DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 21 May 2026.
Claims 1, 6, 9, 14, and 17 were amended.
Claims 2, 3, 10, and 11 were cancelled.
Claims 1, 4-9, and 12-17 are pending in this Office Action.
Response to Amendment
The Double Patenting rejections were addressed and are withdrawn.
The objections to claims 6 and 14 regarding minor informalities were addressed and are withdrawn.
Applicants’ amendments and arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-9, and 12-17 filed on 21 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are deemed to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-9, 12, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawyer et al. (U.S. 10,567,333) and further in view of Maslak (U.S. 10,979,387).
Sawyer was cited on the IDS filed 28 September 2024.
With respect to claim 1, Sawyer teaches a method, comprising: causing at least a first server set (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 720; col. 3, lines 41-43) in a first Anycast region (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 720; col. 8, line 16) to advertise a first Anycast address (Sawyer, col. 7, line 18) for a first service (Sawyer, col. 3, lines 43-45), wherein the first server set comprises at least a first server (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 720; col. 3, lines 41-43); causing at least a second server set (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 3, lines 41-43) in a second Anycast region (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 8, line 16) to advertise a second Anycast address (Sawyer, col. 8, lines 41-42) for a second service (Sawyer, col. 3, lines 43-45), wherein the second server set comprises at least a second server (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 3, lines 41-43); determining that a first Anycast region requires additional server capacity; determining a period of time to provide the additional server capacity; in response to determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity (Sawyer, Fig. 6, elements 610-640; col. 7, lines 33-44), causing the second server (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 3, lines 41-43) in the second Anycast region (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 8, line 16) to advertise the first Anycast address (Sawyer, Fig, 7B, elements 710, 770, and 750; col. 8, lines 40-43); and after the period of time, causing the second server in the second Anycast region to cease advertising the first Anycast address (Sawyer, Fig. 6, element 680; col. 8, lines 9-12).
Sawyer does not explicitly teach wherein determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity comprises determining that a capacity metric has exceeded a threshold, and wherein the capacity metric comprises at least one of: processor usage and latency.
However, Maslak teaches wherein determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity comprises determining that a capacity metric has exceeded a threshold (Maslak, col. 21, lines 21-37), and wherein the capacity metric comprises at least one of: processor usage and latency (Maslak, col. 22, lines 16-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sawyer in view of Maslak in order to wherein determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity comprises determining that a capacity metric has exceeded a threshold, and wherein the capacity metric comprises at least one of: processor usage and latency. One would be motivated to do so in order to utilizing load balancing and anycast techniques in an effort to reduce the size of results provided by the DNS system (Maslak, col. 2, lines 1-3).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Sawyer and Maslak teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method wherein determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity comprises determining that a capacity metric is predicted to exceed a threshold within a prediction period (Sawyer, col. 5, lines 2-5).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Sawyer and Maslak teaches the invention described in claim 5, including the method wherein the period of time is dynamically determined (Sawyer, Fig. 6, elements 610-640 and 680; col. 7, lines 33-44 and col. 8, lines 9-12).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Sawyer and Maslak teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method wherein causing the second server in the second Anycast region to advertise the first Anycast address comprises causing the second server (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 3, lines 41-43) in the second Anycast region (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 8, line 16) to advertise the first Anycast address (Sawyer, col. 7, line 18) in addition to the second Anycast address (Sawyer, col. 8, lines 41-42).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Sawyer and Maslak teaches the invention described in claim 1, including the method further comprising causing routers in the first Anycast region to favor the second server during the period of time while the second server advertises the first Anycast address (Sawyer, Fig, 7B, elements 710, 770, and 750; col. 8, lines 40-43).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 9, Sawyer teaches a system, comprising: at least one processor; and memory, operatively connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform a method, the method comprising: causing at least a first server set (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 720; col. 3, lines 41-43) in a first Anycast region (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 720; col. 8, line 16) to advertise a first Anycast address (Sawyer, col. 7, line 18) for a first service (Sawyer, col. 3, lines 43-45), wherein the first server set comprises at least a first server (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 720; col. 3, lines 41-43); causing at least a second server set (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 3, lines 41-43) in a second Anycast region (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 8, line 16) to advertise a second Anycast address (Sawyer, col. 8, lines 41-42) for a second service (Sawyer, col. 3, lines 43-45), wherein the second server set comprises at least a second server (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 3, lines 41-43); determining that a first Anycast region requires additional server capacity; determining a period of time to provide the additional server capacity; in response to determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity (Sawyer, Fig. 6, elements 610-640; col. 7, lines 33-44), causing the second server (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 3, lines 41-43) in the second Anycast region (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 8, line 16) to advertise the first Anycast address (Sawyer, Fig, 7B, elements 710, 770, and 750; col. 8, lines 40-43); and after the period of time, causing the second server in the second Anycast region to cease advertising the first Anycast address (Sawyer, Fig. 6, element 680; col. 8, lines 9-12).
Sawyer does not explicitly teach wherein determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity comprises determining that a capacity metric has exceeded a threshold, and wherein the capacity metric comprises at least one of: processor usage and latency.
However, Maslak teaches wherein determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity comprises determining that a capacity metric has exceeded a threshold (Maslak, col. 21, lines 21-37), and wherein the capacity metric comprises at least one of: processor usage and latency (Maslak, col. 22, lines 16-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sawyer in view of Maslak in order to wherein determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity comprises determining that a capacity metric has exceeded a threshold, and wherein the capacity metric comprises at least one of: processor usage and latency. One would be motivated to do so in order to utilizing load balancing and anycast techniques in an effort to reduce the size of results provided by the DNS system (Maslak, col. 2, lines 1-3).
With respect to claim 17, Sawyer teaches a system, comprising: at least one processor; and memory, operatively connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform a method, the method comprising: causing at least a first server set (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 720; col. 3, lines 41-43) in a first Anycast region (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 720; col. 8, line 16) to advertise a first Anycast address (Sawyer, col. 7, line 18) for a first service (Sawyer, col. 3, lines 43-45), wherein the first server set comprises at least a first server (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 720; col. 3, lines 41-43); causing at least a second server set (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 3, lines 41-43) in a second Anycast region (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 8, line 16) to advertise a second Anycast address (Sawyer, col. 8, lines 41-42) for a second service (Sawyer, col. 3, lines 43-45), wherein the second server set comprises at least a second server (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 3, lines 41-43); determining that a first Anycast region requires additional server capacity; in response to determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity (Sawyer, Fig. 6, elements 610-640; col. 7, lines 33-44), causing the second server (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 3, lines 41-43) in the second Anycast region (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 8, line 16) to advertise the first Anycast address (Sawyer, Fig, 7B, elements 710, 770, and 750; col. 8, lines 40-43); dynamically determining (Sawyer, Fig. 6, elements 610-640 and 680; col. 7, lines 33-44 and col. 8, lines 9-12) whether the first Anycast region continues to require additional server capacity (Sawyer, Fig. 6, element 680; col. 8, lines 9-12); and based on dynamically determining (Sawyer, Fig. 6, elements 610-640 and 680; col. 7, lines 33-44 and col. 8, lines 9-12) that the first Anycast region no longer requires additional server capacity, causing the second server in the second Anycast region to cease advertising the first Anycast address (Sawyer, Fig. 6, element 680; col. 8, lines 9-12).
Sawyer does not explicitly teach wherein determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity comprises determining that a capacity metric has exceeded a threshold, and wherein the capacity metric comprises at least one of: processor usage and latency.
However, Maslak teaches wherein determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity comprises determining that a capacity metric has exceeded a threshold (Maslak, col. 21, lines 21-37), and wherein the capacity metric comprises at least one of: processor usage and latency (Maslak, col. 22, lines 16-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sawyer in view of Maslak in order to wherein determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity comprises determining that a capacity metric has exceeded a threshold, and wherein the capacity metric comprises at least one of: processor usage and latency. One would be motivated to do so in order to utilizing load balancing and anycast techniques in an effort to reduce the size of results provided by the DNS system (Maslak, col. 2, lines 1-3).
Claims 12, 13, 15, and 16 do not teach or define any new limitations above claims 4, 5, 7, and 8 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawyer and Maslak and further in view of Rolia et al. (U.S. 8,543,711).
Rolia was cited on the IDS filed 28 September 2024.
With respect to claim 6, Sawyer teaches the invention described in claim 5, including a method, comprising: causing at least a first server set (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 720; col. 3, lines 41-43) in a first Anycast region (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 720; col. 8, line 16) to advertise a first Anycast address (Sawyer, col. 7, line 18) for a first service (Sawyer, col. 3, lines 43-45), wherein the first server set comprises at least a first server (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 720; col. 3, lines 41-43); causing at least a second server set (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 3, lines 41-43) in a second Anycast region (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 8, line 16) to advertise a second Anycast address (Sawyer, col. 8, lines 41-42) for a second service (Sawyer, col. 3, lines 43-45), wherein the second server set comprises at least a second server (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 3, lines 41-43); determining that a first Anycast region requires additional server capacity; determining a period of time to provide the additional server capacity; in response to determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity (Sawyer, Fig. 6, elements 610-640; col. 7, lines 33-44), causing the second server (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 3, lines 41-43) in the second Anycast region (Sawyer, Fig. 7B, element 710; col. 8, line 16) to advertise the first Anycast address (Sawyer, Fig, 7B, elements 710, 770, and 750; col. 8, lines 40-43); and after the period of time, causing the second server in the second Anycast region to cease advertising the first Anycast address (Sawyer, Fig. 6, element 680; col. 8, lines 9-12); the method wherein the period of time is dynamically determined (Sawyer, Fig. 6, elements 610-640 and 680; col. 7, lines 33-44 and col. 8, lines 9-12); and the first Anycast region will no longer require additional server capacity (Sawyer, Fig. 6, element 680; col. 8, lines 9-12).
Sawyer does not explicitly teach wherein determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity comprises determining that a capacity metric has exceeded a threshold, and wherein the capacity metric comprises at least one of: processor usage and latency.
However, Maslak teaches wherein determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity comprises determining that a capacity metric has exceeded a threshold (Maslak, col. 21, lines 21-37), and wherein the capacity metric comprises at least one of: processor usage and latency (Maslak, col. 22, lines 16-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sawyer in view of Maslak in order to wherein determining that the first Anycast region requires additional server capacity comprises determining that a capacity metric has exceeded a threshold, and wherein the capacity metric comprises at least one of: processor usage and latency. One would be motivated to do so in order to utilizing load balancing and anycast techniques in an effort to reduce the size of results provided by the DNS system (Maslak, col. 2, lines 1-3).
The combination of Sawyer and Maslak does not explicitly teach based on a prediction of when.
However, Rolia teaches based on a prediction of when (Rolia, col. 1, lines 1-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sawyer and Maslak in view of Rolia in order to based on a prediction of when. One would be motivated to do so in order to increased flexibility, the ability to quickly repurpose server capacity to better meet the needs of application workload owners, and to reduce overall costs of ownership (Rolia, col. 3, lines 2-4).
Claim 14 does not teach or define any new limitations above claim 6 and therefore is rejected for similar reasons.
Conclusion
Applicants' amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alicia Baturay/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441
July 14, 2026