag in a blockchain. The second computing device receives, from a third computing device, a request for a determination of authenticity of the NFC tag. The second computing device requests, from the blockchain, an indication of whether the unique identifier of the NFC tag is stored in association with the identification of the product and an indication of ownership. The second computing device receives confirmation that the unique identifier of the NFC tag is stored in association with the identification of the product and the indication of ownership. The second computing device provides, to the third computing device, the confirmation.
The disclosure relates to methods for authenticating products. More particularly, the methods and systems described herein relate to functionality for authenticating physical products through the use of Near Field Communication (NFC) tags and recording authentication transactions on the blockchain.
US 20060097046 A1; Baru Fassio et al.: Baru Fassio discloses A system for luggage self-tracking/identification during air travel involves a programmable, wireless LAN active transceiver preferably located inside each piece of luggage, with controlled access to the airlines' luggage tracking networks. Prior to a flight, each transceiver is loaded with the passenger's itinerary, and logged in the airline's network at check-in. Each transceiver is uniquely identifiable by the luggage tracking network. An example of a preferred identifier would be the utilization of its Medium Access Control (MAC) and its alphanumeric serial keyword to provide unique and secure registration/identification of the transceiver in the airline's network. During the trip, which may include different stopovers before reaching the final destination, the transceiver is able to automatically compare its programmed itinerary with its current location via wireless access to the airports and aircraft wireless LANs. In this way, the transceiver is able to notify airline personnel if there is a disagreement between its programmed itinerary and its current location, thus preventing misrouting. The transceiver's itinerary can be wirelessly re-programmed by airline personnel/network to account for flight changes or delays. Finally, the transceiver has an internal timer that starts counting down from the expected "total traveling time", accounting for flight changes or delays. If this timer elapses without the itinerary being complete, the transceiver connects to a wireless access point (hotspot) to report itself as a missing luggage, avoiding a worldwide tracking initiative and speeding up recovery time.
This invention relates to an automated system for self-tracking/identification of assets handled by airline companies.
US 20240070233 A1; Blackburn et al.: Blackburn discloses system for reporting digital data representing objects or events comprising: a capture device in communication with an immutable storage system; computer instructions adapted to: capture a digital asset identification; retrieve digital asset registration from the immutable storage system according to the digital asset identification wherein the digital asset registration includes metadata taken from the group consisting of a location information, a temporal information, an individual information, an object information, an asset type, a creation information, a description, and any combination thereof, displaying a graphical representation of the location, the temporal information includes a date and time the digital asset registration was recorded on the storage system, wherein the creation information includes a validation type, individual information, and a storage type, and, calculate a digital asset rating level according to the validation type, individual information, and storage type, and associate the digital asset rating level with the digital asset registration.
A system for immutability verifying, recording, and storing digital representation of physical object and events including associating the object or event with an identifier which can include a unique identifier that is received by the system or created by the system.
US 20180144298 A1; RANKIN: RANKIN discloses a secure tracking method and apparatus for cargo in a physical commodity (a container for physical goods) is provided. A wireless ID communicator is provided in each container. A receiver on a transporter (a ship, truck, airplane, or drone) receives periodic goods status updates from a plurality of wireless ID communicators in containers on the transporter. The status updates are transmitted to a central blockchain maintained in a central blockchain database remote from the transporter. The status updates are also added to a local sidechain of the blockchain maintained in a side chain database on the transporter.
US 20200051015 A1; Davis et al.: Davis discloses A shipping package (1) comprising an enclosure for receiving content within, a closure (14) for sealing the enclosure, a label comprising shipping information, a network module (380), a sensor module (382), and a battery module (384). The battery module provides power to the network module and the sensor module. The sensor module (382) providing location information to the network module, the network module transmits a shipping status message to an external device.
The present technology relates to the tracking and/or monitoring of packages and specifically to the use of a smart tracking device or package and package operating, networking, communications, shipping, logistics and transactions platform to enable sophisticated and responsive tracking technologies.
Conclusion
/MAHABUB S AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434