Election/Restrictions
Claims 3 and 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/23/2026.
Drawings
Figure 5 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2015114446A1 (Nogal, Piotr), hereto referred as Nogal, and in view of US20110292336A1 (Deacon et. al), hereto referred as Deacon.
As to claim 1, Nogal teaches a system for measuring intraocular pressure (IOP), comprising:
a tonometer head configured to measure IOP in a posterior chamber and a vitreous cavity of an eye (Nogal, pg. 5, "The invention is a non-invasive contact compression and refraction tonometer to measure the intraocular pressure of the posterior chamber of the eye and the vitreous chamber, characterized by a head");
an optical gauge configured to measure corneal data of the eye (Nogal, pg. 5, "the optic meter measuring corneal astigmatism is a keratometer");
a processor configured to determine geometric parameters of the eye based on the measured corneal data, calculate physical parameters of a sclera of the eye based on the determined geometric parameters (Nogal, pg. 7, "calculating the corneal stiffness coefficient, conditioned by its thickness and the pressure in the anterior chamber of the eye"), and
adjust the measured IOP based on the calculated physical parameters of the sclera (Nogal, pg. 12, "which allows to increase the measurement precision by recalculating the stiffness coefficient of the walls of the eyeball through referring the result to the table developed on the basis of measurements conducted in control groups").
Nogal teaches compression arms (Nogal, pg. 11, "setting the open compression arms (11) at such a distance and under such an angle in relation to the eyeball"), but does not teach a compression arm-spread angle gauge configured to measure a dilation angle of compression arms. Deacon teaches a similar art of analyzing the eye (Deacon, abstract). Deacon teaches compression arm-spread angle gauge configured to measure a dilation angle of compression arms (Deacon, [0091], " In certain embodiments, an electronic or digital image of the angle indicator 30 in the eye and/or the protractor 70 is produced. The digital image may be captured and processed using a computer or other electronic system in order to determine the angle between the two straight sections 32 and 33.") It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nogal in view of Deacon to include compression arm-spread angle gauge configured to measure a dilation angle of compression arms because Nogal already places compression arms at an angle to the eyeball, and Deacon teaches a method of angle measurement, which increases the accuracy of the measurement and provides dimensional information about the eye.
Nogal does not expressly teach determining geometric parameters of the eye based on both the measured corneal data and dilation angle. Deacon teaches an ocular geometric parameter, including diameter from a measured angle associated with two connected members of an ocular measuring (Deacon, [0031], “the read angle is converted to a capsular bag size”), and also teaches converting an angular measurement into a corresponding ocular diameter (Deacon, [0101], “the resulting size difference may be measured and used to calculate a resiliency of the capsular bag and/or estimate the amount of accommodative force available for accommodation”). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Nogal in view of Deacon to include determining geometric parameters of the eye based on both the measured corneal data and dilation angle and adjust the measured IOP because doing so would improve the accuracy of IOP from accounting for various dimensions and characteristics of the eye.
As to claim 2, Nogal-Deacon teaches the optical gauge comprises a keratometer configured to measure corneal curvature (Nogal, pg. 12, "which allows to increase the measurement precision by recalculating the stiffness coefficient of the walls of the eyeball through referring the result to the table developed on the basis of measurements conducted in control groups").
As to claim 4, Nogal-Deacon teaches the compression arm-spread angle gauge is configured to measure the dilation angle when compression feet of the compression arms contact the eye at a predetermined distance from a corneal limbus (Deacon, [0073], "one angle measurement embodiment is a protractor that may be removably placed on the cornea"; Nogal, pg. 5, "beneficially 3-5 mm toward the back from the corneal limbus"). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Nogal in view of Deacon to include measuring the dilation angle when compression feet of the compression arms contact the eye because Nogal already places compression arms at an angle to the eyeball, and measuring when the arms contact the eye gives accurate dimensional information about the eye.
As to claim 5, Nogal-Deacon teaches the predetermined distance is between 3-5 mm posterior to the corneal limbus (Nogal, pg. 5, "beneficially 3-5 mm toward the back from the corneal limbus").
As to claim 6, Nogal-Deacon teaches further comprising an axial drive configured to maintain the optical gauge at a constant distance from a cornea of the eye during measurement (Nogal, pg. 5, "the head (1) is set relative to the eye using distance actuators (17) controlled by a computer (15).").
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogal and Deacon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US20140268042A1 (Bor et. al), hereto referred as Bor, and in view of US20190105200A1 (Hipsley, Annmaire), hereto referred as Hipsley.
Claim 1 is taught as above.
As to claim 7, Nogal-Deacon teaches further comprising a camera (Nogal, pg. 5, "optic meter"); however, Nogal does not teach a camera configured to capture an image of an anterior surface of a lens of the eye to determine a degree of porosity of an anterior lens capsule.
Bor teaches a camera configured to capture an image of an anterior surface of a lens of the eye (Bor, [0022], "The detector can comprise a digital imaging device such as a charge coupled detector (CCD), CMOS Sensor or a photodiode.”; [0021], "measuring the resulting first image of the light sources reflected from an anterior surface of the lens"). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nogal-Deacon in view of Bor to include a camera configured to capture an image of an anterior surface of a lens of the eye because Nogal-Deacon already teaches an optical measurement system, and Bor supplies imaging that further teaches imaging anterior surface of a lens which enables non-invasively obtaining additional data about the eye.
Hipsley teaches a camera (Hipsley, Fig. 3A, camera 308 ) and determining a degree of porosity of an anterior lens capsule (Hipsley, [0310], "Broadly put, the diagram represents the use of a camera, for example, a CCD or CMOS camera to capture an image of eye"; [0317], "microporation/nanoporation may be used to remove surface, subsurface and interstitial tissue and affect the surface, interstitial, biomechanical characteristics (e.g., planarity, surface porosity"). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Norgal-Deacon-Bor in view of Hipsley to include a camera configured to capture an image of an anterior surface of a lens of the eye to determine a degree of porosity of an anterior lens capsule because Norgal-Deacon-Bor already teaches tissue image analysis of the anterior surface of a lens, and Hipsley teaches further quantitative analysis of the anterior surface of a lens using the camera.
Conclusion
/ELINA SOHYUN JANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791