Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 03/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3 and 12-20 remain pending. Claims 4-11 have been cancelled. New claims 21-28 have been added.
The amendments to the claims have overcome each and every rejection under 35 USC 112 made in Non-Final Rejection mailed 09/24/2025 and those rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 have been fully considered and were found persuasive. However, the amendments to the claims have changed the scope of the claims necessitating new grounds of rejection in view of US 11767853 to Horton which teaches a diffuser extending through a central aperture defined by a proximal edge of a first disk. Please see new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 12, 19-23, and 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190234423 to Schaafsma in view of US 11767853 to Horton.
(a) Regarding claim 1:
(i) Schaafsma discloses a bladeless fan (see abstract) comprising:
a housing (inlet 42 and outer shroud of impeller 26, Figs 1/5; housing 640, Fig 12);
an impeller within the housing (impeller 26, Fig 5; impeller 684, Fig 12);
a motor (22, Fig 5; motor 680, Fig 12) within the housing (Figs 5/12) for rotatably driving the impeller;
an outlet device (passageway 58, Fig 5; passageway 704, Fig 12) having an at least partially circular outlet (outlet 62, Figs 2/5/11-12),
wherein the outlet device includes a first disk (shroud 46, Fig 5; shroud 664, Fig 12) positioned above to a second disk (diffuser 18, Fig 5; diffuser 644, Figs 11-12) defining a passage therebetween (passage 58, Fig 5; passage 704, Fig 12), wherein the outlet is defined between distal edges of the first disk and the second disk (Figs 5/12), wherein a proximal edge of the first disk is connected to the housing (where housing 14 is connected to inlet region 42, Fig 5; where shroud 664 connects to housing 640, Fig 12); and
a diffuser (surfaces immediately adjacent and space between radially outer portion of impeller 26 and housing 14, Fig 5; diffusing surface 672, Fig 12) configured to receive air from the impeller and direct the air into the passage of the outlet device (Figs 5/12), a central aperture defined by the proximal edge of the disk (center opening of housing 14, Fig 5; center opening of shroud 664, Fig 12).
(ii) Schaafsma does not disclose the diffuser extending through the central aperture.
(iii) Horton is also in the field of fans (see title) and teaches a diffuser (diffuser 1120c, outlet 1116, inlet 1202, passageway 1206, and vanes 1219; Figs 5/12-13) wherein the diffuser extends through a central aperture (aperture defining air inlet 1202, Fig 13) defined by a proximal edge of a first disk (inner casing 1214, Fig 13).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the diffuser as disclosed by Schaafsma with the above aforementioned diffuser as taught by Horton for the purpose of optimizing the use of space while providing a smooth transition (Col 15 Lns 45-50) and straightening air flow (Col 16 Lns 25-26).
(b) Regarding claim 2:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 1.
(ii) Schaafsma further discloses wherein the diffuser at least partially changes a direction of the air being directed into the outlet devices (Figs 5/12).
(c) Regarding claim 3:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 1.
(ii) Schaafsma further teaches wherein the diffuser redirects at least a portion of the air from a vertical direction to a horizontal direction into the outlet device (Fig 12).
(d) Regarding claim 12:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 1.
(ii) Schaafsma further discloses wherein the first disk has a first diameter greater than a second diameter of the second disk (Fig 5).
(e) Regarding claim 19:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 1.
(ii) Schaafsma further discloses wherein the diffuser is formed integrally with the second disk (Figs 5/12).
(f) Regarding claim 20:
(i) Schaafsma discloses a bladeless ceiling fan (Par 0023) comprising:
a housing (14, Fig 5) having a mount configured to be connected to a ceiling support (“configured to mount to a ceiling” therefore must exist, Par 0023) and
a plurality of inlets (openings 44 in air inlet region 42, Figs 1-2/5) configure to receive air (“air” inlet region 42);
an impeller (26, Fig 5) within the housing (Fig 5);
a motor (22, Fig 5) within the housing (Fig 5) for rotatably driving the impeller to draw air through the inlets into the housing and to discharge air from the housing (Pars 0025/0030);
an outlet device (passageway 58, Fig 5) in fluid communication with the housing (Fig 5, Par 0030),
the outlet device including a first disk (shroud 46, Fig 5) and a second disk (diffuser 18, Fig 5) arranged concentrically to define a passage therebetween (passage 58, Fig 5) with an outlet defined between distal edges of the first disk and the second disk (Fig 5); and
a diffuser (space between radially outer portion of impeller 26 and housing 14 immediately adjacent impeller 26, Fig 5) connected to the second disk (Fig 5), the diffuser configured to receive air from the impeller and direct the air into the passage of the outlet device (Fig 5), and
a central aperture of the first disk defined by a proximal edge of the first disk (central opening of housing 14 where it meets inlet 42, Fig 5).
(ii) Schaafsma does not disclose the diffuser extending through the central aperture.
(iii) Horton is also in the field of fans (see title) and teaches a diffuser (diffuser 1120c, outlet 1116, inlet 1202, passageway 1206, and vanes 1219; Figs 5/12-13) wherein the diffuser extends through a central aperture (aperture defining air inlet 1202, Fig 13) defined by a proximal edge of a first disk (inner casing 1214, Fig 13).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the diffuser as disclosed by Schaafsma with the above aforementioned diffuser as taught by Horton for the purpose of optimizing the use of space while providing a smooth transition (Col 15 Lns 45-50) and straightening air flow (Col 16 Lns 25-26).
(g) Regarding claims 21-22:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 1 and the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 20.
(ii) Horton further teaches wherein the diffuser is hourglass shaped to change direction of air flow at least partially towards a horizontal direction (Fig 5).
(h) Regarding claim 23:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 1.
(ii) Schaafsma further teaches wherein each of the first disk, the second disk, and the diffuser are positioned downstream of the motor and the impeller (Figs 5/12).
(i) Regarding claim 25:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 1.
(ii) Schaafsma further teaches wherein the first and second disk cooperate to define an inlet to the passage (Figs 5/12).
(j) Regarding claim 26:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 1.
(ii) Schaafsma further teaches wherein the first disk is directly connected to the housing (Fig 12); and wherein the second disk is directly connected to the first disk via fasteners (supports 700, Fig 12).
(k) Regarding claim 27:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 1.
(ii) Schaafsma further teaches wherein the distal edge of the second disk is offset below the distal edge of the first disk (Figs 7-12).
Claim(s) 13-15 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190234423 to Schaafsma in view of US 11767853 to Horton as evidenced by US 11480193 to Whitmire.
(a) Regarding claim 13:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 1.
(ii) Schaafsma further discloses at least one lighting component including a light (light 66, Fig 5) positioned below the first disk and the second disk (Fig 5).
(iii) Schaafsma does not disclose wherein the at least one lighting component includes a light shade.
(iv) Applicant has disclosed no criticality, nor described any new or unexpected results, from the at least one lighting component including a shade and the at least one lighting component of the prior art would perform the same including a shade. Further, having a lighting component including a shade is well known in the art, as evidenced by Whitmire (light module 50 includes a light source covered by a lower lens 54, Fig 2).
(v) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one lighting component as disclosed by Schaafsma to include a shade as an obvious matter of design choice.
(b) Regarding claim 14:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton as evidenced by Whitmire teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 13.
(ii) Schaafsma as modified by Horton as evidenced by Whitmire further teaches a third disk (Schaafsma: plate 30, Fig 5) positioned between the second disk and the light shade (Schaafsma: Fig 5).
(c) Regarding claim 15:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton as evidenced by Whitmire teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 13.
(ii) Schaafsma further discloses wherein the first disk has a first diameter (Fig 5), the second disk has a second diameter (Fig 5), and the third disk has a third diameter (Fig 5), wherein the third diameter is less than the first and second diameters (Fig 5).
(d) Regarding claim 28:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton as evidenced by Whitmire teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 14.
(ii) Schaafsma further teaches wherein each of the first disk, the second disk, the third disk, and the shade are concentrically arranged (Fig 5; see rejection of claim 14 above); and wherein the distal edge of the second disk is positioned between and offset from the distal edges of the first (Figs 7-9B) and third disks (Fig 5).
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190234423 to Schaafsma in view of US 11767853 to Horton as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN 114483631 to Wang (see machine translation in file wrapper).
(a) Regarding claim 16:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 1.
(ii) Schaafsma does not disclose at least one lighting component including a plurality of light rings attached to the housing, each of the light rings having a circular light around the respective light ring.
(iii) Wang is also in the field of fans (see title) and teaches at least one lighting component including a plurality of light rings (lamp body 211/222 including LED lamp 212/222) attached to a housing (fan module 1, Fig 1).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fan as disclosed by Schaafsma with the above aforementioned at least one lighting component as taught by Wang for the purpose of providing an additional light source (Page 7 paragraph 2).
(b) Regarding claim 17:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton as further modified by Wang teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 16.
(ii) Wang further teaches wherein the circular light extends around an interior or exterior surface of the respective light ring (Fig 1).
(c) Regarding claim 18:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton as further modified by Wang teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 16.
(ii) Wang further teaches wherein the circular light extends around a bottom surface of the respective light ring (Fig 1).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190234423 to Schaafsma in view of US 11767853 to Horton as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KR 20200006215 to Kim.
(a) Regarding claim 24:
(i) Schaafsma as modified by Horton teaches the bladeless ceiling fan of claim 1.
(ii) Schaafsma further discloses wherein the housing defines at least one inlet in fluid communication with the passage (inlet 42, Fig 5).
(iii) Schaafsma does not disclose wherein the first disk further defines a plurality of apertures extending therethrough and configured to draw air into the passage.
(iv) Kim is also in the field of fans (see abstract) and teaches a first disk (regulator 10, Fig 6c) wherein the first disk defines a plurality of apertures (flow holes 31, Fig 6c) extending therethrough and configured to draw air into a passage (outlet 1b, Figs 3/6c).
(v) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first disk as taught by Schaafsma with the above aforementioned plurality of apertures as taught by Kim for the purpose of increasing the amount of air discharged to the passage and enhance the general use of the fan (Par 0041).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN A PRUITT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745