Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 3-14 set forth in the amendment submitted 8/05/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
The objection to claim 13, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 5/05/2026 has been withdrawn because of the amendment filed on 8/05/2026.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 6-7, filed 8/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Sasaki in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20180006407 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 2-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20180006407 A1 in view of Kanao in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20070240485 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 6-7, of the remarks, filed on 8/05/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Sasaki in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20180006407 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 2-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20180006407 A1 in view of Kanao in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20070240485 A1, that “Sasaki fails to disclose not only cooperated first and second slopes but also face-to-face attachment of a sensor to first or upper inside of an insulating shell by the second slope cooperating with the first slope.
Kanao is cited for disclosing corresponding first and second slopes. However, in Kanao, identified second slope (stepped engaging shoulder 3c) and identified first slope, as annotated in and best understood from the office action, either do not physically contact each other at all or do not move along each other. Moreover, (Remarks-page 6) identified slope (stepped engaging shoulder 3c) or like feature in Kanao is formed as part of a generally cylindrical structure which even if applied to Sasaki reasonably would not obtain what is missing, namely a face-to-face attachment of a sensor to an upper inside of a generally rectangular insulating shell by cooperating first and second slopes.
Therefore, claims 1 and 11 and their dependent claims should be patentable over Sasaki in view of Kanao (Remarks-page 7)”.
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 6-7 (stated above), filed 8/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Sasaki in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20180006407 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 2-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20180006407 A1 in view of Kanao in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20070240485 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 5/05/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive.
Applicant argument, “Sasaki fails to disclose not only cooperated first and second slopes but also face-to-face attachment of a sensor to first or upper inside of an insulating shell by the second slope cooperating with the first slope” is not persuasive. Sasaki discloses all the limitations of independent claims 1 and 11 and however Sasaki does not disclose that the second inside has a first slope and the insulating base has a second slope. Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Sasaki below shows the sensor 110 and the working surface. However, when the sensor is inside the insulating shell 7 as shown in Figure 4: Modified a portion of figure 4 of Sasaki below that the working surface of the sensor is face to face attached to a first inside of the insulating shell. Claim does not recite where the working surface and how the working surface is situated in the sensor and where the sensor is placed inside the insulating base. Therefore, for the broadest reasonable interpretating Sasaki discloses the limitation that the working surface of the sensor is face to face attached to the first inside of the insulating shell. Sasaki does not disclose to have the first slope and the second slope and therefore the structure of Sasaki is modified in combination with Kanao to disclose the claim limitation of face-to-face attachment of a sensor to first or upper inside of an insulating shell by the second slope cooperating with the first slope. Applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive.
Figure 4: Modified a portion of figure 4 of Sasaki
Applicant’s argument regarding reference Kanao that the first slope and second slope do not physically contact each other at all or do not move along each other. Moreover, identified slope (stepped engaging shoulder 3c) or like feature in Kanao is formed as part of a generally cylindrical structure which even if applied to Sasaki reasonably would not obtain what is missing, namely a face-to-face attachment of a sensor to an upper inside of a generally rectangular insulating shell by cooperating first and second slopes is not persuasive. Claim recites, “the second slope is slidable along the first slope to guide the insulating base to move towards the first inside of the insulating shell”. Claim does not recite that the first slope and second slope do not physically contact each other at all or do not move along each other. Claim recites the second slope is slidable along the first slope. When the connector is manufactured, the insulating base is inserted to insulating shell and by combining both Sasaki and Kanao, the second inside of the insulating shell has a first slope facing the insertion opening, the insulating base [3] has a second slope [3c] in Kanao. Therefore the combined references discloses that he second slope is slidable along the first slope to guide the insulating base to move towards the first inside of the insulating shell. Sasaki already discloses a face-to-face attachment of a sensor to an upper inside of an insulating shell as explained above in Figure 4: Portion of modified Figure 4 of Sasaki. Kanao here is introduced only to modify the shape of the insulating base by including a slope and to modify the shape of insulating shell by including a slope so that it allows the packing element to hermetically seal the atmospheric side atmosphere, to hold the element in pressured contact between the stepped engaging shoulder of the insulating element holder and the holder rest shoulder of the housing, to hold the element in tight contact between the stepped engaging shoulder of the insulating element holder and the holder rest shoulder of the housing. Therefore, applicant’s argument that if Kanao is applied to Sasaki reasonably would not obtain what is missing is not persuasive. Applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive. However, applicant has amended claim 1 and added the limitation from dependent claim 2. Therefore claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180006407 A1 in view of Kanao in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20070240485 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Independent claim 11 and dependent claims 3-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180006407 A1 in view of Kanao in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20070240485 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180006407 A1 in view of Kanao in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20070240485 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki teaches a sensor assembly [10] (A connector module having a shield case and relates also to a vehicle-mounted camera using such module; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3; FIG. 1 to FIG. 4, the connector module 10 as the sensor assembly; Paragraph [0071] Line 1-2) comprising:
an insulating shell [8] (Connector case 8 as the insulating shell as the connector case 8 is formed of an insulating (non-conductive) material) (The connector case 8 is a case for accommodating the terminal module 30 and the shield case 7; Paragraph [0075] Line 1-2; Therefore, in order to insulate the conductive shell 3 and the shield case 7 from the outside of the connector module 10, the connector case 8 is formed of an insulating (non-conductive) material such as resin; Paragraph [0075] Line 14-17) having a receiving cavity [E2+E3] (cylindrical space E3 and the inner space E2 as the receiving cavity) with an insertion opening (Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Sasaki below shows an insulating shell [8] with an insertion opening; The connector case 8 is a case for accommodating the terminal module 30 and the shield case 7. The connector case 8 includes, on its inner face side, a cylindrical space E3 for enclosing the terminal module 30, a rectangular-shaped tubular space which is in substantial agreement with the inner space E2 of the shield case 7; Paragraph [0075] Line 1-6);
an insulating base [7] (The shield case 7 is the insulating base) (The shield case 7, in this embodiment, is a rectangular-shaped bottomed tubular case. The shield case 7 shields the inner space E2 of the case 7 against electromagnetic wave present in an outer space E1 of the shield case 7, e.g. electromagnetic wave such as electromagnetic noise which may influence signals transmitted by the center conductor 1 or the electronic circuit 102 of the camera module 110; Paragraph [0074] Line 1-8); and
a sensor (The image pickup device 101 of the camera module 110 comprises a CCD (Charge Coupled Device), a sensor or a CIS (CMOS Image Sensor; therefore element 110 is considered as the sensor because the sensor is inside the element camera module 110); Paragraph [0065] Line 1-3) fixed in the insulating base [7] (As described above, the camera unit 100 (vehicle-mounted camera) includes the camera module 110 having the image pickup device 101, the electronic circuit 102 for driving and controlling the image pickup device 101 and processing video signals outputted from the image pickup device 101 and the optical unit 104 having the lens 103 for condensing light onto the image pickup device 101, and the connector module 10. And, to the electronic circuit 102, the center conductor 1 is electrically connected and at least a part of the electronic circuit 102 is shielded by the shield case 7; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-11; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Sasaki below shows a sensor [110] fixed in the insulating base [7]; The shield case 7, as shown in the vertical section thereof shown in FIG. 4, shields an inner space E2 of the shield case 7 against electromagnetic wave which may be propagated from an outer space E1 of the shield case 7. Preferably, the shield case 7 covers at least a part of the electronic circuit 102 of the camera module 110, thus shielding the electronic circuit 102; Paragraph [0069] Line 1-7) for recording electromagnetic waves and for electrically connecting to a cable [120] in Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Sasaki below (The camera unit 100 is connected to an image processing device (not shown) or a monitoring device (not shown) via a coaxial cable 120. The coaxial cable 120 comprises a cable configured such that an inner conductor and an outer conductor are disposed coaxially across a dielectric (insulator) therebetween. The inner conductor transmits signals whereas the outer conductor acts as a shield for suppressing influence of electromagnetic wave to the inner conductor. In the instant embodiment, the inner conductor supplies electric power from the image processing device or the monitoring device to the image pickup device 101 or the electronic circuit 102 of the camera unit 100 and also outputs video signals outputted from the image pickup device 101 and the electronic circuit 102 to the image processing device or the monitoring device; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-15; The shield case 7, as shown in the vertical section thereof shown in FIG. 4, shields an inner space E2 of the shield case 7 against electromagnetic wave which may be propagated from an outer space E1 of the shield case 7. Preferably, the shield case 7 covers at least a part of the electronic circuit 102 of the camera module 110, thus shielding the electronic circuit 102 against electromagnetic wave such as electromagnetic noise. Moreover, the shield case 7 can be connected to the ground (GND) of the electronic circuit 102. The outer conductor of the coaxial cable 120 is electrically connected to the conductive shell 3. Further, as will be explained later herein, the shield case 7 and the conductive shell 3 are electrically connected to each other. Therefore, in case the shield case 7 is connected to the ground of the electronic circuit 102, the conductive shell 3 and the outer conductor of the coaxial cable 120 are also electrically connected to the ground of the electronic circuit 102; Paragraph [0069] Line 1-18; The camera unit receives signal from the inner conductor of the and transmit signal to the image processing deice. The signal received and recorded by the camera unit has electromagnetic wave signal);
Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Sasaki
Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Sasaki
wherein the insulating base [7] is inserted into and contained in the receiving cavity [E2] of the insulating shell [8] from the insertion opening (The connector case 8 is a case for accommodating the terminal module 30 and the shield case 7. The connector case 8 includes, on its inner face side, a cylindrical space E3 for enclosing the terminal module 30, a rectangular-shaped tubular space which is in substantial agreement with the inner space E2 of the shield case 7. The terminal module 30 is accommodated in the cylindrical space E3 and the shield case 7 is accommodated in the rectangular-shaped tubular space; Paragraph [0075] Line 1-9; Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Sasaki above shows the insulating base [7] is inserted into and contained in the receiving cavity [E2] of the insulating shell [8] from the insertion opening) and a working surface of the sensor [110] is face to face attached to a first inside of the insulating shell [8] (The shield case 7, as shown in the vertical section thereof shown in FIG. 4, shields an inner space E2 of the shield case 7 against electromagnetic wave which may be propagated from an outer space E1 of the shield case 7. Preferably, the shield case 7 covers at least a part of the electronic circuit 102 of the camera module 110; Paragraph [0069] Line 1-6; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Sasaki and in combination with Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Sasaki above shows a working surface of the sensor [110] is face to face attached to a first inside of the insulating shell [8]);
wherein the insulating shell [8] has a second inside facing the first inside (Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Sasaki above shows the insulating shell has a second inside facing the first inside).
However, Sasaki fails to teach that the second inside of the insulating shell has a first slope facing the insertion opening, the insulating base has a second slope, and the second slope slides along the first slope to guide the insulating base to move towards the first inside of the insulating shell.
Kanao teaches a gas sensor that provides an increased hermetically sealing effect between an atmospheric side atmosphere and a measuring gas atmosphere (Paragraph [0011] Line 3-5),
Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kanao
wherein the second inside of the insulating shell has a first slope facing the insertion opening, the insulating base [3] has a second slope [3c] (The insulating element holder 3 includes a large diameter cylindrical body 3a and a small diameter cylindrical body 3b, with an stepped engaging shoulder 3c being formed between the first and second cylindrical bodies 3a, 3b; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-5; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kanao above shows that the second inside has a first slope facing the insertion opening, the insulating base [3] has a second slope [3c]), and the second slope slides along the first slope to guide the insulating base [3] to move towards the first inside of the insulating shell [4] (As shown in FIG. 1, the housing 4 includes a housing body 4a having its outer periphery formed with a tool-fitting portion 4aa adapted to allow the gas sensor 1 to be mounted on a wall; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-4; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kanao above shows the second slope slides along the first slope to guide the insulating base [3] to move towards the first inside of the insulating shell [4]). The purpose of doing so is to allow the packing element to hermetically seal the atmospheric side atmosphere and the measuring gas atmosphere from each other, to hold the element in pressured contact between the stepped engaging shoulder of the insulating element holder and the holder rest shoulder of the housing, to exert an urging force to the packing element toward a leading end of the gas sensor in an axial direction thereof, to hold the element in tight contact between the stepped engaging shoulder of the insulating element holder and the holder rest shoulder of the housing, to enabling the packing element to be assembled in a stabilized manner.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the insulating shell and insulating base of Sasaki as disclosed by Kanao, because Kanao teaches to include the second inside of the insulating shell having a first slope facing the insertion opening and to include the insulating base having a second slope allows the packing element to hermetically seal the atmospheric side atmosphere and the measuring gas atmosphere from each other (Paragraph [0012]), holds the element in pressured contact between the stepped engaging shoulder of the insulating element holder and the holder rest shoulder of the housing, exerts an urging force to the packing element toward a leading end of the gas sensor in an axial direction thereof, holds the element in tight contact between the stepped engaging shoulder of the insulating element holder and the holder rest shoulder of the housing (Paragraph [0014]), enables the packing element to be assembled in a stabilized manner (Paragraph [0017])
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki teaches a sensor assembly,
wherein the insulating base [7] includes a main portion holding the sensor [110], an upright portion scaling the insertion opening and a transverse portion connecting with the main portion and the upright portion, and the cable extends through a round hole of the upright portion (Figure 1: Modified portion of Figure 1 of Sasaki below and Figure 2(a): Modified portion of Figure 2 of Sasaki below shows the insulating base includes a main portion holding the sensor, an upright portion scaling the insertion opening and a transverse portion connecting with the main portion and the upright portion, and the cable extends through a round hole of the upright portion).
Figure 1: Modified portion of Figure 1 of Sasaki
Figure 2(a): Modified portion of Figure 2 of Sasaki
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki teaches a sensor assembly,
wherein the main portion has a first outer face (Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Sasaki above shows the first outer face of the main portion of the insulating base [7]) facing the first inside of the insulating shell [8] and the working surface of the sensor is exposed to the first outer face of the insulating base [7] (Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Sasaki above and Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Sasaki above shows the main portion has a first outer face facing the first inside of the insulating shell [8] and the working surface of the sensor is exposed to the first outer face of the insulating base [7]).
Regarding claim 5, Sasaki teaches a sensor assembly,
wherein the main portion has a receiving notch (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Sasaki above shows receiving notch) recessed from the first outer face and penetrating through the main portion, and the sensor [110] is received in the receiving notch (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Sasaki above shows the main portion has a receiving notch recessed from the first outer face and penetrating through the main portion, and the sensor is received in the receiving notch).
Regarding claim 6, Sasaki teaches a sensor assembly,
further comprising a plurality of metal terminals [1, 2, 3, 4] in Figure 3 (As shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, the terminal module 30 includes the center conductor 1, the insulator holder 2, the conductive shell 3, the inner seal member 4 and the retaining ring 5; Paragraph [0072] Line 4-7; the center conductor 1, the insulator holder 2, the conductive shell 3, the inner seal member 4 and the retaining ring 5 are the metal terminals) connected between the sensor [110] and exposed conductive cores of the cable [120] (cable 120 is the exposed conductive core of the cable (Namely, the center conductor 1 corresponds to an inner conductor of the coaxial cable 120, the insulator holder 2 corresponds to the dielectric (insulator) of the coaxial cable 120, and the conductive shell 3 corresponds to the outer conductor of the coaxial cable 120; Paragraph [0067] Line 10-14; More particularly, the opposed ends (11, 12) of the center conductor 1 are not covered by the insulator holder 2, but exposed to form terminal portions. In the example shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, the first terminal portion 11 is disposed on the side of the coaxial cable 120, and the second terminal portion 12 is disposed on the side of the camera module 110 (e.g. the side of the receptacle); Paragraph [0072] Line 11-17).
Regarding claim 7, Sasaki teaches a sensor assembly,
wherein the first outer face defines a plurality of ribs [5, 25] (retaining ring 5 and retaining portion 25 as the ribs) (Figure 3 shows the first outer face defines a plurality of ribs [5, 25] (retaining ring 5 and retaining portion 25 as the ribs)), rear ends of the metal terminals [1, 2, 3, 4] and the exposed conductive cores [120] are partitioned by the ribs [5, 25] (The retaining ring 5 cooperates with the annular extending portion 33 to clamp the inner seal member 4 and the insulator holder 2 between the retaining ring 5 and the annular extending portion 33, thus fixing these in position inside the conductive shell 3 with respect to the first direction L; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-6; In the instant embodiment, a retaining portion 25 that protrudes in the first direction L from the second face 22 of the insulator holder 2 is inserted into the through hole of the retaining ring 5 and an inner circumferential portion 5a of the retaining ring 5 is placed in contact with the insulator holder 2 (retaining portion 25); Paragraph [0081] Line 10-15; Figure 3 shows the rear ends of the metal terminals [1, 2, 3, 4] and the exposed conductive cores [120] are partitioned by the ribs [5, 25]).
Regarding claim 8, Sasaki teaches a sensor assembly,
wherein the rear ends [3 /4] of the metal terminals [1, 2, 3, 4] are located above the exposed conductive cores [120] (Namely, the center conductor 1 corresponds to an inner conductor of the coaxial cable 120, the insulator holder 2 corresponds to the dielectric (insulator) of the coaxial cable 120, and the conductive shell 3 corresponds to the outer conductor of the coaxial cable 120; Paragraph [0067] Line 10-14; More particularly, the opposed ends (11, 12) of the center conductor 1 are not covered by the insulator holder 2, but exposed to form terminal portions. In the example shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, the first terminal portion 11 is disposed on the side of the coaxial cable 120, and the second terminal portion 12 is disposed on the side of the camera module 110 (e.g. the side of the receptacle); Paragraph [0072] Line 11-17; Figure 3 shows the rear ends [3 or 4] of the metal terminals [1, 2, 3, 4] are located above the exposed conductive cores [120] ).
Regarding claim 9, Sasaki teaches a sensor assembly,
wherein the main portion of the insulating base [7] has two grooves opening forwards and upwards (Figure 2 (a): Modified portion of Figure 2 of Sasaki below shows the main portion of the insulating base [7] has two grooves opening forwards and upwards).
.
Figure 2 (a): Modified portion of Figure 2 of Sasaki
Regarding claim 10, Sasaki fails to teach a sensor assembly, wherein the upright portion has a guide slope to lead the insulating base into the insulating shell.
Kanao teaches a gas sensor that provides an increased hermetically sealing effect between an atmospheric side atmosphere and a measuring gas atmosphere (Paragraph [0011] Line 3-5),
wherein the upright portion of the insulating base [3] has a guide slope [3c] to lead the insulating base [3] into the insulating shell [4] (The insulating element holder 3 includes a large diameter cylindrical body 3a and a small diameter cylindrical body 3b, with an stepped engaging shoulder 3c being formed between the first and second cylindrical bodies 3a, 3b; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-5; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kanao above shows that the upright portion has a guide slope to lead the insulating base [3] into the insulating shell [4]). The purpose of doing so is to allow the packing element to hermetically seal the atmospheric side atmosphere and the measuring gas atmosphere from each other, to hold the element in pressured contact between the stepped engaging shoulder of the insulating element holder and the holder rest shoulder of the housing, to exert an urging force to the packing element toward a leading end of the gas sensor in an axial direction thereof, to hold the element in tight contact between the stepped engaging shoulder of the insulating element holder and the holder rest shoulder of the housing, to enabling the packing element to be assembled in a stabilized manner.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the insulating base of Sasaki as disclosed by Kanao, because Kanao teaches to include the upright portion having a guide slope to lead the insulating base into the insulating shell allows the packing element to hermetically seal the atmospheric side atmosphere and the measuring gas atmosphere from each other (Paragraph [0012]), holds the element in pressured contact between the stepped engaging shoulder of the insulating element holder and the holder rest shoulder of the housing, exerts an urging force to the packing element toward a leading end of the gas sensor in an axial direction thereof, holds the element in tight contact between the stepped engaging shoulder of the insulating element holder and the holder rest shoulder of the housing (Paragraph [0014]), enables the packing element to be assembled in a stabilized manner (Paragraph [0017])
Regarding claim 11, Sasaki teaches a sensor assembly [10] (A connector module having a shield case and relates also to a vehicle-mounted camera using such module; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3; FIG. 1 to FIG. 4, the connector module 10 as the sensor assembly; Paragraph [0071] Line 1-2) comprising:
an insulating shell [8] (Connector case 8 as the insulating shell as the connector case 8 is formed of an insulating (non-conductive) material) (The connector case 8 is a case for accommodating the terminal module 30 and the shield case 7; Paragraph [0075] Line 1-2; Therefore, in order to insulate the conductive shell 3 and the shield case 7 from the outside of the connector module 10, the connector case 8 is formed of an insulating (non-conductive) material such as resin; Paragraph [0075] Line 14-17) having a receiving cavity [E2+E3] (cylindrical space E3 and the inner space E2 as the receiving cavity) with a rear opening (Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Sasaki above shows an insulating shell [8] with a rear opening (as insertion opening in the figure); The connector case 8 is a case for accommodating the terminal module 30 and the shield case 7. The connector case 8 includes, on its inner face side, a cylindrical space E3 for enclosing the terminal module 30, a rectangular-shaped tubular space which is in substantial agreement with the inner space E2 of the shield case 7; Paragraph [0075] Line 1-6); and
an insulating base [7] (The shield case 7 is the insulating base) (The shield case 7, in this embodiment, is a rectangular-shaped bottomed tubular case. The shield case 7 shields the inner space E2 of the case 7 against electromagnetic wave present in an outer space E1 of the shield case 7, e.g. electromagnetic wave such as electromagnetic noise which may influence signals transmitted by the center conductor 1 or the electronic circuit 102 of the camera module 110; Paragraph [0074] Line 1-8) loaded with an electromagnetic wave sensor [110] (The image pickup device 101 of the camera module 110 comprises a CCD (Charge Coupled Device), a sensor or a CIS (CMOS Image Sensor; therefore element 110 is considered as the sensor because the sensor is inside the element camera module 110); Paragraph [0065] Line 1-3; A CMOS image sensor (CIS) is a prime example of an electromagnetic wave sensor, as it detects visible and near-infrared light — part of the electromagnetic spectrum — by converting photons into electrical signals; https://www.bing.com/search?q=electromagnetic%20wave%20sensor%20example%20cmos%20image%20sensor&qs=n&form=QBRE&sp=-1&ghc=1&lq=0&pq=electromagnetic%20wave%20sensor%20example%20cmos%20image%20sensor&sc=12-53&sk=&cvid=D6F24625C5C843348DA5A5AA3B31B5AD; As described above, the camera unit 100 (vehicle-mounted camera) includes the camera module 110 having the image pickup device 101, the electronic circuit 102 for driving and controlling the image pickup device 101 and processing video signals outputted from the image pickup device 101 and the optical unit 104 having the lens 103 for condensing light onto the image pickup device 101, and the connector module 10. And, to the electronic circuit 102, the center conductor 1 is electrically connected and at least a part of the electronic circuit 102 is shielded by the shield case 7; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-11; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Sasaki above shows an insulating base [7] loaded with an electromagnetic wave sensor [110]; The shield case 7, as shown in the vertical section thereof shown in FIG. 4, shields an inner space E2 of the shield case 7 against electromagnetic wave which may be propagated from an outer space E1 of the shield case 7. Preferably, the shield case 7 covers at least a part of the electronic circuit 102 of the camera module 110, thus shielding the electronic circuit 102; Paragraph [0069] Line 1-7) and metal terminals [1, 2, 3, 4] in Figure 3 (As shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, the terminal module 30 includes the center conductor 1, the insulator holder 2, the conductive shell 3, the inner seal member 4 and the retaining ring 5; Paragraph [0072] Line 4-7; the center conductor 1, the insulator holder 2, the conductive shell 3, the inner seal member 4 and the retaining ring 5 are the metal terminals) and a cable [120] in Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Sasaki above (The camera unit 100 is connected to an image processing device (not shown) or a monitoring device (not shown) via a coaxial cable 120. The coaxial cable 120 comprises a cable configured such that an inner conductor and an outer conductor are disposed coaxially across a dielectric (insulator) therebetween. The inner conductor transmits signals whereas the outer conductor acts as a shield for suppressing influence of electromagnetic wave to the inner conductor. In the instant embodiment, the inner conductor supplies electric power from the image processing device or the monitoring device to the image pickup device 101 or the electronic circuit 102 of the camera unit 100 and also outputs video signals outputted from the image pickup device 101 and the electronic circuit 102 to the image processing device or the monitoring device; Paragraph [0064] Line 1-15); the metal terminals [1, 2, 3, 4] in Figure 3 (As shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, the terminal module 30 includes the center conductor 1, the insulator holder 2, the conductive shell 3, the inner seal member 4 and the retaining ring 5; Paragraph [0072] Line 4-7; the center conductor 1, the insulator holder 2, the conductive shell 3, the inner seal member 4 and the retaining ring 5 are the metal terminals) being connected between the sensor [110] and front exposed conductive cores of the cable [120] (cable 120 is the exposed conductive core of the cable [120] (Namely, the center conductor 1 corresponds to an inner conductor of the coaxial cable 120, the insulator holder 2 corresponds to the dielectric (insulator) of the coaxial cable 120, and the conductive shell 3 corresponds to the outer conductor of the coaxial cable 120; Paragraph [0067] Line 10-14; More particularly, the opposed ends (11, 12) of the center conductor 1 are not covered by the insulator holder 2, but exposed to form terminal portions. In the example shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, the first terminal portion 11 is disposed on the side of the coaxial cable 120, and the second terminal portion 12 is disposed on the side of the camera module 110 (e.g. the side of the receptacle); Paragraph [0072] Line 11-17);
wherein the insulating shell [8] defines an upper inside (first inside in Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Sasaki above) and a lower inside (second inside in Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Sasaki above) (Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Sasaki above shows the insulating shell has a first inside (upper inside) and a second inside (lower inside)),
the insulating base [7] has an upper face and a lower face (Figure 2 (a): Modified portion of Figure 2 of Sasaki above shows the insulating base has an upper face and a lower face),
a working surface of the sensor [110] exposes to the upper face of the insulating base [7] (The shield case 7, as shown in the vertical section thereof shown in FIG. 4, shields an inner space E2 of the shield case 7 against electromagnetic wave which may be propagated from an outer space E1 of the shield case 7. Preferably, the shield case 7 covers at least a part of the electronic circuit 102 of the camera module 110; Paragraph [0069] Line 1-6; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Sasaki and in combination with Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Sasaki above shows a working surface of the sensor [110] exposes to the upper face of the insulating base), and
the insulating base [8] moves towards the upper inside to attach the working surface of the sensor to the upper inside of the insulating shell during inserting the insulating base [8] forwards into the receiving cavity [E2] (The connector case 8 is a case for accommodating the terminal module 30 and the shield case 7. The connector case 8 includes, on its inner face side, a cylindrical space E3 for enclosing the terminal module 30, a rectangular-shaped tubular space which is in substantial agreement with the inner space E2 of the shield case 7. The terminal module 30 is accommodated in the cylindrical space E3 and the shield case 7 is accommodated in the rectangular-shaped tubular space; Paragraph [0075] Line 1-9; Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Sasaki above shows the insulating base [7] is inserted into and contained in the receiving cavity [E2] of the insulating shell [8] from the insertion opening to attach the working surface of the sensor to the upper inside of the insulating shell).
However, Sasaki fails to teach that the lower inside of the insulating shell has a first slope, the lower face of the insulating base has a second slope, and the insulating base moves towards the upper inside when the second slope moves along the first slope during inserting the insulating base.
Kanao teaches a gas sensor that provides an increased hermetically sealing effect between an atmospheric side atmosphere and a measuring gas atmosphere (Paragraph [0011] Line 3-5),
wherein the lower inside (second inside as the lower inside in Modified Figure 1 of Kanao above shows) of the insulating shell [4] has a first slope (Modified Figure 1 of Kanao above shows that the lower inside has a first slope), the lower face of the insulating base [3] has a second slope [3c] (The insulating element holder 3 includes a large diameter cylindrical body 3a and a small diameter cylindrical body 3b, with an stepped engaging shoulder 3c being formed between the first and second cylindrical bodies 3a, 3b; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-5; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kanao above shows that the lower inside has a first slope, the insulating base [3] has a second slope [3c]), and the insulating base [3] moves towards the upper inside when the second slope moves along the first slope during inserting the insulating base [3] (As shown in FIG. 1, the housing 4 includes a housing body 4a having its outer periphery formed with a tool-fitting portion 4aa adapted to allow the gas sensor 1 to be mounted on a wall; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-4; Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Kanao above shows the insulating base moves towards the upper inside when the second slope moves along the first slope during inserting the insulating base). The purpose of doing so is to allow the packing element to hermetically seal the atmospheric side atmosphere and the measuring gas atmosphere from each other, to hold the element in pressured contact between the stepped engaging shoulder of the insulating element holder and the holder rest shoulder of the housing, to exert an urging force to the packing element toward a leading end of the gas sensor in an axial direction thereof, to hold the element in tight contact between the stepped engaging shoulder of the insulating element holder and the holder rest shoulder of the housing, to enabling the packing element to be assembled in a stabilized manner.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the insulating shell and insulating base of Sasaki as disclosed by Kanao, because Kanao teaches to include the lower inside of the insulating shell having a first slope and to include the lower face of the insulating base having a second slope allows the packing element to hermetically seal the atmospheric side atmosphere and the measuring gas atmosphere from each other (Paragraph [0012]), holds the element in pressured contact between the stepped engaging shoulder of the insulating element holder and the holder rest shoulder of the housing, exerts an urging force to the packing element toward a leading end of the gas sensor in an axial direction thereof, holds the element in tight contact between the stepped engaging shoulder of the insulating element holder and the holder rest shoulder of the housing (Paragraph [0014]), enables the packing element to be assembled in a stabilized manner (Paragraph [0017])
Regarding claim 12, Sasaki teaches a sensor assembly,
wherein rear ends of the metal terminals [3b] have larger pitch than front ends of the metal terminals [25] (Namely, the center conductor 1 corresponds to an inner conductor of the coaxial cable 120, the insulator holder 2 corresponds to the dielectric (insulator) of the coaxial cable 120, and the conductive shell 3 corresponds to the outer conductor of the coaxial cable 120; Paragraph [0067] Line 10-14; More particularly, the opposed ends (11, 12) of the center conductor 1 are not covered by the insulator holder 2, but exposed to form terminal portions. In the example shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, the first terminal portion 11 is disposed on the side of the coaxial cable 120, and the second terminal portion 12 is disposed on the side of the camera module 110 (e.g. the side of the receptacle); Paragraph [0072] Line 11-17; Figure 3 shows the rear ends [3 or 4] of the metal terminals [1, 2, 3, 4] are have larger pitch than front ends of the metal terminals [25]),
the front ends of the metal terminals [5b, 20] are connected with the sensor [110], the rear ends [3, 4] of the metal terminals [1, 2, 3, 4] are connected with the front exposed conductive cores of the cable [120] (Namely, the center conductor 1 corresponds to an inner conductor of the coaxial cable 120, the insulator holder 2 corresponds to the dielectric (insulator) of the coaxial cable 120, and the conductive shell 3 corresponds to the outer conductor of the coaxial cable 120; Paragraph [0067] Line 10-14; More particularly, the opposed ends (11, 12) of the center conductor 1 are not covered by the insulator holder 2, but exposed to form terminal portions. In the example shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, the first terminal portion 11 is disposed on the side of the coaxial cable 120, and the second terminal portion 12 is disposed on the side of the camera module 110 (e.g. the side of the receptacle); Paragraph [0072] Line 11-17; Figure 3 and Figure 2 shows the front ends of the metal terminals [5b, 20] are connected with the sensor [110], the rear ends of the metal terminals are connected with the front exposed conductive cores of the cable [120]).
Regarding claim 13, Sasaki teaches a sensor assembly,
wherein the insulating base [7] includes a main portion holding the sensor [110], an upright portion scaling the insertion opening and a transverse portion connecting with the main portion and the upright portion, and the cable [120] extends through a round hole of the upright portion (Figure 1: Modified portion of Figure 1 of Sasaki above and Figure 2(a): Modified portion of Figure 2 of Sasaki above shows the insulating base includes a main portion holding the sensor, an upright portion scaling the insertion opening and a transverse portion connecting with the main portion and the upright portion, and the cable extends through a round hole of the upright portion).
Regarding claim 14, Sasaki teaches a sensor assembly,
wherein the main portion has a receiving notch (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Sasaki above shows receiving notch) recessed from the upper face and penetrating through the main portion in a direction perpendicular to the cable [120], and the sensor [110] is received in the receiving notch (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Sasaki above shows the main portion has a receiving notch recessed from the upper face and penetrating through the main portion in a direction perpendicular to the cable [120], and the sensor [110] is received in the receiving notch).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Otsu (US 20030092289 A1) discloses, “Coaxial Connector And Manufacture Thereof- [0002] The invention relates to a coaxial connector connected to a conductive panel, and more particularly, to a coaxial connector, a connecting part of which is to be connected to the conductive panel which is constituted of conductive material. [0099] FIG. 3 shows views of a coaxial connector according to a preferred embodiment when viewed from respective faces. In FIG. 3(A), a top view is shown. In FIG. 3(B), a left-side view is shown. In FIG. 3(C), a front view (same as the rear view) is shown. In FIG. 3(D), a right-side view is shown. In FIG. 3(E) a bottom view is shown. [0100] As shown in FIG. 3(B), a hook opening 14' of the insulation main body and openings 20' where a device is supposed to be inserted are formed in the block part 10a of the insulation main body 10. For example, a pin 18 will be inserted into the insertion hole 20' if the connector is arranged to be installed in a horizontal manner. As shown in FIG. 3D, the hook hole 14' of the insulation main body is formed in the block part 10a of the insulation main body 10. [0101] As shown in FIG. 3C, no grooves (including windows, openings, insertion openings, recesses, etc.) extending to the inside of the block part are seen in the block part 10a of the insulation main body 10. When the insulation main body 10 is formed, no equipment such as an insertion bar is required to make such openings. Therefore, it is easy to pile up a plurality of forming dies in the direction form the front to the back so that the efficiency to form the insulation main body 10 of the coaxial connector may be increased. [0103] FIG. 4 is a cross-sectional view taken along A-A' shown in FIG. 3(C). [0104] As shown in FIG. 4, the internal conductor 12 is disposed in the center of the coaxial connector, and the internal conductor receiving dielectric member 11 is disposed so as to surround the internal conductor 12 and for the internal conductor 12 to penetrate through the end face shown in the lower portion of figure. Further, the external conductor 13 is disposed so as to surround the outer periphery of the internal conductor receiving dielectric member 11. [0105] The insulation main body 10 is disposed around the lower outside of the external conductor 13. The ground contact 17 is pressed against-the contact portion 13a of the external conductor 13 inside of the insertion opening 13a' of the insulation main body-However Otsu does not disclose a sensor fixed in the insulating base for recording electromagnetic waves and for electrically connecting to a cable; wherein the second slope is slidable along the first slope to guide the insulating base to move towards the first inside of the insulating shell so that a working surface of the sensor is face to face attached to a first inside of the insulating shell.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858