DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to the Application 18/898,008 filed on 09/26/2024.
Claims 1-21 have been examined and are pending in this application. This Action is made Non-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (“Wang,” US 2012/0210228), published on Aug. 16, 2012.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses computer system configured to communicate with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices, comprising (Figs. 3-15 and 21-22):
one or more processors (Figs. 21-22); and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for (Figs. 21-22):
while displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a representation of a video media item, detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more inputs corresponding to a request to edit the video media item (pars. 0047-0051 and 0054-0058; Figs. 1-7, 9 and 11-13; steps 310-330, receiving a retiming command that specifies a set of retiming parameters during editing the video media); and
in response to detecting the one or more inputs corresponding to the request to edit the video media item, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a media editing user interface, wherein displaying the media editing user interface includes (pars. 0045-0051 and 0054-0058; Figs. 1-7, 9 and 11-13; in order to perform retiming operations, some embodiments of the media editing application maintain a playback curve for adjusting the playback speed of the composite presentation.):
in accordance with a determination that the video media item is configured to play with a playback speed that is below a threshold playback speed, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, one or more slow motion editing control user interface objects in the media editing user interface, wherein the one or more slow motion editing control user interface objects enable one or more slow motion playback parameters of the video media item to be adjusted (pars. 0049-0052; Figs. 1-7, 9 and 11-13; the sub-menu of the effects menu 140 displays playback speed options 75%, 66.7%, 50% and 33.3% in response to “slower” option; the "slower" speed effect preset includes playback speed options 50%, 25% and 10%; see also pars. 0108-0114, 0118-0124 and 0131-0139; Figs. 15-20); and
in accordance with a determination that the video media item is configured to play with a playback speed that is not below the threshold playback speed, forgoing display of the one or more slow motion editing control user interface objects in the media editing user interface (pars. 0057-0059; Figs. 1-7, 9 and 11-13; the "faster" retiming operations have created discontinuity in playback speed from 50% to 200% or from 50% to 100%; see also pars. 0108-0114, 0118-0124 and 0131-0139; Figs. 15-20).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
while displaying the one or more slow motion editing control user interface objects, detecting, via the one or more input devices, user input corresponding to a first slow motion editing control user interface object of the one or more slow motion editing control user interface objects (pars. 0049-0052; Figs. 1-5 and 7-11; detect user inputs after displaying sub-menu playback speed options 75%, 66.7%, 50% and 33.3; see also pars. 0108-0114, 0118-0124 and 0131-0139; Figs. 15-20); and
in response to detecting the user input corresponding to the first slow motion editing control user interface object of the one or more slow motion editing control user interface objects, adjusting a respective portion of the video media item that is configured to play with the playback speed that is below the threshold playback speed (pars. 0049-0052; Figs. 1-5 and 7-11; adjust the playback speed based on selected slower speed; see also pars. 0108-0114, 0118-0124 and 0131-0139; Figs. 15-20).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
while displaying a playback speed user interface object, detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more user inputs corresponding to the playback speed user interface object (pars. 0049-0052; Figs. 1-5 and 7-11; display “slower” playback sub-menu; the sub-menu of the effects menu 140 displays playback speed options 75%, 66.7%, 50% and 33.3; see also pars. 0108-0114, 0118-0124 and 0131-0139; Figs. 15-20); and
in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the playback speed user interface object, adjusting a playback speed of at least a portion of the video media item from a first playback speed to a second playback speed that is different from the first playback speed (pars. 0049-0052; Figs. 1-5 and 7-11; adjust the playback speed based on selected slower speed; see also pars. 0108-0114, 0118-0124 and 0131-0139; Figs. 15-20).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 3, wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
while displaying a speed adjustment user interface object, detecting, via the one or more input devices, user input corresponding to selection of the speed adjustment user interface object (pars. 0049-0052; Figs. 1-5 and 7-11; display “slower” playback sub-menu; the sub-menu of the effects menu 140 displays playback speed options 75%, 66.7%, 50% and 33.3; see also pars. 0108-0114, 0118-0124 and 0131-0139; Figs. 15-20); and
in response to detecting the user input corresponding to selection of the speed adjustment user interface object, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the playback speed user interface object (pars. 0049-0052; Figs. 1-5 and 7-11; adjust the playback speed based on selected slower speed; see also pars. 0108-0114, 0118-0124 and 0131-0139; Figs. 15-20).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 3, wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
in response to detecting one or more inputs corresponding to a request to edit a second video media item, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a second media editing user interface, wherein displaying the second media editing user interface includes (pars. 0041-0042, 0046-0051 and 0052-0058; Figs. 1-5 and 7-11; detect user input to adjust speed for clip B):
in accordance with a determination that a frame rate of the second video media item is above a frame rate threshold, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a second speed adjustment user interface object (pars. 0041-0042, 0046-0051 and 0052-0058; Figs. 1-5 and 7-11; display sub-menu playback speed option enabling users to adjust the playback speed based on selected slower/faster speed; see also pars. 0108-0114, 0118-0124 and 0131-0139; Figs. 15-20); and
in accordance with a determination that the frame rate of the second video media item is not above the frame rate threshold, forgoing display of the second speed adjustment user interface object (pars. 0041-0042, 0046-0051, 0052-0058 and 0118-0124; Figs. 1-5 and 7-11; “conform speed" retiming operation performed on a piece of media content that has a source frame rate that is three times the playback frame rate of the composite presentation; adjust the playback speed based on selected slower/faster speed; see also pars. 0108-0114 and 0131-0139; Figs. 15-20).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
while displaying the one or more slow motion editing control user interface objects, detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more user inputs corresponding to a request to adjust a playback speed of the video media item (pars. 0041-0042, 0046-0051, 0052-0058 and 0118-0124; Figs. 1-5 and 7-11; see also pars. 0108-0114 and 0131-0139; Figs. 15-20); and
in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the request to adjust the playback speed of the video media item, ceasing display of the one or more slow motion editing control user interface objects (pars. 0041-0042, 0046-0051, 0052-0058 and 0118-0124; Figs. 1-5 and 7-11; see also pars. 0108-0114 and 0131-0139; Figs. 15-20).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the computer system of claim 1, wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
while displaying the media editing user interface without displaying the one or more slow motion editing control user interface objects, detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more user inputs corresponding to a request to adjust a playback speed of the video media item (pars. 0041-0042, 0046-0051, 0052-0058 and 0118-0124; Figs. 1-5 and 7-11; display slower/faster playback sub-menu; the sub-menu of the effects menu 140 displays playback speed options; see also pars. 0108-0114 and 0131-0139; Figs. 15-20); and
in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the request to adjust the playback speed of the video media item, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the one or more slow motion editing control user interface objects (pars. 0041-0042, 0046-0051, 0052-0058 and 0118-0124; Figs. 1-5 and 7-11; adjust the playback speed based on selected slower/faster speed; see also pars. 0108-0114 and 0131-0139; Figs. 15-20).
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium corresponding to the computer system recited in claim 1. Claim 8 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium corresponding to the computer system recited in claim 2. Claim 9 is similar in scope to claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium corresponding to the computer system recited in claim 3. Claim 10 is similar in scope to claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium corresponding to the computer system recited in claim 4. Claim 11 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium corresponding to the computer system recited in claim 5. Claim 12 is similar in scope to claim 5, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium corresponding to the computer system recited in claim 6. Claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 6, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium corresponding to the computer system recited in claim 7. Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is directed to a method corresponding to the computer system recited in claim 1. Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is directed to a method corresponding to the computer system recited in claim 2. Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is directed to a method corresponding to the computer system recited in claim 3. Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is directed to a method corresponding to the computer system recited in claim 4. Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is directed to a method corresponding to the computer system recited in claim 5. Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 5, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is directed to a method corresponding to the computer system recited in claim 6. Claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 6, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is directed to a method corresponding to the computer system recited in claim 7. Claim 21 is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968))
Inquiries
/LINH K PHAM/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2174