DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: I. The examiner has understood the excerpt as “when the first component is engaged with”.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informality: “a” in the excerpt “via a the first button” is unnecessary and has been disregarded by the examiner.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacob et al. (NL 2029222 B1), hereinafter "Jacob".
Regarding claim 1, Jacob discloses a collapsible stroller (foldable stroller 1, figs. 1A, 1B, and 2, pp. 5-6, lines 23-2), comprising: an upper handlebar assembly (inner tubes 15 of the handlebar 11, fig. 1A); a lower handlebar assembly (outer tubes 13 of the handlebar 11, fig. 1A) connected to the upper handlebar assembly (“telescopic handlebar 11 comprising a pair of outer tubes 13, one on each lateral side of the stroller 1, within which inner tubes 15 may slide”, p. 5, lines 32-33); a pair of rear leg frames (rear legs 5, fig. 1A) pivotally connected with the lower handlebar assembly (“a central joint 21 connects the rear legs 5, front legs 9 and outer tubes 13 of the handlebar 11”, p. 6, lines 26-27) on a left side and a right side of the stroller, respectively; and a control module (control panel 17 comprising primary 16a and secondary 16b actuator buttons, figs. 1A and 1B, pp. 5-6, lines 33-1) configured to extend or retract the upper handlebar assembly in relation to the lower handlebar assembly via a first control mode (“pressing the primary actuator button 16a and depressing the handle 11 to adjust handle height”, p. 8, lines 27-28), and further configured to collapse the pair of rear leg frames with respect to the lower handlebar assembly via a second control mode (“secondary actuator button 16b of the control panel 17 is used when releasing the stroller 1 for folding”, p. 6, lines 23-24).
Regarding claim 2, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 1, wherein the upper handlebar assembly includes a generally U-shaped handle portion (generally U-shaped push bar 19 as shown in figs. 1A and 1B) and two tubular members extend axially downward from two side portions of the U-shaped handle portion (two inner tubes 15 extending axially downward from two sides of push bar 19 as shown in figs. 1A and 1B).
Regarding claim 3, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 2, wherein the lower handlebar assembly includes two tubular leg members configured to respectively receive the two tubular members of the upper handlebar assembly (“telescopic handlebar 11 comprising a pair of outer tubes 13, one on each lateral side of the stroller 1, within which inner tubes 15 may slide”, p. 5, lines 32-33, fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 4, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 3, wherein a distal end of each tubular member of the upper handlebar assembly is connected with a sub-assembly (the sub-assembly actuated by control panel 17 and positioned proximate outer tubes 13, inner tubes 15, and rear legs 5), wherein the sub-assembly includes a first component configured to control relative movements between the upper and lower handlebar assemblies (“movable protruding element 15a provided on the inner tube 15 … to release the fixation of the inner tubes 15 relative to the outer tubes 13”, p. 6, lines 7-11, figs. 3B, 3E, and 3F), and a second component (“releasable locking mechanism comprising first 29a and second 29b locking rings, a lever 30 and a cylindrical disk or collar 31 having externally protruding cam portions 33”, p. 7, lines 7-9, figs. 6A-B) configured to collapse the pair of rear leg frames with respect to the lower handlebar assembly (“releasable locking mechanism being released so that the handlebar 11 and front and rear legs 9, 5 of the stroller 1 are freed to rotate independently around the central joint 21”, p. 9, lines 18-21, figs. 3C, 3D, and 7A-C).
Regarding claim 5, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 4, wherein each tubular leg member of the lower handlebar assembly includes a plurality of holes (“plurality of recesses 13a provided on the outer tube 13”, p. 6, lines 8-9, figs. 3E-G) configured to engage with the first component (“movable protruding element 15a provided on the inner tube 15 … [for] engagement with one of a plurality of recesses 13a”, p. 6, line 13) and the second component (releasable locking mechanism released when inner tubes 15 surpass the lowest height setting and press lever 30 to initiate folding as described in pp. 8-9, lines 26-17).
Regarding claim 6, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 5, wherein, in response to detecting that the first control mode is activated, the control module is configured to move the first component into an unlocked position, such that the upper handlebar assembly moves relative to the lower handlebar assembly (“primary actuator button 16a is pressed by a user, resulting in cables within the handlebar 11 being pulled to retract a movable protruding element 15a provided on the inner tube 15 from engagement with one of a plurality of recesses 13a provided on the outer tube 13, thus to release the fixation of the inner tubes 15 relative to the outer tubes 13”, p. 6, lines 6-11, figs. 3B, 3E, and 3F).
Regarding claim 7, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 5, wherein the first control mode is deactivated when the first component is engaged with one of the plurality of holes on each tubular leg member of the lower handlebar assembly, thereby locking the upper handlebar assembly to the lower handlebar assembly at a selected position (“when a desired lower or higher handle bar position is reached, the primary actuator button16a can be released, causing the movable protruding element 15a provided on the inner tube 15 to engage with a further one of the corresponding recesses 13a, such that the push bar 19 is fixed at a new height.”, p. 6, lines 18-21).
Regarding claim 8, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 7, wherein, in response to detecting that the first component is engaged with a lowest hole on each tubular leg member of the lower handlebar assembly and the second control mode is activated, the control module is configured to force the second component to project out the lowest hole in order to unlock a hinge associated with the pair of rear leg frames (“to fold the stroller 1, the handlebar 11 firstly has to be adjusted to its lowest height … user actuates the secondary actuator button 16b of the control panel 17 on the handlebar 11 usage position … further handlebar movement results in the leading edge of each inner tube 15 pressing the lever 30” which in turn results in free rotation of rear legs 5 relative to outer tubes 13 at central joint 21, pp. 8-9, lines 26-21).
Regarding claim 9, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 8, wherein the hinge is activated (central joint 21 activated once handlebar 11 is at its lowest position and buttons of control panel 17 are actuated, fig. 8B, pp. 8-9, lines 26-6) to allow the pair of rear leg frames to pivot about a connection component coupled with the lower handlebar assembly (housing of central joint 21 extending onto outer tubes 13, fig. 8B), thereby collapsing the pair of rear leg frames with respect to the lower handlebar assembly (“front- and rear leg 5, 9 can rotate freely relative to each other and to the handlebar outer tube 13”, p. 9, lines 16-17).
Regarding claim 10, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 1, wherein the second control mode of the control module only activates when the first component is engaged with the lowest hole on each tubular leg member of the lower handlebar assembly (“to fold the stroller 1, the handlebar 11 firstly has to be adjusted to its lowest height usage position … the user actuates the secondary actuator button16b of the control panel 17 on the handlebar 11, p. 8, lines 26-32).
Regarding claim 11, Jacob discloses a collapsible stroller (foldable stroller 1, figs. 1A, 1B, and 2, pp. 5-6, lines 23-2), comprising: an upper handlebar assembly (inner tubes 15 of the handlebar 11, fig. 1A); a lower handlebar assembly (outer tubes 13 of the handlebar 11, fig. 1A) connected to the upper handlebar assembly (“telescopic handlebar 11 comprising a pair of outer tubes 13, one on each lateral side of the stroller 1, within which inner tubes 15 may slide”, p. 5, lines 32-33); a pair of rear leg frames (rear legs 5, fig. 1A) pivotally connected with the lower handlebar assembly (“a central joint 21 connects the rear legs 5, front legs 9 and outer tubes 13 of the handlebar 11”, p. 6, lines 26-27) on a left side and a right side of the stroller, respectively; and a control module having a first button and a second button (control panel 17 comprising primary 16a and secondary 16b actuator buttons, figs. 1A and 1B, pp. 5-6, lines 33-1), the control module configured to extend or retract the upper handlebar assembly in relation to the lower handlebar assembly via the first button (“pressing the primary actuator button 16a and depressing the handle 11 to adjust handle height”, p. 8, lines 27-28).
Regarding claim 12, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 11, wherein the upper handlebar assembly includes a generally U-shaped handle portion (generally U-shaped push bar 19, figs. 1A and 1B) and two tubular members extend axially downward from two side portions of the U-shaped handle portion (two inner tubes 15 extending axially downward from two sides of push bar 19 as shown in figs. 1A and 1B).
Regarding claim 13, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 12, wherein the lower handlebar assembly includes two tubular leg members configured to respectively receive the two tubular members of the upper handlebar assembly (“telescopic handlebar 11 comprising a pair of outer tubes 13, one on each lateral side of the stroller 1, within which inner tubes 15 may slide”, p. 5, lines 32-33, fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 14, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 13, wherein a distal end of each tubular member of the upper handlebar assembly is connected with a sub-assembly (the sub-assembly actuated by control panel 17 and positioned proximate outer tubes 13, inner tubes 15, and rear legs 5), wherein the sub-assembly includes a first component configured to control relative movements between the upper and lower handlebar assemblies (“movable protruding element 15a provided on the inner tube 15 … to release the fixation of the inner tubes 15 relative to the outer tubes 13”, p. 6, lines 7-11, figs. 3B, 3E, and 3F), and a second component (“releasable locking mechanism comprising first 29a and second 29b locking rings, a lever 30 and a cylindrical disk or collar 31 having externally protruding cam portions 33”, p. 7, lines 7-9, figs. 6A-B) configured to collapse the pair of rear leg frames with respect to the lower handlebar assembly (“releasable locking mechanism being released so that the handlebar 11 and front and rear legs 9, 5 of the stroller 1 are freed to rotate independently around the central joint 21”, p. 9, lines 18-21, figs. 3C, 3D, and 7A-C).
Regarding claim 15, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 14, wherein each tubular leg member of the lower handlebar assembly includes a plurality of holes (“plurality of recesses 13a provided on the outer tube 13”, p. 6, lines 8-9, figs. 3E-G) configured to engage with the first component (“movable protruding element 15a provided on the inner tube 15 … [for] engagement with one of a plurality of recesses 13a”, p. 6, line 13) and the second component (releasable locking mechanism released when inner tubes 15 surpass the lowest height setting and press lever 30 to initiate folding as described in pp. 8-9, lines 26-17).
Regarding claim 16, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 15, wherein, in response to detecting that the first button is activated, the control module is configured to move the first component into an unlocked position, such that the upper handlebar assembly moves relative to the lower handlebar assembly (“primary actuator button 16a is pressed by a user, resulting in cables within the handlebar 11 being pulled to retract a movable protruding element 15a provided on the inner tube 15 from engagement with one of a plurality of recesses 13a provided on the outer tube 13, thus to release the fixation of the inner tubes 15 relative to the outer tubes 13”, p. 6, lines 6-11, figs. 3B, 3E, and 3F).
Regarding claim 17, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 15, wherein the first button is deactivated when the first component is engaged with one of the plurality of holes on each tubular leg member of the lower handlebar assembly, thereby locking the upper handlebar assembly to the lower handlebar assembly at a selected position (“when a desired lower or higher handle bar position is reached, the primary actuator button16a can be released, causing the movable protruding element 15a provided on the inner tube 15 to engage with a further one of the corresponding recesses 13a, such that the push bar 19 is fixed at a new height.”, p. 6, lines 18-21).
Regarding claim 18, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 17, further configured to collapse the pair of rear leg frames with respect to the lower handlebar assembly via the second button (“secondary actuator button 16b of the control panel 17 is used when releasing the stroller 1 for folding”, p. 6, lines 23-24), wherein, in response to detecting that the first component is engaged with a lowest hole on each tubular leg member of the lower handlebar assembly and the second button is activated, the control module is configured to force the second component to project out the lowest hole in order to unlock a hinge associated with the pair of rear leg frames (“to fold the stroller 1, the handlebar 11 firstly has to be adjusted to its lowest height … user actuates the secondary actuator button 16b of the control panel 17 on the handlebar 11 usage position … further handlebar movement results in the leading edge of each inner tube 15 pressing the lever 30” which in turn results in free rotation of rear legs 5 relative to outer tubes 13 at central joint 21, pp. 8-9, lines 26-21).
Regarding claim 19, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 18, wherein the hinge is activated (central joint 21 activated once handlebar 11 is at its lowest position and buttons of control panel 17 are actuated, fig. 8B, pp. 8-9, lines 26-6) to allow the pair of rear leg frames to pivot about a connection component coupled with the lower handlebar assembly (housing of central joint 21 extending onto outer tubes 13, fig. 8B), thereby collapsing the pair of rear leg frames with respect to the lower handlebar assembly (“front- and rear leg 5, 9 can rotate freely relative to each other and to the handlebar outer tube 13”, p. 9, lines 16-17).
Regarding claim 20, Jacob discloses the collapsible stroller of claim 11, wherein the second button of the control module only activates when the first component is engaged with the lowest hole on each tubular leg member of the lower handlebar assembly (“to fold the stroller 1, the handlebar 11 firstly has to be adjusted to its lowest height usage position … the user actuates the secondary actuator button16b of the control panel 17 on the handlebar 11, p. 8, lines 26-32).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional art of record relates to strollers having features relevant to the claimed invention.
/MOHAMMAD OMID NEYZARI/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613