DETAILED ACTION
Status of Submission
The amendments to the specification and claims filed on September 2, 2026 have been entered.
Restriction
As set forth in the prior Office action mailed on June 9, 2026, the examiner required restriction to one of the following inventions under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-10, drawn to a stroller storage compartment with deployable adapters pivotally connected to and stored within a housing, classified in B62B9/26.
II. Claims 11-20, drawn to a stroller adapter assembly with an elongated body movable between multiple positions relative to a mounting fixture, classified in B62B7/142.
III. Claims 21-25, drawn to a stroller releasable adapter assembly with adapters that lock/ unlock to mounting fixtures, classified in B62B7/142.
Election of Invention I was made without traverse in the telephone conversation on June 4, 2026 and confirmed in the reply filed on September 2, 2026.
Claims Subject to Examination
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 26 and 27 of this application are subject to examination. Claims 3, 6, 8 and 10 are canceled.
Claims 11-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Construction in Examination
During examination, the pending claims are normally interpreted according to the broadest reasonable interpretation standard (hereinafter, the “BRI standard”). That is, claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, and limitations in the specification are not read into the claims. See MPEP 2111 et seq.
An exception to the BRI standard occurs when the applicant acts as their own lexicographer. For this exception to apply, the applicant must clearly set forth a special definition of a claim term in the specification that differs from the plain and ordinary meaning it would otherwise possess. See MPEP 2111.01, subsection IV.
Another exception or special case occurs when a claim recites a means-plus-function limitation that must be interpreted in accordance with 35 USC 112 ¶ 6, or 35 USC 112(f). See MPEP 2181. According to the guidance provided by Williamson v. Citrix Online, LLC, 792 F.3d 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (en banc), 35 USC 112 ¶ 6 applies when the claim term fails to recite (i) sufficiently definite structure, and/or (ii) sufficient structure for performing the claimed function.
Examiner’s Claim Construction
The current claim limitations are construed under the BRI standard. No explicit claim construction is deemed to be necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
GROUND 1: Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The preamble of claim 7 recites “The purpose-built storage compartment…”, which defines the claim as being directed to a subcombination of a storage compartment. However, the body of claim 7 recites “the compartment housing is fitted into a front side of the stroller adjacent to two front wheels of the stroller”, which defines the claim as being directed to a combination of storage compartment and a stroller. Due to the inconsistency between the preamble and the body of the claim, it is unclear whether the claim should be interpreted as being directed to only a subcombination of a storage compartment, or to a combination of a storage compartment and a stroller. If the stroller is not a claim requirement (only an intended use), as suggested by the preamble of claim 7, then the claim recites a limitation that must be viewed as optional or ignored. For these reasons, the claim is indefinite.
The preamble of claim 9 recites “The purpose-built storage compartment…”, which defines the claim as being directed to a subcombination of a storage compartment. However, the body of claim 9 recites “wherein, in the deployed position, the pair of adapters receive the detachable apparatus in a forward facing positoin”, which defines the claim as being directed to a combination of storage compartment and a detachable apparatus. Due to the inconsistency between the preamble and the body of the claim, it is unclear whether the claim should be interpreted as being directed to only a subcombination of a storage compartment, or to a combination of a storage compartment and a detachable apparatus. If the detachable apparatus is not a claim requirement (only an intended use), as suggested by the preamble of claim 9, then the claim recites a limitation that must be viewed as optional or ignored. For these reasons, the claim is indefinite.
AIA – First to File
The present reissue application contains claims to a claimed invention having an effective filing date on or after March 16, 2013. Accordingly, this application is being examined under the AIA first to file provisions.
Listing of Prior Art
The following is a listing of the prior art cited in this Office action together with the shorthand reference for each document (listed alphabetically):
“Alford”
US Patent No. 9,776,721 B2
“Beasley et al.”
US Publication No. 2020/0114828 A1
“Eggert-Crowe et al.”
US Publication No. 2019/0337550 A1
“Gibson”
US Publication No. 2019/0217879 A1
“Gillett”
US Publication No. 2015/0232114 A1
“Hu”
US Publication No. 2022/0371643 A1
“Huang ‘068”
US Patent No. 6,663,068 B2
“Huang ‘781”
US Patent No. 10,655,781 B2
“Huang ‘909”
US Patent No. 5,072,909
“Leng et al.”
CN Publication No. 103072612 B (with translation)
“Wang et al.”
CN Publication No. 108674478 A (with translation)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
GROUND 2: Claims 1, 4, 5, 9 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang ‘909.
Huang ‘909 discloses a purpose-built storage compartment, comprising: a compartment housing 1 having mounting holes 14 and a mounting strip (hook) 5 for fitting the housing 1 on a support structure; a cover 2 hinged to the housing 1 and movable from a closed position (Fig. 5) to an open position (Fig. 1); and a pair of adapters 3a, 3b configured to pivotally connect (via pivotal bar 4) with the housing 1 and be movable between a storage position inside the housing 1 (when the cover 2 is closed as shown in Fig. 5) and a deployed position (see Fig. 1) to engage with a detachable apparatus (i.e., a cup or container). See Figs. 1-5; col. 1, ll. 6-12; col. 2, l. 33 to col. 3, l. 7; col. 3, l. 16 to col. 4, l. 2.
The housing 1 is “configured to be fitted into a selected position of a stroller” because the mounting holes 14 and the mounting hook 5 are capable of being used to fit the housing 1 into a selected position of a stroller.
With respect to claims 4 and 26, the housing 1 is made of a rigid material, which is molded plastic. See col. 3, ll. 8-10.
With respect to claim 5, the adapters 3a, 3b are integrated with the housing 1. See citations above.
With respect to claim 9, when in the deployed position (see Fig. 1), the adapters 3a, 3b receive a cup or container, and the cup or container can be in a forward-facing position. See citations above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
GROUND 3: Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 9 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang ‘909 (GROUND 2) in view of Huang ‘068 and Huang ‘781.
See the discussion of Huang ‘909 in GROUND 2. In an alternative interpretation, Huang ‘909 is considered to fail to fully teach that the housing is configured to be fitted into a selected position of a stroller.
Huang ‘068 teaches a purpose-built storage compartment that is similar to that of Huang ‘909. See Figs. 1-3 and 10-11 of Huang ‘068. Huang ‘068 teaches that the housing 11 is configured to be fitted into a selected position of a stroller (infant carriage) by attaching C-shaped mounts 22, 23 to a tube 4a or 4b of the stroller. See Figs. 1-10; col. 2, l. 43 to col. 4, l. 37. Note the recitation of “infant carriage” at col. 2, ll. 55-56; col. 3, l. 56; and col. 4, l. 24.
Huang ‘781 teaches a purpose-built storage compartment that is similar to that of Huang ‘909. See Figs. 1-5 of Huang ‘781. Huang ‘781 teaches that the housing is configured to be fitted into a selected position of a stroller by attaching C-shaped mounts 11, 12 to a tube 6 of the stroller. See Figs. 2-4; col. 1, ll. 12-21; col. 2, l. 56 to col. 3, l. 12; col. 3, l. 60 to col. 4, l. 32. Note the recitation of “stroller” at col. 1, l. 16, and “lightweight strollers” at col. 4, l. 30.
From the teachings of Huang ‘068 and Huang ‘781, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huang ‘909 by providing the housing with C-shaped mounts that configure the housing to be fitted into a selected position of a stroller because this enables the purpose-built storage compartment to be used on a stroller to support a cup or container for use by the operator or passenger.
With respect to claim 7, Huang ‘068 teaches that the mounting assembly, which includes the C-shaped mounts 22, 23, is reconfigurable such that the mounting assembly can be attached to different tubes of the stroller and at different locations on the stroller. See citations above. From these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huang ‘909 by mounting the housing to a front side of the stroller adjacent to two front wheels of the stroller because this enables the purpose-built storage compartment to be used on a stroller to support a cup or container for use by the passenger.
GROUND 4: Claims 2 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either (i) Huang ‘909 (GROUND 2) in view of Alford, or (ii) Huang ‘909 in view of Huang ‘068 and Huang ‘781 (GROUND 3) and further in view of Alford.
With respect to claims 2 and 27, Huang ‘909 fails to teach that the cover 2 is made of a transparent, opaque or semi-transparent material, and that the housing 1 is made of a rigid sheet metal.
Alford teaches a purpose-built storage compartment that is similar to that of Huang ‘909. See Figs. 1-7 of Alford. Alford teaches that the components of the storage compartment can be made of relatively sturdy but lightweight materials, such as transparent, translucent or opaque materials, which include lightweight metal, or molded plastic. See col. 6, ll. 35-57. The skilled artisan would recognize that sheet metal is synonymous with the lightweight metal taught by Alford.
From the teachings of Alford, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huang ‘909 by making the cover of a transparent, opaque or semi-transparent material, and by making the housing of a rigid sheet metal. The selection of well-known materials based on their recognized properties and advantages is generally considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art when, as here, such selection yields only as predictable result. The skilled artisan would appreciate that transparent, opaque or semi-transparent material provides of the advantage of allowing the user to see through the cover, and that rigid sheet metal provides the advantage of increased strength.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art is considered pertinent to the claimed invention but is not relied upon to reject any claim.
Beasley et al. teaches a vehicle storage compartment 16 comprising: a compartment housing 22; a cover 34 hinged to the housing 22 and movable to an open position; and a pair of “adapters” 60 pivotally connected with the housing 22 and movable between a storage position inside the housing 22 and a deployed position, wherein the “adapters” 60 engage with a secondary compartment 46.
Gillett teaches a stroller comprising adapters 241 that pivot between a storage position and a deployed position to engage a child seat.
Leng et al. teaches a stroller comprising adapters 71/710 that pivot between a storage position and a deployed position to engage a child seat.
Wang et al. teaches a stroller comprising adapters 53 that pivot between a storage position and a deployed position to engage a child seat.
Gibson teaches a stroller comprising adapters 140 that pivot between a storage position and a deployed position to engage a child seat.
Eggert-Crowe et al. teaches a stroller comprising adapters 130 that pivot between a storage position and a deployed position to engage a child seat.
Hu teaches a stroller comprising adapters 100 that pivot between a storage position and a deployed position to engage a child seat.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on September 2, 2026 are not germane to the new grounds of rejection set forth above. With respect to GROUNDS 2-4, applicant has broadened the claim scope such that new prior art is applicable to the claims.
Final Action
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Response Period
A shortened statutory period for response is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action.
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Filing and Contact Information
All correspondence relating to this application should be directed:
By Patent Center1: Registered users may submit via the Patent Center at: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov/
By Mail to: Commissioner for Patents
United States Patent & Trademark Office
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
By FAX to: (571) 273-8300
By hand: Customer Service Window
Knox Building
501 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/PETER C ENGLISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993
1 Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).