DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Europe on 10/04/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the EP23201517 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/26/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 09/26/2024.
Claims 1-16 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-16 are currently rejected.
This action is made NON-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-16 are directed to a system, method, or product, which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES)
The examiner has identified independent system/method/product Claim 1 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to independent claim 11. Claim 1 recites the limitations of:
A computer system for controlling movements of a plurality of vehicles in a confined geographical area, the computer system comprising processing circuitry configured to:
define at least one vehicle path within the confined geographical area by a subset of static nodes, wherein the subset of static nodes defines a topological representation of the at least one vehicle path, the at least one vehicle path containing at least one vehicle zone with an entrance and an exit, and further being delimited to a single vehicle lane;
obtain real-time vehicle travelling profiles of the plurality of vehicles intended to travel in the at least one vehicle zone, the vehicle travelling profiles containing travelling data;
estimate, based on the obtained real-time vehicle travelling profiles, a possibility of having a set of vehicles among the plurality of vehicles accessing the at least one vehicle zone and travelling along the single vehicle lane at the same time;
determine that the possibility satisfies a safety criterion, so as to allow the set of vehicles to travel through the at least one vehicle zone together; and
feed motion commands to the set of vehicles for realizing their routes through the at least one vehicle zone together.
These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as mental processes. Estimating motion profiles of vehicles and determining if they will have a conflict at certain vehicle zone recites concepts performed in the human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a concept performed in the human mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea.)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of: “computer system” in Claim 1 is just applying generic computer components to the recited abstract limitations. The computer hardware/software is/are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The additional elements of data gathering and transmitting data are insignificant extra-solution activity. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea without a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, claims x, y, and z are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application.)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The preamble discloses the intended use is for the transmitted data to be used to control the vehicles in the zone but it is not positively recited. Accordingly, these additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. Thus, claims 1 and 11 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more.)
Dependent claims further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims 1 and 11 and thus correspond to Mental Processes and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claims 1-16 are not patent-eligible.
To overcome the 101 rejection the claims should be amended to positively recite control of at least one of the vehicles as a result of the calculations/determinations made in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kessler (US 2021/0294352), herein Kessler in view of Li (US 2022/0163969), herein Li (from IDS).
Regarding claim 1:
Kessler teaches:
A computer system for controlling movements of a plurality of vehicles (The vehicle controller may include computers, processors, memory, circuitry, or any other suitable hardware components, and may be interconnected with other systems of the vehicle to facilitate the operations described herein, as well as other vehicle operations [0096]) in a confined geographical area (vehicle control schemes, as well as techniques for transitioning between various different vehicle control schemes at intersections, merge points, junctions, and the like [0032]), the computer system comprising processing circuitry (processors, and/or other components or systems that help facilitate autonomous operation [0090]) configured to:
define at least one vehicle path within the confined geographical area (fig. 2A, merge area 212; fig. 3C, join junction 320) [by a subset of static nodes, wherein the subset of static nodes] defines a topological representation of the at least one vehicle path (fig. 2, roadway 200), the at least one vehicle path containing at least one vehicle zone (fig. 2A, merge area 212; fig. 3C, join junction 320) with an entrance (fig. 2A, segments 208 and 210; in which a first segment 324 joins a second segment 325 [0058]) and an exit (fig. 2A, section 204; the flow of vehicles from the first and second segments 324, 325 continue along a third segment 322 (moving in direction 327) [0058]), and further being delimited to a single vehicle lane (see at least figs. 2 and 3 showing single lane of traffic post merging.);
obtain real-time (the tracking functions for the roadway may be changed or adjusted in real-time [0069]) vehicle travelling profiles of the plurality of vehicles intended to travel in the at least one vehicle zone (vehicles that are on the roadway and operating under a moving position-target control scheme transmit, to other vehicles and/or a system controller of the transportation system, their own location, the position target they are following, the locations of other nearby vehicles, the presence or absence of vehicles on adjacent position targets, and the like [0051]), the vehicle travelling profiles containing travelling data (A distance between the first vehicle and the second vehicle may change as the first vehicle and the second vehicle navigate along the section of the roadway. A time interval between the first vehicle and the second vehicle may be maintained above an established minimum value [0004]);
estimate, based on the obtained real-time vehicle travelling profiles (the vehicle presence detector 206 is positioned upstream of the merge area 212. Vehicle presence information from the vehicle presence detector 206 may thus be used by vehicles attempting to merge at the merge area 212 to identify available vehicle locations. The vehicle presence detector 206 may be or include any suitable systems and/or components that can sense the presence or absence of vehicles at a position on the roadway [0046]), a possibility of having a set of vehicles among the plurality of vehicles accessing the at least one vehicle zone and travelling along the single vehicle lane at the same time (the vehicle 214-4 may send information to the vehicle 214-5 indicating the position of the vehicle 214-4 and the absence of a vehicle on the position target 218 [0051]);
determine that the possibility satisfies a safety criterion (During merging, the vehicle 214-5 may use various techniques to ensure a safe merge operation. For example, the vehicle 214-5 may determine the locations of other vehicles, the distances between itself and other vehicles, the closing speeds and/or directions of other nearby vehicles, or the like. The vehicle 214-5 may use such information to accelerate, decelerate, or change heading or position in order to maintain safe clearances, closing speeds, or the like, between itself and other vehicles during merging [0054]), so as to allow the set of vehicles to travel through the at least one vehicle zone together (Once an available vehicle position is identified, the merging vehicle 214-5 may select a tracking function, from a plurality of candidate tracking functions, that is associated with the available vehicle position. For example, as described herein, the available vehicle position may correspond to a position target, and the position target may be defined by or associated with a unique tracking function that defines the position of the position target with respect to time. Accordingly, as described herein, the merging vehicle 214-5 may use information, such as a position where the available vehicle position was detected, and a time at which it was detected, to determine the tracking function that corresponds to the available vehicle position. Once the tracking function is selected (and when it is otherwise safe to do so), the merging vehicle 214-5 may merge onto the first segment 208 of the roadway at the available vehicle position. Once merged, the vehicle 214-5 navigates along the roadway in accordance with the selected tracking function [0052]); and
feed motion commands to the set of vehicles for realizing their routes through the at least one vehicle zone together (The position targets 326 and 328 may be staggered so that the position targets 326 of the first segment 324 accommodate the position targets 328 of the second segment 325 in the existing gaps between the position targets 326 [0059]).
Kessler does not explicitly teach, however Li teaches:
define at least one vehicle path within the confined geographical area (Every edge connecting the nodes represents a pathway with a certain amount of space that robots can move through. This primary representation of the functional space helps in faster traversal and simplifies the overall methodology. In the graph, the edges also have space constraints indicating the width or narrowness of the paths. The assumption is if the robot is too big or large to move through the pathway, then the planning process may consider that the robot cannot move through it. Alternatively, in the planning stage, if a path is big enough for multiple robots to pass through it simultaneously, the information enables the system to not consider the scenario as a collision. [0039]) by a subset of static nodes (The graph includes multiple nodes representing a region of free space [0039]), wherein the subset of static nodes defines a topological representation of the at least one vehicle path (The graph includes multiple nodes representing a region of free space. Every edge connecting the nodes represents a pathway with a certain amount of space that robots can move through [0039]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kessler to include the teachings as taught by Li with a reasonable expectation of success. Both referencing are in the same field of endeavor of optimizing routing of vehicles. Li teaches the benefit of “he technologies described herein are related to a robust cloud platform that optimizes route plans. In an exemplary embodiment, the platform utilizes multiple data structures to represent the operating environment, generates route plans, and allows optimized movement of the vehicles from one node to another node [Li, 0006]”.
Regarding claim 2:
Kessler in view of Li teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kessler further teaches:
wherein estimate, based on the obtained real-time vehicle travelling profiles (the vehicle presence detector 206 is positioned upstream of the merge area 212. Vehicle presence information from the vehicle presence detector 206 may thus be used by vehicles attempting to merge at the merge area 212 to identify available vehicle locations. The vehicle presence detector 206 may be or include any suitable systems and/or components that can sense the presence or absence of vehicles at a position on the roadway [0046]), a possibility of having a set of vehicles among the plurality of vehicles accessing the at least one vehicle zone and travelling along the single vehicle lane at the same time (the vehicle 214-4 may send information to the vehicle 214-5 indicating the position of the vehicle 214-4 and the absence of a vehicle on the position target 218 [0051]), further comprises to identify one or more similarities between the vehicle travelling profiles of the set of vehicles (This condition is illustrated in FIG. 3C by the first segment 324 having position targets 326 with sufficient spacing to accommodate the position targets 328 of the second segment 325. In this way, the vehicle flows of the first and second segments can merge together without backups or slowdowns. Further, the speed of the vehicles on the first and second segments 324, 325 may remain the same after the vehicle flows are joined and they are navigating along the third segment 322 [0058]), and determine that the possibility satisfies a safety criterion further comprises to determine that the one or more similarities satisfies the safety criterion (Each vehicle that is on that roadway segment may be assigned to or otherwise associated with a different moving position-target, and the moving position-targets may be predetermined (e.g., by a function that relates position along the roadway with time) so that the vehicles maintain a safe distance from one another. In this way, the locations of individual vehicles on the roadway and the overall flow of vehicles along the roadway segment may be tightly controlled, thereby reducing the risk of traffic jams, collisions, or the like [0031]).
Regarding claim 3:
Kessler in view of Li teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kessler further teaches:
wherein estimate, based on the obtained real-time vehicle travelling profiles(the vehicle presence detector 206 is positioned upstream of the merge area 212. Vehicle presence information from the vehicle presence detector 206 may thus be used by vehicles attempting to merge at the merge area 212 to identify available vehicle locations. The vehicle presence detector 206 may be or include any suitable systems and/or components that can sense the presence or absence of vehicles at a position on the roadway [0046]), a possibility of having a set of vehicles among the plurality of vehicles accessing the at least one vehicle zone and travelling along the single vehicle lane at the same time (the vehicle 214-4 may send information to the vehicle 214-5 indicating the position of the vehicle 214-4 and the absence of a vehicle on the position target 218 [0051]), further comprises to estimate whether a vehicle among the set of vehicles can travel between the entrance and exit of the vehicle zone without colliding with another vehicle among the plurality of vehicles planning to travel between the entrance and exit of the vehicle zone (The position targets 326 and 328 may be staggered so that the position targets 326 of the first segment 324 accommodate the position targets 328 of the second segment 325 in the existing gaps between the position targets 326. Because the vehicle control schemes of all segments of the join junction 320 are predetermined, including the positions and speeds of the position targets 326, 328, and 329, continuous, uninterrupted merging of the vehicle flows may be maintained continuously (and without requiring the vehicles to significantly slow down or speed up to accomplish the merge) [0059]).
Regarding claim 4:
Kessler in view of Li teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kessler further teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine, based on the obtained real-time vehicle travelling profiles, that the possibility dissatisfies the safety criterion (some segments may require the ability to handle non-steady state traffic flows. Examples may include on-ramps, where vehicles may have to wait for an available vehicle position and boarding areas where the flow of vehicles may be unpredictable and/or driven by user demands [0074]).
Regarding claim 5:
Kessler in view of Li teaches all the limitations of claim 4, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kessler further teaches:
wherein, if the possibility dissatisfies the safety criterion, the processing circuitry is further configured to estimate if one or more vehicle travelling profiles can be adjusted to satisfy the safety criterion (When a vehicle is traveling along a roadway segment that utilizes this type of control scheme, the vehicle may be assigned to or otherwise associated with a particular moving position-target, and the vehicle may adjust its speed and/or heading to minimize the error between its actual position and the position of the moving position-target [0031]; the vehicle 214-5 may determine the locations of other vehicles, the distances between itself and other vehicles, the closing speeds and/or directions of other nearby vehicles, or the like. The vehicle 214-5 may use such information to accelerate, decelerate, or change heading or position in order to maintain safe clearances, closing speeds, or the like, between itself and other vehicles during merging. [0054]).
Regarding claim 6:
Kessler in view of Li teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kessler further teaches:
wherein, if the possibility satisfies the safety criterion (The platooning scheme may also establish or define a maximum platoon size. For example, platoons may be limited to a maximum of ten vehicles, six vehicles, five vehicles, or any other suitable size. In some cases, the maximum platoon size may vary based on conditions and/or circumstances [0081]), the processing circuitry is further configured to compare the vehicle travelling profiles to identify possibilities for coupling at least two adjacent vehicles to each other to form a vehicle coupled combination (vehicles operating according to the platooning scheme may communicate with one another to determine whether they should join a platoon or form a new platoon. For example, each vehicle may be configured to communicate with a vehicle that is directly ahead on the roadway. The vehicles may include wireless vehicle-to-vehicle communications systems to facilitate such communications, such as optical communications systems, radio-based communications systems, or the like. Vehicle-to-vehicle communications may be direct from one vehicle to another, or messages may be relayed through one or more other servers, computers, controllers, communications systems or providers, or the like [0083]); and
feeding motion commands to the adjacent vehicles for realizing their routes through the at least one vehicle zone together (FIG. 6A illustrates a segment 600 of a roadway with three platoons: a first platoon 602 with one vehicle, a second platoon 604 with three vehicles, and a third platoon 606 with five vehicles. FIG. 6A shows the platoons at a time t.sub.0. As described above, smaller platoons may travel faster than larger platoons to allow the smaller platoons to catch up to and join the larger platoons. [0077]), the feeding motion commands further comprising commands for connecting the adjacent vehicles to form the vehicle coupled combination before entering the at least one vehicle zone (by grouping into larger platoons, more and larger gaps will tend to form along the roadway, providing greater opportunities for other vehicles to merge into the flow of traffic. [0076]).
Regarding claim 7:
Kessler in view of Li teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kessler further teaches:
wherein the vehicle travelling profiles comprise travelling data (A distance between the first vehicle and the second vehicle may change as the first vehicle and the second vehicle navigate along the section of the roadway. A time interval between the first vehicle and the second vehicle may be maintained above an established minimum value [0004]) in the form of any one of driving directions of the plurality of vehicles, scheduled routes of the plurality of vehicles (their next maneuver (e.g., right turn, left turn, planned stop) [0090]), distance between the plurality of vehicles (the distances between itself and other vehicles [0054]; a gap of certain distance or duration between vehicles [0048]), relative time gaps between the plurality of vehicles (a constant time interval between the two vehicles along the roadway [0008]), relative speed between the plurality of vehicles (the speed of the vehicle [0042]), speed differences between the plurality of vehicles (the closing speeds [0054]), relative acceleration between the plurality of vehicles (a change in a speed of a second vehicle that is ahead of the first vehicle, and changing a speed of the first vehicle in response to detecting the change in speed of the second vehicle [0012]), planned activities by the plurality of vehicles within the at least one vehicle zone unit (their next maneuver (e.g., right turn, left turn, planned stop) [0090]).
Regarding claim 8:
Kessler in view of Li teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Li further teaches:
wherein the vehicle path within the confined geographical area is defined by a subset of static nodes (The graph includes multiple nodes representing a region of free space [0039]) using a route optimizing algorithms (the system optimizes one or more route plans to provide optimized route plans [abstract]).
Regarding claim 9:
Kessler in view of Li teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kessler further teaches:
wherein the safety criterion (During merging, the vehicle 214-5 may use various techniques to ensure a safe merge operation. For example, the vehicle 214-5 may determine the locations of other vehicles, the distances between itself and other vehicles, the closing speeds and/or directions of other nearby vehicles, or the like. The vehicle 214-5 may use such information to accelerate, decelerate, or change heading or position in order to maintain safe clearances, closing speeds, or the like, between itself and other vehicles during merging [0054]) is any one of the following: the set of vehicles travels in the same direction (the number of vehicles in a platoon [0087]), an estimated speed difference between the set of vehicles is within a predetermined speed range (a change in a speed of a second vehicle that is ahead of the first vehicle, and changing a speed of the first vehicle in response to detecting the change in speed of the second vehicle [0012]), an estimated relative speed between the set of vehicles is within a predetermined range (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.), an estimated relative acceleration between the vehicles is within a predetermined acceleration range (examiner is interpreting this limitation in the alternative.), an estimated relative distance between the set of vehicles is within a predetermined distance range (the first segment 324 having position targets 326 with sufficient spacing to accommodate the position targets 328 of the second segment 325 [0058]), an estimated time gap between the set of vehicles is within a predetermined time period (a certain time interval (e.g., the target vehicle spacing) [0086]), and an estimated time to collision between the set of vehicles is within a predetermined time period ().
Regarding claim 10:
Kessler in view of Li teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kessler further teaches:
A vehicle (vehicle control schemes may be executed by the vehicles, by the transportation system controller, by a combination of the vehicles and the transportation system controller, or using any other suitable components, computers, servers, controllers, or combinations thereof [0033]) comprising the computer system of claim 1 (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 11:
Kessler teaches:
A computer-implemented method for controlling movements of a plurality of vehicles (The vehicle controller may include computers, processors, memory, circuitry, or any other suitable hardware components, and may be interconnected with other systems of the vehicle to facilitate the operations described herein, as well as other vehicle operations [0096]) in a confined geographical area (vehicle control schemes, as well as techniques for transitioning between various different vehicle control schemes at intersections, merge points, junctions, and the like [0032]), the computer-implemented method comprising:
defining, by processing circuitry of a computer system, at least one vehicle path within the confined geographical area (fig. 2A, merge area 212; fig. 3C, join junction 320) by [a subset of static nodes, wherein the subset of static nodes] defines a topological representation of the at least one vehicle path (fig. 2, roadway 200), the at least one vehicle path containing at least one vehicle zone (fig. 2A, merge area 212; fig. 3C, join junction 320) with an entrance (fig. 2A, segments 208 and 210; in which a first segment 324 joins a second segment 325 [0058]) and an exit (fig. 2A, section 204; the flow of vehicles from the first and second segments 324, 325 continue along a third segment 322 (moving in direction 327) [0058]), and further being delimited to a single vehicle lane (see at least figs. 2 and 3 showing single lane of traffic post merging.);
obtaining real-time (the tracking functions for the roadway may be changed or adjusted in real-time [0069]) vehicle travelling profiles of the plurality of vehicles intended to travel in the at least one vehicle zone (vehicles that are on the roadway and operating under a moving position-target control scheme transmit, to other vehicles and/or a system controller of the transportation system, their own location, the position target they are following, the locations of other nearby vehicles, the presence or absence of vehicles on adjacent position targets, and the like [0051]), the vehicle travelling profiles containing travelling data (A distance between the first vehicle and the second vehicle may change as the first vehicle and the second vehicle navigate along the section of the roadway. A time interval between the first vehicle and the second vehicle may be maintained above an established minimum value [0004]);
estimating, based on the obtained real-time vehicle travelling profiles (the vehicle presence detector 206 is positioned upstream of the merge area 212. Vehicle presence information from the vehicle presence detector 206 may thus be used by vehicles attempting to merge at the merge area 212 to identify available vehicle locations. The vehicle presence detector 206 may be or include any suitable systems and/or components that can sense the presence or absence of vehicles at a position on the roadway [0046]), a possibility of having a set of vehicles among the plurality of vehicles accessing the at least one vehicle zone and travelling along the single vehicle lane at the same time (the vehicle 214-4 may send information to the vehicle 214-5 indicating the position of the vehicle 214-4 and the absence of a vehicle on the position target 218 [0051]);
determining that the possibility satisfies a safety criterion (During merging, the vehicle 214-5 may use various techniques to ensure a safe merge operation. For example, the vehicle 214-5 may determine the locations of other vehicles, the distances between itself and other vehicles, the closing speeds and/or directions of other nearby vehicles, or the like. The vehicle 214-5 may use such information to accelerate, decelerate, or change heading or position in order to maintain safe clearances, closing speeds, or the like, between itself and other vehicles during merging [0054]), so as to allow the set of vehicles to travel through the at least one vehicle zone together (Once an available vehicle position is identified, the merging vehicle 214-5 may select a tracking function, from a plurality of candidate tracking functions, that is associated with the available vehicle position. For example, as described herein, the available vehicle position may correspond to a position target, and the position target may be defined by or associated with a unique tracking function that defines the position of the position target with respect to time. Accordingly, as described herein, the merging vehicle 214-5 may use information, such as a position where the available vehicle position was detected, and a time at which it was detected, to determine the tracking function that corresponds to the available vehicle position. Once the tracking function is selected (and when it is otherwise safe to do so), the merging vehicle 214-5 may merge onto the first segment 208 of the roadway at the available vehicle position. Once merged, the vehicle 214-5 navigates along the roadway in accordance with the selected tracking function [0052]); and
feeding motion commands to the set of vehicles for realizing their routes through the at least one vehicle zone together (The position targets 326 and 328 may be staggered so that the position targets 326 of the first segment 324 accommodate the position targets 328 of the second segment 325 in the existing gaps between the position targets 326 [0059]).
Kessler does not explicitly teach, however Li teaches:
defining at least one vehicle path within the confined geographical area (Every edge connecting the nodes represents a pathway with a certain amount of space that robots can move through. This primary representation of the functional space helps in faster traversal and simplifies the overall methodology. In the graph, the edges also have space constraints indicating the width or narrowness of the paths. The assumption is if the robot is too big or large to move through the pathway, then the planning process may consider that the robot cannot move through it. Alternatively, in the planning stage, if a path is big enough for multiple robots to pass through it simultaneously, the information enables the system to not consider the scenario as a collision. [0039]) by a subset of static nodes (The graph includes multiple nodes representing a region of free space [0039]), wherein the subset of static nodes defines a topological representation of the at least one vehicle path (The graph includes multiple nodes representing a region of free space. Every edge connecting the nodes represents a pathway with a certain amount of space that robots can move through [0039]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kessler to include the teachings as taught by Li with a reasonable expectation of success. Both referencing are in the same field of endeavor of optimizing routing of vehicles. Li teaches the benefit of “he technologies described herein are related to a robust cloud platform that optimizes route plans. In an exemplary embodiment, the platform utilizes multiple data structures to represent the operating environment, generates route plans, and allows optimized movement of the vehicles from one node to another node [Li, 0006]”.
Regarding claim 12:
Kessler in view of Li teaches all the limitations of claim 11, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kessler further teaches:
wherein estimating a possibility of having a set of vehicles among the plurality of vehicles accessing the at least one vehicle zone and travelling along the single vehicle lane at the same time (the vehicle 214-4 may send information to the vehicle 214-5 indicating the position of the vehicle 214-4 and the absence of a vehicle on the position target 218 [0051]), further comprises identifying one or more similarities between the vehicle travelling profiles of the set of vehicles (This condition is illustrated in FIG. 3C by the first segment 324 having position targets 326 with sufficient spacing to accommodate the position targets 328 of the second segment 325. In this way, the vehicle flows of the first and second segments can merge together without backups or slowdowns. Further, the speed of the vehicles on the first and second segments 324, 325 may remain the same after the vehicle flows are joined and they are navigating along the third segment 322 [0058]), and wherein determining that the possibility satisfies a safety criterion further comprises determining that the one or more similarities satisfies the safety criterion (Each vehicle that is on that roadway segment may be assigned to or otherwise associated with a different moving position-target, and the moving position-targets may be predetermined (e.g., by a function that relates position along the roadway with time) so that the vehicles maintain a safe distance from one another. In this way, the locations of individual vehicles on the roadway and the overall flow of vehicles along the roadway segment may be tightly controlled, thereby reducing the risk of traffic jams, collisions, or the like [0031]).
Regarding claim 13:
Kessler in view of Li teaches all the limitations of claim 11, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kessler further teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine, based on the obtained real-time vehicle travelling profiles, that the possibility dissatisfies the safety criterion (some segments may require the ability to handle non-steady state traffic flows. Examples may include on-ramps, where vehicles may have to wait for an available vehicle position and boarding areas where the flow of vehicles may be unpredictable and/or driven by user demands [0074]).
Regarding claim 14:
Kessler in view of Li teaches all the limitations of claim 13, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kessler further teaches:
wherein, if the possibility dissatisfies the safety criterion, the processing circuitry is further configured to estimate if one or more vehicle travelling profiles can be adjusted to satisfy the safety criterion (When a vehicle is traveling along a roadway segment that utilizes this type of control scheme, the vehicle may be assigned to or otherwise associated with a particular moving position-target, and the vehicle may adjust its speed and/or heading to minimize the error between its actual position and the position of the moving position-target [0031]; the vehicle 214-5 may determine the locations of other vehicles, the distances between itself and other vehicles, the closing speeds and/or directions of other nearby vehicles, or the like. The vehicle 214-5 may use such information to accelerate, decelerate, or change heading or position in order to maintain safe clearances, closing speeds, or the like, between itself and other vehicles during merging. [0054]).
Regarding claim 15:
Kessler in view of Li teaches all the limitations of claim 11, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kessler further teaches:
A computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by processing circuitry (The vehicle controller may include computers, processors, memory, circuitry, or any other suitable hardware components, and may be interconnected with other systems of the vehicle to facilitate the operations described herein, as well as other vehicle operations. [0096]), the method of claim 11.
Regarding claim 16:
Kessler in view of Li teaches all the limitations of claim 11, upon which this claim is dependent.
Kessler further teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform (The vehicle controller may include computers, processors, memory, circuitry, or any other suitable hardware components, and may be interconnected with other systems of the vehicle to facilitate the operations described herein, as well as other vehicle operations. [0096]) the method of claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bai (US 10,252,721) discloses A computer-implemented method and system for controlling vehicles in a vehicle convoy. The vehicles in the vehicle convoy include a following vehicle and a preceding vehicle positioned immediately ahead of the following vehicle. The method includes receiving vehicle convoy data about an environment surrounding the vehicle convoy, and detecting an intention of a remote vehicle to execute a cut-in maneuver into a path of the following vehicle. The method includes controlling a vehicle system of the following vehicle to project a status indication to a ground surface between the following vehicle and the preceding vehicle. Further, the method includes determining whether the cut-in maneuver is acceptable based on the intention of the remote vehicle and a distance between the following vehicle and the preceding vehicle, and controlling the following vehicle based on whether the cut-in maneuver is acceptable.
Mizoguchi (US 12,103,568) discloses A vehicle driving support system capable of supporting driving of a vehicle that travels on a road includes a notifier, and an acquirer. In a case where there is a first vehicle that moves between lanes, the notifier is configured to, provide notification of presence of the first vehicle to a second vehicle travelling in a target lane into which the first vehicle is to move. The acquirer is configured to acquire a size of a merging space that is to be provided by the second vehicle for merging of the first vehicle. In a case where the first vehicle is travelling under autonomous operation or assisted operation, the acquirer is configured to acquire the size of the merging space such that the size of the merging space is longer than when acquired in a case where the first vehicle is travelling under manual operation.
Saito (US 10,834,552) discloses A device and related method are associated with a focus vehicle. The device comprises a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, and a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol. The device comprises a controller that is configured to collect, store, and share, via the V2VN, area information comprising passing information when on a narrow road, obstacle information when on a wide road, and passing obstacle information when on the narrow road. The device produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle, and a display that displays virtual traffic information representing at least stopping and proceeding of the focus vehicle onto a windshield of the vehicle.
Katkoori (US 2025/0201128) discloses Systems and methods are provided herein for implementing dynamic, scalable platoon formations for traveling vehicles. Such platoons may be formed and modified on the fly by vehicles that have varying sensing or autonomy capabilities. Platoons may be negotiated among available vehicles, to designate roles including global platoon leader, local leader(s), and platoon member(s). While the platoons are in place and the vehicles traveling in coordination, platoon members may depart the platoon, and the remaining members may re-allocate roles among the remaining members.
Lou (US 2022/0044556) discloses A server includes an acquisition interface, a server communication interface, and a server controller. The acquisition interface is configured to be able to acquire traffic information regarding road traffic. The server communication interface is configured to be able to transmit/receive information to/from a plurality of first vehicles that are autonomous. The server controller is configured to instruct a second vehicle selected from the plurality of first vehicles to perform a specific action, in order to control traffic at any spot based on the traffic information.
Ran (US 2020/0327812) discloses Provided herein is technology relating to roadway design and traffic control systems and methods for connected and automated vehicle and highway (CAVH) systems, and particularly, but not exclusively, to systems and methods for controlling switching of vehicles between automated mode and human-driven mode, systems and methods for vehicle merging, diverging, and overtaking on automated lanes of multiple lane highways, systems and methods for emergency management and roadside assistance on automated lanes, and/or systems and methods for managing automated vehicle lanes on urban major and minor expressways.
Lesher (US 2018/0188746) discloses Highway vehicle platoon management is provided. Driver quality parameters are used together with vehicle physical characteristic and performance information to select an ordering of the vehicles within the platoon. The vehicles within the platoon mutually self-order to select the ordering of the vehicles within the platoon for enhanced safety and efficiency. The driver quality parameters together with the vehicle physical characteristic and performance information is also used to reward best drivers with preferred locations within the platoon. The vehicles within the platoon mutually self-order to reward best drivers with preferred locations within the platoon. An existing vehicle platoon is selectively split into two or more smaller platoons for improving overall safety and efficiency. Two or more smaller vehicle platoons are selectively aggregated into a larger single platoon for improving overall safety and efficiency.
Scott R. Jagolinzer
Examiner
Art Unit 3665
/S.R.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665