DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 9/26/24.
Inventorship
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 15-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wood (US20050029867) in view of Dougherty et al. (USS5488283, hereinafter Dougherty.
Regarding Claim 1, Wood discloses an on board power supply apparatus (fig. 2B), comprising: a switch module (100) comprising a driver (50), a switch assembly (40), and a first power conversion circuit is-configured to receive a high-voltage direct current and output a low-voltage direct current (¶25); wherein: a low-voltage load is configured to receive the low-voltage direct current or receive an output voltage of a low-voltage power supply through the switch assembly (low voltage load of fig 2B) a voltage of the low-voltage direct current and the output voltage of the low-voltage power supply are less than a voltage of the high-voltage direct current (¶26); and when the low-voltage power supply supplies power to the low-voltage load through the switch assembly, the driver is configured to: in response to a turn-off signal output by the latch circuit, control the switch assembly to break a connection between the low-voltage power supply and the low-voltage load until the latch circuit stops outputting the turn-off signal (¶37).
Wood does not disclose a latch circuit.
Dougherty discloses (fig. 6) a latch circuit (80, col. 12, lines 45-54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wood to include a latch circuit as disclosed in Dougherty to provide a design choice to allow for signaling connection/disconnection for efficient load needs.
Regarding Claim 2, Wood does not disclose a reset circuit configured to receive a reset indication and output a reset signal to the latch circuit; and the latch circuit is configured to: when a value of the output voltage of the low-voltage power supply is less than a first voltage value or greater than a second voltage value, output the turn-off signal until the reset signal is received; and in response to the reset signal, stop outputting the turn-off signal.
Dougherty discloses (fig. 6) a reset circuit configured to receive a reset indication and output a reset signal to the latch circuit; and the latch circuit is configured to: when a value of the output voltage of the low-voltage power supply is less than a first voltage value or greater than a second voltage value, output the turn-off signal until the reset signal is received; and in response to the reset signal, stop outputting the turn-off signal. (70/80, col. 14, lines 57-62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wood to include a latch circuit as disclosed in Dougherty to provide a design choice to allow for signaling connection/disconnection for efficient load needs.
Regarding Claim 3, Wood discloses a housing configured to house the first power conversion circuit and the switch module; a low-voltage load interface, a low-voltage power supply interface, and a high-voltage power supply interface are disposed on a surface of the housing; the low-voltage power supply interface is electrically connected to the low-voltage load interface; the first power conversion circuit is configured to receive the high-voltage direct current through the high-voltage power supply interface; the low-voltage power supply interface is configured to receive power from the low-voltage power supply; and the low-voltage load interface is configured to electrically connect to the low-voltage load. (fig. 1A, 1B, 2B; ¶18-20)
Regarding Claim 4, Wood does not disclose a voltage regulator configured to receive power from the low-voltage power supply and output a first reference voltage or a second reference voltage to the latch circuit, and the first reference voltage or the second reference voltage is used to control the latch circuit.
Doughertey discloses a voltage regulator configured to receive power from the low-voltage power supply and output a first reference voltage or a second reference voltage to the latch circuit, and the first reference voltage or the second reference voltage is used to control the latch circuit. (fig. 6, 63, 80)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wood to include a latch circuit as disclosed in Dougherty to provide a design choice to allow for signaling connection/disconnection for efficient load needs.
Regarding Claim 15, Wood discloses an electric vehicle (¶2) comprising on board power supply apparatus (fig. 2B), comprising: a switch module (100) comprising a driver (50), a switch assembly (40), and a first power conversion circuit is-configured to receive a high-voltage direct current and output a low-voltage direct current (¶25); wherein: a low-voltage load is configured to receive the low-voltage direct current or receive an output voltage of a low-voltage power supply through the switch assembly (low voltage load of fig 2B) a voltage of the low-voltage direct current and the output voltage of the low-voltage power supply are less than a voltage of the high-voltage direct current (¶26); and when the low-voltage power supply supplies power to the low-voltage load through the switch assembly, the driver is configured to: in response to a turn-off signal output by the latch circuit, control the switch assembly to break a connection between the low-voltage power supply and the low-voltage load until the latch circuit stops outputting the turn-off signal (¶37).
Wood does not disclose a latch circuit.
Dougherty discloses (fig. 6) a latch circuit (80, col. 12, lines 45-54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wood to include a latch circuit as disclosed in Dougherty to provide a design choice to allow for signaling connection/disconnection for efficient load needs.
Regarding Claim 16, Wood does not disclose a reset circuit configured to receive a reset indication and output a reset signal to the latch circuit; and the latch circuit is configured to: when a value of the output voltage of the low-voltage power supply is less than a first voltage value or greater than a second voltage value, output the turn-off signal until the reset signal is received; and in response to the reset signal, stop outputting the turn-off signal.
Dougherty discloses (fig. 6) a reset circuit configured to receive a reset indication and output a reset signal to the latch circuit; and the latch circuit is configured to: when a value of the output voltage of the low-voltage power supply is less than a first voltage value or greater than a second voltage value, output the turn-off signal until the reset signal is received; and in response to the reset signal, stop outputting the turn-off signal. (70/80, col. 14, lines 57-62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wood to include a latch circuit as disclosed in Dougherty to provide a design choice to allow for signaling connection/disconnection for efficient load needs.
Regarding Claim 17, Wood discloses a housing configured to house the first power conversion circuit and the switch module; a low-voltage load interface, a low-voltage power supply interface, and a high-voltage power supply interface are disposed on a surface of the housing; the low-voltage power supply interface is electrically connected to the low-voltage load interface; the first power conversion circuit is configured to receive the high-voltage direct current through the high-voltage power supply interface; the low-voltage power supply interface is configured to receive power from the low-voltage power supply; and the low-voltage load interface is configured to electrically connect to the low-voltage load. (fig. 1A, 1B, 2B; ¶18-20)
Regarding Claim 18, Wood does not disclose a voltage regulator configured to receive power from the low-voltage power supply and output a first reference voltage or a second reference voltage to the latch circuit, and the first reference voltage or the second reference voltage is used to control the latch circuit.
Doughertey discloses a voltage regulator configured to receive power from the low-voltage power supply and output a first reference voltage or a second reference voltage to the latch circuit, and the first reference voltage or the second reference voltage is used to control the latch circuit. (fig. 6, 63, 80)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wood to include a latch circuit as disclosed in Dougherty to provide a design choice to allow for signaling connection/disconnection for efficient load needs.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wood in view of Dougherty further in view of Cho (US20140117937)
Regarding Claim 14, Wood does not disclose a rectifier circuit is-configured to receive an alternating current and convert the alternating current into a direct current; and a second power conversion circuit is-configured to convert the direct current into the high- voltage direct current and supply power to the first power conversion circuit; wherein the high-voltage direct current is further used to supply power to a power battery.
Cho discloses (fig. 1) a rectifier circuit is-configured to receive an alternating current and convert the alternating current into a direct current; and a second power conversion circuit is-configured to convert the direct current into the high- voltage direct current and supply power to the first power conversion circuit; wherein the high-voltage direct current is further used to supply power to a power battery (fig. 1, 100).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wood to include rectifying power supply as disclosed in Cho to provide required voltage when designed to operate with AC supply.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the latch circuit comprises a reference voltage input terminal, a power supply voltage input terminal, a reset signal input terminal, and a turn-off signal output terminal; and the latch circuit is configured to: receive an output voltage from the voltage regulator through the reference voltage input terminal; receive the reset signal from the reset circuit through the reset signal input terminal; receive the output voltage of the low-voltage power supply through the power supply voltage input terminal; and output the turn-off signal to the driver through the turn-off signal output terminal.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the latch circuit comprises a reference voltage input terminal, a power supply voltage input terminal, a reset signal input terminal, and a turn-off signal output terminal; and.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20010013725, Mizuguchi, Yasushi et al. discloses an on-vehicle wiring harness and weight reduction method of the same.
/KYLE J MOODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838