CTNF 18/897,556 CTNF 89881 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This action is in response to the application filed on 09/26/2024. Drawings 06-36-01 AIA Figure s 1, and 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. 06-22 Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1, 10, 14, 15, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 1 , in line 5, “the flying capacitor” appears that it should read as “the flying capacitor of each switched capacitor stage”;in line 7, “the flying capacitor” appears that it should read as “the flying capacitor of each switched capacitor stage”. Regarding claim 10 , in line 3, “the flying capacitor” appears that it should read as “the flying capacitor of each switched capacitor stage”;in line 4-5, “the flying capacitor” appears that it should read as “the flying capacitor of each switched capacitor stage”. Regarding claim 14 , in line 3, “the plurality of switching devices” appears that it should read as “the plurality of switching devices of each switched capacitor stage”. Regarding claim 15 , in line 3, “the plurality of switching devices” appears that it should read as “the plurality of switching devices of each switched capacitor stage”. Regarding claim 18 , in line 6, “the tail voltage rail” appears that it should read as “a tail voltage rail” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Ausseresse (US Patent US 10,587,189 B1). Regarding claim 10 , Ausseresse discloses (see Fig. 1) a tail regulated switched capacitor converter (regulated switched-capacitor converter 100) comprising: a plurality of switched capacitor stages each having a flying capacitor (linking capacitors C2 and C3 of switch ladder 110) and a plurality of switching devices (switches Q1, Q2, Q3 of switch ladder 110 and switches Q7-Q10 of rectifier 120) that selectively couple the flying capacitor to one of an input or output voltage rail via a first current path (the rectifier 120 couples the linking capacitors C2, C3 to the output terminal 102, which is the output voltage rail) and selectively couple the flying capacitor to a tail voltage rail via a second current path (the first switch Q1 couples capacitor C2 to the first voltage node V1, which is the tail voltage rail); and a regulated converter (adjustable converter 130) coupled to the tail voltage rail (node V1), wherein the regulated converter carries less than a full output current of the tail regulated switched capacitor converter (see col. 4 lines 20-22, “ only approximately 1/Nth of the output current flows through the adjustable voltage converter ”) and provides voltage regulation of the output voltage rail (see col. 7 lines 45-49, “ The closed-loop controller 192, which may include, e.g., a proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controller, generates the high and low-side switch control signals PWMH, PWML, so as to provide a regulated output voltage VOUT at the output of the adjustable controller 130. ”) . Regarding claim 11 , Ausseresse discloses (see Fig. 1; col. 1) wherein the tail regulated switched capacitor converter is a Dickson type switched capacitor converter (the switch ladder 110 is a charge-pump switch ladder; Ausseresse describes switched-capacitor converters “ based upon Dickson or similar charge pumps ”). Regarding claim 13 , Ausseresse discloses (see Fig. 1) further comprising an output capacitor (output capacitor COUT) supporting the output voltage rail (COUT is coupled to the output terminal 102) and a tail output capacitor (first capacitor C1) supporting the tail voltage rail (C1 is coupled between the first voltage node V1 and a reference node). Regarding claim 14 , Ausseresse discloses (see Fig. 1; col. 5) wherein the tail regulated switched capacitor converter is a step-down converter (the first terminal 101 is connected to an input power supply and the second terminal 102 provides a stepped-down output voltage VOUT); the plurality of switching devices selectively couple the flying capacitor to the output voltage rail via the first current path (the rectifier switches Q7-Q10 couple the capacitors C2, C3 to the output terminal 102); and the regulated converter has its input connected to the tail voltage rail and its output connected to the output voltage rail (the adjustable converter 130 is a buck converter having its input at node V1 and its output V0 connected to the output terminal 102). Regarding claim 16 , Ausseresse discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the regulated converter is a buck converter (the adjustable converter 130 is a switching buck converter comprising a high-side switch QH, a low-side switch QL, and an inductor L1). Regarding claim 18 , Ausseresse discloses (see Fig. 1) a tail regulated switched capacitor converter (regulated switched-capacitor converter 100) comprising: a plurality of switched capacitor stages each having a flying capacitor (linking capacitors C2 and C3 of switch ladder 110); and a plurality of switching devices including a first group of one or more switches that selectively couple the flying capacitor to one of an input voltage rail or an output voltage rail via a first current path (the rectifier switches Q7-Q10, which couple the capacitors C2, C3 to the output terminal 102, the output voltage rail) and a second group of one or more switches that selectively couple the flying capacitor to the tail voltage rail via a second current path (the first switch Q1 of switch ladder 110, which couples capacitor C2 to the first voltage node V1, the tail voltage rail); and a regulated converter (adjustable converter 130) coupled to the tail voltage rail (node V1) that provides voltage regulation of the output voltage rail (the closed-loop controller 192 generates the switch control signals PWMH, PWML so as to regulate the output voltage VOUT) while carrying less than a full output current of the tail regulated switched capacitor converter (see col. 4, “ only approximately 1/Nth of the output current flows through the adjustable voltage converter ”). Regarding claim 20 , Ausseresse discloses (see Fig. 1) further comprising an output capacitor (output capacitor COUT) supporting the output voltage rail (COUT is coupled to the output terminal 102) and a tail output capacitor (first capacitor C1) supporting the tail voltage rail (C1 is coupled between the first voltage node V1 and a reference node) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-8, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ausseresse (US Patent US 10,587,189 B1) . Regarding claim 1 , Fig. 1 of Ausseresse discloses (see Fig. 1) a tail regulated switched capacitor converter (regulated switched-capacitor converter 100) comprising: a plurality of switched capacitor stages each having a flying capacitor (linking capacitors C2 and C3 of switch ladder 110); and a plurality of switching devices (switches Q1, Q2, Q3 of switch ladder 110 and switches Q7-Q10 of rectifier 120), wherein: the plurality of switching devices includes a first group of one or more switches (Q2, Q8, Q10) that selectively couple the flying capacitor to one of an input (VIN) or output voltage rail (VOUT) via a first current path (current path of IRA, IRB) and a second group of one or more switches (Q1, Q3, Q7, Q9) that selectively couple the flying capacitor to a tail voltage rail (rail of I0) via a second current path (current path of I0); and the first and second groups of one or more switches are switched complementarily to one another with a 50% duty cycle (see col. 7 lines 39-44, “ the switch control signals PWMA, PWMB control switch conductivity within the switch ladder 110 and the rectifier 120. These switch control signals are typically pulse-width-modulated (PWM) waveforms having a fixed frequency and a duty cycle of approximately 50%. ”); and a regulated converter (130) coupled to the tail voltage rail that provides voltage regulation of the output voltage rail while carrying a portion of a full output current of the tail regulated switched capacitor converter (see col. 4 lines 20-22, “ only approximately 1/Nth of the output current flows through the adjustable voltage converter ”). Fig. 1 of Ausseresse does not disclose wherein the regulated converter carries half of a full output current. However, col. 11 of Ausseresse teaches (see col. 11) wherein the regulated converter carries half of a full output current (see col. 11 lines 13-37 “ A variant SCC with two switches in its switch ladder would provide a nominal step-down ratio of 2:1, and the inductor current would only be reduced by approximately a factor of 2 relative to a conventional buck converter. ”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tail regulated switched capacitor converter of Fig. 1 of Ausseresse wherein the regulated converter carries half of a full output current, as taught by col. 11 of Ausseresse, because it can help achieve a half output voltage step down ratio. Regarding claim 2 , Ausseresse discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein: the tail regulated switched capacitor converter is a step-down converter (the first terminal 101 is connected to an input power supply and the second terminal 102 provides a stepped-down output voltage VOUT); the first group of one or more switches selectively couples the flying capacitor to the output voltage rail via the first current path (the rectifier switches Q7-Q10 couple the capacitors C2, C3 to the output terminal 102); and the regulated converter has its input connected to the tail voltage rail and its output connected to the output voltage rail (the adjustable converter 130 is a buck converter having its input at node V1 and its output V0 connected to the output terminal 102). Regarding claim 3 , Ausseresse discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the regulated converter is a buck converter (the adjustable converter 130 is a switching buck converter comprising a high-side switch QH, a low-side switch QL, and an inductor L1). Regarding claim 4 , Fig.1 of Ausseresse does not disclose wherein the regulated converter is a boost converter. However, Fig. 4B of Ausseresse teaches (see Fig. 4B) a boost converter (boost converter 430b, comprising an inductor L1 and high- and low-side switches QH, QL) for use as the adjustable converter in place of the adjustable converter 130 of Fig. 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tail regulated switched capacitor converter of Fig. 1 of Ausseresse such that the regulated converter is a boost converter, as taught by Fig. 4B of Ausseresse, because Ausseresse expressly teaches that other converters, buck or otherwise, may be used in place of the adjustable converter 130 (see col. 11), and that a boost converter carries a smaller current through its inductor such that the inductor may be smaller (see col. 12). Regarding claim 5 , Fig. 1 of Ausseresse does not disclose wherein the tail regulated switched capacitor converter is a step-up converter; the plurality of switching devices selectively couple the flying capacitor to the input voltage rail via the first current path; and the regulated converter has its input connected to the input voltage rail and its output connected to the tail voltage rail (the embodiment of Fig. 1 is a step-down converter). However, Fig. 6 of Ausseresse teaches (see Fig. 6; col. 14) operating the same converter topology as a step-up converter, in which power flows in the opposite direction such that the second terminal 102 serves as the input voltage rail and the first terminal 101 serves as an output, the regulated converter (adjustable converter 130) being interposed between the input side of the converter and the tail voltage rail (first voltage node V1) so as to provide “ voltage up conversion ”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tail regulated switched capacitor converter of Fig. 1 of Ausseresse to operate as a step-up converter, as taught by Fig. 6 of Ausseresse, because Ausseresse expressly teaches that the same circuit topology supports power flow in the opposite direction so as to provide voltage up conversion (see col. 14). Regarding claim 6 , Ausseresse discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the regulated converter is a buck converter (the adjustable converter 130 is a switching buck converter comprising a high-side switch QH, a low-side switch QL, and an inductor L1). Regarding claim 7 , Fig.1 of Ausseresse does not disclose wherein the regulated converter is a boost converter. However, Fig. 4B of Ausseresse teaches (see Fig. 4B) a boost converter (boost converter 430b, comprising an inductor L1 and high- and low-side switches QH, QL) for use as the adjustable converter in place of the adjustable converter 130 of Fig. 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tail regulated switched capacitor converter of Fig. 1 of Ausseresse such that the regulated converter is a boost converter, as taught by Fig. 4B of Ausseresse, because Ausseresse expressly teaches that other converters, buck or otherwise, may be used in place of the adjustable converter 130 (see col. 11), and that a boost converter carries a smaller current through its inductor such that the inductor may be smaller (see col. 12). Regarding claim 8 , Ausseresse discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the tail regulated switched capacitor converter is a Dickson type switched capacitor converter (the switch ladder 110 is a charge-pump switch ladder; col.1 describes switched-capacitor converters “ based upon Dickson or similar charge pumps ”). Regarding claim 15 , Fig. 1 of Ausseresse does not disclose wherein the tail regulated switched capacitor converter is a step-up converter; the plurality of switching devices selectively couple the flying capacitor to the input voltage rail via the first current path; and the regulated converter has its input connected to the input voltage rail and its output connected to the tail voltage rail (the embodiment of Fig. 1 is a step-down converter). However, Fig. 6 of Ausseresse teaches (see Fig. 6; col. 14) operating the same converter topology as a step-up converter, in which power flows in the opposite direction such that the second terminal 102 serves as the input voltage rail and the first terminal 101 serves as an output, the regulated converter (adjustable converter 130) being interposed between the input side of the converter and the tail voltage rail (first voltage node V1) so as to provide “ voltage up conversion ”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tail regulated switched capacitor converter of Fig. 1 of Ausseresse to operate as a step-up converter, as taught by Fig. 6 of Ausseresse, because Ausseresse expressly teaches that the same circuit topology supports power flow in the opposite direction so as to provide voltage up conversion (see col. 14). Regarding claim 17 , Fig.1 of Ausseresse does not disclose wherein the regulated converter is a boost converter. However, Fig. 4B of Ausseresse teaches (see Fig. 4B) a boost converter (boost converter 430b, comprising an inductor L1 and high- and low-side switches QH, QL) for use as the adjustable converter in place of the adjustable converter 130 of Fig. 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tail regulated switched capacitor converter of Fig. 1 of Ausseresse such that the regulated converter is a boost converter, as taught by Fig. 4B of Ausseresse, because Ausseresse expressly teaches that other converters, buck or otherwise, may be used in place of the adjustable converter 130 (see col. 11), and that a boost converter carries a smaller current through its inductor such that the inductor may be smaller (see col. 12). Regarding claim 19 , Fig. 1 of Ausseresse does not disclose wherein the plurality of switched capacitor stages includes more than two switched capacitor stages. However, Fig. 3 of Ausseresse teaches (see Fig. 3) a switch ladder 310 having six switches and five linking capacitors C2-C6, i.e., five switched capacitor stages, which is more than two switched capacitor stages. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tail regulated switched capacitor converter of Fig. 1of Ausseresse to include more than two switched capacitor stages, as taught by Fig. 3 of Ausseresse, because Ausseresse expressly teaches that the current carried by the regulated converter is preferably reduced by having a larger number of switches and an associated larger step-down ratio (see col. 11) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ausseresse (US Patent US 10,587,189 B1) in view of Szczeszynski (US Patent US 8,503,203 B1). Regarding claim 9 , Ausseresse does not disclose wherein the tail regulated switched capacitor converter is a series-parallel type switched capacitor converter . However, Szczeszynski teaches (see Fig. 1) a series-parallel type switched capacitor converter (see Fig. 1, series-parallel charge pump 11; see col. 1, “ One type of charge pump is a series-parallel charge pump ”, shown as a 1:5 step-down charge pump providing an output voltage Vout to a load 17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tail regulated switched capacitor converter of Ausseresse wherein the tail regulated switched capacitor converter is a series-parallel type switched capacitor converter, as taught by Szczeszynski, because it can achieve the same step-down voltage conversion using an alternative known charge pump topology (see col. 1 of Szczeszynski, where the series-parallel charge pump 11 of Fig. 1 and the Dickson charge pump 14 of Fig. 2 are both presented as charge pump types providing the same 1:5 step-down configuration). Regarding claim 12 , Ausseresse does not disclose wherein the tail regulated switched capacitor converter is a series-parallel type switched capacitor converter. However, Szczeszynski teaches (see Fig. 1) a series-parallel type switched capacitor converter (see Fig. 1, series-parallel charge pump 11; see col. 1, “ One type of charge pump is a series-parallel charge pump ”, shown as a 1:5 step-down charge pump providing an output voltage Vout to a load 17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tail regulated switched capacitor converter of Ausseresse wherein the tail regulated switched capacitor converter is a series-parallel type switched capacitor converter, as taught by Szczeszynski, because it can achieve the same step-down voltage conversion using an alternative known charge pump topology (see col. 1 of Szczeszynski, where the series-parallel charge pump 11 of Fig. 1 and the Dickson charge pump 14 of Fig. 2 are both presented as charge pump types providing the same 1:5 step-down configuration) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : US 2024/0146188 A1 discloses a multi-phase switched capacitor buck converter hybrid power converter . US 2017/0244318 A1 discloses a multi-phase switched capacitor series buck converter regulator . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JYE-JUNE LEE whose telephone number is (571)270-7726. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9 AM - 5 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Monica Lewis can be reached on 5712721838. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JYE-JUNE LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2838 /JEFFREY A GBLENDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/897,556 Page 2 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/897,556 Page 3 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/897,556 Page 4 Art Unit: 2838