DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11-11-2024 and 05-02-2025 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, Claims 11-21 in the reply filed on 12-04-2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search for group II would encompass a search for any remaining claims. This is not found persuasive because the search for group II cannot encompass the limitation “removing a package from a package transporter”.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. (2002/0060455) in view of Schuler (2023/0089801).
Regarding claim 11, Thomas teaches an apparatus for robotically tying a knot (figs 1-18), comprising: a knotting head apparatus at a knot-tying location for tying a knot to a yarn tail of a yarn package to secure the yarn tail from unraveling in subsequent yarn package handling (members 26-27).
Thomas does not clearly teach a digitally-controlled knot-validating apparatus for validating correct application of the knot to the yarn tail.
Schuler tech a knotting device having a digitally-controlled knot-validating apparatus for validating correction of the knot (para 0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the device of Thomas by adding a digitally-controlled knot-validating apparatus of Schuler in order to ensure there is a correction knot or not.
Regarding claim 12, the modified device Thomas-Schuler discloses the digitally-controlled knot-validating apparatus comprises an apparatus for monitoring torque to yarn indicating that a yarn end is loose, rather than being held in the knot (Schuler, para 0118 and 0132).
Regarding claim 13, the modified device Thomas-Schuler discloses the knot-validating apparatus comprises an apparatus for sensing a strain value (i.e. elastic) on the yarn tail indicating that the yarn end is loose, rather than being held in the knot (Schuler, para 0115 and 0132).
Regarding claim 14, the modified device Thomas-Schuler discloses the knot-validating apparatus is adapted for sensing the presence or absence of the knot in the yarn and is selected from the group consisting of a strain gauge (i.e. elastic, Schuler, para 0115 and 0132) and a load cell.
Regarding claim 15, the modified device Thomas-Schuler discloses the digitally-controlled knot-validating apparatus comprises a visual inspecting apparatus adapted to inspect a surface of the yarn package to determine the presence or absence of the knot by capturing an image of the package surface and comparing the image of the package surface against a digital store of images representing a yarn arrangement indicative of a correctly-tied knot (Schuler, para 0053).
Regarding claim 16, the modified device Thomas-Schuler discloses the digitally-controlled knot-validating apparatus comprises a source of energy adapted to apply energy to the surface of the package to detect, measure and compare a returned energy signal against a digital data store of surface irregularities on the package indicative of the presence or absence of a knot (Schuler, para 0053).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. (2002/0060455) and Schuler (2023/0089801) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Jackson et al. (6,633,383).
Regarding claim 17, the modified device Thomas-Schuler teaches all of the limitations except the energy source is selected from the group consisting of a laser and ultrasound.
Jason teaches an image system using laser source (col 4, lines 33 to 55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the device of Thomas by adding a laser image system of Jason in order to allow the overall inspection task becomes faster, more accurate, more repeatable, and allows quantification and differentiation.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,129,576. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applicants claimed a device having a knottin head, a digital knot validating wherein the digital knot validating having laser inspecting apparatus and a yard package indexer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is listed on the attached PTO-892.
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732