DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coldren 9,068,539.
In regards to Independent Claim 1, Coldren teaches a fuel injector (figure 5) comprising: an injector housing (25 and 28) forming a first fuel inlet (101) for a first fuel (gaseous fuel, Col. 6, ll. 45-46), a second fuel inlet (102) for a second fuel (liquid fuel, Col. 6, ll. 46-47), a first nozzle outlet (103), a second nozzle outlet (104), and a nozzle supply passage extending between the first fuel inlet and the first nozzle outlet (passage between 101 and 103 in figure 5); a first check (110) movable in the injector housing between a closed position blocking the first nozzle outlet from the nozzle supply passage, and an open position (opening and closing of 110, Col. 7, ll. 26-30); a second check (120) movable in the injector housing between a closed position blocking the second nozzle outlet, and an open position (opening and closing of 120, Col. 7, ll. ll. 30-38); and a non-return valve movable in the injector housing between a closed position blocking the nozzle supply passage between the first fuel inlet and the first nozzle outlet, and an open position (check valve 140 between 101 and 110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coldren as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ulbing 2,969,738.
Regarding Dependent Claims 2-5, Coldren teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above, and Coldren further teaches the fuel injector forms a blind bore (widened bore of 140 within fuel injector 28 does not pass through the entirety of the injector), and the non-return valve is within the blind bore at the open position (140 is within the bore constraining it in all positions in figure 5). However, Coldren does not teach that the check valve includes a ball biased against a conical valve seat with a spring housed within a cylindrical guide surface. Ulbing teaches a check valve (between 46 and 42 in figure 3) including a ball (48) biased against a conical valve seat (conical portion of hole 44, Col. 2, ll. 5-9) with a spring (50) within a cylindrical guide surface (cylindrical portion of 44 in figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to substitute the ball and spring check valve of Ulbing for the check valve of Coldren, because it is no more than the simple substitution of one known technique for another to a piece of prior art ready for improvement, in this case, allowing fuel flow through a fuel injector in only one direction with a ball and spring valve. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. MPEP 2143 B.
Claims 11, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coldren in view of Kim 2012/0325350.
In regards to Independent Claim 11 and Dependent Claim 12, Coldren teaches a dual fuel system (figure 1) comprising: at least one fuel connector forming a first fuel supply conduit for a first fuel and a second fuel supply conduit for a second fuel (connectors between 21 and 101 and 22 and 102, with gaseous fuel entering 101 and liquid fuel entering 102, Col. 5, ll. 44-47); a fuel injector (25) forming a first fuel inlet (101) fluidly connected to the first fuel supply conduit (Col. 5, ll. 44-47) and a second fuel inlet (102) fluidly connected to the second fuel supply conduit (Col. 5, ll. 44-47; the fuel injector further forming a first nozzle supply passage (passage between 101 and 103) extending between the first fuel inlet and a first nozzle outlet (103), a second nozzle supply passage (passage between 102 and 104) extending between the second fuel inlet and a second nozzle outlet (104); and the fuel injector further including a non-return valve movable between an open position, and a closed position blocking the first nozzle supply passage at a location fluidly between the first fuel inlet and the outlet (check valve 140 between 101 and 110). However, Coldren does not teach a leakage path from a fuel volume of the second fuel to a fuel volume of the first fuel within the fuel injector. Kim teaches permitting leakage of liquid fuel into a gaseous fuel cavity of a fuel injector (paragraph [0039], where the leakage must pass through an amount of clearance between the flow paths). It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to allow leakage of liquid fuel into the gaseous fuel path near the fuel outlet of Coldren, as taught by Kim, in order to reduce wear of the tip of the fuel injector (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding Dependent Claim 17, Coldren in view of Kim teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above, and Coldren further teaches the fuel injector forms a blind bore (widened bore of 140 within fuel injector 28 does not pass through the entirety of the injector), and the non-return valve is within the blind bore at the open position (140 is within the bore constraining it in all positions in figure 5).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coldren in view of Kim as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Ulbing.
Regarding Dependent Claim 16, Coldren in view of Kim teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. However, Coldren in view of Kim does not teach that the check valve includes a ball (spherical sealing surface) biased against a conical valve seat with a spring housed within a cylindrical guide surface. Ulbing teaches a check valve (between 46 and 42 in figure 3) including a ball (48) biased against a conical valve seat (conical portion of hole 44, Col. 2, ll. 5-9) with a spring (50) within a cylindrical guide surface (cylindrical portion of 44 in figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to substitute the ball and spring check valve of Ulbing for the check valve of Coldren in view of Kim, because it is no more than the simple substitution of one known technique for another to a piece of prior art ready for improvement, in this case, allowing fuel flow through a fuel injector in only one direction with a ball and spring valve. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395. MPEP 2143 B.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: prior art fails to teach, in combination with the other limitations of dependent claims 6 and 13, that the non-return valve blocks the incoming passage from the two outgoing passages at the closed position.
Conclusion
/STEVEN M SUTHERLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752