DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is a response to an application filed on 09/26/2024 where claims 1-24 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/26/2024, 11/25/2025, 08/31/2026 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37CFR 1.97.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 09/26/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 12, 14, 18, 19, 20, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola et al. (US 20240396693 A1) hereinafter Hakola and further in view of Liu et al (US 20240015678 A1) hereinafter Liu
As to claim 1. Liu teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a base station, a punctured synchronization signal block (SSB) in a channel of a frequency band, wherein: ([0037[0038][0040]Fig. 2, A UE monitors/receives Type0-PDCCH for SIB1 scheduling in slots according to selected SSB index for frequency band 5 MHz or 10 MHz, punctured SSB),
the punctured SSB comprises a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), [ ] based on a puncture pattern to reduce a first number of resource blocks (RBs) of the first PBCH to a second number of RBs for transmission, ([0040] [0041] Fig. 2, a punctured SSB occupies 15 PRBs in NR system, includes, PSS, SSS, punctured PBCH e.g., maximum number of punctured PRBs by a side is 4. in total 4+4=8 PRBs may be punctured from the SSB; PSS, SSS occupies center frequency, PBCH is punctured down to 12 PB from 20 PRB; in puncturing pattern puncturing patterns (1+4), (2+3), (3+2) and (4+1), punctured SSB enables to narrow down the transmission bandwidth of a base station, gNB, in order to match the available bandwidth; PRBs are blanked)
and
the PSS of the punctured SSB has a center frequency indicated by a first sync raster location from a first set of sync raster locations associated with the punctured SSB; ([0056][0057] punctured SSB UE may assume that SS/PBCH blocks transmitted with the same block index on the same center frequency location are quasi co-located UE may determine this QCL information form the specific synchronization raster point detected from PSS/SSS or from certain RF channel of the punctured SSB)
and
detecting, by the UE, the punctured SSB according to the first sync raster location. ([0056][0057] puncturing pattern may indicate puncturing of both SSB and CORESET #0 ; UE may assume that SS/PBCH blocks transmitted with the same block index on the same center frequency location are quasi co-located ; UE may determine this QCL information form the specific synchronization raster point detected from PSS/SSS or from certain RF channel)
Hakola does not specifically teach and a punctured physical broadcast channel (PBCH) obtained from the first PBCH of a first SSB
Liu teaches and a punctured physical broadcast channel (PBCH) obtained from a first PBCH of a first SSB ([0073][0074] Fig. 6B,each SSB transmitted on an access link occupies four (4) consecutive symbols in a time domain includes a PSS, SSS, and PBCH spread over 240 subcarriers in a frequency domain (e.g., 20 RBs that each include 12 subcarriers).punctured PBCH obtained by puncturing outer edges of PBCH RBs)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Hakola because Liu teaches that PBCH may generally include a set of bits, which improves PBCH detection performance by enabling the UE to decode only the remaining unknown bits from the unpunctured frequency region within the maximum bandwidth of the operating band. (Liu [0075])
Regarding claim 13, there is recited a UE with steps that identical to the functions performed by the method recited in claim 1. Prior art Hakola discloses a UE in para [0065] Fig. 6, includes a processor couple to a memory with non-transitory computer products storing source code for performing the disclosed functionalities of claim 13. As a result, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as in claim 1.
As to claim 2 the combination of Hakola and Liu specifically Liu teaches, wherein a third bandwidth of the punctured SSB is related to the second number of RBs and is not larger than a second bandwidth of the channel, and ([0074] Fig. 5, Fig. 6b if the maximum bandwidth of the operating band is below 2.88 MHz, the base station may puncture five or more RBs (e.g., two RBs in one edge and three RBs in another edge) and transmit RBs in a frequency region spanning a number RBs that is within the maximum bandwidth of the operating band, puncturing 5 RBs, punctured SSB includes 15 RBs/third bandwidth, is related to PRBs and not larger than second bandwidth (3.24 MHz)
a first bandwidth of the first SSB exceeds the second bandwidth of the channel. ([0074] Fig. 5, Fig. 6B, a first SSB bandwidth 3.6 MHz, 20 RBs; after puncturing edge RBs, the maximum bandwidth of the operating band is higher than 3.24 MHz, second bandwidth ; first bandwidth exceed second bandwidth)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Hakola because Liu teaches that PBCH may generally include a set of bits, which improves PBCH detection performance by enabling the UE to decode only the remaining unknown bits from the unpunctured frequency region within the maximum bandwidth of the operating band. (Liu [0075]
Claim 14 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 6 . the combination of Hakola and Liu specifically Liu teaches wherein a second bandwidth of the channel is less than 5MHz. ([0074] Fig. 5, Fig. 6B, after puncturing edge RBs, the maximum bandwidth of the operating band is higher than 3.24 MHz, second bandwidth/less than 5 MHz)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Hakola because Liu teaches that PBCH may generally include a set of bits, which improves PBCH detection performance by enabling the UE to decode only the remaining unknown bits from the unpunctured frequency region within the maximum bandwidth of the operating band. (Liu [0075]
Claim 18 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
As to claim 7. Hakola teaches A method comprising:
generating, by a base station, a punctured synchronization signal block (SSB) ([0040] a base station, gNB) puncture SSB for transmission)
the first SSB comprises a first physical broadcast channel (PBCH), a primary synchronization signal (PSS), and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), ([0041] SSB comprises PSS, SSS and PBCH.)
the punctured SSB comprises the PSS and the SSS, ([0040] Fig. 2, This leads to puncturing of at least 5 PRBs from the SSB such that the PSS and the SSS shall remain unaffected.)
by applying a puncture pattern to reduce a first number of resource blocks (RBs) of the first PBCH to a second number of RBs for transmission, [0040] Fig. 2, in total 4+4=8 PRBs may be punctured from the SSB. maximum total of punctured PRBs, in order to reach 15 PRBs, is 5, This may be implemented in total of 5 according to puncturing patterns (1+4), (2+3), (3+2) and (4+1), correspondingly. A punctured SSB enables to narrow down the transmission bandwidth of a base station, gNB, in order to match the available bandwidth i.e., first 20 PRBS, after puncturing 5 edge PRBs, punctured SBB includes 215 PRBs) and
the PSS of the punctured SSB has a center frequency indicated by a first sync raster location from a first set of sync raster locations associated with the punctured SSB; ([0056][0057] punctured SSB UE may assume that SS/PBCH blocks transmitted with the same block index on the same center frequency location are quasi co-located UE may determine this QCL information form the specific synchronization raster point detected from PSS/SSS or from certain RF channel of the punctured SSB)
transmitting, by the base station, the punctured SSB in the channel. ([0053] with puncturing patterns include (1+4), (2+3), (3+2), (4+1)), base station transmits , which enable 15 PRBs to be transmitted,)
Hakola does not teach for a channel of a frequency band based on a first bandwidth of a first SSB exceeding a second bandwidth of the channel, wherein, and
a punctured PBCH obtained from the first PBCH
Liu teaches for a channel of a frequency band based on a first bandwidth of a first SSB exceeding a second bandwidth of the channel, wherein ([0074] Fig. 5, Fig. 6B, a first SSB bandwidth 3.6 MHz, 20 RBs; after puncturing edge RBs, the maximum bandwidth of the operating band is higher than 3.24 MHz, second bandwidth ; first bandwidth exceed second bandwidth)
and
a punctured PBCH obtained from the first PBCH ([0073][0074] Fig. 6B,each SSB transmitted on an access link occupies four (4) consecutive symbols in a time domain includes a PSS, SSS, and PBCH spread over 240 subcarriers in a frequency domain (e.g., 20 RBs that each include 12 subcarriers).punctured PBCH obtained by puncturing outer edges of PBCH RBs)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Hakola because Liu teaches that PBCH may generally include a set of bits, which improves PBCH detection performance by enabling the UE to decode only the remaining unknown bits from the unpunctured frequency region within the maximum bandwidth of the operating band. (Liu [0075]
Regarding claim 19, there is recited an Base station with steps that identical to the functions performed by the method recited in claim 7. Prior art Hakola discloses a base station in para [0020] Fig. 1,inherenly includes a processor couple to a memory with non-transitory computer products storing source code for performing the disclosed functionalities of claim 19. As a result, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as in claim 7.
As to claim 8. the combination of Hakola and Liu specifically Liu teaches wherein a third bandwidth of the punctured SSB is related to the second number of RBs and is not larger than the second bandwidth of the channel. ([0074] Fig. 5, Fig. 6b< if the maximum bandwidth of the operating band is below 2.88 MHz, the base station may puncture five or more RBs (e.g., two RBs in one edge and three RBs in another edge) and transmit RBs in a frequency region spanning a number RBs that is within the maximum bandwidth of the operating band, puncturing 5 RBs, punctured SSB includes 15 RBs/third bandwidth, is related to PRBs and not larger than second bandwidth (3.24 MHz)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Hakola because Liu teaches that PBCH may generally include a set of bits, which improves PBCH detection performance by enabling the UE to decode only the remaining unknown bits from the unpunctured frequency region within the maximum bandwidth of the operating band. (Liu [0075]
Claim 20 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
As to claim 12. . the combination of Hakola and Liu specifically Liu teaches wherein the second bandwidth of the channel is less than 5MHz. ([0074] Fig. 5, Fig. 6B, after puncturing edge RBs, the maximum bandwidth of the operating band is higher than 3.24 MHz, second bandwidth/less than 5 MHz)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Liu with the teaching of Hakola because Liu teaches that PBCH may generally include a set of bits, which improves PBCH detection performance by enabling the UE to decode only the remaining unknown bits from the unpunctured frequency region within the maximum bandwidth of the operating band. (Liu [0075]
Claim 24 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 12.
Claim(s) 4, 10, 16, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakola, Liu and further in view of tang et al (US 20200305125 A1) hereinafter Tang
As to claim 4. the combination of Hakola and Liu specifically Hakola teaches, wherein the PSS of the first SSB has a center frequency ([0046] synchronization raster point, on which the UE detected the SSB based on synchronization raster point,)
. the combination of Hakola and Li does not teach indicated by a second sync raster location of a second set of sync raster locations.
Tang teaches indicated by a second sync raster location of a second set of sync raster locations([0175][0176] at least one of the Q frequency domain locations occupies sync raster’s whose quantity is different from quantities of sync raster’s occupied by frequency domain locations adjacent to the at least one frequency domain location; frequency domain location occupied by the first SS block being the center point, frequency domain locations in a lower frequency domain )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Tang with the teaching of Hakola and Liu because Tang teaches that when SS block and a non-SS block or indicate resource information of a second SS block, so that an information field can be reused and signaling overheads can be reduced. (Tang [0018])
Claim 16 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
As to claim 10. the combination of Hakola and Liu specifically Hakola teaches, wherein the PSS of the first SSB has a center frequency ([0046] synchronization raster point, on which the UE detected the SSB based on synchronization raster point,)
. the combination of Hakola and Li does not teach indicated by a second sync raster location of a second set of sync raster locations.
Tang teaches indicated by a second sync raster location of a second set of sync raster locations([0175][0176] at least one of the Q frequency domain locations occupies sync raster’s whose quantity is different from quantities of sync raster’s occupied by frequency domain locations adjacent to the at least one frequency domain location; frequency domain location occupied by the first SS block being the center point, frequency domain locations in a lower frequency domain )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Tang with the teaching of Hakola and Liu because Tang teaches that when SS block and a non-SS block or indicate resource information of a second SS block, so that an information field can be reused and signaling overheads can be reduced. (Tang [0018])
Claim 22 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 3, 5, 9, 11, 15, 17, 21, 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 16 prior art Abotabl et al. [US 20210337489 A1] teaches in para [0099] when an SSB falls in a full-duplex slot and a current SSB configuration or SSB schedule has an overlap with a UL band in the full-duplex slot, a BS 105 may transmit an SSB in a full-duplex slot by puncturing a portion of the SSB overlapping with a UL band in the full-duplex slot. The BS 105 may additionally transmit the punctured portion in resources (e.g., RBs 210) directly above the scheduled SSB. Accordingly, a UE 115 may assume the portion of the SSB overlapping with the UL band is punctured and transmitted in RBs directly above the original SSB allocation. If the UE 115 is scheduled with an UL allocation in the full-duplex slot, the UE may proceed to transmit an UL transmission (e.g., PUSCH) to the BS according to the UL allocation.
And prior art MANOLAKOS; Alexandros et al. [US 20210050986 A1] disclose in para [0121] he UE is expected to use the assistance data for the SSBs of neighboring cells in the case of multiple SSBs inside the PRS bandwidth (BW) of a PRS configuration (e.g., PRS configuration 800), as illustrated in FIG. 9. Specifically, FIG. 9 illustrates two SSBs (“SSB1” 910 and “SSB2” 920) occupying different frequency resources inside the PRS bandwidth 930. In the case of multiple SSBs inside one PRS bandwidth, as in the example of FIG. 9, there are the following options. As a first option, the whole OFDM symbol carrying PRS can be punctured. As a second option, the transmitting cell is expected to puncture only the colliding PRBs, assuming that no more than some number “X” portions of consecutive bandwidths are created (three in the example of FIG. 9, one on each side of the SSBs), each one no less than a threshold of PRBs. In one aspect, the threshold of PRBs may equal the minimum number that can be configured as a PRS bandwidth (e.g., 24 PRBs).
However, combination or prior arts records Abotabl and Manolakos and Gary does not teach
For claims 3, 9, 15, 21
the attributes comprising a starting frequency location of the channel, and wherein the starting frequency location of the channel is determinable based on the punctured PBCH, a frequency location of an RB occupied by the PSS of the punctured SSB, and an offset with respect to the frequency location of the RB.
For claims 5, 11, 17, 23
the attributes comprising a starting frequency location of the channel, and wherein the starting frequency location of the channel is determinable based on the punctured PBCH, a frequency location of an RB occupied by the PSS of the punctured SSB, and an offset with respect to the frequency location of the RB.
Therefore, claims, 3, 5, 9, 11, 15, 17 21 ,23 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objections set forth in this office action and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
XUE; Yisheng et al. [US 20230354311 A1] DITHERING JITTERED PERIODIC TRAFFIC FOR SINGLE UPLINK CONFIGURED GRANT
TIIROLA; Esa Tapani et al. [US 20230007626 A1] BLIND PHYSICAL BROADCAST CHANNEL DETECTION FOR NARROWBAND NEW RADIO
TIAN; WENQIANG et al. [US 20210385054 A1] WIRELESS COMMUNICATION METHOD AND TERMINAL DEVICE
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413