Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 9, 13, 14, 15, and 17 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perelli (Pub 20200120306) in view of Chang (U.S. 8662676).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Perelli discloses (system 100 fig 1- fig 12):
a projector, (projection assembly 201 fig 2/fig 4);
a memory storing at least one instruction and at least one processor configured to execute the at least one instruction stored in the memory to, (Para. [0177][0185):
receive, from a user, a selection of first projection information including a first projection location and a first projection purpose, from among at least one piece of projection information included in a projection information list that is stored in the memory and selectable by the user, wherein each piece of the at least one piece of projection information includes a projection location, which corresponds to a position of the projector, and a projection purpose, (note user selection of different modes, construed as different projection information, Para. [0030-0032]. A schedule may be selected by a user wherein the schedules comprises different modes and corresponding different projection directions, Par. [0176]. The different modes include different purpose such as illuminating a floor or projecting images on walls, Para. [0079][0135]. Once a mode is selected, a projection direction is adjusted, Para. [0032][0052]. The schedule may comprise data structure, construed as different projection information list wherein the different modes associated with the selected schedule and projection direction, construed as projection location, corresponding to a position of the projector may be stored, see schedule which is user-selectable can be stored Para. [0033][0053]),
adjust a projection direction of the projector to the first projection location included in the selected first projection information and control the projector to project, from the first projection location, first content corresponding to the first projection purpose included in the selected first projection information, (note based on a schedule which may be user selectable, projection direction may be adjusted to project different content such projecting recipes onto a wall or illuminating a floor, Para. [0079][0176])
wherein the projection purpose of each piece of the at least one piece of projection information indicates a use or function for which corresponding content is to be projected, (note different purposes such as illuminating a floor or projecting images onto a wall which are construed as indicating different use/function, Para. [0079]).
However, the first projection information includes a first guide image, the first guide image being an image of a guide pattern projected from the first projection location
And at least one processor is configured to projection the guide pattern from the first projection location, obtain, through the camera an image of the projected guide pattern as a current guide image, and compare the first guide image with the current guide image to obtain a difference therebetween and determine, based on the difference, whether to further adjust the projection direction for the projector or warp the current guide image is not explicitly disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Chang discloses the first projection information includes a first guide image, the first guide image being an image of a guide pattern projected from the first projection location and at least one processor is configured to projection the guide pattern from the first projection location, obtain, through the camera an image of the projected guide pattern as a current guide image, and compare the first guide image with the current guide image to obtain a difference therebetween and determine, based on the difference, whether to further adjust the projection direction for the projector or warp the current guide image, (note computing device 124 fig 1 projecting a known pattern with the projector on the target 606 fig 6. A first set of one or more images of the target and the known pattern projected is acquired and locations of one or more fiducial features are determined at 608-612 fig 6. A comparison of feature points can be generated based on fiducial features 614 fig 6 and (15)-(16) of the detailed description. Based on a predetermined level of accuracy, more iterations for generating calibration data may take place whereby projector poses are changed, 616-620 fig 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Change for the benefit of accurately generating projector parameters thereby improving the quality of displayed images/videos.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Perelli discloses further comprising: a stand; at least one connector connecting the projector to the stand; and a driver configured to adjust a position of at least one of the stand, the projector, or the at least one connector, (see countertop 608 fig 6 as a stand. It is known that system 110 can be mechanically/electrically connected to countertop of fig 6 whereby a driver such as motor to adjust projection direction, Para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, Perelli discloses wherein the projection purpose of each piece of the
at least one piece of projection information includes at least one of a lighting purpose, an application output purpose, a monitor purpose, an external device content output purpose, a projection keyboard purpose, or a scanner purpose, (see floor illumination as lighting purpose Para. [0079]).
Regarding claim 20, Perelli discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for executing the method of claim 15, (Para. [0177]).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perelli in view of Chang in view of Van Blon (Pub 20210247668).
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses claim 1. However, obtain a projection plane image by controlling the camera to photograph a first projection area corresponding to the first projection location, obtain at least one of flatness, material, color, or brightness of the first projection area from the obtained projection plane image, obtain ambient brightness through the illumination sensor, and based on at least one of the obtained flatness, the obtained material, the obtained color, the obtained brightness of the projection area, or the obtained ambient brightness, control the projector to adjust at least one of a form, color, or luminance of the first content snot disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, VanBlon discloses further comprising: a camera; and an illumination sensor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: obtain a projection plane image by controlling the camera to photograph a first projection area corresponding to the first projection location, obtain at least one of flatness, material, color, or brightness of the first projection area from the obtained projection plane image, obtain ambient brightness through the illumination sensor, and based on at least one of the obtained flatness, the obtained material, the obtained color, the obtained brightness of the projection area, or the obtained ambient brightness, control the projector to adjust at least one of a form, color, or luminance of the first content, (see a camera Para. [0031]. Also ambient light may also be detected Para. [0094]. Also see at least color correction with respect to feedback from at least one sensor Para. [0036][0075][0078]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by VanBlon for the benefit of adapting a projection image based on different parameters such as ambient light so that the image is viewable with clarity and sharpness.
Claim(s) 9 - 12, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perelli in view of Chang in view of Sodhi (Pub 202000374498).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, the combination discloses claims 1 and 15 including receiving user selections, (Para. [0033]) and a camera, (Para. [0175]). However, receive a request to generate new projection information through the user input unit, and determine, as a second projection location to be included in the new projection information, a projection location selected from among a current projection location of the projector and a projection location recommended based on a surrounding image obtained with the camera, determining, as a second projection purpose to be included in the new projection information, a projection purpose selected by a user are not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sodhi discloses receive a request to generate new projection information through the user input unit, and determine, as a second projection location to be included in the new projection information, a projection location selected from among a current projection location of the projector and a projection location recommended based on a surrounding image obtained with the camera, determining, as a second projection purpose to be included in the new projection information, a projection purpose selected by a user, (see user input unit for confirming, disabling source-surface associations Para. [0062], camera Para. [0031-0032], and see a projection location selected from an among a current projection location and a recommended location based on captured images, Para. [0133][0163][0170]. Further a user may associate different sources with different locations construed as receiving second projection purpose to be included in the new projection information, Para. [0143] for associating a second surface and a second content source. The second association is construed as new projection information. Also, second projection location and second projection purpose may be generated as one set as new projection information, see linking Para. [0127]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Sodhi for the common purpose of enhancing a user’s convenience by associating projection purposes to projection surfaces.
Regarding claims 10, the Perelli discloses receiving user selections, Para. [0067])
and receive selection of a second projection purpose to be included in the new projection information through the user input unit, and generate second projection information including the second projection purpose and the second projection purpose as one set, as the new projection information, (note a schedule may comprise different modes, construed as different purposes. A user may generate second projection information, construed as a mode to be added to a schedule wherein at least two modes of a schedule are construed as one set and new projection information, Para. [0176]).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, the combination discloses claims 10 and 18. However,
output at least one recommended projection purpose, based on at least one of the projection location or a second projection area corresponding to the second projection location; and receive, through the user input unit, selection of one of the at least one recommended projection purpose as the second projection purpose is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sodhi discloses output at least one recommended projection purpose, based on at least one of the projection location or a second projection area corresponding to the second projection location; and receive, through the user input unit, selection of one of the at least one recommended projection purpose as the second projection purpose, (see populating a list of available content sources and selecting by a user from the list of content sources Para. [0139]. The content sources are construed as having projection purpose such as disclosed in Para. [0020] fig 3A-3C and Para. [0160-0161]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Sodhi for the common purpose of enhancing a user’s convenience by associating projection purposes to projection surfaces.
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses claim 11. However, wherein the at least
one processor is configured to: output the at least one recommended projection purpose, based on at least one of the second projection location, a material, a color, or a size of the second projection area corresponding to the second projection location is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sodhi discloses wherein the at least one processor is
configured to: output the at least one recommended projection purpose, based on at least one of the second projection location, a material, a color, or a size of the second projection area corresponding to the second projection location, (Para. [0162]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by Sodhi for the common purpose of enhancing a user’s convenience by associating projection purposes to projection surfaces.
Claim(s) 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perelli in view of Chang in view of Kishi (Pub 20180082618).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Perelli discloses claims 1 and 15. However, a
camera, wherein, when the first projection purpose is one of a projection keyboard purpose and a scanner purpose, the at least one processor is configured to receive, through the camera, information corresponding to the projection of the first content is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kishi discloses camera, wherein, when the first projection
purpose is one of a projection keyboard purpose and a scanner purpose, the at least one processor is configured to receive, through the camera, information corresponding to the projection of the first content, (Para. [0050]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating Kishi for the common purpose of allowing projection purposes to be displayed as intended thereby enhancing a user’s experience.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perelli in view of Chang in view of Kishi in view of Walker (Pub 20130222228).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses claim 5. However, an infrared sensor,
wherein, when the first projection purpose is the projection keyboard purpose, the at least one processor is configured to receive, through the camera and the infrared sensor, the information corresponding to the projection of the first content is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Walker discloses an infrared sensor, wherein, when the first projection purpose is the projection keyboard purpose, the at least one processor is configured to receive, through the camera and the infrared sensor, the information corresponding to the projection of the first content, (see taking picture of keyboard, (Para. [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating Walker for the common purpose of allowing projection purposes to be displayed as intended thereby enhancing a user’s experience.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Perelli in view of Chang in view of Sodhi in view of Kubota (Pub 20100103386).
Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses claim 10. However, control the projector
to project a guide pattern onto a second projection area, from the second projection location; perform keystone correction on the projected guide pattern; and add a keystone correction amount of the guide pattern to the second projection information and store the same is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kubota discloses control the projector to project a guide
pattern onto a second projection area, from the second projection location; perform keystone correction on the projected guide pattern; and add a keystone correction amount of the guide pattern to the second projection information and store the same, (see fig 7 and 8 for keystone correction and displaying a guide pattern. it is noted that keystone correction is performed based on movement measured by velocity sensor S302-S306 which is construed as projection on a second projection area. keystone correction value may be updated and stored as disclosed in Para. [0100]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating Kubota for the common purpose of allowing projection purposes to be displayed as intended thereby enhancing a user’s experience.
Regarding claim 14, the combination discloses claim 10. However, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: control the projector to project a guide pattern onto a second projection area from the second projection location; perform keystone correction on the projected guide pattern, obtain, with the camera, a second guide image of the second projection area onto which the projected guide pattern on which the keystone correction has been performed is projected, and add the second guide image to the second projection information and store the same is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kubota discloses wherein the at least one processor is
configured to: control the projector to project a guide pattern onto a second projection area from the second projection location; perform keystone correction on the projected guide pattern, obtain, with the camera, a second guide image of the second projection area onto which the projected guide pattern on which the keystone correction has been performed is projected, and add the second guide image to the second projection information and store the same, (see fig 7 and 8 for displaying a guide pattern and keystone correction. A camera may obtain projection images and stored the obtained images, Para. [0069][0121]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating Kubota for the common purpose of allowing projection purposes to be displayed as intended thereby enhancing a user’s experience.
Conclusion
HUMAM M. SATTI
Examiner
Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422