DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 26 September 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the displayed set of audio results" in the fifth and seventh elements of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitations "the displayed set of audio results" in the penultimate element of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitations "the displayed set of audio results" in the penultimate element of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-12, 14-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite as they are dependent on claims 1, 13 and 17 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11, 13-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FORD et al. (US20190005139A1) in view of LIUSAARI et al. (US20220374196A1).
As to claim 1, FORD teaches:
a media playback system comprising: a first playback device; and one or more computer-readable media having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the media playback system to perform operations (see fig. 1, par. 0067, wherein the entity operating the computer software and interacting with the application's GUI is the End-User. The End-User interacts with the mobile device's operating system to launch the application, and the End-User interacts with the GUI presented by the application. The computing platform on which the End-User application runs is a Mobile Device/Web Browser. Nonlimiting examples of such computing platforms include a mobile device and its operating system or a personal computing device and its web browsing software. The Application is the computer software application that is stored and run on a mobile device or stored on the system's web servers and run in a personal computing device's web browsing software. The Application uses Display Logic and has a GUI that is presented for interaction by the End-User. The application also includes Data Aggregation Logic, Business Logic, local Data Storage, Data Communication logic, and Asset Management logic. The Application interacts with the platform's Network Adapter to send and receive data and media through available networks. The Graphical User Interface is provided by the Application for the purpose of interacting with the End-User. The GUI uses Display Logic to determine how to be presented, passes data resulting from user interaction to the Business Logic, and receives instructions for its behavior from the Business Logic; as taught by FORD)
comprising: under control of a unified audio application, for each of a plurality of audio content services, sending, to the audio content service, a request for audio content, and receiving, from the audio content service, one or more audio results (see figs. 1-16, par. 0008, wherein the present invention is directed to a computer-implemented method for aggregating content and displaying the content in a graphical user interface. The method comprises the steps of: displaying a first window in a graphical user interface comprising a dialog box that is capable of receiving a request to transmit primary content created by or related to one or more sources, wherein the primary content comprises one or more of the following content types—home content, music content, video content, show content, message content, image content, social content and sponsor content; displaying a second window in the graphical user interface that presents the primary content in an organized fashion, wherein the content is organized based on one or more first metric values determined from previously entered data related to one or more user preferences; determining a value for one or more second metrics associated with the organized and ordered primary content by one or more processors; automatically transmitting, organizing and ordering, by the one or more processors, secondary content based on the value for one or more second metrics; displaying a third window in the graphical user interface that presents the organized secondary content; thereby aggregating and displaying the content on the graphical user interface; as taught by FORD);
aggregating the audio results received from the plurality of audio content services into an aggregated set of audio results based at least in part on the identified context (see par. 0025, wherein the present invention is generally directed to content aggregation, presentation of the aggregated content and systems related to the content aggregation and presentation. It is more specifically directed to a content aggregation system—and related methods and graphical user interfaces—that compiles and distributes online closed, social and network internet transmittable media including, but not limited to, data, audio, images, video and text. The content aggregation system uses, for example, mobile applications and web browsers to present relevant information to an end user; see also par. 0145, wherein each page's priority value is affected by values resulting from the aggregation of content. All the content is assessed and aggregated, and the content is given priority ratings. The content, as determined for each page, is then used to affect the total priority rating for the page; as taught by FORD);
displaying at least a portion of the aggregated set of audio results based at least in part on the identified context, wherein the displayed audio results include audio results of a first content type received from a first audio content service and audio results of a second content type received from a second audio content service, so that the displayed audio results include audio results of different content types received from different audio content services (see figs. 7-16, for example fig. 7, par. 0015, wherein FIG. 7 shows the opening screen, login screen and homepage of an application that aggregates and presents content; see also fig. 8, par. 0016, wherein FIG. 8 shows the homepage and various elements of an application that aggregates and presents content; as taught by FORD);
receiving, from a user, a selection of a first audio result from the displayed set of audio results, the first audio result being received from the first audio content service; without executing an application associated with the first audio content service, playing, via the first playback device, the first audio result; receiving, from the user, a selection of a second audio result from the displayed set of audio results, the second audio result being received from the second audio content service; and without executing an application associated with the second audio content service, playing, via the first playback device, the second audio result (see figs. 7-9, par. 0046, wherein the Graphical User Interface consists of text elements and art assets. The art assets come from multiple sources: those distributed and installed as a part of the application, those provided by the Application's servers, and those provided by extended network data providers such as social networks. Some art assets and some text assets are used to operate as buttons for the end user to interact with. In response to interaction with these buttons the state of the application will change, including but not limited to controlling the position of GUI elements on the screen, triggering a request for more data to be retrieved and displayed, playing and stopping audio and video assets; see also figs. 10-15; as taught by FORD).
FORD does not expressly teach identifying a context for displaying the audio results.
In similar field of endeavor, LIUSAARI teaches identifying a context for displaying the audio results (see figs. 1-4 and 24-27, par. 0055, wherein these properties of the sensed light may then be used to infer whether the media-playback device 102 is in an indoor environment, an outdoor environment, a private vehicle, public transit, etc. In some embodiments, these inferences are used to detect if the media-playback device 102 is in a particular context; as taught by LIUSAARI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the FORD apparatus to include the teachings of LIUSAARI for identifying a context for displaying the audio results. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as users often have different listening preferences depending on when or where they are listening to media content or based on which activity they are engaged in at the time (see LIUSAARI, par. 0003).
As to claim 2, FORD and LIUSAARI teach the limitations of claim 1. LIUSAARI further teaches wherein the displayed audio results further include audio results of a third content type received from a third audio content service and audio results of a fourth content type received from a fourth audio content service (see figs. 1-30, par. 0047, wherein the media-playback device 102 plays back media content items to produce media output 110. In some embodiments, such as the example shown in the scene on the right in FIG. 1, the media output 110 is played through another device such as vehicle-media playback system 116 that utilizes a wireless connection to communicate with the media-playback device 102. A media content item is an item of media content, including audio, video, or other types of media content, which may be stored in any format suitable for storing media content. Non-limiting examples of media content items include songs, albums, audiobooks, music videos, movies, television episodes, podcasts, other types of audio or video content, and portions or combinations thereof; as taught by LIUSAARI) [see also figs. 8-16 of FORD].
As to claim 3, FORD and LIUSAARI teach the limitations of claim 2. FORD further teaches wherein the first content type is music, the second content type is podcast, the third content type is audiobook, and the fourth content type is live spoken word (see par. 0105, wherein FIG. 16 illustrates an example method 1502 of receiving a selection to save media content to a context. As was discussed earlier, selections can be received from a user through a user interface 112 displayed on a touch screen 152. The media content can be an individual media content item such as a song or an episode of a podcast. The media content can also be a collection of media content items such as a playlist of songs, a genre of music, or a series of podcasts; as taught by LIUSAARI).
As to claim 4, FORD and LIUSAARI teach the limitations of claim 1. LIUSAARI further teaches wherein the identified context is a vehicle, a mobile device, or a display device (see par.0123, wherein FIG. 27 illustrates another example of the method 2402 of detecting parameters associated with a particular context. In this example, the user U is driving his or her vehicle V and his or her media-playback device 102 has connected to the vehicle media-playback system 116 via Bluetooth. Detecting the vehicle media-playback system 116 via Bluetooth as a context parameter leads the media context association engine 220 to determine that the user U and the media-playback device 102 are in the context of “Driving” by matching the parameter with contexts stored in the context data store 222; as taught by LIUSAARI).
As to claim 5, FORD and LIUSAARI teach the limitations of claim 1. LIUSAARI further teaches wherein the first playback device includes speakers of a vehicular audio system (see figs. 1-2, par. 0063, wherein the content output device 158 may transmit a signal through the audio output jack or Bluetooth transmitter that can be used to reproduce an audio signal by a connected or paired device such as headphones, speaker system, or vehicle head unit; as taught by LIUSAARI)
As to claim 6, FORD and LIUSAARI teach the limitations of claim 1. FORD further teaches receiving, from the user, a request to add a new audio content service to the plurality of audio content services; prompting the user for credentials associated with the new audio content service; and registering the new audio content service with the unified audio application so that the unified audio application can play audio content received from the new audio content service without installing or launching an application associated with the new audio content service (see fig. 2, par. 0070, wherein The Application sends new or existing log in credentials (2 b) to one or more of the Application Server and external Data Sources. The Application Server handles the user account log in or creates a new user account in the Application Database (2 c), and external Data Sources confirm or deny (2 d) the successful use of user account credentials. If the log in fails, or there is an error, the Application will return its state to the Log In or Create Account screens (2). If the log in is successful, the Application loads an initial set of data that will determine what information and media is available (3) using settings and configuration information (3 a) and may store user credentials and other data locally (3 b); as taught by FORD).
As to claim 11, FORD and LIUSAARI teach the limitations of claim 1. LIUSAARI further teaches wherein the request for audio content comprises a voice command received from the user (see par. 0086, wherein the user U may provide inputs in other ways such as through a keyboard, a mouse, and a voice command; as taught by LIUSAARI).
Claim 13 amounts to the method performed by the media playback system of claim 1. Accordingly, claim 13 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claim 1 and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Claim 14 amounts to the method performed by the media playback system of claim 2. Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claim 2 and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Claim 15 amounts to the method performed by the media playback system of claim 4. Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claim 4 and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Claim 16 amounts to the method performed by the media playback system of claim 6. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claim 6 and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Claim 17 amounts to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of the media playback system of claim 1. Accordingly, claim 17 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claim 1 and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Claim 18 amounts to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of the media playback system of claim 4. Accordingly, claim 18 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claim 4 and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Claim 19 amounts to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of the media playback system of claim 5. Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claim 5 and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Claims 7-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FORD et al. (US20190005139A1) in view of LIUSAARI et al. (US20220374196A1) and further in view of POLIS et al. (US20130097279A1)
As to claim 7, FORD and LIUSAARI teach the limitations of claim 1. FORD and LIUSAARI do not expressly teach under control of the unified audio application, receiving, from the user, a selection of a third audio result from the displayed audio results, the third audio result being received from a third audio content service, wherein the third audio content service is different from the first audio content service and the second audio content service; and determining whether an application associated with the third audio content service is installed on the media playback system.
In similar field of endeavor, POLIS teaches:
under control of the unified audio application, receiving, from the user, a selection of a third audio result from the displayed audio results, the third audio result being received from a third audio content service, wherein the third audio content service is different from the first audio content service and the second audio content service (see figs. 4-6, par. 0122, wherein FIG. 5 illustrates an embodiment wherein the third party server systems 6 n each provide separate or unique services. In this kind of embodiment, the client application 7 can unify the third party system resources 9 into a single master user interface 10. This provides a user with a single point of access to a variety of services and functionality; as taught by POLIS);
and determining whether an application associated with the third audio content service is installed on the media playback system (see fig. 7, block 24, par. 0125, wherein when the user either logs in or tries to register, the aggregator system will determine whether the user's Java™ version is to a suitable level, and if it is not to a suitable level, then the aggregator system will walk the user through the process of updating the Java™ version; see also par. 0124; as taught by POLIS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the FORD and LIUSAARI apparatus to include the teachings of POLIS where under control of the unified audio application, receiving, from the user, a selection of a third audio result from the displayed audio results, the third audio result being received from a third audio content service, wherein the third audio content service is different from the first audio content service and the second audio content service; and determining whether an application associated with the third audio content service is installed on the media playback system. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as this initial configuration process can be made as automatic as possible to minimize the amount of detailed data which the user must provide ... By allowing for the discovery of the remaining configuration details taking only the user's email address and password as inputs, a superior user experience can be achieved (POLIS, par. 0055).
As to claim 8, FORD, LIUSAARI and POLIS teach the limitations of claim 7. POLIS further teaches in response to determining that the application associated with the third audio content service is installed on the media playback system, executing the application associated with the third audio content service to play, via the first playback device, the third audio result (see par. 0123, wherein FIG. 6 illustrates the client application 7 delivered to and executing on a variety of user communication systems 2. The user system 2 can be a personal computer, laptop, personal digital assistant, cellular phone, smart phone, television, set top box or any other device capable of networking and executing compiled software programs; as taught POLIS).
As to claim 9, FORD, LIUSAARI and POLIS teach the limitations of claim 7. POLIS further teaches in response to determining that the application associated with the third audio content service is not installed on the media playback system, playing, via the first playback device, the third audio result under control of the unified audio application (see par. 0119, wherein the client application can be designed and written as a module or extension to function within another application already present on the user system 2; for example a Java™ Applet or Active X component designed to execute in a web browser such as Firefox™ or Internet Explorer™. The client application 7 runs locally on the user system 2 in order to execute functionality; as taught by POLIS).
Claim 20 amounts to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of the media playback system of the combined claims 7-9. Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claims 7-9 and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FORD et al. (US20190005139A1) in view of LIUSAARI et al. (US20220374196A1) and further in view of PRICE et al. (US9361373B1).
As to claim 10, FORD and LIUSAARI teach the limitations of claim 1. FORD and LIUSAARI do not expressly teach retrieving user preference information associated with the user; and filtering the aggregated set of audio results based on the retrieved user preference information, wherein the displaying comprises displaying the filtered audio results to the user.
In similar field of endeavor, PRICE teaches retrieving user preference information associated with the user; and filtering the aggregated set of audio results based on the retrieved user preference information, wherein the displaying comprises displaying the filtered audio results to the user (see fig. 5, col. 12, ll. 42-50, wherein at 512, the aggregated videos are filtered based on one or both of user preferences 514 or global factors 516. Filtering by user preferences 514 may comprise using the information received at 504 to generate one or more filters. Filtering by user preferences 514 may be highly specific for each individual user, but filtering by global factors 516 may lead to similar or the same results for different users; as taught by PRICE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the FORD and LIUSAARI apparatus to include the teachings of PRICE for retrieving user preference information associated with the user; and filtering the aggregated set of audio results based on the retrieved user preference information, wherein the displaying comprises displaying the filtered audio results to the user. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as providing techniques to access to the plethora of media available from the Internet, and other sources, in a personalized manner without requiring significant effort to locate interesting and relevant content would be desirable to many people (PRICE, col. 1, ll. 32-36).
As to claim 18, FORD and LIUSAARI teach the limitations of claim 17. FORD and LIUSAARI do not expressly teach wherein the identified context is a mobile device.
In similar field of endeavor, PRICE teaches wherein the identified context is a mobile device (see fig. 1, col. 3, ll. 55-65, wherein ultimately the aggregate content item 112 is delivered or otherwise made available to a user computing device 114. The user computing device 114 may be implemented as any number of devices, including but not limited to a personal computer, a thin client, a network appliance, a laptop computer, a net book, an electronic book reader, a portable digital assistant (PDA), a mobile phone, a set-top box, a game console, a personal media player (PMP), a television, an automobile navigation system, and so forth; as taught by PRICE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the FORD and LIUSAARI apparatus to include the teachings of PRICE for retrieving user preference information associated with the user; and filtering the aggregated set of audio results based on the retrieved user preference information, wherein the displaying comprises displaying the filtered audio results to the user. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as providing techniques to access to the plethora of media available from the Internet, and other sources, in a personalized manner without requiring significant effort to locate interesting and relevant content would be desirable to many people (PRICE, col. 1, ll. 32-36).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FORD et al. (US20190005139A1) in view of LIUSAARI et al. (US20220374196A1) and further in view of GORDON et al. (US20200267435A1).
As to claim 12, FORD and LIUSAARI teach the limitations of claim 1. FORD and LIUSAARI do not expressly teach wherein the request for audio content is a search request received from the user and comprises one or more search terms.
In similar field of endeavor, GORDON teaches wherein the request for audio content is a search request received from the user and comprises one or more search terms (see figs. 5-9, par. 0201, wherein the search provider can provide to the operator of the aggregation system 108 or a system associated with the aggregation system 108 a user identifier, such as a user name or number, device name or number, global unique identifier associated with a user or device, IP address, host number, or any combination thereof, along with one or more search terms, keywords, categories, or other search indicators. The operator of the aggregation system 108 or other system associated with the aggregation system 108 can provide to the search provider specific feed items that are responsive to the search terms, keywords, categories, or other search indicators, from the service feeds 206, Feed Items associated with the user 116 identified by the user identifier, other users 116 associated with the user 116 identified by the user identifier, or of users 116 of the aggregation system 108. Items responsive to the search terms, keywords, categories or other search indicators can be prioritized, ranked, scored, and/or weighted based on data collected by the operator of the aggregation system 108, including, but not limited to, sharing activity, viewing activity, rating activity, following or subscribing activity, or other user activity regarding one or more feed items, content provider feeds, keywords, or categories, based on activity of the user 116, users associated with the user 116, users of another Internet service 206, or users of the aggregation system 108; as taught by GORDON).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the FORD and LIUSAARI apparatus to include the teachings of GORDON wherein the request for audio content is a search request received from the user and comprises one or more search terms. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as it is advantageous for the user to be able to run a search in case the user does not remember a specific item or is not sure about the names or titles of the songs or authors (see also GORDON, pars. 0002-0009).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Publication Number
Filing Date
Title
US20120117488A1
2010-10-28
Distributed aggregated content guide for collaborative playback session
US20160080793A1
2014-09-15
Network for personalized content aggregation platform
US20170034558A1
2015-07-27
Aggregation system for generating and providing an enriched program schedule for media content
US20060190616A1
2006-02-03
System and method for aggregating, delivering and sharing audio content
US8285811B2
2008-04-17
Aggregating media collections to provide a primary list and sorted sub-lists
US20170242653A1
2017-02-21
Voice Control of a Media Playback System
/KOOROSH NEHCHIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174