DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the clock spring must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 5, line 2, the phrase, “second fabric management bows is operably coupled to said and manages a said cover” is indefinite. It is unclear what is claimed by the phrase.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huotari et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0098292) in view of Bennett et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0339851).
Re claims 1 and 10, Huotari et al. discloses a soft tonneau top cover assembly operably adapted for a pickup truck vehicle, comprising a first fabric management bow (62, figure 3), a pair of first arms (64 and the mirror opposite of 64, figure 3) operably connected to said first fabric management bow; a second fabric management bow (36, figure 3), a pair of second arms (40 and the mirror opposite of 40, figure 3) operably connected to said second fabric management bow; a plurality of pivots (16, figure 3), said pairs of first arms (64 and the mirror opposite of 64, figure 3) and second arms (40 and the mirror opposite of 40, in figure 3) operably connected to said plurality of pivots (the arms are indirectly attached to the pivots 16 and operable when the pivot is operable), .
Huotari et al. fails to disclose the pivots being biased, operable to dampen the movement of the soft tonneau top cover and provide a lift assist when selectively moving between at least a closed position and open position, said plurality of operable biased pivots incorporating clock spring biasing.
Bennet et al. teaches operably biased pivots (160, figure 7B), operable to dampen the movement of a soft top cover and provide a lift assist when selectively moving between at least a closed position and open position (the spring of 160 provides a lift between the closed and open positions and biased toward the closed position), said plurality of operable biased pivots incorporating clock spring biasing (180, figure 11A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a soft tonneau top cover assembly, such as that disclosed by Huotari et al., to have the pivots be biased, operable to dampen the movement of the soft tonneau top cover and provide a lift assist when selectively moving between at least a closed position and open position said plurality of operable biased pivots incorporate clock spring biasing, as taught by Bennet et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to assist in the deployment of the cover for the convenience of the user.
Re claim 2, Huotari et al. further discloses at least one pair of front rails (30 and the mirror opposite of 30 in figure 3) operably connected to a front tensioning bow (32, figure 3) selectively connectable to the vehicle in the closed position (as shown in figure 1), wherein said front tensioning bow is operably connected to and tensions a fabric cover (118, figure 16) when in said closed position.
Re claim 3, Huotari further discloses the plurality of operable biased pivots (16 as modified above) includes a pair of first pivots (16 and the mirror opposite in figure 4) operably connected to a pair of front rails (30 and the mirror opposite of 30) of a pivotable portion of said soft tonneau top cover.
Re claim 4, Huotari further discloses a pair of front rails (30 and the mirror opposite of 30) operably connected to a first and second biased pivot (16 and the mirror opposite in figure 4) of said plurality of operably biased pivots (as modified above).
Re claim 5, Huotari further discloses a cover (118), wherein said first and second fabric management bows are operably coupled to said and manages said cover when folding to said open position (as shown in figure 19).
Re claim 6, Huotari further discloses the plurality of operable biased pivots includes at least a pair of first pivots (16 and the mirror opposite in figure 4, as modified above) and a second pair of pivots (68 and the mirror opposite of 68 in figure 4, note that as long as the pivots of 16 are modified as suggested above to include spring operated bias, this will result in all of the pivots of the pivots of the device being operably biased in one direction of operation) operably connected to a pair of front rails movable with a pivotable portion of said soft tonneau top cover to a said open position (as shown in figure 5).
Re claim 7, Huotari further discloses the plurality of operable biased pivots further includes a pair of third pivots (66 and the mirror opposite of 66 in figure 4; note that as long as the pivots of 16 are modified as suggested above to include spring operated bias, this will result in all of the pivots of the pivots of the device being operably biased in one direction of operation) operably connected to a frame (26, figure 4) operably connected to the vehicle.
Re claim 9, Huotari further discloses one of said plurality of operably biased pivots (68, figure 4; note that as long as the pivots of 16 are modified as suggested above to include spring operated bias, this will result in all of the pivots of the pivots of the device being operably biased in one direction of operation) is operably connected to one of said first arms, and another of said plurality of operably biased pivots (66) is operably connected to one of said second arms.
Re claim 11, Huotari et al. discloses a frame member (26) operably connected to the vehicle, wherein two separate pairs of said plurality of operable biased pivots (66 and 68 and their mirror opposites in figure 4; note that as long as the pivots of 16 are modified as suggested above to include spring operated bias, this will result in all of the pivots of the pivots of the device being operably biased in one direction of operation) are operably connected (indirectly) to said frame member.
Re claim 15, Huotari et al. discloses a soft tonneau top cover assembly operably adapted for connecting at a cargo bed top opening of a vehicle, comprising a cover (118); at least two fabric management bows (36 and 62 in figure 4) operably coupled to said cover; and a plurality of pivots (16 and the mirror opposite of 16 in figure 4), said soft tonneau top cover assembly selectively movable between at least an open position and a closed position, wherein said at least two fabric management bows manage the cover when folding to said open position.
Huotari et al. fails to disclose the pivots being biased, operable to dampen the movement of the soft tonneau top cover and provide a lift assist when selectively moving between at least a closed position and open position.
Bennet et al. teaches operably biased pivots (160, figure 7B), operable to dampen the movement of a soft top cover and provide a lift assist when selectively moving between at least a closed position and open position (the spring of 160 provides a lift between the closed and open positions and biased toward the closed position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a soft tonneau top cover assembly, such as that disclosed by Huotari et al., to have the pivots be biased, operable to dampen the movement of the soft tonneau top cover and provide a lift assist when selectively moving between at least a closed position and open position, as taught by Bennet et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to assist in the deployment of the cover for the convenience of the user.
Re claim 16, Huotari et al. further teaches a pair of rails (30 and the mirror opposite of 30) are operably connected to a cover tensioning bow (32) and to two pairs (16 and the mirror opposite of 16; 68 and the mirror opposite of 68 in figure 4; note that as long as the pivots of 16 are modified as suggested above to include spring operated bias, this will result in all of the pivots of the pivots of the device being operably biased in one direction of operation) of said plurality of operably biased pivots.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 12-14 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references all disclose vehicle cover assemblies.
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
June 17, 2026