DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to applicant's amendment received on 11/19/2025. Amended claims 11-12 and 15-17 are acknowledged and the following grounds of rejection below are maintained. Claims
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12129893. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they all recite similar limitations.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer is improper since the applicant cited must be as exactly cited on the ADS and or filing receipt and also in its entirety. Correction and resubmission is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 11-14, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goto (U.S. Publication 2022/0018387), hereinafter “Goto”.
Regarding claim 1, Goto discloses a bearing (shown in figure 4), comprising; a first half shell (41a) and an eccentric second half shell (42a), in which the first half shell and the second half shell shells are configured to connect at a joint (51 and 61) to form a cylindrical bearing (shown in figure 1); the first half shell (41a) having a first crown thickness (T1) at a first crown (at P1) of the first half shell, and a first wall thickness (thickness at Q1) between the first crown and the joint (shown in figure 1); and the second half shell (42a) having a second crown thickness (T2) at a second crown (at P2) of the second half shell, and a second wall thickness (thickness at Q2) between the second crown and the joint; in which wherein the second crown thickness (T2) is greater than the first crown thickness (T1), and in which the first wall thickness (at Q1) is equal to the second wall thickness (at Q2) at a point of equal thickness between 10 and 60 degrees from the joint (within 10 and 60 degrees there are points of equal thicknesses between 41a and 42a). Claim does not state that from the joint thicknesses have to be the same throughout the degrees but only at a point.
Regarding claim 2, Goto discloses the bearing according to claim 1, in which wherein the first wall thickness is equal to the second wall thickness at a point of equal thickness greater than 15 degrees and/or less than 45 degrees from the joint (shown in figure 1). There are points of equal thickness between 41a and 42a between 15 and 45 degrees.
Regarding claim 3, Goto discloses the bearing according to claim 1, in which wherein the first wall thickness is equal to the second wall thickness at a point of equal thickness at an angular distance of 25 degrees from the joint (shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Goto discloses the bearing according to claim 1, wherein the second half shell (42a) has a second eccentricity defined by the second crown thickness (T2) minus the second wall thickness (thickness at Q2) at an eccentricity point (shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Goto discloses the bearing according to claim 1, wherein the first half shell (41a) is an eccentric half shell and has a first eccentricity defined by the first crown thickness (T1) minus the first wall thickness (thickness at Q1) at an eccentricity point, preferably in which the eccentricity point is an angular distance of 25 degrees from the joint (shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Goto disclose the bearing according to claim 7, wherein a second eccentricity of the second half shell defined by the second crown thickness minus the second wall thickness is greater than the first eccentricity (shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Goto discloses the bearing according to claim 2, wherein the first half shell (42b) is configured to be a loaded half shell, and second half shell (41b) is configured to be an unloaded half shell. Examiner notes that paragraph 42 mentions that the intermediate bearings have a flipped configuration to figure 4 in which the thicker bearing is the lower bearing.
Regarding claim 12, Goto discloses the bearing according to claim 2, wherein the bearing is a connecting rod big-end bearing for a reciprocating engine, preferably in which the first half shell (42a) is a rod side connecting rod big end bearing, and in which the second half shell (41a) is a cap-side (33) connecting rod big-end bearing (shown in figure 3).
Regarding claim 13, Goto discloses the bearing according to claim 1, wherein the bearing is a main bearing for a reciprocating engine (paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 14, Goto discloses a method of manufacturing a bearing, comprising the steps of: forming a first half shell having a first crown thickness at a first crown and a first wall thickness between the first crown and a joint face; and forming a second half shell having a second crown thickness at a second crown and a second wall thickness between the second crown and a joint face; wherein the second crown thickness is greater than the first crown thickness, and the first wall thickness is equal to the second wall thickness at a point of equal thickness between 10 and 60 degrees from the joint faces. Refer to the rejections of claim 1 for further details since the limitations are similar.
Regarding claim 18, Goto discloses method the bearing according to claim 5, wherein the eccentricity point is an angular distance of 25 degrees from the joint. Refer to the rejections of claim 3 for further details since the limitations are similar.
Regarding claim 19, Goto discloses method the bearing, comprising: a first half shell and an eccentric second half shell, the first half shell and the second half shell configured to connect at a joint to form a cylindrical bearing; the first half shell having a first crown thickness at a first crown of the first half shell, and a first wall thickness between the first crown and the joint; and the second half shell having a second crown thickness at a second crown of the second half shell, and a second wall thickness between the second crown and the joint; wherein the second crown thickness is greater than the first crown thickness, and the first wall thickness is equal to the second wall thickness at a point of equal thickness between 10 and 60 degrees from the joint; and wherein the first half shell is configured to be a loaded half shell, and second half shell is configured to be an unloaded half shell. Refer to the rejections of claims 1 and 11 for further details since the limitations are similar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto.
Regarding claim 4, Goto discloses the claimed invention but is silent to disclose the second crown thickness being at least 6 µm greater than the first crown thickness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of when the invention was made to provide such a range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Goto discloses the claimed invention but is silent to disclose the second eccentricity being between 10 µm and 35 µm and the first eccentricity being between 1 µm and 10 µm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of when the invention was made to provide such ranges, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves
only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Goto does not disclose having different eccentricities for the half shells, in which the first half shell is provided with a lower eccentricity which reduces POFP in the bearing, while the second half shell retains a higher eccentricity which reduces contact severity and seizure risks at high engine speed. However, these limitations were not provided within the claims. Applicant argues that Goto does not teach “and the first wall thickness is equal to the second wall thickness at a point of equal thickness between 10 and 60 degrees from the joint”. However, examiner will explain in more detail with the example given below to read on the broad limitation in accordance to the previous rejection. Goto’s upper half shell or second half shell has a thickness between 10 to 60 degrees and the specific thickness at 10 degrees is value X. Since Goto’s lower half shell or first half shell is shown as being thinner than the upper half shell, there is a value Y at a point between 10 and 60 degrees of the lower half shell in which the thickness Y equals thickness X within this 10 to 60 degree range. As an example the thickness Y of the lower half shell at 25 degrees may be equal to thickness X of the upper half shell at 10 degrees. Therefore, examiner can choose a point of thickness within 10 to 60 degrees of the lower half shell to match the thickness of any point within the thickness of the upper shell since claims do not state otherwise. Claims should recite and make it clear that the thickness between the first half shell and the second half shell are the same throughout the entirety of 10 to 60 degrees for both the shells.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 15-17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: No prior art teaches all the limitations of claims 10 and 20, but more specifically, the first and second half shells having uniform thickness throughout a distance of 140 degrees from the joints and the rest of the 40 degrees having different thicknesses from each other in which the lower bearing is thicker. Examiner notes that this is allowable with an additional amendment that states the bearing is for a connecting rod big end. It provides a burdensome search for the examiner to search ALL existing bearings for all arts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED O HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747 2/27/2026