DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10 June 2025 was filed after the mailing date of the patent application on 26 September 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, received on 26 September 2024, are acceptable for examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT (Update for Solution#7: Support of Local Data Switching via UPF On-Board, 16th May 2022, SA WG2 Meeting # 150E, Tdoc: S2-2205028; See IDS: Pg. 2: Non-Patent Literature Documents, Citation No. 2; hereinafter referred to as “CATT”) in view of Ji et al. (US 20230077735 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Ji”).
Regarding Claim 21, Claim 21 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 30.
Regarding Claim 22, Claim 22 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 31.
Regarding Claim 23, Claim 23 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 32.
Regarding Claim 24, Claim 24 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 33.
Regarding Claim 25, Claim 25 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 34.
Regarding Claim 26, Claim 26 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 35.
Regarding Claim 27, Claim 27 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 36.
Regarding Claim 28, Claim 28 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 37.
Regarding Claim 29, Claim 29 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 38.
Regarding Claim 30, CATT discloses an apparatus, comprising:
receiving first information from a first anchor user plane network element (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 2), CATT discloses receiving, by a session management function (SMF), information from an Access and Management Function (AMF)), wherein the first anchor user plane network element is anchored by a first session established by a first terminal device (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 1), CATT disclose that the AMF is anchored to a Packet Data Unit (PDU) Session established by a first user equipment (UE1)), the first information comprises a source address of first data or a destination address of the first data (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 1), CATT disclose that the information comprises a Data Network Name (DNN) where the DNN is an identifier of an external packet data network. Examiner correlates the DNN to "a destination address of the first data"), and the first data comprises
data of the first session that is to be sent by the first terminal device to a second terminal device (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 1), CATT disclose that the PDU session is a session where packets are directed toward other user equipments or group members, such as a second UE (UE2)), or
data that is to be sent by the second terminal device to the first terminal device (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 6), CATT disclose that a second PDU session is a session where packets are directed toward other user equipments or group members, such as a first UE (UE1));
determining, based on the first information, whether the first terminal device and the second terminal device use a same access network or a same backhaul network (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 10), CATT disclose determining, by the SMF based on the DNN, whether UE1 and UE2 use a same satellite backhaul); and
determining, when the first terminal device and the second terminal device use the same access network or the same backhaul network, a first network element configured to forward the data of the first session (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 12), CATT disclose determining, by the SMF after the DNN indicates that UE1 and UE2 shared the same satellite backhaul, an intermedia user plane function (I-UPF) to enabled local data switching).
However, CATT does not disclose at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations.
Ji, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches [the apparatus] comprising:
at least one processor (¶32, Ji discloses a network entity comprising a processor and a memory where the processor and the memory are coupled in the network entity); and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations (¶32, Ji discloses that the memory stores instructions for execution by the processor of the network entity).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CATT by requiring at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations as taught by Ji because the exchange of data between two user equipments (UEs) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) controlled link improved by reducing the delay associated with resource allocation procedure (Ji, ¶51-52).
Regarding Claim 31, CATT in view of Ji discloses the apparatus according to claim 30.
CATT further discloses wherein that the first terminal device and the second terminal device use the same backhaul network comprises:
the first terminal device and the second terminal device use a same geostationary equatorial orbit (GEO) satellite (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 12), CATT disclose determining that UE1 and UE2 share the same satellite backhaul).
Regarding Claim 32, CATT in view of Ji discloses the apparatus according to claim 30.
CATT further discloses wherein the first information comprises an address of the second terminal device (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 1), CATT disclose that the DNN is an identifier of an external packet data network. Examiner correlates the DNN to "a destination address of the first data"), and
determining, based on the first information, whether the first terminal device and the second terminal device use the same access network or the same backhaul network comprises:
determining location information of the second terminal device based on the address of the second terminal device (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 10), CATT disclose determining, by the SMF, a location corresponding to UE1 and a location corresponding to UE2 when UE1 and UE2 are served by the same satellite backhaul. Here, if the UPF is an on-board UPF, then UE1 and UE2 are using the same satellite which further indicates that they are located in the same area, or location, created by the cell of the satellite); and
determining, based on location information of the first terminal device and the location information of the second terminal device, whether the first terminal device and the second terminal device use the same access network or the same backhaul network (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 12), CATT disclose determining, by the SMF based on UE1 and UE2 using the same satellite backhaul with an on-board UPF, an intermedia user plane function (I-UPF) to enabled local data switching).
Regarding Claim 33, CATT in view of Ji discloses the apparatus according to claim 30.
CATT further discloses wherein the first information comprises an address of the second terminal device (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 1), CATT disclose that the DNN is an identifier of an external packet data network. Examiner correlates the DNN to "a destination address of the first data"), and
determining, based on the first information, whether the first terminal device and the second terminal device use the same access network or the same backhaul network comprises:
determining, based on the address of the second terminal device, a second data network access identifier corresponding to a session of the second terminal device (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 10), CATT disclose determining, by the SMF based upon the DNN and backhaul information corresponding to UE2, a second PDU session); and
determining, based on a first data network access identifier corresponding to the first session and the second data network access identifier, whether the first terminal device and the second terminal device use the same access network or the same backhaul network (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 12), CATT disclose determining, by the SMF based on UE1 and UE2 using the same satellite backhaul with an on-board UPF, an intermedia user plane function (I-UPF) to enabled local data switching).
Regarding Claim 34, CATT in view of Ji discloses the apparatus according to claim 30.
CATT further discloses wherein the first network element comprises a second anchor user plane network element or an intermediate user plane network element (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 12), CATT disclose an intermedia user plane function (I-UPF) to enable local data switching); and
wherein the second anchor user plane network element is a user plane network element other than the first anchor user plane network element anchored by the first session (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 12), CATT disclose that the I-UPF is a UPF different from the SMF anchored by the PDU Session initiated by UE1), and the intermediate user plane network element provides a forwarding service for communication performed between the first terminal device and the second terminal device via the first session (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 12), CATT disclose that the I-UPF is configured to provide local data switching for communication performed between UE1 and UE2 via the first PDU session).
Regarding Claim 35, CATT discloses an apparatus, comprising:
determining first information (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 2), CATT discloses determining, by an Access and Management Function (AMF)), information comprising the data network name (DNN). Examiner correlates the AMF to "a first anchor user plane network element), wherein a first anchor user plane network element to which the apparatus is applied is anchored by a first session established by a first terminal device (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 1), CATT disclose that the AMF is anchored to a Packet Data Unit (PDU) Session established by a first user equipment (UE1). Examiner correlates UE1 to "a first terminal device"); and
sending the first information to a session management network element (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 2), CATT discloses receiving, by an Access and Management Function (AMF), information comprising the DNN to a session management function (SMF)); and
wherein the first information comprises a source address of first data or a destination address of the first data (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 1), CATT disclose that the information comprises a Data Network Name (DNN) where the DNN is an identifier of an external packet data network. Examiner correlates the DNN to "a destination address of the first data"),
the first data comprises
data of the first session that is to be sent by the first terminal device to a second terminal device (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 1), CATT disclose that the PDU session is a session where packets are directed toward other user equipments or group members, such as a second UE (UE2)), or
data that is to be sent by the second terminal device to the first terminal device (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 6), CATT disclose that a second PDU session is a session where packets are directed toward other user equipments or group members, such as a first UE (UE1)), and
the first information is used to determine whether the first terminal device and the second terminal device use a same access network or a same backhaul network (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 10), CATT disclose the DNN is used to determine whether UE1 and UE2 use a same satellite backhaul).
However, CATT does not disclose at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations.
Ji, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches [the apparatus] comprising:
at least one processor (¶32, Ji discloses a network entity comprising a processor and a memory where the processor and the memory are coupled in the network entity); and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations (¶32, Ji discloses that the memory stores instructions for execution by the processor of the network entity).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CATT by requiring at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations as taught by Ji because the exchange of data between two user equipments (UEs) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) controlled link improved by reducing the delay associated with resource allocation procedure (Ji, ¶51-52).
Regarding Claim 36, CATT in view of Ji discloses the apparatus according to claim 35.
CATT further discloses wherein that the first terminal device and the second terminal device use the same backhaul network comprises:
the first terminal device and the second terminal device use a same geostationary equatorial orbit (GEO) satellite (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 12), CATT disclose determining that UE1 and UE2 share the same satellite backhaul).
Regarding Claim 37, CATT in view of Ji discloses the apparatus according to claim 35.
CATT further discloses wherein the one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations further comprising:
receiving first indication information from the session management network element (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 7), CATT discloses receiving, by an Access and Management Function (AMF), satellite backhaul information and the gNB ID from the SMF. Examiner correlates "satellite backhaul information and the gNB ID" to "first indication information"), wherein the first indication information indicates to the first anchor user plane network element to report the first information when a first condition is met (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 7), CATT discloses that the satellite backhaul information causes the SMF to establish local data switching); and
determining whether the first condition is met, and sending the first information to the session management network element when the first condition is met (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 7 & Step 8), CATT discloses determining, by the AMF, whether UE1 and UE2 need local data switching); and
wherein the first condition comprises receiving data sent by the first terminal device to another terminal device (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 1), CATT disclose that the PDU session is a session where packets are directed toward other user equipments or group members, such as a second UE (UE2)) or receiving data sent by the another terminal device to the first terminal device (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 6), CATT disclose that a second PDU session is a session where packets are directed toward other user equipments or group members, such as a first UE (UE1)).
Regarding Claim 38, CATT in view of JI discloses the apparatus according to claim 35.
CATT further discloses wherein the first information further comprises at least one of the following:
a source interface identifier of the first data,
identification information of a local area network group to which the first terminal device belongs,
network instance information used by the first anchor user plane network element to receive the first data (Pgs. 3-5, §6.7.2: Procedures & Fig. 6.7.2-1 (Step 1), CATT disclose that the DNN is an identifier of an external packet data network. Examiner correlates the DNN to "a destination address of the first data"),
network instance information used by the first anchor user plane network element to send the first data,
N3 or N9 tunnel information used by the first anchor user plane network element to receive the first data, or
N3 or N9 tunnel information used by the first anchor user plane network element to send the first data.
Regarding Claim 39, CATT discloses the method according to claim 21.
However, CATT does not disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program; and when the computer program is run, an apparatus is enabled to perform [a method].
Ji, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program; and when the computer program is run, an apparatus is enabled to perform [a method] (¶32, Ji discloses a network entity comprising a memory storing instructions for execution by a processor of the network entity).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CATT by requiring a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program; and when the computer program is run, an apparatus is enabled to perform [a method] as taught by Ji because the exchange of data between two user equipments (UEs) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) controlled link improved by reducing the delay associated with resource allocation procedure (Ji, ¶51-52).
Regarding Claim 40, CATT discloses the method according to claim 21.
However, CATT does not disclose a chip system, comprising a processor, configured to invoke a computer program from a memory and run the computer program, to enable a communication apparatus in which the chip system is installed to perform the method.
Ji, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches a chip system, comprising a processor, configured to invoke a computer program from a memory and run the computer program, to enable a communication apparatus in which the chip system is installed to perform the method (¶32, Ji discloses a network entity comprising processor to execute instructions stored on a memory to cause the network entity to perform a method).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CATT by requiring a chip system, comprising a processor, configured to invoke a computer program from a memory and run the computer program, to enable a communication apparatus in which the chip system is installed to perform the method as taught by Ji because the exchange of data between two user equipments (UEs) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) controlled link improved by reducing the delay associated with resource allocation procedure (Ji, ¶51-52).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474