DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/24/2026 has been entered and made of record. Claim 10 is cancelled. Claims 1-9, 11, 12 are pending.
The amendment to the title has overcome the specification objection made in the non-final office action filed 05/06/2026. The objection is withdrawn and the title is acceptable.
The amendments to claims 4, 5, 6, 9 have overcome the 35 USC 112(b) rejections made in the non-final office action filed 05/06/2026. The 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/24/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendment. Applicant argues YAHAGI (US 20110175910 A1) fails to teach performing control processing after the image processing is performed. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yahagi teaches the display control unit (28) causes the first (G1) and second (G2) images to be two-dimensionally displayed on the monitor (20) when the zoom control operation via zoom lever (34A) (said display magnification set) is used [0060, 0066]. Yahagi teaches applying 3D processing to reduce the parallax [0068]. When the parallax is 0, the first and second images (G1, G2) are morphed to display a single image at the zoom value [0066]. Therefore, the 3D processing is performed on the first and second images (G1, G2) and then a 2D image is displayed based on the zoom level determined by the zoom lever (34A), thus image processing is performed first, and control processing is performed on the image processed images.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
RE claim 1, claim 1(e) has been amended to recite, “Perform control processing of performing control to display two image areas after the image processing is performed” (emphasis added). The claimed “two image areas” were described in claim 1(c) and claim 1(d). It is unclear if the “two image areas” of claim 1(e) are the same as claims 1(c) and (d). Furthermore, the remainder of the claim limitations refer to “the two image areas”. If the “two image areas” of claim 1(e) and claim 1(c) are different, it is unclear if “the two image areas” of claim 1(f) refers to the “two image areas” of claim 1(e) or claim 1(c). From context, it will be examined as if the “two image areas” of claim 1(e) is referring to the “two image areas” of claim 1(c). Claims 11 and 12 recite similar situations and are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim 2 has been amended to recite the limitation "the parallax" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 8, 9 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) additionally recite “the two image areas”. As stated in claim 1, it is unclear if there are different “two image areas”, and if so, it is unclear which “two image areas” claims 2, 3, 5, 8, 9 are referencing.
Claims 4, 7 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) due to their dependency on rejected claim 1. Their limitations fail to remedy the situation of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YAHAGI (US 20110175910 A1).
RE claim 1, Yahagi teaches three-dimensional processing for three-dimensional display applied to two or more images. Yahagi further teaches the ability to zoom within the three-dimensional display [abstract]. Yahagi teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1, stereoscopic camera (1) [0042] comprising:
(a)
a processor; and
Fig. 1, CPU (33) [5:29-32].
(b)
a memory storing a program which, when executed by the processor, causes the electronic device to
Fig. 1, the internal memory (27) stores various constants to be set in the stereoscopic camera (1), a program executed by the CPU (33) etc., [0059]
(c)
perform setting processing of setting a display magnification of two image areas,
The photographer uses a zoom control operation using a zoom lever (34A) while the live view image of the first (G1) and second (G2) images are displayed [0066].
(d)
perform image processing to reduce distortion of the image, and
Fig. 1, image processing unit (23) [0042]. As will be described below, Yahagi teaches switching from three-dimensional display to a two-dimensional display when zooming to reduce the parallax (said distortion), i.e., an amount of disparity [0068]. Three-dimensional processing is applied to gradually reduce the parallax (said image processing to reduce distortion) [0068]. This alleviates the uncomfortable feeling felt due to variation of the stereoscopic effect during the zoom operation [0076].
(e)
perform control processing of performing control to display two image areas after the image processing is performed, at the display magnification set by the setting processing, wherein,
Yahagi teaches the display control unit (28) (said control processing) causes the first (G1) and second (G2) images to be two-dimensionally displayed on the monitor (20) when the zoom control operation via zoom lever (34A) (said display magnification set) is used [0060, 0066]. As taught in the rationale of claim 1(d), Yahagi teaches applying 3D processing to reduce the parallax [0068]. When the parallax is 0, the first and second images (G1, G2) are morphed to display a single image at the zoom value [0066]. Therefore, the 3D processing is performed on the first and second images (G1, G2) and then a 2D image is displayed based on the zoom level determined by the zoom lever (34A) (said after image processing is performed).
(f)
in the control processing,
(i)
in a case where a first display magnification is set, control is performed to display the two image areas after the image processing is performed as an image for a right eye for a left eye, and,
The display control unit (28) causes the first (G1) and second (G2) images, which have been subjected to the three-dimensional image processing via three-dimensional processing unit (30), to be three-dimensionally displayed on the monitor (20) [0060, 0063]. The three-dimensional processing unit (30) applies the three-dimensional processing depending on the type of three-dimensional display to the first (G1) and second (G2) images. When the 3D display is achieved by parallel viewing with naked eyes, the 3D processing is achieved by generating stereoscopic image by arranging the first (G1) and second (G2) images side by side on the left and right is carried out (said after image processing) [0064]. It is implied that the display is displayed at zero magnification, i.e., the scale at which the images were taken (said first display magnification set) since the following step (claim 1(f)(ii)) describes the situation of when the user sets a zoom.
(ii)
in a case where a second display magnification different from the first display magnification is set, control is performed to display one of the two image areas after the image processing is performed as the image for the right eye and the image for the left eye.
Yahagi teaches when the user makes a zoom control operation (said second display magnification different from the first display magnification is set) using a zoom lever (34A) while the live view image of the first (G1) and second (G2) images are displayed, the display control unit switches the display from 3D display to 2D display. Specifically, in place of the image for 3D display generated by the 3D processing unit (30), the first (G1) image is displayed on the monitor (20) (said display one of the two image areas) [0066]. As discussed in claim 1(d), Yahagi teaches three-dimensional processing is applied to gradually reduce the parallax (said image processing) [0068] in order to display the 2D display (said after the image processing is performed).
RE claim 2, Yahagi teaches wherein
(a)
the program, when executed by the processor, further causes the electronic device to perform acquisition processing of acquiring one image including the two image areas having the parallax as an image before the image processing is performed, and,
Yahagi teaches a stereoscopic camera (1) that includes two imaging units (21A, 21B) [0042]. The objects can be 3D displayed to allow stereoscopic viewing by arranging the objects on each of the first (G1) and second (G2) images such that a parallax is provided therebetween [0079].
(b)
in the control processing, in a case where the second display magnification is set, control is performed to cut out the one of the two image areas from the one image after the image processing is performed and display the one of the two image areas at two positions.
As taught in the rationale of claim 1(f)(ii), Fig. 5, the CPU (33) monitors if the zoom lever (34A) has been operated (said where the second display magnification is set). When it has, the imaging units (21A, 21B) start the zoom operation, and the display unit (28) switches the display to 2D display where only the first image (G1) is displayed on the monitor (20) (said cut out the one of the two image areas) [0073]. As taught in the rationale of claim 1(d), Yahagi teaches applying 3D processing to reduce the parallax [0068]. Therefore, the 3D processing is performed on the first and second images (G1, G2) and then a 2D image is displayed based on the zoom level determined by the zoom lever (34A) (said after image processing is performed).
RE claim 11, claim 11 recites similar limitations as claim 1 except in process form. The same rationale applied to claim 1 is applied herein. Furthermore, Fig. 5 illustrates the process of the limitations of claim 1 [0072-0077].
RE claim 12, claim 12 recites similar limitations as claim 1 except in manufacture form. The same rationale applied to claim 1 is applied herein. Furthermore, internal memory (27) stores a program executed by the CPU (33) [0059].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAHAGI (US 20110175910 A1) in view of JIN et al. (2016/0330430 A1).
RE claim 3, Yahagi teaches stereoscopic viewing by displaying the first (G1) and second (G2) images side by side [0063]. Stereoscopic camera (1) includes two imaging units (21A, 21B) [0042]. However, Yahagi is silent to each of the two image areas is a fish-eye image area.
Jin teaches displaying three-dimensional (3D) video recorded on a stereoscopic camera [abstract]. Three-dimensional stereoscopic video can be a digital motion picture that enhances the illusion of depth perception, hence adding a third dimension [0028]. Jin teaches a stereoscopic camera that captures 180° 3D images and videos by using two fish-eye lenses spaced apart at a distance similar to that of human eyes (said each of the two image areas is a fish-eye image area) [0037]. The compact stereoscopic camera uses two fish-eye lenses to simultaneously capture video streams from two different perspectives [0038, 0049].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fish-eye lenses of Jin with the imaging units (21A, 21B) of the stereoscopic system of Yahagi. The fish-eye lenses provide the illusion of being immersed in the video or image. With this set-up, the user can use natural head motions to look freely in different directions, at different parts of the image or video within the 180° wide field. Together with the field-of-view that is larger than the field-of-view of human vision, this can create a sense of presence in the consumer of the captured videos or photos [Jin: 0038].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAHAGI (US 20110175910 A1) in view of SHODA et al. (US 2022/0385830 A1) and WIKIPEDIA (web.archive.org/web/20200323083018/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Equirectangular_projection).
RE claim 6, Yahagi teaches stereoscopic camera (1) includes a 3D processing unit (30) that applies the 3D processing to the first (G1) and second (G2) images to allow 3D display of the first (G1) and second (G2) images on the monitor (20) [0063]. However, Yahagi does not go into detail about the type of processing, such as equirectangular transformation.
Shoda is made of record as teaching a device for capturing a first and second image having predetermined parallax [abstract]. The system includes a digital camera (100) with lens unit (300) that captures two images (still or moving) at a time with a predetermined parallax [0023, Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B]. The lens unit (300) can be a fish-eye lens that can capture the range of a wide view angle of about 180° [0057, 0059]. The lens unit (300) can form a right image and a left image [0059]. Two images with a parallax can be obtained at the same time (as a set) from two points (optical systems) on the right-eye optical system (301R) and the left-eye optical system (301L). VR display is provided for each eye, enabling the user to view a 3D VR image over the range of about 180°, i.e., obtain a stereoscopic view of an image of VR180 [0061]. A circular fish-eye image is subjected to equidistant cylinder transformation [0066]. As supported by Wikipedia, it is well known in the art that equidistant cylindrical projection is also known as equirectangular transformation.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the 3D processing unit (30) of Yahagi to perform equidistant cylinder transformation as taught by Shoda because the equidistant cylinder transformation transforms spherical coordinates into planar coordinates [Wiki: §Definition]. This is needed in order to display the fish-eye image of Yahagi on the planar display.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAHAGI (US 20110175910 A1) in view of SHODA et al. (US 2022/0385830 A1).
RE claim 7, Yahagi teaches stereoscopic camera (1) includes a 3D processing unit (30) that applies the 3D processing to the first (G1) and second (G2) images to allow 3D display of the first (G1) and second (G2) images on the monitor (20) [0063]. However, Yahagi does not go into detail about the type of processing, such as perspective projection transformation.
Shoda is made of record as teaching a device for capturing a first and second image having predetermined parallax [abstract]. The system includes a digital camera (100) with lens unit (300) that captures two images (still or moving) at a time with a predetermined parallax [0023, Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B]. The lens unit (300) can be a fish-eye lens that can capture the range of a wide view angle of about 180° [0057, 0059]. The lens unit (300) can form a right image and a left image [0059]. Two images with a parallax can be obtained at the same time (as a set) from two points (optical systems) on the right-eye optical system (301R) and the left-eye optical system (301L). VR display is provided for each eye, enabling the user to view a 3D VR image over the range of about 180°, i.e., obtain a stereoscopic view of an image of VR180 [0061]. Fig. 14A, an overall circular fish-eye image (equidistant projection image) is displayed as a VR image [0066]. The image is subjected to perspective projection transformation in order to achieve the display of Fig. 14C [0066].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the 3D processing unit (30) of Yahagi to perform perspective projection transformation as taught by Shoda because the perspective projection transformation is correction for bringing the view of an image close to an actual (real) view by a human. The perspective projection transformation is processing for reducing the distortion of image [Shoda: 0066].
Claims 4-5, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAHAGI (US 20110175910 A1) in view of XIAO et al. (2018/0150132 A1).
RE claim 4, Yahagi in view of Xiao teaches
(a)
the first display magnification includes a reference magnification.
Yahagi teaches when the release button is fully pressed, the imaging control unit (22) instructions the imaging units (21A, 21B) to carry out actual imagining to obtain actual images of the first (G1) and second (G2) images [0053]. The 3D display is generated from the actual images of the first (G1) and second (G2) images processed by the image processing unit (23) and generates a 3D image file used for 3D display [0056].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the claimed first magnification is implied to be at zero magnification, i.e., the scale at which the images were taken (said a reference magnification). This is justified because the method of Yahagi further teaches modifying the zoom value which in turn changes the display mode to 2D [0072-0077]. Yahagi teaches after the zoom operation has ended, i.e., original magnification (said first magnification, reference magnification), the display is switched to 3D display in order for stereoscopic viewing to be achieved successfully [0077].
Yahagi teaches the limitations of claim 4 with the exception of discussing enlarging and reducing based on the reference magnification. Xiao is made of record as teaching a device and method for zooming in/out on an image on a VR device based on posture [abstract].
(b)
in a case where enlarged display is performed, a display magnification that is higher than the reference magnification is set, and
In further view of Xiao, Xiao teaches before the image on the VR device is zoomed in on, the method may further include determining whether the zoom level of the current image is lower than a first zoom level threshold and if the user is focused on the image [0060], then perform zooming in (said enlarged display is performed). Therefore, when the zoom-in operation is complete, the zoom level will be higher than the threshold (said display magnification is higher than the reference magnification is set).
(c)
in a case where reduced display is performed, a display magnification that is lower than the reference magnification is set.
In further view of Xiao, Xiao teaches before the image on the VR device is zoomed out on, the method may further include determining whether the zoom level of the current image is higher than a second zoom level threshold and if the user is focused on the image [0061], then perform zooming out (said reduced display is performed). Therefore, when the zoom-out operation is complete, the zoom level will be lower than the threshold (said display magnification is lower than the reference magnification is set).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to zoom in and out of the display as taught by Xiao with the system/method Yahagi. Yahagi teaches a zoom but does not discuss enlarging or reducing. It would be beneficial to have the ability to zoom in or out of the display of Yahagi to customize the display to the user’s liking.
RE claim 5, Yahagi in view of Xiao teaches wherein, in the control processing,
(a)
control is performed to display the two image areas after the image processing is performed as the image of the right eye and the image for the left eye in a case where a reference magnification is set, and
Yahagi teaches when the release button is fully pressed, the imaging control unit (22) instructions the imaging units (21A, 21B) to carry out actual imagining to obtain actual images of the first (G1) and second (G2) images [0053]. The 3D display is generated from the actual images of the first (G1) and second (G2) images processed by the image processing unit (23) (said after image processing) and generates a 3D image file used for 3D display [0056].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that claim 1’s first magnification is implied to be at zero magnification, i.e., the scale at which the images were taken (said a reference magnification). This is justified because the method of Yahagi further teaches modifying the zoom value which in turn changes the display mode to 2D [0072-0077]. Yahagi teaches after the zoom operation has ended, i.e., original magnification (said reference magnification), the display is switched to 3D display in order for stereoscopic viewing to be achieved successfully [0077].
(b)
control is performed to display the one of the two image areas after the image processing is performed as the image for the right eye and the image for the left eye in a case where the display magnification that is not the reference magnification is set
Fig. 5, the CPU (33) monitors if the zoom lever (34A) has been operated. When it has, the imaging units (21A, 21B) starts the zoom operation (said display magnification that is not the reference magnification is set) and the display unit (28) switches the display to 2D display where only the first image (G1) is displayed on the monitor (20) (said display the one of the two image areas after the image processing is performed as the image for the right eye and the image for the left eye) [0073].
Yahagi teaches the limitations of claim 5 with the exception of discussing enlarging and reducing based on the reference magnification. Xiao is made of record as teaching a device and method for zooming in/out on an image on a VR device based on posture [abstract].
(c)
in a case where enlarged display is performed, a display magnification that is higher than the reference magnification is set, and
In further view of Xiao, Xiao teaches before the image on the VR device is zoomed in on, the method may further include determining whether the zoom level of the current image is lower than a first zoom level threshold and if the user is focused on the image [0060], then perform zooming in (said enlarged display is performed). Therefore, when the zoom-in operation is complete, the zoom level will be higher than the threshold (said display magnification is higher than the reference magnification is set).
(d)
In a case where reduced display is performed, a display magnification that is lower than the reference magnification is set.
In further view of Xiao, Xiao teaches before the image on the VR device is zoomed out on, the method may further include determining whether the zoom level of the current image is higher than a second zoom level threshold and if the user is focused on the image [0061], then perform zooming out (said reduced display is performed). Therefore, when the zoom-out operation is complete, the zoom level will be lower than the threshold (said display magnification is lower than the reference magnification is set).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to zoom in and out of the display as taught by Xiao with the system/method Yahagi. Yahagi teaches a zoom but does not discuss enlarging or reducing. It would be beneficial to have the ability to zoom in or out of the display of Yahagi to customize the display to the user’s liking.
RE claim 8, Yahagi teaches the ability to stop zooming and return to the original magnification and hence return to 3D display [0066]. However, Yahagi fails to disclose the condition of displaying the first display magnification while being in the second display magnification mode.
Xiao teaches in the control processing, in a case where a specific mode is set and the second display magnification is set, control is performed to display the two image areas after the image processing is performed as the image for the right eye and the image for the left eye, at the first display magnification instead of the second display magnification. Xiao is made of record as teaching a device and method for zooming in/out on an image on a VR device based on posture [abstract]. The virtual reality device may be an HMD that includes sensors to estimate the displacement vector of the head of the user [0052, 0080-0081]. If the absolute value of the component of the displacement vector of the head of the user in the negative direction of the x-axis is greater than the first threshold, and the absolute values of the components of the displacement vector of the head of the user in the y-axis and z-axis are both less than the second threshold, the posture of the head of the user may be identified as the posture of zooming out (said a specific mode is set) [0046]. The system of Xiao determines whether the zoom level of the current image is higher than a second zoom level threshold (said second display magnification is set) in order to zoom out [0061]. Thus, when the displacement vector is greater than the threshold and the current image is at a higher zoom, the system/method of Xiao will perform the zooming out operation (said display the processed image at the first display magnification) [0061, 0093-0094].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the gestures of Xiao to zoom out of the display of Yahagi. This would provide customization for the user to adjust the display to their needs. Furthermore, the motion and displacement of the head provide a means for the user to avoid having a traditional input device, such as a mouse, to input the zoom instruction. This allows the user to stay engaged in the VR environment.
RE claim 9, Yahagi teaches the ability to stop zooming and return to the original magnification and hence return to 3D display [0066]. However, Yahagi fails to disclose the condition of displaying the first display magnification while being in the second display magnification mode.
Xiao teaches wherein
(a)
in the control processing, control is performed to display the processed image on a head-mounted display device, and
Xiao teaches the virtual reality device may be an HMD that includes sensors to estimate the displacement vector of the head of the user [0052, 0080-0081].
(b)
the range to be displayed changes with a change in orientation of the head-mounted display device.
Xiao teaches the sensors to estimate the displacement vector of the head of the user [0052, 0080-0081].
(c)
in the control processing, in a case where an amount of movement of the range to be displayed is larger than a threshold and the second display magnification is set, control is performed to display the two image areas after the image processing is performed as the image for the right eye and the image for the left eye, at the first display magnification instead of the second display magnification.
Xiao is made of record as teaching a device and method for zooming in/out on an image on a VR device based on posture [abstract]. The virtual reality device may be an HMD that includes sensors to estimate the displacement vector of the head of the user [0052, 0080-0081]. If the absolute value of the component of the displacement vector of the head of the user in the negative direction of the x-axis is greater than the first threshold (said case where an amount of movement of a range to be displayed is larger than a threshold), and the absolute values of the components of the displacement vector of the head of the user in the y-axis and z-axis are both less than the second threshold, the posture of the head of the user may be identified as the posture of zooming out [0046]. The system of Xiao determines whether the zoom level of the current image is higher than a second zoom level threshold (said second display magnification is set) in order to zoom out [0061]. Thus, when the displacement vector is greater than the threshold and the current image is at a higher zoom, the system/method of Xiao will perform the zooming out operation (said display the processed image at the first display magnification) [0061, 0093-0094].
Yahagi teaches when the zoom operation ends, the display control unit (28) switches the display from 2D to 3D. As taught in the rationale of claim 1(f)(i), the claimed first magnification is interpreted as zero magnification, i.e., the scale at which the images were taken. As taught by Yahagi, the display control unit (28) causes the first (G1) and second (G2) images, which have been subjected to the three-dimensional image processing via three-dimensional processing unit (30), to be three-dimensionally displayed on the monitor (20) [0060, 0063]. The three-dimensional processing unit (30) applies the three-dimensional processing depending on the type of three-dimensional display to the first (G1) and second (G2) images. When the 3D display is achieved by parallel viewing with naked eyes, the 3D processing is achieved by generating stereoscopic image by arranging the first (G1) and second (G2) images side by side on the left and right is carried out (said to display the two image areas after the image processing is performed as the image for the right eye and the image for the left eye) [0064].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the gestures of Xiao to zoom out of the display of Yahagi. This would provide customization for the user to adjust the display to their needs. Furthermore, the motion and displacement of the head provide a means for the user to avoid having a traditional input device, such as a mouse, to input the zoom instruction. This allows the user to stay engaged in the VR environment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
direct telephone number:
(571) 272-7661
email:
michelle.sams@uspto.gov
The examiner is currently part time and can be reached Mon.-Fri. 5:30am-9:30am.
/MICHELLE L SAMS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611
9 September 2026