DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are currently pending
Claims 1-14 are currently rejected
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 05/07/2025 and 06/24/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 3, 6, 8 and 21 each state “comprising” and instead should each include a colon after to further recite “comprising:” for further clarity. FURTHERMORE, line 10 recites “having” and instead should include a colon after to further recite “having:” for further clarity. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “wherein” and instead should include a colon after to further recite “wherein:” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “wherein” and instead should include a colon after to further recite “wherein:” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “wherein” and instead should include a colon after to further recite “wherein:” for further clarity. FURTHERMORE, line 18 recites “at angular intervals;” and instead should state “at the angular intervals;” for further clarity. ADDITIONALLY, lines 19-20 state “with the engaging notches.” and instead should state “with the multiple engaging notches.” for further clarity. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “wherein” and instead should include a colon after to further recite “wherein:” for further clarity. FURTHERMORE, line 24 states “a limiting block configure to” and instead should state “a limiting block configured to” for further clarity. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “wherein” and instead should include a colon after to further recite “wherein:” for further clarity. FURTHERMORE, line 7 states “and has” and instead should include a colon after to further recite “and has:” for further clarity. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “wherein” and instead should include a colon after to further recite “wherein:” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “wherein” and instead should include a colon after to further recite “wherein:” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “wherein” and instead should include a colon after to further recite “wherein:” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “wherein” and instead should include a colon after to further recite “wherein:” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “wherein” and instead should include a colon after to further recite “wherein:” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “wherein” and instead should include a colon after to further recite “wherein:” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 states “wherein” and instead should include a colon after to further recite “wherein:” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an annular check valve disposed on the top portion of the filter cartridge, configured to be rotated” on lines 7-8 of claim 1, “a base disposed on the top portion of the filter cartridge, configured to be rotated” on lines 9-10 of claim 1, “wherein the annular check valve is configured to be rotated” on line 3 (page 2) of claim 1, and “the filter holder comprising a limiting block configure to abut against” on line 24 of claim 6.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an annular check valve disposed on the top portion of the filter cartridge, configured to be rotated with the filter cartridge, and comprising” on lines 7-8. It is unclear and confusing what is configured to be rotated, and what is comprising, the annular check valve or the filter cartridge? FURTHERMORE, claim 1 recites the limitation “a base disposed on the top portion of the filter cartridge, configured to be rotated with the filter cartridge, and having” on lines 9-10. It is unclear and confusing what is configured to be rotated, and what is having, the base or the filter cartridge? Claims 2-14 are also rejected since these claims depend on claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "wherein the annular check valve is connected to the filter holder via a shaft and is rotatable” on lines 12-13. It is unclear and confusing what is rotatable, the annular check valve or the filter holder or the shaft? Claims 3-7 and 9 are also rejected since these claims depend on claim 2.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the sealing pad has an annular protrusion…of the mounting chamber, and tightly abuts against the peripheral surface” on lines 7-8. It is unclear and confusing what tightly abuts against the peripheral surface, the sealing pad or the annular protrusion or the mounting chamber? Claims 5-7 and 11 are also rejected since these claims depend on claim 4.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the rotary filter holder assembly comprises a closing pad made of elastomers and fixed to the bottom of the filter holder” on lines 13-14. It is unclear and confusing what is fixed to the bottom of the filter holder, the rotary filter holder assembly or the closing pad? FURTHERMORE, claim 8 recites the limitation “the outlet opening of the annular check valve is directly below the closing pad and is sealed by the closing pad” on lines 15-17. It is unclear and confusing what is sealed by the closing pad, the outlet opening of the annular check valve or the closing pad?
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the rotary filter holder assembly comprises a closing pad made of elastomers and fixed to the bottom of the filter holder” on lines 19-20. It is unclear and confusing what is fixed to the bottom of the filter holder, the rotary filter holder assembly or the closing pad? FURTHERMORE, claim 9 recites the limitation “the outlet opening of the annular check valve is directly below the closing pad and is sealed by the closing pad” on lines 21-23. It is unclear and confusing what is sealed by the closing pad, the outlet opening of the annular check valve or the closing pad?
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the rotary filter holder assembly comprises a closing pad made of elastomers and fixed to the bottom of the filter holder” on lines 1-2. It is unclear and confusing what is fixed to the bottom of the filter holder, the rotary filter holder assembly or the closing pad? FURTHERMORE, claim 10 recites the limitation “the outlet opening of the annular check valve is directly below the closing pad and is sealed by the closing pad” on lines 3-5. It is unclear and confusing what is sealed by the closing pad, the outlet opening of the annular check valve or the closing pad?
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the rotary filter holder assembly comprises a closing pad made of elastomers and fixed to the bottom of the filter holder” on lines 7-8. It is unclear and confusing what is fixed to the bottom of the filter holder, the rotary filter holder assembly or the closing pad? FURTHERMORE, claim 11 recites the limitation “the outlet opening of the annular check valve is directly below the closing pad and is sealed by the closing pad” on lines 9-11. It is unclear and confusing what is sealed by the closing pad, the outlet opening of the annular check valve or the closing pad?
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the rotary filter holder assembly comprises a closing pad made of elastomers and fixed to the bottom of the filter holder” on lines 13-14. It is unclear and confusing what is fixed to the bottom of the filter holder, the rotary filter holder assembly or the closing pad? FURTHERMORE, claim 12 recites the limitation “the outlet opening of the annular check valve is directly below the closing pad and is sealed by the closing pad” on lines 15-17. It is unclear and confusing what is sealed by the closing pad, the outlet opening of the annular check valve or the closing pad?
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the rotary filter holder assembly comprises a closing pad made of elastomers and fixed to the bottom of the filter holder” on lines 19-20. It is unclear and confusing what is fixed to the bottom of the filter holder, the rotary filter holder assembly or the closing pad? FURTHERMORE, claim 13 recites the limitation “the outlet opening of the annular check valve is directly below the closing pad and is sealed by the closing pad” on lines 21-23. It is unclear and confusing what is sealed by the closing pad, the outlet opening of the annular check valve or the closing pad?
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the rotary filter holder assembly comprises a closing pad made of elastomers and fixed to the bottom of the filter holder” on lines 1-2. It is unclear and confusing what is fixed to the bottom of the filter holder, the rotary filter holder assembly or the closing pad? FURTHERMORE, claim 14 recites the limitation “the outlet opening of the annular check valve is directly below the closing pad and is sealed by the closing pad” on lines 3-5. It is unclear and confusing what is sealed by the closing pad, the outlet opening of the annular check valve or the closing pad?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bassett et al. (U.S. 2004/0144710 A1) (hereinafter “Bassett”).
Regarding Claim 1:
Bassett teaches a filter unit (see FIGS. 2-3 and 10-11, a filter assembly 10 in conjunction with a fluid procession system) (see paragraphs 2, 8, 11, 14, 61-63, 65 and 73-74) comprising:
a filter cartridge (see FIGS. 2-3 and 10-11, a replaceable filter cartridge 40 including a cylindrical body portion 42) (see paragraphs 8, 14, 64-65, 67 and 73-74) comprising:
a top portion (see FIGS. 2-3 and 10-11, a top portion of the replaceable filter cartridge 40) (see paragraphs 8, 14, 64-65, 67 and 73-74);
a rotary filter holder assembly detachably (see FIGS. 2-3 and 10-11, rotary valve assembly 18 including a head portion 20 defining an interior chamber and a valve member 26) mounted to the top portion of the filter cartridge (see paragraphs 62-63, 65 and 73-74) and comprising:
an annular check valve (see FIGS. 2-3, a valve member 26) disposed on the top portion of the filter cartridge, configured to be rotated with the filter cartridge (see paragraphs 62-65 and 73-74), and comprising:
a base disposed on the top portion of the filter cartridge (see FIGS. 2-3, base 44) (see paragraphs 62-63, 65 and 73-74), configured to be rotated with the filter cartridge (see paragraphs 62-63, 65 and 73-74), and having:
a top (see FIGS. 2-3, a top of the base 44) (see paragraphs 62-63, 65 and 73-74); and
a bottom (see FIGS. 2-3, a bottom of the base 44) (see paragraphs 62-63, 65 and 73-74);
a neck part extending from the top of the base (see FIGS. 2-3, a neck portion 46 including an upper section 46a and a lower section 46b) (see paragraphs 62-63, 65 and 73-74);
an inlet opening formed in the neck part and fluidly communicating with the filter cartridge (see FIGS. 2-3, inlet passage 52) (see paragraphs 65-66);
an outlet opening formed in the top of the base and fluidly communicating with the filter cartridge (see FIGS. 2-3, outlet passage 54) (see paragraphs 65-66); and
a sealing pad disposed at a periphery of the neck part and spaced apart from the inlet opening by an angular interval (see FIGS. 2-3, O-ring seals 36, 38 and/or O-ring seals 56, 58) (see paragraph 66); and
a filter holder disposed on, surrounding, and rotatably connected to the annular check valve, and the filter holder (see FIGS. 2-3, a head portion 20) (see paragraphs 8, 11, 62-63, 65 and 73-74) comprising:
a top (see FIGS. 2-3, a top of the head portion 20) (see paragraphs 8, 11, 62-63, 65 and 73-74);
a bottom (see FIGS. 2-3, a bottom of the head portion 20) (see paragraphs 8, 11, 62-63, 65 and 73-74);
an external peripheral surface (see FIGS. 2-3, an external peripheral surface of the head portion 20) (see paragraphs 8, 11, 62-63, 65 and 73-74);
an inlet channel (see FIGS. 2-3, an inlet port 22 communicating with inlet conduit 12) (see paragraphs 62-63); and
an outlet channel (see FIGS. 2-3, an outlet port 24 communicating with outlet conduit 14) (see paragraphs 62-63);
wherein the annular check valve (see FIGS. 2-3, a valve member 26) is configured to be rotated relative to the filter holder to a closed position and an opened position (see paragraphs 63-65) (see paragraphs 62 and 73-74 regarding open/on and closed/off positions);
when the annular check valve is located at the closed position, the inlet channel of the filter holder is sealed by the sealing pad and the outlet channel of the filter holder is closed by the top of the base (see FIGS. 2-3, a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 63-65) (see paragraphs 62 and 73-74 regarding open/on and closed/off positions); and
when the annular check valve is located at the opened position, the inlet channel of the filter holder fluidly communicates with the inlet opening of the annular check valve, and the outlet channel of the filter holder fluidly communicates with the outlet opening of the annular check valve (see FIGS. 2-3, a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 63-65) (see paragraphs 62 and 73-74 regarding open/on and closed/off positions).
Although Bassett teaches an annular check valve capable and configured to be rotated in an open/on position and a closed/off position (see FIGS. 2-3, a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 63-65) (see paragraphs 62 and 73-74 regarding open/on and closed/off positions), one may broadly interpret that Bassett does not explicitly teach when the annular check valve is located at the closed position, the inlet channel of the filter holder is sealed by the sealing pad and the outlet channel of the filter holder is closed by the top of the base, as recited in independent claim 1. However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter unit of Bassett to have the seals (see FIGS. 2-3, O-ring seals 36, 38 and/or O-ring seals 56, 58) close off the inlet channel of the filter holder during a closed position for optimization purposes and to ensure no water/fluid/liquid flows through to prevent any leakages (see paragraphs 63-65) (see paragraphs 62 and 73-74 regarding open/on and closed/off positions).
Regarding Claim 2:
Bassett teaches the filter unit as claimed in claim 1, wherein the annular check valve is connected to the filter holder via a shaft and is rotatable relative to the filter holder along the shaft (see FIGS. 2-3, a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 63-65) (see paragraphs 62 and 73-74 regarding open/on and closed/off positions).
Regarding Claim 3:
Bassett teaches the filter unit as claimed in claim 2, wherein:
the filter holder comprises a mounting chamber extending upwardly from the bottom of the filter holder (see FIGS. 2-3, a head portion 20) (see paragraphs 8, 11, 62-63, 65 and 73-74);
the inlet channel of the filter holder fluidly communicates with the mounting chamber (see FIGS. 2-3, an inlet port 22 communicating with inlet conduit 12) (see paragraphs 8, 11, 62-63, 65 and 73-74);
the neck part of the annular check valve extends into the mounting chamber (see FIGS. 2-3, a neck portion 46 including an upper section 46a and a lower section 46b) (see paragraphs 62-63, 65 and 73-74);
the inlet opening of the annular check valve fluidly communicates with the mounting chamber (see FIGS. 2-3, inlet passage 52) (see paragraphs 65-66);
the outlet channel of the filter holder is disposed outside of and spaced apart from the mounting chamber, extends upwardly from the bottom of the filter holder and then extends toward the external peripheral surface of the filter holder (see FIGS. 2-3, an outlet port 24 communicating with outlet conduit 14) (see paragraphs 62-63); and
the sealing pad is made of elastomers, is fixed to the neck part, and tightly abuts against a peripheral surface of the mounting chamber (see FIGS. 2-3, O-ring seals 36, 38 and/or O-ring seals 56, 58) (see paragraph 66).
Regarding Claim 4:
Bassett teaches the filter unit as claimed in claim 3, wherein:
the sealing pad has an annular protrusion formed at a side of the sealing pad facing toward the peripheral surface of the mounting chamber, and tightly abuts against the peripheral surface of the mounting chamber (see FIGS. 2-3, O-ring seals 36, 38 and/or O-ring seals 56, 58) (see paragraph 66); and
when the annular check valve is located at the closed position, the annular protrusion surrounds an outlet port of the inlet channel facing toward the mounting chamber (see FIGS. 2-3, a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 63-65) (see paragraphs 62 and 73-74 regarding open/on and closed/off positions).
Regarding Claim 5:
Bassett teaches the filter unit as claimed in claim 4, wherein:
the top portion of the filter cartridge comprises a blocking portion including multiple blocking ribs arranged at angular intervals (see FIGS. 2-3, ribs 82, 84) (see paragraph 68); and
the annular check valve comprises an engagement portion at the bottom of the base of the annular check valve and including multiple engaging notches arranged at angular intervals (see FIGS. 2-3, a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 63-65) (see paragraphs 62 and 73-74 regarding open/on and closed/off positions); and
the multiple blocking ribs respectively extend into and engage with the engaging notches (see FIGS. 2-3, ribs 82, 84) (see paragraph 68).
Regarding Claim 6:
Bassett teaches the filter unit as claimed in claim 5, wherein:
the neck part of the annular check valve has a first limited surface and a second limited surface arranged at an angular interval (see FIGS. 2-3, a neck portion 46 including an upper section 46a and a lower section 46b) (see paragraphs 62-63, 65 and 73-74);
the filter holder comprises a limiting block configure to abut against the first limited surface or the second limited surface (see FIGS. 2-3, a head portion 20) (see paragraphs 8, 11, 62-63, 65 and 73-74);
when the limiting block abuts against the first limited surface, the annular check valve is located at the closed position (see FIGS. 2-3, a head portion 20) (see paragraphs 8, 11, 62-63, 65 and 73-74); and
when the limiting block abuts against the second limited surface, the annular check valve is located at the opened position (see FIGS. 2-3, a head portion 20) (see paragraphs 8, 11, 62-63, 65 and 73-74).
Regarding Claim 7:
Bassett teaches the filter unit as claimed in claim 6, wherein:
a guiding rib is disposed in the outlet port of the inlet channel (see FIGS. 2-3, ribs 82, 84) (see paragraph 68) and has:
a top surface inclined downwardly toward the external peripheral surface of the filter holder (see FIGS. 2-3, ribs 82, 84) (see paragraph 68); and
a bottom surface inclined upwardly toward the external peripheral surface of the filter holder (see FIGS. 2-3, ribs 82, 84) (see paragraph 68).
Regarding Claim 8:
Bassett teaches the filter unit as claimed in claim 1, wherein:
the rotary filter holder assembly comprises a closing pad made of elastomers and fixed to the bottom of the filter holder (see FIGS. 2-3 and 10-11, rotary valve assembly 18 including a head portion 20 defining an interior chamber and a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 62-63, 65 and 73-74); and
when the annular check valve is at the closed position, the outlet opening of the annular check valve is directly below the closing pad and is sealed by the closing pad (see FIGS. 2-3, a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 63-65) (see paragraphs 62 and 73-74 regarding open/on and closed/off positions).
Regarding Claim 9:
Bassett teaches the filter unit as claimed in claim 2, wherein:
the rotary filter holder assembly comprises a closing pad made of elastomers and fixed to the bottom of the filter holder (see FIGS. 2-3 and 10-11, rotary valve assembly 18 including a head portion 20 defining an interior chamber and a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 62-63, 65 and 73-74); and
when the annular check valve is at the closed position, the outlet opening of the annular check valve is directly below the closing pad and is sealed by the closing pad (see FIGS. 2-3, a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 63-65) (see paragraphs 62 and 73-74 regarding open/on and closed/off positions).
Regarding Claim 10:
Bassett teaches the filter unit as claimed in claim 3, wherein:
the rotary filter holder assembly comprises a closing pad made of elastomers and fixed to the bottom of the filter holder (see FIGS. 2-3 and 10-11, rotary valve assembly 18 including a head portion 20 defining an interior chamber and a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 62-63, 65 and 73-74); and
when the annular check valve is at the closed position, the outlet opening of the annular check valve is directly below the closing pad and is sealed by the closing pad.
Regarding Claim 11:
Bassett teaches the filter unit as claimed in claim 4, wherein:
the rotary filter holder assembly comprises a closing pad made of elastomers and fixed to the bottom of the filter holder (see FIGS. 2-3 and 10-11, rotary valve assembly 18 including a head portion 20 defining an interior chamber and a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 62-63, 65 and 73-74); and
when the annular check valve is at the closed position, the outlet opening of the annular check valve is directly below the closing pad and is sealed by the closing pad (see FIGS. 2-3, a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 63-65) (see paragraphs 62 and 73-74 regarding open/on and closed/off positions).
Regarding Claim 12:
Bassett teaches the filter unit as claimed in claim 5, wherein:
the rotary filter holder assembly comprises a closing pad made of elastomers and fixed to the bottom of the filter holder (see FIGS. 2-3 and 10-11, rotary valve assembly 18 including a head portion 20 defining an interior chamber and a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 62-63, 65 and 73-74); and
when the annular check valve is at the closed position, the outlet opening of the annular check valve is directly below the closing pad and is sealed by the closing pad (see FIGS. 2-3, a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 63-65) (see paragraphs 62 and 73-74 regarding open/on and closed/off positions).
Regarding Claim 13:
Bassett teaches the filter unit as claimed in claim 6, wherein:
the rotary filter holder assembly comprises a closing pad made of elastomers and fixed to the bottom of the filter holder (see FIGS. 2-3 and 10-11, rotary valve assembly 18 including a head portion 20 defining an interior chamber and a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 62-63, 65 and 73-74); and
when the annular check valve is at the closed position, the outlet opening of the annular check valve is directly below the closing pad and is sealed by the closing pad (see FIGS. 2-3, a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 63-65) (see paragraphs 62 and 73-74 regarding open/on and closed/off positions).
Regarding Claim 14:
Bassett teaches the filter unit as claimed in claim 7, wherein:
the rotary filter holder assembly comprises a closing pad made of elastomers and fixed to the bottom of the filter holder (see FIGS. 2-3 and 10-11, rotary valve assembly 18 including a head portion 20 defining an interior chamber and a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 62-63, 65 and 73-74); and
when the annular check valve is at the closed position, the outlet opening of the annular check valve is directly below the closing pad and is sealed by the closing pad (see FIGS. 2-3, a valve member 26) (see paragraphs 63-65) (see paragraphs 62 and 73-74 regarding open/on and closed/off positions).
Other References Considered
TREYZ (U.S. 2009/0230047 A1) (hereinafter “Treyz”) teaches a cartridge filter for aircraft.
Schmoll (U.S. 2017/0072347 A1) (hereinafter “Schmoll”) teaches a filter cartridge for translational insertion and rotational engagement of a manifold.
Kurth et al. (U.S. 7,540,957 B1) (hereinafter “Kurth”) teaches a modular drinking water filtration system with bottom load cartridges.
Conclusion
/AKASH K VARMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773