CTNF 18/898,036 CTNF 78830 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 2, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0145041 to Bhandare et al. (“Bhandare”) . Regarding independent claim 1, Bhandare discloses a laundry treating apparatus (washing machine 10) comprising: a cabinet (12) having an opening formed in a front surface thereof (see Fig. 2) ; a door (12) coupled to the cabinet to open and close the opening; a tub (inherent/implicit for conventional drum-type washing machine) accommodated in the cabinet to store water therein; a drum (16) rotatably disposed in the tub to store laundry therein; a driver (rotatable drum 16 implicitly teaches a drum driver/motor) coupled to the tub and configured to rotate the drum; a controller (32) configured to control the driver to perform a course of treating the laundry; a control panel (user interface 30) coupled to the cabinet and configured to receive a command to control the controller; and a speaker (note speaker openings 168) coupled to the cabinet (via the door) and configured to convert information transmitted from at least one of the controller and the control panel into sound waves (see Figs. 17, 19, and ¶¶ [0056], [0060], and [0061]) , wherein the speaker is disposed at least partially forward of the cabinet (note speaker location in the door is at least partially forward of the cabinet). Regarding claim 2, Bhandare further discloses wherein the cabinet includes a seating groove extending stepwise from an inner circumferential surface of the opening, wherein the door is seated in the seating groove, wherein the speaker is disposed at least partially forward of the seating groove (note seating grooves around door opening in Fig. 2; also note speaker in door is at least partially forward of the seating grooves) . Regarding claim 15, Bhandare further discloses a hot air supply portion coupled onto the tub and configured to supply hot air into the drum (note ¶ [0031] disclosing the laundry treating appliance may be a laundry drying appliance, which implicitly teaches use of a hot air supply portion as claimed) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. As discussed in Applicant’s specification, the location configuration of the speaker to supply sound instructions to user facing forward and away from the cabinet. Such configuration as claimed avoids contact with laundry and moisture and transmits sound forward without interference, shielded by the door, and prevented fom being exposed when the door is closed (see Applicant’s specification at ¶ [0010]-[0018]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSEPH L PERRIN whose telephone number is (571)272-1305. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-4:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael E. Barr can be reached at 571-272-1414. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D. Primary Examiner Art Unit 1711 /Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/898,036 Page 2 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/898,036 Page 3 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/898,036 Page 4 Art Unit: 1711 Application/Control Number: 18/898,036 Page 5 Art Unit: 1711